Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following item(s) from the Applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) was considered.
Papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) have been placed of record in thefile.
Claims 1, 3-20, 23, 25, and 28-30 are present for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 20, 23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung (US 20200234749 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 29, and 30: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1), comprising: a storage device configured to store data (par. 3, 100, FIG. 1), wherein the storage device comprises: a magnetoresistive element (MTJ, FIG. 2 and 3A), wherein a magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element is variable between a first state and a second state based on a voltage application a selection element connected to the magnetoresistive element (magnetization direction according to direction of write currents through the MTJ, which inherently gives a voltage drop, par. 43), wherein the selection element (access transistor TR, FIG. 3A) has a drain terminal, a source terminal, and a gate terminal (terminals of TR, FIG. 3A), a first terminal of two terminals of the magnetoresistive element is connected to a bit line (terminal of MTJ connected to bit line BL1, FIG. 3A) of the storage device, a second terminal of the two terminals of the magnetoresistive element is connected to the drain terminal of the selection element (other terminal of MTJ connected to drain of TR, FIG. 3A), the source terminal of the selection element is connected to a source line (source of TR connected to source line SL1, FIG. 3A) of the storage device, and the gate terminal of the selection element is connected to a word line (gate of TR connected to word line WL1) of the storage device; and a write unit configured to switchably apply: a first write voltage (write current WC2 applied based on voltage application, FIG. 3A) to the magnetoresistive element (MTJ, FIG. 3A) to set the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element to the first state (BL to SL direction of FIG. 3A); and a second write voltage (write current WC1 applied based on voltage application, FIG. 3A) to the magnetoresistive element to set the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element (FIG. 3A) to the second state (SL to BL direction of FIG. 3A), wherein, to switchably apply the first write voltage and the second write voltage to the magnetoresistive element, the write unit is further configured to: apply a first voltage to the source line (SL to low voltage which may be a ground voltage at t2, par. 55, FIG. 5; or SL to high voltage at t1, FIG. 5); apply a pulse voltage to one of the word line (pulse voltage to word line WL1, FIG. 5) or the bit line; apply a second voltage to other of the one of the word line or the bit line (BL to high voltage at t2, FIG. 5) to apply the first write voltage (WC2 from BL to SL, FIG. 3) to the magnetoresistive element; and apply a third voltage to the other of the one of the word line (BL to low voltage at t1, FIG. 5) or the bit line to apply the second write voltage (WC2 from SL to BL, FIG. 3) to the magnetoresistive element.
Regarding claim 3: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1) wherein the write unit is further configured to continuously repeat the application of the pulse voltage (continuous writing operation, thus a continuous application of pulse voltage WL1, par. 61, FIG. 5) to the magnetoresistive element.
Regarding claim 7: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1) configured to apply a first pulse waveform of the pulse voltage (pulse of WL1 at t1, FIG. 5) to apply the first write voltage (WC1, FIG. 3) to the magnetoresistive element; and apply a second pulse waveform of the pulse voltage (pulse of WL1 at t2, FIG. 5) to apply the second write voltage (WC2, FIG. 2) to the magnetoresistive element, wherein the second pulse waveform of the pulse voltage is different (pulses at t1 and t2 are not the same pulses that set state, FIG. 5) from the first pulse waveform of the pulse voltage.
Regarding claim 8: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1), wherein a shape[AltContent: ][AltContent: ] of a pulse waveform of the pulse voltage (WL1, FIG. 5) includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a specific amplitude value (from low voltage that can be ground voltage to set high voltage between start of ‘Data “1” Write’ and t1, FIG. 5); and maintains the specific amplitude value until a termination of the pulse waveform (WL1 maintains high voltage until end of ‘Data “1” Write’, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 20: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1), wherein the write unit is further configured to: apply the first write voltage (write current WC2, FIG. 3A) to set the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element (MTJ, FIG. 3A) to the first state (BL to SL direction of FIG. 3A); and apply the first write voltage and apply the second write voltage (write current WC1, FIG. 3A) after the application of the first write voltage (WC1 of ‘Data “1” Write’ after WC2 of ‘Data “0” Write due to continuous application, par. 61), wherein the first write voltage and the second write voltage are applied to set the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element to the second state (‘Data “1” Write’ after ‘Data “0” Write’ sets to second state SL to BL direction of FIG. 3A).
Regarding claim 23: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1), wherein the application of the pulse voltage to the one of the word line or the bit line includes: application of a first pulse voltage to the one of the word line (pulse of WL1 at t2, FIG. 5) or the bit line to set the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element to the first state (during ‘Data “0” Write’, FIG. 5); and application of a second pulse voltage to the one of the word line (pulse of WL1 at t1, FIG. 5) or the bit line to set the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element to the second state (during ‘Data “1” Write’, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 28: Jung discloses a memory device (100, FIG. 1), wherein the second voltage (BL to high voltage at t2, FIG. 5) is higher than the third voltage (BL to low voltage at t1, FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Shimomura et al. (US 20190088302 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Jung does not disclose the storage device wherein at least one of a pulse width or an amplitude of the pulse voltage is different for each application of the pulse voltage.
Shimomura does disclose a magnetic memory (FIG. 2) wherein at least one of a pulse width or an amplitude of the pulse voltage is different for each application of the pulse voltage (circuit adjusts values of the current amplitude or pulse width of the write current of the waveform on the basis of the arrangement of the first and second value in the data, thus using different parameters depending on the state being written each application, par. 25).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Jung with the configuration of Shimomura to allow the device to monitor and make appropriate changes to the incoming pulse voltage being sent to improve reliability with each iteration loop of writing the cell.
Claim(s) 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Fujimori (US 20190279700 A1).
Regarding claim 5: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the write unit is further configured to: read a state of the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element based on the application of the pulse voltage; and repeat the application of the pulse voltage based on the read state that is an undesired state.
Fujimori does disclose a magnetic memory device (FIG. 1), wherein the write unit is further configured to: read a state of the magnetization direction of the magnetoresistive element (verification unit VR checks resistance state of MTJ, par. 51, VERIFY of FIG. 10; resistance state exhibits a variable magnetization direction depending on the state, par. 34) based on the application of the pulse voltage (WRITE of FIG. 10); and repeat the application of the pulse voltage based on the read state that is an undesired state (if desired state is not set to the MTJ, writing is performed again repeated, loop of FIG. 10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Jung with the configuration of Fujimori to allow the system to monitor the states that have been read to determine if they are of the correct state needed for operation.
Regarding claim 25: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the first pulse voltage is higher than the second pulse voltage.
Fujimori discloses a magnetic memory device (FIG. 1), wherein the first pulse voltage is higher than the second pulse voltage (pulse of P write of FIG. 13 is larger than pulse of AP write of FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse voltages of Jung with those of Fujimori to allow the system to have pulse voltages that carry different volage levels when setting the state of magnetization like the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Mori et al. (US 20060067106 A1).
Regarding claim 6: Jung does not disclose the storage device wherein a pulse
width of the pulse voltage is in a range of 0.1 ns to 20 ns.
Mori does disclose a storage device and semiconductor device (FIG. 3) a pulse
width of the pulse voltage is in a range of 0.1 ns to 20 ns (pulse voltage width can be within a range of 10ns to 100ns).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a range of pulse widths, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Clark (US 3027515 A).
Regarding claim 9: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein a shape of a pulse waveform of the pulse voltage is non-rectangular shape.
Clark does disclose a generation of trapezoidal pulses from ramp and rectangular waveforms (FIG. 3), wherein a shape of a pulse waveform of the pulse voltage is non-rectangular shape (gradual change between a first and second amplitude of waveform shifts away from standard rectangular shape, FIG. 2e-2f).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of Jung with the waveforms shape generated by Clark to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a first amplitude value: gradually one of decreases or increases from the first amplitude value to a second amplitude value: and changes from the second amplitude value to zero.
Clark does disclose a generation of trapezoidal pulses from ramp and rectangular waveforms (FIG. 3), wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a first amplitude value (zero to first amplitude, FIG. 2e-2f); gradually one of decreases or increases from the first amplitude value to a second amplitude value (first amplitude gradually increases to second amplitude, FIG. 2e-2f); and changes from the second amplitude value to zero (second amplitude to zero, FIG. 2e-2f).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of Jung with the waveforms shape generated by Clark to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage one of: decreases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value; or increases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value.
Clark does disclose a generation of trapezoidal pulses from ramp and rectangular waveforms (FIG. 3), wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage one of: decreases one of Linearly (gradual increase linearly from first amplitude to second amplitude, FIG. 2e-2f), curvilinearly, or stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value; or increases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of Jung with the waveforms shape generated by Clark to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Clark (US 3027515 A), in further view of Kawai et al. (US 20230081445 A1).
Regarding claim 12: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a first amplitude value; gradually one of decreases or increases from the first amplitude value to a second amplitude value; and maintains the second amplitude value until a termination of the pulse waveform.
Kawai does disclose a variable resistance nonvolatile storage device (FIG. 1), wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage (current pulse through a resistive element is inherently identical to the voltage pulse as current is proportional to current, FIG. 17b) includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a first amplitude value (zero current to value Ip1, FIG. 17b); gradually one of decreases or increases from the first amplitude value to a second amplitude value (gradual decease from vIp1 to Ip2, FIG. 17b); and maintains the second amplitude value until a termination of the pulse waveform (waveform maintains Ip2 until termination after second period, FIG. 17b).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Kawai to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage one of: decreases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value; or increases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value.
Kawai does disclose a variable resistance nonvolatile storage device (FIG. 1), wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage one of: decreases one of Linearly (linear decrease from amplitude Ip1 to Ip2, FIG. 17b), curvilinearly, or stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value; or increases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, stepwise from the first amplitude value to the second amplitude value.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Kawai to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Clark (US 3027515 A), in further view of Smith et al. (US 20090085526 A1).
Regarding claim 14: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a specific amplitude value; and gradually decreases from the specific amplitude value to zero.
Smith does disclose a triangular waveform generating circuit (FIG. 2), wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: changes from zero to a specific amplitude value (relatively short linear rise time 302, FIG. 3A); and gradually decreases from the specific amplitude value to zero (the following substantially long linear fall time 304, FIG. 3A).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Smith to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15: Jung does not disclose a storage device, wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage decreases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the specific amplitude value to zero.
Smith does disclose a triangular waveform generating circuit (FIG. 2), wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage decreases one of Linearly (linear trend decreases from amplitude to zero, FIG. 3A), curvilinearly, or stepwise from the specific amplitude value to zero.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Smith to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Clark (US 3027515 A), in further view of Andersen et al. (US 3475622 A).
Regarding claim 16: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: gradually increases from zero to a specific amplitude value; and changes from the specific amplitude value to zero.
Andersen does disclose a waveform generator circuit (FIG. 1), wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: gradually increases from zero to a specific amplitude value (zero ramps up to amplitude of 10V, FIG. 2); and changes from the specific amplitude value to zero (after t1 time, goes from amplitude to zero, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Andersen to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage decreases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the specific amplitude value to zero.
Andersen does disclose a waveform generator circuit (FIG. 1), wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage decreases one of Linearly (linear increase from zero to amplitude after t1 time, FIG. 2), curvilinearly, or stepwise from the specific amplitude value to zero.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Andersen to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20200234749 A1) in view of Clark (US 3027515 A), in further view of Shimomura et al. (US 20220076723 A1; hereinafter “Shimomura2”)
Regarding claim 18: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage includes an amplitude that: gradually increases from zero to a specific amplitude value; and gradually decreases from the specific amplitude value to zero.
Shimomura2 does disclose a magnetic memory (FIG. 1A), wherein the shape of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage (write pulse current of FIG. 5A matches voltage pulse as current is inherently proportional to the voltage) includes an amplitude that: gradually increases from zero to a specific amplitude value (gradual gradient increase from 0 to amplitude, FIG. 5A); and gradually decreases from the specific amplitude value to zero (gradual gradient decrease from amplitude to zero, FIG. 5A).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Shimomura2 to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19: Jung does not disclose the storage device, wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage: increases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from zero to the specific amplitude value; and decreases one of Linearly, curvilinearly, or stepwise from the specific amplitude value to zero.
Shimomura2 does disclose a magnetic memory (FIG. 1A), wherein the amplitude of the pulse waveform of the pulse voltage: increases one of Linearly (gradual gradient trending a linear increase from 0 to amplitude, FIG. 5A), curvilinearly, or stepwise from zero to the specific amplitude value; and decreases one of Linearly (gradual gradient trending a linear decrease from amplitude to zero, FIG. 5A), curvilinearly, or stepwise from the specific amplitude value to zero.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse waveform of the system of Jung and Clark with the waveforms shape generated by Shimomura2 to allow the system to be able to have the defined waveform shape used for operation like the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY THINH TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2827
/AMIR ZARABIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2827