DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the at least one external treatment member” in claim 11 and “ an additional hair treatment member that extends from one of the two jaws towards the other jaw” in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 should read “in which the angle formed between the median plane of the device and [[ and the outer surface of the jaw bearing the internal treatment member, adjacent to and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member is less than or equal to 110° and greater than or equal to 95 °.”; Since the angle is between the median plane and the outer surface of the jaw bearing the internal treatment member, adjacent to and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member as mentioned in claim 1 and as shown in Fig 6 by angle 𝛽. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 3 should read “in which the angle formed between the median plane of the device and [[ and the outer surface of the jaw bearing the internal treatment member, adjacent to and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member is equal to 105°±5°.”; Since the angle is between the median plane and the outer surface of the jaw bearing the internal treatment member, adjacent to and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member as mentioned in claim 1 and as shown in Fig 6 by angle 𝛽. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 6 should read “wherein [[each internal treatment member has an internal plate extending between the jaws having a contact surface with the hair, the contact surface with the hair forming [[the]] an internal heating surface, the internal treatment member [[ being mounted on [[the]] a corresponding jaw by being inserted into a housing of the jaw that opens towards [[the]] another jaw.”; since claim 1 claims “an internal treatment member” and doesn’t mentioned “members”. Correction or clarification is required to overcome these issues.
Claim 7 should read “wherein the [[each internal treatment member is asymmetric with respect to a median plane of the housing of the corresponding jaw, orthogonal to the median plane of the device extending between the jaws in the moved-together configuration of the jaws .”; since Claim 7 depends on claim 6 that introduced “each internal treatment member”. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issues.
Claim 8 should read “wherein at least one of the internal plates or each of them protrudes laterally from [[a support at the first lateral edge by a distance greater than or equal to 1 mm.” ; correction is required to overcome potential lack of antecedent basis issues. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issues.
Claim 9 should read “wherein the [[internal treatment member is spaced apart from a plane lying laterally on the outer surfaces of the two adjacent jaws and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member by a distance at rest less than or equal to 6 mm.” ; since claim 1 introduced an internal treatment member. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issues.
Claim 11 should read “having at least one external treatment member for heating the hair to be treated that extends over one of the two jaws towards [[the]] an exterior of the jaws.” ; since claim 1 does not introduce “an exterior of the jaws”. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issues.
Claim 14 should read “the first lateral edge [[may]] extends so that it forms a protruding lateral relief.” ; since drawing of Fig 3 shows the lateral relief extending from the first lateral edge and in order avoid potential 112 b issue. Correction is required to overcome this issues.
Claim 15 should read “wherein the [[ internal treatment member is asymmetric exhibits a transverse distance between the first lateral edge and the transverse median plane of the housing greater than that between the second lateral edge and the transverse median plane of the housing.” ; since the proposed correction of claim 7 mentioned above required “the internal treatment member”. Correction or clarification is required to overcome this issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fereyre Regis (WO2019122399A1, hereinafter “Fereyre”).
Claim 1-3. Fereyre discloses a device for treating the hair (Title and Fig 1-12), comprising: two hair treatment jaws (Fig 4A, 4 and 5) that are movable relative to one another between a spaced-apart configuration for inserting hair to be treated between said jaws (Page 5, highlighted section in ¶5) and a moved together configuration for treating the hair (Page 5, highlighted section in ¶5), an internal treatment member (Fig 4A, plates 10 and 11) having an internal surface (Fig 4A, internal surfaces 12 or 13) for heating the hair to be treated (Page 5, highlighted section in ¶9), which extends over one of the two jaws towards the other of the Jaws in the moved-together configuration of the two jaws (Fig 7) and is configured to come into contact with the hair extending between the two jaws in the moved-together configuration thereof (Fig 7 and Page 5, highlighted section in ¶5), the internal treatment member having a first lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, A) and a second lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, B) opposite to the first lateral edge (Fig 4A), the first lateral edge being configured such that an angle (annotated Fig 4A, 𝛽) formed between a median plane of the device (annotated Fig 4A, Z), extending between the jaws
in the moved-together configuration of the jaws, and hair under mechanical tension, bearing on the first lateral edge of the corresponding internal treatment member, and on an outer surface of the jaw (annotate Fig 4A, C); bearing the internal treatment member, adjacent to and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member (Fig 4A); the angle (𝛽) is greater than 90° (annotated Fig 4A. 𝛽 is greater than 90°).
Fereyre is silent to the angle being less than or equal to 120°; the angle is less than or equal to 110° and greater than or equal to 95°; is equal to 105°±5°.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the angle between the median plane Z of the device and the outer surface (annotated Fig 4A, C) of the Jaw of Fereyre’s hair device to be less than 120°; less than or equal to 110° and greater than or equal to 95°; equal to 105°±5°, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific range of this angle solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with angle of greater than 90° shown by Fereyre’s hair device. In this instance, modifying such an angle to be less than 120°; less than or equal to 110° and greater than or equal to 95°; equal to 105°±5° would provide users with alternative shape of the jaws to efficiently style the hair during use in order to meet various users’ needs and preferences.
In addition, the instant disclosure describes the selection of the angle as merely preferable [Page 2 lines 23-25] and does not describe it as contributing any unexpected result to the hair device. As such, the selection of the angle is deemed matters of design choice (lacking in any criticality), well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results.
Claim 4. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches having two internal treatment members that each extend over one of the jaws (Fig 4A) and each have at least one internal heating surface (12 or 13), the internal heating surfaces facing one another (Fig 4A) and being configured to grip the hair between one another in the moved-together configuration of the jaws (Fig 4A and Page 5, highlighted sections in ¶5 and ¶9).
Claim 5. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches the first lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, A) is closer to the outer surface of the jaw (annotated Fig 4A, C) bearing the internal treatment member that is adjacent thereto (annotated Fig 4A, E) than the second lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, B) is to the outer surface of said jaw that is adjacent thereto (annotated Fig 4A, J) (annotated Fig 4A, distance E is smaller than distance F).
Claim 6. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches the or each internal treatment member (10, 11) has an internal plate (annotated Fig 4A, D) extending between the jaws having a contact surface with the hair (contact surface of 12 and 13), the contact surface with the hair forming the internal heating surface (Fig 4A and Page 5, highlighted sections in ¶5 and ¶9), the internal treatment member or members being mounted on the corresponding jaw (Fig 4A) by being inserted into a housing (Fig 4A, housing inside 1) of the jaw that opens towards the other jaw (Fig 4A).
Claim 7. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 6. Fereyre further teaches wherein the, at least one or each internal treatment member is asymmetric (Fig 4A) with respect to a median plane (annotated Fig 4a, H) of the housing of the corresponding jaw (Fig 4A), orthogonal to the median plane (annotated Fig 4A, Z) of the device extending between the jaws in the moved-together configuration of the jaws (Fig 4A).
Claim 8. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 6. Fereyre further teaches wherein at least one of the internal plates (annotated Fig 4A, D) protrudes laterally (Fig 4A) from the abovementioned support (annotated Fig 4A, W) at the first lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, A) by a distance (annotated Fig 4A, L); but silent to the distance being greater than or equal to 1 mm.
However, Fereyre teaches the distance is close to being greater than 1 mm as shown by the annotated Fig 4A, distance “L”.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the distance between the first lateral edge and the support since applicant has not disclosed that the specific range of the distance of this distance solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the distance of Fereyre’s hair device shown in the annotated (Fig 4A, L). In this instance, modifying such distance would provide users with efficient heating surface area to allow efficient hair styling in order to meet the user’s needs and preferences
Claim 9. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches wherein the, at least one or each internal treatment member is spaced apart from a plane (annotated Fig 4A, M) lying laterally on the outer surfaces of the two adjacent jaws (Fig 4A) and separated from the corresponding internal treatment member by a distance (annotated Fig 4A, distance N); but silent to the distance being at rest less than or equal to 6 mm.
However, Fereyre further teaches the distance at rest is close to less than or equal to 6 mm as shown in the annotated Fig 4A by the distance N.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the distance between the lateral surface of the two adjacent jaws and the corresponding internal treatment members of Fereyre’s hair device to be at rest less than or equal to 6 mm since applicant has not disclosed that the specific range of this distance solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with closed distance of Fereyre’s hair device shown in the annotated (Fig 4A, N). In this instance, modifying such distance would provide users with a compact size of the hair device to efficiently enhance portability during travel in order to meet user’s needs and preferences.
Claim 10. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches the first lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, A) of the internal treatment member or of at least one of the internal treatment members has an edge corner (annotated Fig 4A, O) configured to come into contact with the hair under tension bearing on the first lateral edge and the adjacent outer surface of the jaw bearing the internal treatment member (Fig 4A, the first lateral edge “A” with its edge corner “O” is capable to come into contact with the hair under tension bearing on the first lateral edge and the adjacent outer surface of the jaw bearing the internal treatment member).
Claim 13. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches including a recess (annotated Fig 4A, S) in the jaw between the first or second lateral edge of the internal treatment member and the outer surface of the jaw carrying the corresponding internal treatment member and adjacent to the corresponding internal treatment member (Fig 4A).
Claim 14. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1. Fereyre further teaches the first lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, A) may extend so that it forms a protruding lateral relief (annotated Fig 4A, T).
Claim 15. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 7. Fereyre further teaches wherein the, at least one or each internal treatment member (10 and 11) is asymmetric ( Fig 4A) exhibits a transverse distance (annotated Fig 4A, P) between the first lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, A) and the transverse median plane (annotated Fig 4A, H) of the housing greater than that between the second lateral edge (annotated Fig 4A, B) and the transverse median plane (annotated Fig 4A, H) of the housing (annotated Fig 4A, distance P is greater than distance Q).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fereyre Regis (WO2019122399A1, hereinafter “Fereyre”) in view of Habibi (US20080283081 A1, hereinafter “Habibi”).
Claim 11-12. Fereyre teaches the invention of claim 1, but silent to having at least one external treatment member for heating the hair to be treated that extends over one of the two jaws towards the exterior of the jaws; having an additional hair treatment member that extends from one of the two jaws towards the other jaw in the moved-together configuration of the two jaws and is arranged on said jaw laterally in the moved-together configuration of the jaws with respect to the internal treatment member.
Habibi teaches similar hair device including hair treatment jaws (Fig 3, 10 and 14) with internal hair treatment (Fig 3, 12 and 16), and at least one external treatment member (Fig 1, 26) for heating the hair to be treated that extends over one of the two jaws towards the exterior of the jaws (Fig 1 and ¶0028); having an additional hair treatment member (Fig 3, 30) that extends from one of the two jaws towards the other jaw in the moved-together configuration of the two jaws (Fig 2. The additional hair treatment member 30 extend around the exterior perimeter of Jaw 14 from one side of jaw 14 towards other side of jaw 10 in the closed configuration as shown in Fig 1) and is arranged on said jaw laterally in the moved-together configuration of the jaws with respect to the internal treatment member (Fig 1) so that during normal operation of the hair styling device the side members 26 and 30 and the end members 28 and 32 become hot (¶0028), and provide hair styling devices capable of use in curling, straightening, smoothing, curving and/or waving hair (¶0004).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the outer surface of Fereyre’s hair device and incorporate external hair treatment members that extends over the jaws, as taught by Habibi, so that during normal operation of the hair styling device the side members become hot and provide hair styling device capable of use in curling, straightening, smoothing, curving and/or waving hair.
Conclusion
Additional references were also reviewed during the examination of this application and listed for your reference in the notice of reference cited form.
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772