DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehmuskallio (WO 2014/006269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lehmuskallio discloses a package for foodstuff comprising a box (1b) made of a cellulose fiber material (see Page 6 lines 14-18), and a bag (see Fig. 2b; and Page 14 lines 21-23) comprising cellulose-based material and having an oxygen and moisture barrier function (see Page 8 lines 12-15; and Page 13 lines 3-30), wherein the bag is placed at least partially inside the box and non-detachably connected to the box (see Page 17 lines 8-14).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5-6, Lehmuskallio discloses a package wherein the bag is made of a multi-layered bag structure comprising a first layer made of or comprising cellulose-based material, and a second layer made of a material having an oxygen and/or moisture barrier function (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Lehmuskallio discloses a package wherein the bag comprises a cellulose fiber material (see Page 8 lines 12-15 and lines 17-26).
Regarding claim 10, Lehmuskallio discloses a package wherein the box is made of cardboard as a cellulose fiber material (see Page 12 lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Lehmuskallio discloses a package wherein the bag is connected to the box by an adhesive (see Page 17 lines 8-14).
Regarding claim 13, Lehmuskallio discloses a package wherein the box comprises a reclosable lid for selectively releasing an opening section of the bag for accessing the content in the bag or discharging the content from the bag-in-box package (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmuskallio in view of Ohman et al. (EP 3380318 B1; hereinafter Ohman).
Regarding claim 4, Lehmuskallio discloses the claimed invention except for a metallized coating. Ohman teaches a laminated packaging material wherein a second layer comprises a coating, wherein the coating is selected from the group consisting of a metallization coating, an SiOx based coating, an AlOx based coating, or/and combinations thereof (see Fig. 3b and Par. 0125-0127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Lehmuskallio’s packaging to include a metallized barrier coating in order to make sure the outer packaging is hermetically sealed and oxygen gas-tight (Ohman; see Par. 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 7, Lehmuskallio, as modified above, teaches a packaging
wherein the second layer is made of or comprises polyethylene and wherein the second layer is made of or comprises metalized oriented polypropylene (Ohman; see Par. 0180).
Regarding claim 8, Lehmuskallio, as modified above, teaches a packaging wherein the first layer has a thickness in the range of 20-100 µm (Ohman; see Par. 0189)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734