DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US 2009/0291786) in view of Schwitzki (USPN 2828965).
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses a dart having a tip 10, barrel 20, and shaft 41. The shaft has a diameter that gradually decreases from a distal side toward a proximal side of the shaft. Flights 42 are attached and fixed to the proximal side of the shaft at equiangular positions around the center axis of the shaft. The flights are shown to be connected to one another when protruded from the proximal side. Liao notes that the flights can have any shape or patterns (See Paragraph 0024). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have any number of flights so long as it assists in the flight of the dart. Liao does not discloses having grooves within the shaft. Schwitzki discloses a dart having grooves 5 along the shaft along the circumferential direction of the shaft. The grooves increase from a proximal side toward the axial direction center part of the shaft and gradually decreases from the axial direction center part toward a side of the barrel (See Figure 1). Schwitzki discloses the grooves in the shaft advantages for directional guidance and serve the same purpose as the flights. Schwitzki notes that the grooves must be symmetrically arranged and positioned in the rearward part 4 of the dart (See Column 2, lines 5 through 22). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have grooves along the rearward portion of the shaft, as taught by Schwitzki, in order to improve the directional guidance of the dart. With respect to the grooves being located between the flights, the grooves serve the same purpose as the flights which is to in the directionality of the dart. Adding the grooves is merely the same as having more flights attached to the dart. Considering the grooves and the flights perform the same, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine grooves and flights at the rear of the dart in order to improve the directionality of the dart (See In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Schwitzki discloses the depth of the grooves gradually becoming deeper from the side of the flights toward the axial direction center part of the shaft and gradually becoming shallower from the axial direction center part of the shaft toward the side of the barrel (See Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Schwitzki discloses the grooves including three grooves having the same shape and formed equiangular positions around the center axis of the shaft.
Regarding claim 4, Liao discloses the shaft being attachable and detachable to the barrel (See Figure 1, 3, 5, 6, and 8).
Regarding claim 5, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, see the above regarding claim 4.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711