DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2025 and 03/09/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Based to the Applicant’s REMARKS and Amendment filed on 10/11/2024, this office action considers -
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200137730 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’) in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2023134678 A1, of IDS, Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘ZHANG-78’).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (
[0098] FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communications system ….. includes … access network device….. also includes a plurality of terminal devices.
[0099] access network device … may be a base station…
[0101] The terminal device mentioned in this application may be user equipment (UE).
See also Fig. 9, [0219] FIG. 9 is a schematic structural diagram of a terminal device.), comprising:
at least one memory, and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (
Fig. 9, terminal device, [0219] As shown in FIG. 9, the terminal device includes a processor 31, a memory 32, and a transceiver 33. The memory 32 is configured to store an instruction. …. The processor 31 is configured to execute the instruction stored in the memory 32, so that the terminal device performs the steps performed by the terminal device ) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive one or more indicators in a downlink control information (DCI) message, wherein the one or more indicators indicate a transmission direction configuration for a set of time-frequency domain resources (
Fig. 2, [0103] Step S101: A terminal device receives first configuration information sent by a first access network device ……
[0104] The first configuration information includes configuration information of a transmission direction of the first access network device in at least one resource unit, and the at least one resource unit includes at least one of a frequency domain unit, a time domain unit,…..
[0105] The configuration information of the transmission direction of the resource unit is used to indicate whether the transmission direction of the resource unit is downlink or uplink …..
[0106] the frequency domain unit includes at least one of a frequency band, a sub-band, and a physical resource block (PRB). …
[0107] The PRB includes 12 rows and 7 columns. Each column represents one OFDM symbol, and each row represents one subcarrier…
[0108] Resource element (RE): One resource element corresponds to one subcarrier in frequency and corresponds to one OFDM symbol in time domain.
(Construed a PRB is a set of 7x12 REs or time-frequency domain resources)
[0109] Sub-band: The sub-band includes several subcarriers.
[0120] the first configuration information and the second configuration information may be carried on a type 1 PDCCH …
[0124] In this embodiment, the type 1 PDCCH includes first DCI. The first DCI is DCI newly defined in this application. In an implementation, the first DCI includes at least one information block, and each information block includes configuration information of a transmission direction of at least one resource unit. The at least one resource unit includes at least one of a frequency domain unit, a time domain unit); and
determine a transmission direction corresponding to each time-frequency domain resource in the set of time-frequency domain resources at least based on the one or more indicators (
[0105] The configuration information of the transmission direction of the resource unit is used to indicate whether the transmission direction of the resource unit is downlink or uplink …..
[0106] the frequency domain unit includes at least one of a frequency band, a sub-band, and a physical resource block (PRB). …
[0107] The PRB includes 12 rows and 7 columns. Each column represents one OFDM symbol, and each row represents one subcarrier…).
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein each time-frequency domain resource comprises one sub-band in frequency domain and one symbol in time domain.
In an analogous art, ZHANG-78 teaches wherein each time-frequency domain resource comprises one sub-band in frequency domain and one symbol in time domain (
[0008]
The method may include: receiving first information from a network device, the first information indicating the duplex type of a first time unit, the duplex type including full-duplex and non-full-duplex; receiving second information from the network device, the second information indicating the transmission direction of the first time unit; and determining the transmission direction of a first carrier in the first time unit based on the first information and the second information.
[0009]
Optionally, the first information indicates that the duplex type of the first time unit is full-duplex, and the terminal device determines the transmission direction of at least one sub-band included by the first carrier in the first time unit based on the second information.
[0010]
It should be understood that when the first time unit is a full-duplex time unit, determining the transmission direction of the first carrier in the first time unit based on the first information and the second information can also be described as: determining the transmission direction of the symbol of the first time unit in at least one sub-band of the first carrier based on the first information and the second information.
[0015]
That is, a carrier can include N subbands, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2.
See also Figure 6, S601,
[0173]
S601, the network device sends fourth information to the terminal device. The fourth information includes N SFIs, the first SFI is one of the N SFIs, the first SFI indicates a combination of M time slot formats, the first time slot format among the M time slot formats indicates the time slot format of the first resource, the first resource is located in the first sub-band contained in the first time unit and the first carrier, …. and N and Mare both positive integers.
Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the fourth information from the network device.
[0174]
It should be understood that the first resource occupies at least one symbol in the time domain and at least one PRB in the frequency domain.
[0183]
the fourth information can be DCI …
Figure 10C, [0235]
When the first carrier is CC#1 as shown in Figure 10C, CC#1 includes subband #1 and subband #2, subband #1 is the first subband and subband #2 is the second subband. The terminal device can determine the time slot format of sub-band #1 on time slot #1 according to time slot format 1, and determine the time slot format of sub-band #1 on time slot #2 according to time slot format 2; the terminal device can determine the time slot format of sub-band #2 on time slot #1 according to time slot format 3 ….
(Figures 6, 10C and [0174, 0174, 0183, 0235]) obviously disclosing a terminal/UE receiving DCI with SFI or indicators for a set of time-frequency domain resource, wherein each time-frequency domain resource comprises one sub-band in frequency domain and one symbol in time domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of providing time slot format of the first resource indication of ZHANG-78 to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for quickly parsing transmission direction of different sub-bands on a time slot from the interpreted time slot format indication information, thereby reducing the time required for the terminal device to determine the transmission direction of the current and/or subsequent full-duplex time unit (ZHANG-78: [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG teaches a base station for wireless communication (
[0098] FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communications system ….. includes … access network device….. also includes a plurality of terminal devices.
[0099] access network device … may be a base station…
[0101] The terminal device mentioned in this application may be user equipment (UE).
See also Fig. 10, [0220] FIG. 10 is a schematic structural diagram of an access network device.), comprising:
at least one memory, and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured (
Fig. 10 access network device,
[0220] As shown in FIG. 10, the access network device includes a processor 41, a memory 42 …. The memory 42 is configured to store an instruction. ….The processor 41 is configured to execute the instruction stored in the memory 42, so that the access network device performs the steps performed by the access network device).
Further claim 9 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78, teaches the UE of claim 1.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more indicators include a slot format indicator (SFI), and wherein the SFI indicates a transmission direction for each time-frequency domain resource in the set of time-frequency domain resources.
ZHANG-78 teaches wherein the one or more indicators include a slot format indicator (SFI), and wherein the SFI indicates a transmission direction for each time-frequency domain resource in the set of time-frequency domain resources (
[0011]
In this application, "determining the transmission direction of the first carrier in the first time unit" can also be understood as: after receiving the first information and the second information, the terminal device directly transmits data information, control information or signals in the corresponding transmission direction on the time-frequency resources corresponding to at least one sub-band of the first time unit and the first carrier based on the first information and the second information.
[0173]
S601, the network device sends fourth information to the terminal device. The fourth information includes N SFIs, the first SFI is one of the N SFIs, the first SFI indicates a combination of M time slot formats, the first time slot format among the M time slot formats indicates the time slot format of the first resource, the first resource is located in the first sub-band contained in the first time unit and the first carrier, …. and N and Mare both positive integers.
[0176]
Optionally, each of the N SFIs can correspond to one of the N sub-bands.
[0177]
when a time slot format includes the transmission direction of 14 symbols, a time slot format can be: DDDDDDDDUDDDUD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of providing time slot format of the first resource indication of ZHANG-78 to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for quickly parsing transmission direction of different sub-bands on a time slot from the interpreted time slot format indication information, thereby reducing the time required for the terminal device to determine the transmission direction of the current and/or subsequent full-duplex time unit (ZHANG-78: [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78, teaches the UE of claim 2.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more indicators further include a sub-band pattern indicator (SPI) indicating a transmission direction for each time-frequency domain resource in a first subset of the set of time-frequency domain resources.
ZHANG-78 teaches wherein the one or more indicators further include a sub-band pattern indicator (SPI) indicating a transmission direction for each time-frequency domain resource in a first subset of the set of time-frequency domain resources (
[0176]
Optionally, each of the N SFIs can correspond to one of the N sub-bands.
[0177]
when a time slot format includes the transmission direction of 14 symbols, a time slot format can be: DDDDDDDDUDDDUD.
(From [0176, 0177] DDDDDDDDUDDDUD indicates a SPI for each of the set of time-frequency domain resources of a symbol of a sub-band)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of providing time slot format of the first resource indication of ZHANG-78 to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for quickly parsing transmission direction of different sub-bands on a time slot from the interpreted time slot format indication information, thereby reducing the time required for the terminal device to determine the transmission direction of the current and/or subsequent full-duplex time unit (ZHANG-78: [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78, teaches the UE of claim 3.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the SPI indicates one or more sub-band patterns, wherein each sub-band pattern includes a set of fields, and wherein each field indicates a transmission direction for each time- frequency domain resource in a second subset of the first subset of time-frequency domain resources.
ZHANG-78 teaches wherein the SPI indicates one or more sub-band patterns, wherein each sub-band pattern includes a set of fields, and wherein each field indicates a transmission direction for each time- frequency domain resource in a second subset of the first subset of time-frequency domain resources (
[0176]
Optionally, each of the N SFIs can correspond to one of the N sub-bands.
[0177]
when a time slot format includes the transmission direction of 14 symbols, a time slot format can be: DDDDDDDDUDDDUD.
(It is obvious that if DDDDDDDDUDDDUD represents first subset of time-frequency domain resources, then either S symbols or U symbols are equivalent to second subset of the first subset of time-frequency domain resources)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of providing time slot format of the first resource indication of ZHANG-78 to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for quickly parsing transmission direction of different sub-bands on a time slot from the interpreted time slot format indication information, thereby reducing the time required for the terminal device to determine the transmission direction of the current and/or subsequent full-duplex time unit (ZHANG-78: [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78, teaches the UE of claim 4.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to one or more of:
in a case that the SFI indicates a first transmission direction corresponding to a first time-frequency domain resource, determine the transmission direction corresponding to the first time-frequency domain resource is the first transmission direction;
in a case that the SFI indicates a second transmission direction corresponding to a second time-frequency domain resource, and the SPI indicates the first transmission direction or the second transmission direction corresponding to the second time-frequency domain resource, determine the transmission direction of the second time-frequency domain resource is the first transmission direction or the second transmission direction as indicated by the SPI, wherein the second time-frequency domain resource is included in the first subset of the set of time-frequency domain resources; or
in a case that the SFI indicates the second transmission direction corresponding to a third time-frequency domain resource, determine the transmission direction of the third time-frequency domain resource is the second transmission direction, wherein the third time-frequency domain resource is not included in the first subset of the set of time-frequency domain resources.
ZHANG-78 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to one or more of:
in a case that the SFI indicates a first transmission direction corresponding to a first time-frequency domain resource, determine the transmission direction corresponding to the first time-frequency domain resource is the first transmission direction (
See [0176, 0177] D or U cited for claim 4);
in a case that the SFI indicates a second transmission direction corresponding to a second time-frequency domain resource, and the SPI indicates the first transmission direction or the second transmission direction corresponding to the second time-frequency domain resource, determine the transmission direction of the second time-frequency domain resource is the first transmission direction or the second transmission direction as indicated by the SPI, wherein the second time-frequency domain resource is included in the first subset of the set of time-frequency domain resources (
See [0176, 0177] D or U in DDDDDDDDUDDDUD cited for claim 4); or
in a case that the SFI indicates the second transmission direction corresponding to a third time-frequency domain resource, determine the transmission direction of the third time-frequency domain resource is the second transmission direction, wherein the third time-frequency domain resource is not included in the first subset of the set of time-frequency domain resources (
[0203]
Optionally, in the downlink symbols included in the first time unit, the transmission direction of the first subband is downlink, and the transmission direction of the second subband is uplink. As an example, when the first time unit is a time slot, and the first time slot format indicates that the time slot format is: DDDDDDDDUDDDUD, then on that time slot, the time slot format of the first subband is: DDDDDDDDUDD).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78, teaches the UE of claim 3.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine a transmission direction for each time-frequency domain resource in a second subset of the first subset of time-frequency domain resources based on a pre-defined rule.
ZHANG-78 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine a transmission direction for each time-frequency domain resource in a second subset of the first subset of time-frequency domain resources based on a pre-defined rule (
[0186]
The time slot format combinations in Table 1 are divided into different usage ranges. For example, the time slot format combinations with index numbers 0 to m in Table 1 are used for non-full-duplex time slots, and the time slot format combinations with index numbers m+1 to 511 in Table 1 are used for fullduplex time slots.
Optionally, m is a higher-level signaling configuration or predefined.
[0187]
Alternatively, higher-level signaling can be understood as RRC signaling or MAC signaling.
Optionally, RRC signaling or MAC signaling is sent by the network device to the terminal device.
[0188]
Therefore, the implementation method of Method 2 can be as follows: the fourth information can be DCI, the CRC of which is still scrambled by the SFI-RNTI corresponding to Table 1, and the network device is configured to use any time slot format combination among the time slot format combinations with index numbers m+ 1 to 511 in Table 1 for the first SFI indication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of providing time slot format of the first resource indication of ZHANG-78 to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for quickly parsing transmission direction of different sub-bands on a time slot from the interpreted time slot format indication information, thereby reducing the time required for the terminal device to determine the transmission direction of the current and/or subsequent full-duplex time unit (ZHANG-78: [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200137730 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’) in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2023134678 A1, of IDS, Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘ZHANG-78’) and with further in view of Awadin et al. (US 20230163937 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63297352, hereinafter ‘AWADIN’).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78, teaches the UE of claim 1.
ZHANG and ZHANG-78 do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine a first priority level associated with a first transmission on a first set of resource elements (REs); determine a second priority level associated with a second transmission on a second set of REs; and
perform a transmission with a higher priority level among the first transmission and the second transmission in response to a resource collision being present between the first transmission and the second transmission.
In an analogous art, AWADIN teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine a first priority level associated with a first transmission on a first set of resource elements (REs); determine a second priority level associated with a second transmission on a second set of REs (
[0040] An aspect of the present disclosure is to provide procedures to define the UL/DL subband as a region of a continuous number of resource blocks (RBs).
[0083] Alternatively, the UE's behavior may depend on the indicated/configured priority of the conflicting transmissions. For example, if the UL transmission within a UL subband (irrespective of whether the UL subband is dynamically scheduled or configured by higher layer signaling) has higher priority than a DL reception within a DL BWP, the UE may transmit the UL and cancel DL reception. Similarly, if the DL reception within a DL subband (irrespective of whether the DL subband is dynamically scheduled or configured by higher layer signaling) has higher priority than a UL transmission within a UL BWP, the UE may receive the DL and cancel UL transmission according to a particular timeline/capability as described herein.); and
perform a transmission with a higher priority level among the first transmission and the second transmission in response to a resource collision being present between the first transmission and the second transmission (
See [0077] UL/DL subband is to reduce the latency of UL transmission/DL reception. Therefore, for a UL subband within a DL BWP or a carrier, the UE transmits the indicated UL transmission (e.g., configured by higher layer signaling, indicated by DCI, RAR UL grant, fallbackRAR UL grant, successRAR, etc.) and does not receive the DL which overlaps with any symbols used for the UL transmission within the UL subband.
[0083] Alternatively, the UE's behavior may depend on the indicated/configured priority of the conflicting transmissions. For example, if the UL transmission within a UL subband (irrespective of whether the UL subband is dynamically scheduled or configured by higher layer signaling) has higher priority than a DL reception within a DL BWP, the UE may transmit the UL and cancel DL reception. …..
[0200] In addition to the existing conditions, if a UE is dynamically instructed to receive the PDSCH or CSI-RS on a set of symbols, the UE does not expect to receive dynamic indication of Set 2 802 indicating any of these symbols to be the UL subband 803 when any RB/RE of PDSCH or CSI-RS overlaps with the UL subband 803.
[0201] In addition to the existing conditions, if a UE is configured by a higher layer to transmit a PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH in the set of symbols of the slot, the UE performs this transmission only if none of these symbols are instructed to be the DL subband 804 by dynamic indication of Set 2 802 that overlaps with any RB/RE carrying the PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS or PRACH. Otherwise, the same full cancellation or partial cancelation timeline/rules as those used for DCI 2_0 for legacy NR can be applied when collision occurs.
Supported bu US 63297352 Page 6 - 1st Bullet, Page 7 – 2nd & 3rd Bullet, Page 18 – 2nd – 4th Bullets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmission resource prioritization using RBs/sub-band of AWADIN to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG and ZHANG-78 in order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the latency of UL transmission/DL reception (AWADIN: [0077, 0083]).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG, in view of ZHANG-78 and AWADIN, teaches the UE of claim 7.
ZHANG and ZHANG-78 do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource collision is determined based on at least one of:
a time gap between the first set of REs and the second set of REs in time domain being less than a preconfigured duration; or
the first set of REs and the second set of REs at least partially overlapped in time domain.
AWADIN teaches wherein the resource collision is determined based on at least one of:
a time gap between the first set of REs and the second set of REs in time domain being less than a preconfigured duration; or
the first set of REs and the second set of REs at least partially overlapped in time domain (
[0077] A purpose for introducing the UL/DL subband is to reduce the latency of UL transmission/DL reception. Therefore, for a UL subband within a DL BWP or a carrier, the UE transmits the indicated UL transmission (e.g., configured by higher layer signaling, indicated by DCI, …. etc.) and does not receive the DL which overlaps with any symbols used for the UL transmission within the UL subband. However, for a DL subband within a UL BWP, when a conflict occurs between DL reception (e.g., configured by higher layer, indicated by DCI, etc.) in the DL subband and UL transmission in the UL BWP or a carrier, the UE may cancel or partially cancel UL transmission within the UL BWP to receive the DL within the DL subband. This cancelation can be subject to UE capability and according to a particular timeline. For example, this may be similar to the cancellation timeline/capability when conflict occurs between RRC UL transmission and dynamic DL reception.
See also [0083, 0200, 0201] cited for claim 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmission resource prioritization using RBs/sub-band of AWADIN to the method for configuring transmission direction of time-frequency resource of ZHANG and ZHANG-78 in order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing the latency of UL transmission/DL reception (AWADIN: [0077, 0083]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jiang; Lei (US 20240381333 A1), describing INFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD, DEVICE, TERMINAL, AND NETWORK SIDE DEVICE
Gou et al. (US 20240107512 A1), describing METHODS AND DEVICES FOR TIME-FREQUENCY RESOURCE CONFIGURATION
Shokri Razaghi et al. (US 20220295560 A1), describing DCI SIGNALLING INCLUDING AT LEAST ONE SLOT FORMAT INDICATOR, SFI, FIELD, AND A FREQUENCY RESOURCE INDICATOR FIELD
Nogami et al. (US 20220173867 A1), describing USER EQUIPMENTS, BASE STATIONS, AND METHODS
Noh et al. (US 20220124698 A1), describing RESOURCE ALLOCATION METHOD FOR PERFORMING TRANSMISSION IN UNLICENSED BAND, AND DEVICE USING SAME
Liu et al. (US 20230239843 A1), describing Methods And Apparatus For Sounding And Control Signaling Enhancements
Abotabl et al. (US 20210400637 A1), describing SCHEDULED ENTITY BEHAVIOR IN FULL-DUPLEX SLOT FORMAT
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413