DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “A method of by a user equipment (UE)” is indefinite because it does not clearly state whether the method is: a method performed by a UE, a method of measuring CSI by a UE, a method for measuring CSI in a wireless communication system, or another type of method.
Claims 2-6 are also indefinite for depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US 2023/0105748 A1, hereinafter “Abedini”).
Regarding claims 1 & 7, Abedini teaches a method performed by a UE / wireless communication device (Abedini discloses a “wireless communication device,” which may be a UE. See Abedini ¶¶ [0079], [0150], [0222]); receiving first information related to first transmission power of a CSI-RS (Abedini discloses that a wireless communication device receives a configuration indicating a first downlink transmit power for a CSI-RS. See ¶¶ [0151], [0159], [0223]; receiving the CSI-RS (Abedini discloses that the wireless communication device receives the CSI-RS in accordance with the first downlink transmit power. See ¶¶ [0155], [0161], [0224]); starting measurement of first CSI based on the first transmission power and the CSI-RS (Abedini discloses that the wireless communication device determines CSI or performs a channel measurement on CSI-RSs based on the first downlink transmit power. See ¶¶ [0155], [0156]); receiving second information related to second transmission power of the CSI-RS (Abedini discloses a second configuration/dynamic signaling indicating an updated downlink transmit power for CSI-RS, including via DCI, group-common DCI, MAC-CE, broadcast indication, or RRC. See ¶¶ [0158], [0162]); second transmission power having a different value from first transmission power (Abedini discloses first and second transmit powers for a downlink reference signal, where the first transmit power is different than the second transmit power. See ¶¶ [0007], [0021], [0078], [0151], [0223]); and measuring second CSI based on the CSI-RS and second transmission power (Abedini discloses receiving CSI-RS using the second downlink transmit power and determining CSI or performing a channel measurement based on the second downlink transmit power. See ¶¶ [0155], [0156], [0163], [0225]).
Regarding claims 3 & 9, Abedini discloses performing measurements on CSI-RS and applying a scaling factor so that the downlink transmit power associated with the CSI-RS is accounted for. This scaling factor corresponds to the claimed “weighting factor” corresponding to the second transmission power (see ¶¶ [0156] [0198] [0235]).
Claims 1, 7 and 16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (WO 2021/217328 A1, hereinafter “Abdel”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Abdel discloses a scheduled entity/UE method (See Fig. 19 and Fig. 20 scheduled-entity methods; scheduled entity 1800 in Fig. 18), comprising: receiving first information related to first transmission power of a CSI-RS (Abdel discloses the scheduled entity receiving a CSI-RS resource setting that includes power on CSI-RS ports. See Fig. 11, step 1106; Fig. 19, step 1902; Fig. 9 discussion); receiving the CSI-RS (Abdel discloses the scheduled entity receiving at least one CSI-RS from the scheduling entity on configured resources and ports. See Fig. 11, step 1110; Fig. 19, step 1904); starting measurement of first CSI based on first transmission power and CSI-RS (Abdel discloses generating a first CSI report based on the CSI-RS resource setting, which includes power on CSI-RS ports, using NZP CSI-RS resources for channel estimation and determining CQI, PMI, RI, and LI. See Fig. 11, step 1112); receiving second information related to second transmission power of CSI-RS (Abdel discloses receiving a CSI report configuration indicating a modified CSI-RS resource setting, where the modification includes a power offset from the CSI-RS resource setting. See Fig. 11, step 1108; claims 13–14; Fig. 19, step 1902. Abdel also discloses dynamic reconfiguration via MAC-CE or DCI updating the power offset. See Fig. 12, step 1210; claims 23–25; second transmission power different from first transmission power (Abdel discloses a power offset, including X dB less power or one-half power, relative to the original CSI-RS resource setting. See Fig. 10 discussion of power offset field 1014; scheduled-entity circuitry discussion of power offset); and measuring second CSI based on CSI-RS and second transmission power (Abdel discloses generating a second CSI report based on the modified CSI-RS resource setting, including assuming a power offset on the CSI-RS ports. See Fig. 11, step 1114; Fig. 12, step 1216; Fig. 14, step 1416).
Regarding claim 16, Abdel teaches A base station comprising transceiver, processor, and memory (Abdel discloses a scheduling entity/base station/gNB including a wireless transceiver, memory, and processor. See Summary, Fig. 15, scheduling entity 1500 includes processor 1504, memory 1505, transceiver 1510); transmit first information related to first transmission power of a CSI-RS (Abdel discloses transmitting an RRC message including a CSI-RS resource setting. The CSI-RS resource setting includes frequency resources, CSI-RS ports, and power on CSI-RS ports. See Fig. 11 / step 1106, Fig. 9 discussion: “Each CSI-RS resource setting 902 may indicate … power on the CSI-RS ports…”); transmit the CSI-RS (Abdel discloses transmitting CSI-RS on the configured frequency resources and CSI-RS ports. See Fig. 11 / step 1110 and Claim 1); transmit second information related to second transmission power of the CSI-RS (Abdel discloses transmitting a CSI report configuration that identifies a modified CSI-RS resource setting. The modification may include a power offset from the CSI-RS resource setting. Abdel also discloses dynamic reconfiguration via MAC-CE or DCI to update the power offset. See Fig. 11 / step 1108, Summary and claim 2, Fig. 12 / step 1210); second transmission power different from first transmission power (Abdel discloses a power offset relative to the original CSI-RS resource setting, including examples where the UE assumes X dB less power or one-half power on the CSI-RS ports. See Fig. 10 discussion: “The power offset field 1014 indicates that the scheduled entity should assume X dB less power on the CSI-RS ports…” Scheduled entity hardware discussion: “the power offset may indicate that the CSI report generation circuitry 1844 should assume X dB less power (one-half of the power) on the CSI-RS ports…”); receive CSI based on the CSI-RS B (Abdel discloses the scheduling entity receiving first and second CSI reports generated based on CSI-RS settings. See Fig. 11 / step 1116: “the scheduled entity 1104 transmits the first CSI report and the second CSI report to the scheduling entity 1102.” Claim 1: “receiving a first CSI report … generated based on the CSI-RS resource setting” and “receiving a second CSI report … generated based on the modified CSI-RS resource setting.”; and CSI includes measurement information based on the CSI-RS and second transmission power (Abdel discloses that the second CSI report is generated based on the modified CSI-RS resource setting, including a power offset on CSI-RS ports. The UE uses NZP CSI-RS resources for channel estimation and determines CSI parameters such as CQI, PMI, RI, and LI. See Fig. 11 / step 1114: “scheduled entity 1104 generates a second CSI report based on the modified CSI-RS resource setting… assuming a power offset on the CSI-RS ports…” Step 1112: UE uses NZP CSI-RS resources for channel estimation and determines CQI, PMI, RI, LI. Fig.12/step 1216: second CSI report generated based on modified CSI-RS resource setting as updated by dynamic reconfiguration. Fig. 14 / step 1416: second CSI report generated based on second CSI-RS resource setting with power offset.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6. 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Abedini et al. (US 2023/0105748 A1, hereinafter “Abedini”) in view of Ahmed et al. (US-12003446-B2, hereinafter “Ahmed”).
Regarding claims 2 & 8, Abedini teaches all the aspects of the claimed invention but is silent on the measurement of first CSI is ignored based on measurement of second CSI. However, Abedini teaches that CSI/channel measurement may be based on the updated second CSI-RS transmit power. See [0155], [0162], [0163]. Ahmed teaches canceling channel measurement reporting during power-mode switching. See Ahmed [0078]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ignore first CSI measured under the old power when second CSI is measured under the updated power to avoid using stale measurement information.
Regarding claims 6 & 12, Regarding claim 6, Abedini discloses all the aspects of the claimed invention except disclosing that the second transmission power is determined based on the first transmission power and the number of antenna
ports turned on by the base station. Ahmed teaches this feature. Ahmed discloses that a network power mode may be based on parameters affecting base-station power consumption, including a number of active antennas and a transmission power. See Ahmed ¶ [0056]. Ahmed further discloses example power modes in which the base station uses different numbers of active antennas, such as 128 antennas, 64 antennas, or 32 antennas. See Ahmed ¶ [0057]. Ahmed also discloses that different power modes may use different transmission powers, including reduced transmission powers. See Ahmed ¶¶ [0059]-[0060] and Table 2. Therefore, tt would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine Abedini's second CSI-RS transmission power based on the first CSI-RS
transmission power and the number of active/turned-on antenna ports of the base station, as taught by Ahmed, because Ahmed teaches varying base-station transmission power according to network power modes that include different numbers of active antennas. The motivation would have been to reduce base-station power consumption while allowing the UE in Abedini to perform accurate CSI-RS-based CSI measurement using the applicable CSI-RS transmission power.
Claims 5 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Abedini et al. (US 2023/0105748 A1, hereinafter “Abedini”).
Abedini is silent on “wherein the second information is applied at a time point before the measurement of the first CSI is completed.” Abedini discloses that signaling for CSI-RS transmit power adjustment may occur between two CSI-RS transmissions, but may also occur at any time (see ¶ [0158]) ¶ [0162] ¶ [0115]). Given Abedini’s disclosure that the second configuration can occur “at any time” and may apply according to a validity period or resource window, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the second information before a first CSI measurement is completed when the power adjustment occurs during an ongoing measurement interval. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the updated CSI-RS transmit power information before completion of the prior measurement would improve measurement accuracy and avoid reporting CSI based on stale or mismatched CSI-RS transmit-power assumptions.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ABDELGHAFFAR et al. (US-20230105748-A1, hereinafter “Abdel”) in view of Ibrahim et al. (US-12335989-B2, hereinafter “Ibrahim”) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 11,405,086 B2, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Abdel discloses the method of claim 1, including a scheduled entity/UE receiving a CSI-RS resource setting including power on CSI-RS ports, receiving CSI-RS, generating a first CSI report based on the CSI-RS resource setting, receiving a CSI report configuration indicating a modified CSI-RS resource setting including a power offset, generating a second CSI report based on the modified CSI-RS resource setting, and transmitting the first and second CSI reports to the scheduling entity. See
Abdel Fig. 11, steps 1106-1116; Fig. 12, steps 1210-1216.
Abdel does not expressly disclose that the second CSI is transmitted together
with a timestamp for a time point when measurement of the second CSI starts.
Ibrahim teaches that a UE obtains first and second CSI-related quantities in
respective first and second CSI-RS or CSI-IM resources in respective first
and second slots, and transmits a baseline CSI report based on the first
CSI-related quantity in the first slot and a differential CSI report based on
the second CSI-related quantity in the second slot. See Ibrahim Abstract and
¶¶ [211]-[212], [224]-[225]. Thus, Ibrahim teaches that CSI reports may be
associated with particular measurement slots and CSI-RS resources.
Zhang teaches using timing information, such as a subframe index associated
with CSI reporting, as an indication in CSI measurement/reporting procedures.
For example, Zhang discloses that the index of the UL subframe in which CSI
is reported may be used as an implicit indication, and that the base station
receives a CSI report from the UE based on a CSI measurement. See Zhang
¶¶ [0081], [0092]-[0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit Abdel's second CSI report together with timing information, such as a slot or subframe index, as taught or suggested by Ibrahim and Zhang, to indicate the time point or timing occasion at which the second CSI measurement starts. The motivation would have been to enable the base station to associate the received second CSI with the correct CSI-RS resource, slot, duplex mode, and modified CSI-RS power-offset configuration. This would improve correct
interpretation of the CSI report and support accurate scheduling and link
adaptation.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464