DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on October 11, 2024 (10/11/2024). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on July 24, 2026 (7/24/2026). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed October 11, 2024 (10/11/2024).
Claims 1-12 and 17-22 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 7 are amended.
Claims 13-16 have been canceled.
Claims 17-22 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THIRD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT, “Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on 5G System Support for AI/ML-based Services (Release 18),” 3GPP TS 23.700-80 V0.2.0 (April 2022) (hereinafter 3GPP 23.700) in view of Butt et al. (US 2024/0037450).
Regarding Claim 1, 3GPP 23.700 teaches a network node comprising: (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 2. “The AF tasks Federated Learning Assistance Function (which could be integrated in NEF, NWDAF or be standalone)”),
a processor configured to receive a request to subscribe for notifications (Pg. 82 Fig. 6.23.2-1 See “2. AIML_session Create request (UE group, UE number per cycle, Desired location area, overall response time per cycle, expected UE response time per cycle, Input model size, output model size” and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures Note 2 “Step 2 is shown as AIML_session Create Request, but step 2 could also be realized via an analytics request / subscription with new analytics type”)
indicating consent provided by one or more wireless transmit receive units (WTRUs) to participate in an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) operation supporting service enhancement for at least one application, (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes, UE location, or UE moving in or out of area of interest, to inquire or monitor availability of UEs and preferably select connected, active, registered, and/or reachable UEs and/or UEs within a desired region” Note: Registration state change to ‘registered’ indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL”)
the processor configured to receive, from a WTRU, a registration request message including an indication that the WTRU provides consent to participate in an AI/ML operation supporting at least one type of service enhancement, a service capability container indicating one or more service capabilities of the WTRU, and an address associated with the WTRU; (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes,” Note: Registration state change to ‘registered’ indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses)”),
the processor configured to send, to the WTRU, a registration response message indicating that a consent status associated with the WTRU is active for one or more applications, (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: FL starts for only consenting UEs)
wherein the one or more applications utilizes the at least one type of service enhancement, and wherein the one or more applications utilize service enhancement for which the one or more indicated service capabilities of the WTRU permit the WTRU to participate in an AI/ML operation; (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: FL starts for only consenting UEs and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL”),
and the processor configured to send a notification message indicating consent provided by the selected WTRU to participate in an AI/ML operation supporting service enhancement for at least one of the one or more applications, and wherein the notification message includes the address associated with the WTRU (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: Only consenting UEs can participate in FL, and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
3GPP 23.700, however, does not explicitly teach a randomization flag enabling random selection of at least one of the one or more WTRUs for which a notification message is to be sent along with the processor configured to, based on the randomization flag, randomly select the WTRU.
In the same field of endeavor, Butt teaches teach a randomization flag enabling random selection of at least one of the one or more WTRUs for which a notification message is to be sent and the processor configured to, based on the randomization flag, randomly select the WTRU (Par. [0031] “This model may be transmitted to a gNB, which may also be represented as a central meta training host (MTH)” and Par. [0058] “According to certain example embodiments, the MTH may request all the UEs to send their model_ready flags (e.g., via RRC signaling), and random selection may be based among the UEs that reported model_ready=0”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Butt’s randomization flag, random selection, and structure with 3GPP 23.700’s federated learning process to improve the federated learning process through stochastic optimization (Butt et al. Par. [0053]).
Regarding Claim 2, 3GPP 23.700 in view of Butt teaches the invention of Claim 1, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches the registration response message includes a list of applications for which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active (Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
Regarding Claim 3, 3GPP 23.700 in view of Butt teaches the invention of Claim 1, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches the request to subscribe for notifications includes an indication of a first time period during which the AI/ML operation is to be carried out or during which notifications are to be sent, (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 2. “Optionally, the AF may provide time when to start federated learning, duration of federated learning”),
wherein the registration request message includes an indication of a second time period during which the consent status is valid; (Pg. 89 6.26.2 Procedures 0. “Both the UE and application server exchanges the FL operation information such as UE’s capability, UE’s wishes (if any e.g. time window that UE is available),)” and Pg. 88 6.26.1 Description “In addition, optionally, application server can also provide time window (e.g. start and end time) of FL operation” and Pg. 89 6.26.2 Procedures 4. “AF selects the UEs and sends FL operation request to the UE with agreed time or time window with the network. The UEs determine whether it can join the FL operation or not. If yes, the UE sends the accept notification to the AF”),
and wherein the WTRU is randomly selected on a condition the first time period and the second time period overlap (Pg. 89 6.26.2 Procedures Note 2: “Based on step 0, the AF determines the UE list and the QoS requirements to perform the FL operation. Also, what triggers the FL operation (e.g. at a specific location, in a specific time window)” and Pg. 89 6.26.2 Procedures 4. “AF selects the UEs and sends FL operation request to the UE with agreed time or time window with the network. The UEs determine whether it can join the FL operation or not. If yes, the UE sends the accept notification to the AF”).
Regarding Claim 4, 3GPP 23.700 in view of Butt teaches the invention of Claim 1, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches the request to subscribe for notifications includes an indication of an area of interest, (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 2. “The AF indicates a list or group of UEs to choose from, the number of UEs required to perform federated learning cycle, possibly a desired location of UEs in a form of a target area for FL… When providing a target area for FL, the AF may provide sub-areas” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: Area of Interest (AIML operation for the UEs in the area of interest”),
and wherein the processor is configured to send the notification message on a condition the randomly selected WTRU is within the area of interest (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes, UE location, or UE moving in or out of area of interest, to inquire or monitor availability of UEs and preferably select connected, active, registered, and/or reachable UEs and/or UEs within a desired region”).
Regarding Claim 5, 3GPP 23.700 in view of Butt teaches the invention of Claim 1, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches the request to subscribe for notifications includes a group identifier associated with a group of WTRUs that includes the WTRU, and wherein the address associated with the WTRU is the group identifier (Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 23.700 in view of Butt et al. (US 2024/0037450) in further view of Dey Kuntal et al. (EP 4181004).
Regarding Claim 6, 3GPP 23.700 in view of Butt teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a memory device configured to store information indicating the consent status associated with the WTRU for the one or more applications.
In the same field of endeavor, Dey Kuntal teaches a memory device configured to store information indicating the consent status associated with the WTRU for the one or more applications (Par. [0019] “the system 100 may provide functionality for configuring machine learning models that may utilized to perform federated learning and training on user data, which may enable more training data to be acquired for purposes of training the machine learning models and allow more rapid development of accurate predictive and/or diagnostic capabilities” and Par. [0026] “To illustrate, during the analysis, the collection mechanisms executed or performed by the client-side may compile information stored in the one or more databases, such as information regarding agreements or other types of data that may specify privacy requirements agreed upon (or consented to) by the user and the service provider operating the computing device performing the analysis” and Par. [0028] “The agreements may include service agreements, data privacy agreements, data sharing agreements, or other types of agreements that control usage of user data, including any computation/storage policies or agreements”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dey Kuntal’s database that stores user agreements with Butt’s randomization flag and random selection and 3GPP 23.700’s federated learning process to better manage data from multiple sources.
Claims 7-12 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs et al. (US 2025/0247720) in view of THIRD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT, “Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on 5G System Support for AI/ML-based Services (Release 18),” 3GPP TS 23.700-80 V0.2.0 (April 2022) (hereinafter 3GPP 23.700).
Regarding Claim 7, Kovacs teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: (Fig. 9, see 900, Par. [0304] “FIG. 9 is a block diagram of a wireless station (e.g., AP, BS, e/gNB, NB-IoT UE, UE or user device) 900”),
a processor; (Fig. 9, See 904),
and a transceiver; (Fig. 9, See 902),
the processor and the transceiver configured to send a registration request message (Par. [0086] “At 202 the UE requests one or more signaling configurations from the gNB to be used during the execution of one or more ML-based algorithms” and Par. [0090] “The signaling configuration information indicates for each requested ML-based algorithm, at least the following. [0091] “a ML-based algorithm ID—to be used by the gNB when aggregating information from several UEs and when sending ACK/NACK messages” and [0092] “This ID can be an ID of the ML-based algorithm/functionality e.g., HO, beam-selection, PC, etc. [0093] In some implementations, this ID can also include a version number for a continuously updated model as for federated learning solutions”),
the processor and the transceiver configured to receive a registration response message (Par. [0099] “At 203, the UE receives the signaling configuration(s) from the gNB, implicitly indicating the acknowledgment that the UE can start using the corresponding ML-based algorithm(s) to take actions”),
and the processor and the transceiver configured to receive a message from a network node initiating traffic for an AI/ML (Par. [0103] “The UE may apply the received configurations and disable all other ML-based algorithms for which it did not request or receive a configuration” Par. [0104] “The configuration message can include a different evaluation KPI than requested by the UE” and Par. [0105] “At 204, the UE activates the ML algorithm, which produces an output”).
Kovacs, however, does not explicitly teach a registration request message including an indication that the WTRU provides consent to participate in an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) operation supporting at least one type of service enhancement, a service capability container indicating one or more service capabilities of the WTRU, and an address associated with the WTRU, a registration response message indicating that a consent status associated with the WTRU is active for one or more applications and indicating a period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active wherein the one or more applications utilize the at least one type of service enhancement, and wherein the one or more applications utilize service enhancement for which the one or more indicated service capabilities of the WTRU permit the WTRU to participate in an AI/ML operation; and the processor and the transceiver configured to receive, on a condition the period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active has not elapsed, a message from a network node initiating traffic for an AI/ML operation supporting at least one of the one or more applications
3GPP 23.700 teaches an indication that the WTRU provides consent to participate in an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) operation supporting at least one type of service enhancement, a service capability container indicating one or more service capabilities of the WTRU, and an address associated with the WTRU (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes,” Note: Registration state change to ‘registered’ indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”),
indicating that a consent status associated with the WTRU is active for one or more applications and indicating a period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: FL starts for only consenting UEs” and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL”),
wherein the one or more applications utilize the at least one type of service enhancement, and wherein the one or more applications utilize service enhancement for which the one or more indicated service capabilities of the WTRU permit the WTRU to participate in an AI/ML operation; (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: FL starts for only consenting UEs” and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”),
and on a condition the period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active has not elapsed, a message from a network node initiating traffic for an AI/ML operation supporting at least one of the one or more applications (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: Only consenting UEs can participate in FL, and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 8, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 7, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches a list of applications for which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active (Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 9, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 7, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches a condition the WTRU enters a geographical area (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 2. “The AF indicates a list or group of UEs to choose from, the number of UEs required to perform federated learning cycle, possibly a desired location of UEs in a form of a target area for FL… When providing a target area for FL, the AF may provide sub-areas” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: Area of Interest (AIML operation for the UEs in the area of interest”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 10, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 9 configuration information associated with service enhancement, the configuration information indicating an area of interest associated with one or more applications, wherein the area of interest at least in part overlaps with the geographical area (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes, UE location, or UE moving in or out of area of interest, to inquire or monitor availability of UEs and preferably select connected, active, registered, and/or reachable UEs and/or UEs within a desired region”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 11, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 7, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches the address associated with the WTRU is a group identifier associated with a group of WTRUs (Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 12, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 7, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches prior to the sending of the registration request message, the consent status associated with the WTRU is inactive for the one or more applications (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes, UE location, or UE moving in or out of area of interest, to inquire or monitor availability of UEs and preferably select connected, active, registered, and/or reachable UEs and/or UEs within a desired region” Note: Registration state change to ‘registered’ indicates exiting an inactive consent state to an active one).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 17, Kovacs teaches a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: (Fig. 2)
sending a registration request message (Par. [0086] “At 202 the UE requests one or more signaling configurations from the gNB to be used during the execution of one or more ML-based algorithms” and Par. [0090] “The signaling configuration information indicates for each requested ML-based algorithm, at least the following. [0091] “a ML-based algorithm ID—to be used by the gNB when aggregating information from several UEs and when sending ACK/NACK messages” and [0092] “This ID can be an ID of the ML-based algorithm/functionality e.g., HO, beam-selection, PC, etc. [0093] In some implementations, this ID can also include a version number for a continuously updated model as for federated learning solutions”),
receiving a registration response message (Par. [0099] “At 203, the UE receives the signaling configuration(s) from the gNB, implicitly indicating the acknowledgment that the UE can start using the corresponding ML-based algorithm(s) to take actions”),
and receiving a message from a network node initiating traffic for an AI/ML operation (Par. [0103] “The UE may apply the received configurations and disable all other ML-based algorithms for which it did not request or receive a configuration” Par. [0104] “The configuration message can include a different evaluation KPI than requested by the UE” and Par. [0105] “At 204, the UE activates the ML algorithm, which produces an output”).
Kovacs, however, does not explicitly teach the registration request message including an indication that the WTRU provides consent to participate in an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) operation supporting at least one type of service enhancement, a service capability container indicating one or more service capabilities of the WTRU, and an address associated with the WTRU, a registration response message indicating that a consent status associated with the WTRU is active for one or more applications and indicating a period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active wherein the one or more applications utilize the at least one type of service enhancement, and wherein the one or more applications utilize service enhancement for which the one or more indicated service capabilities of the WTRU permit the WTRU to participate in an AI/ML operation; and the processor and the transceiver configured to receive, on a condition the period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active has not elapsed, a message from a network node initiating traffic for an AI/ML operation supporting at least one of the one or more applications.
3GPP 23.700 teaches an indication that the WTRU provides consent to participate in an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) operation supporting at least one type of service enhancement, a service capability container indicating one or more service capabilities of the WTRU, and an address associated with the WTRU (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes,” Note: Registration state change to ‘registered’ indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”),
indicating that a consent status associated with the WTRU is active for one or more applications and indicating a period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: FL starts for only consenting UEs” and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL”),
wherein the one or more applications utilize the at least one type of service enhancement, and wherein the one or more applications utilize service enhancement for which the one or more indicated service capabilities of the WTRU permit the WTRU to participate in an AI/ML operation; (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: FL starts for only consenting UEs” and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”),
and on a condition the period during which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active has not elapsed, a message from a network node initiating traffic for an AI/ML operation supporting at least one of the one or more applications (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 10. “The AF sends to suggested UEs a request to start federated learning cycle(s) with input model and receives output model from each UE for each learning cycle” Note: Only consenting UEs can participate in FL, and Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 11-12 “The Federated Learning Assistance Function monitors whether suggested UEs remain available (registered, active, reachable)” Note: Registration state change to registered indicates consent, and Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 18, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 17, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches a list of applications for which the consent status associated with the WTRU is active (Pg. 84 6.24.1 Description “The AF can consume WLAN performance analytics per UE from the NWDAF for candidate UE list or for any UE in AOI. Then take WLAN performance analytics per UE, UE consent for FL and UE capability for FL of each UE into account, the AF determines the UE group for FL” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB with the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 19, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 17, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches a registration request message is sent responsive to a determination that the WTRU has entered a geographical area (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 2. “The AF indicates a list or group of UEs to choose from, the number of UEs required to perform federated learning cycle, possibly a desired location of UEs in a form of a target area for FL… When providing a target area for FL, the AF may provide sub-areas” and Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: Area of Interest (AIML operation for the UEs in the area of interest”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 20, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 19, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches receiving configuration information associated with service enhancement, the configuration information indicating an area of interest associated with one or more applications, wherein the area of interest at least in part overlaps with the geographical area (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes, UE location, or UE moving in or out of area of interest, to inquire or monitor availability of UEs and preferably select connected, active, registered, and/or reachable UEs and/or UEs within a desired region”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 21, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 17, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches the address associated with the WTRU is a group identifier associated with a group of WTRUs (Pg. 86-87 6.25.2 Procedures 6.25.2 Procedure for Providing 5Gs Assistance Information for Federated Learning Operation 1. “The AI/ML Application Server requests FL assistance information for the UE list included in the request. It also indicates that these UEs are authorized by AI/ML Application Server (application side) for FL operation. The input parameters of the Nnef_AIMLAssistanceInfo_Request service operation can be as below: UE List (GPSIs, External Group ID, or IP addresses), AF-Service Identifier, External Application Identifier”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Regarding Claim 22, Kovacs in view of 3GPP 23.700 teaches the invention of Claim 17, where 3GPP 23.700 further teaches prior to the sending of the registration request message, the consent status associated with the WTRU is inactive for the one or more applications (Pg. 83, Par. 6.23.2 Procedures 3-4, “The Federated Learning Assistance Function may query or subscribe at AMF to UE related events such as connectivity state… UE reachability status, registration state changes, UE location, or UE moving in or out of area of interest, to inquire or monitor availability of UEs and preferably select connected, active, registered, and/or reachable UEs and/or UEs within a desired region” Note: Registration state change to ‘registered’ indicates exiting an inactive consent state to an active one).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the message contents of 3GPP 23.700 with Kovacs’s structure of a UE and gNB to improve UE selection for application federated learning operations (3GPP 23.700, Pg. 83 6.23.3 Impacts on services, entities and interfaces).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GENG ET AL., “DID-eFed: Facilitating Federated Learning as a Service with Decentralized Identities,” Arvix.org (May 2021) (found in IDS) discloses randomly selecting a subset of devices for federated learning (Pg. 2 2. Preliminaries, 2.1 Federated Learning, 2.1.2 Training Process of Federated Learning See Algorithm 1).
THIRD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT, “Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on enablers for network automation for the 5G System (5GS); Phase 2 (Release 17),” 3GPP TR 23.700-91 V2.0.0 (November 2020) (found in IDS) discloses a sampling ratio during selection for federated learning where the selection is random (Pg. 315, 6.71.3 Procedures)
KOURTELLIS ET AL., “FLaaS: Federated Learning as a Service,” arXiv:2011.09359v1 (November 2020) (found in IDS) discloses federated learning for UEs with multiple applications which are grouped (Pg. 4 Par. 4 FLaaS SYSTEM DESIGN 4.2 APIs and Software Libraries).
/J.N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641