DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of group 1: claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 03/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is hereby withdrawn.
IDS
The IDS entered 10/11/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pascal (FR2874193) of record.
Regarding claims 1 and 4-7, Pascal discloses a blowing mold for molding a plastic container (fig.1, 2a, 2b), by blow molding a preform having a neck and a neck ring (neck ring 6), the blowing mold being adapted to be opened and closed, and comprising at least two parts which (claim 1, P0007, pg.17), when the blowing mold is closed, form a support (5a), or striker plate, adapted to abut against the neck ring of the preform (fig.3A); wherein a surface of said support is provided with one or more protrusions adapted to come into contact with the preform (fig.3B, 14a and 14b).
Pascal does not teach that the protrusions come into contact with the portion of the preform below the neck ring and leave a corresponding impression below the neck ring, where the protrusions are on a molding surface of the mold, however, this amounts to a rearrangement of parts. It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
Pascal discloses the claimed invention except for the rearrangement of protrusions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the protrusions, since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to rearrange protrusions for the purpose of adapting the mold machine to the processing of blanks of different conformations as taught by Pascal (P0007, pg.17).
Regarding claim 8, Pascal discloses two protrusions (fig.3B, 14a and 14b).
Regarding claim 10, Pascal discloses a support that has a face adapted to abut against the neck ring of the preform; and wherein said surface is transverse, preferably perpendicular, to said face (P0010, fig.3a, surface 4 is perpendicular to surface 5 where the neck ring abuts).
Regarding claims 11-12, Pascal discloses when the blowing mold is closed, said surface delimits an opening adapted to be crossed by the preform and the two parts define the surface of the support (P0010, fig.3a, surface 4).
Regarding claim 13, Pascal discloses said two parts are adapted to approach each other during the closure of the blowing mold and to move away from each other during the opening of the blowing mold (P0010-11).
Regarding claim 14, Pascal discloses two half-molds wherein each part of said two parts is fixed to a respective half-mold (P0010-11).
Regarding claim 15, Pascal is not specific to the two parts being disassemblable from the respective half mold. Pascal discloses the claimed invention except for the two parts being disassemblable from the respective half mold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the two parts being disassemblable from the respective half mold, since it have been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in art. One would have been motivated to make the elements separable for the purpose of easy replacement to suit different configurations of the mold. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERICA HARTSELL FUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1741