DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 5/6/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110499958 (CN 958) in view of EP 0682167 to Udo et al (Udo).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, CN 958 discloses a security system for locks. The lock is equipped with a bolt (5).
The security system comprises a closed-door detector (11) configured to move linearly when activated by an external element, and an anti-tamper cam (20) configured to be situated either in a first non-locking position or in a second locking position, such that the anti-tamper cam is situated in a second locking position when the closed-door detector moves linearly by making contact with the external element, preventing the bolt from opening.
The security system further comprises a locking element (27) configured to rotate around a second axis of articulation, the hinged locking element being provided with a locking portion configured in such a way that when the hinged locking element rotates around the second axis of articulation, said locking portion acts as a stop for the bolt, preventing the opening thereof.
CN 958 fails to disclose that the locking element is hinged. CN 958 just discloses that the locking element rotates.
Udo teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a hinge (10) to a locking element (9) for rotatably support the element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the locking element described by CN 958 with a hinge, as taught by Udo, in order to rotatably support the element.
As to claim 2, CN 958 discloses that the anti-tamper cam (20) is configured to rotate around a first axis of articulation.
As to claim 3, CN 958 illustrates that the locking element is dimensioned to comply with the following geometric condition:
H
×
L
2
>
R
×
L
1
wherein:
(H) is the distance within which the anti-tamper cam locks the bolt;
(R) is the distance that the hinged locking element must travel to lock the bolt;
(L1) is the distance between the first axis of articulation and the first point of contact of the anti-tamper cam and the bolt; and
(L2) is the distance between the second axis of articulation and the first point of contact of the locking portion and the bolt.
As seen above, R is smaller than H, and L1 is approximately the same as L2, so then CN 958 is configured to comply with the equation.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size or shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
As to claim 4, CN 958 illustrates that the following geometric condition is also configured to meet:
A>B
wherein:
(A) is the distance the bolt travels until it is locked by the hinged locking element; and
(B) is the distance the bolt travels until it is locked by the anti-tamper cam.
As to claim 5, CN 958 illustrates that the following geometric condition is also configured to meet:
A
×
H
×
L
2
>
R
×
B
×
L
1
.
As to claim 6, CN 958 illustrates that the centre of gravity of the hinged locking element is situated outside the second axis of rotation (not in the axis).
As to claim 7, Udo teaches that the locking element (9) is spring-loaded (spring 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the combination fails to disclose a hinged locking element configured to rotate around a second axis of articulation, being provided with a locking portion configured in such a way that when the hinged locking element rotates around the second axis of articulation, the locking portion acts as a stop for the bolt, preventing the opening thereof.
The applicant argues that the present claimed system is different from the cited art and that the functioning of the system claimed is completely different from the disclosed in the prior art.
The claim just requires a “hinged locking element” that acts as a stop for the bolt, nothing else.
CN 958 discloses that element 27 is configured to rotate around a second axis of articulation and is provided with a portion (end of 27) configured in such a way that when the element rotates around the second axis of articulation, the portion acts as a stop for the bolt (4, 5), preventing the opening thereof.
Therefore, element 27 is a locking element as claimed.
Udo is only used to demonstrate that it is well known in the art to provide a hinge (10) to a locking element (9) for rotatably support the element.
Therefore, CN 958, as modified by Udo, discloses the invention as claimed.
Since the arguments are not persuasive, and the examiner will not change this position, in order to expedite prosecution, applicant can 1) clearly claim the invention or 2) file an appeal brief as his next response in order to allow the Board of Appeals to decide.
Prosecution has been closed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
June 6, 2026