DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office Action in response to a non-final Office Action reply filed 6/10/26 in which claim 1 was amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 113860795, already of record, and English translation provided by Examiner) in view of Friedrich et al (CN 112041146, English translation provided) and further in view of Schulte (DE 102015111110, English translation provided).
For claim 1, Zhao teaches a method for preparing a decorative material, comprising the following steps of: S1: introducing a design pattern to be made into a control computer of a digital material distributor, using a main base material for material distribution to form a main base material layer (pg 2 paragraph 2 steps S1-S2), wherein the main base material is a thermoplastic material (pg 2 paragraph 4).
Zhao does not teach distributing a grain base material on an upper surface of the main base material layer according to a preset surface grain to form a grain pattern, so as to obtain a blank; S2: performing hot-press molding on the blank to obtain a semi-finished product embedded with the grain base material on a surface, wherein the grain base material and the main base material are non-fused at a set temperature of the hot-press molding; and S3: removing the grain base material on the surface of the semi-finished product to obtain the decorative material; wherein the decorative material has a whole-body texture and a surface grain matched with a pattern.
However, Zhao does teach forming a grain pattern according to a preset surface grain (pg 2 paragraph 4) and in the same field of endeavor pertaining to manufacturing a component including a surface provided with a surface structure, Friedrich et al teach distributing a grain base material on an upper surface of the main base material layer to form a pattern, so as to obtain a blank (pg 2 last paragraph); S2: performing hot-press molding on the blank to obtain a semi-finished product embedded with the grain base material on a surface (pg 3 paragraph 1) wherein the grain base material and the main base material would be non-fused at a set temperature of the hot-press molding; and S3: removing the grain base material on the surface of the semi-finished product to obtain the decorative material (pg 3 paragraph 7); wherein the decorative material would have a whole-body texture and a surface grain matched with a pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Friedrich et al with those of Zhao by distributing a grain base material on an upper surface of the main base material layer according to a preset surface grain to form a grain pattern, so as to obtain a blank; S2: performing hot-press molding on the blank to obtain a semi-finished product embedded with the grain base material on a surface, wherein the grain base material and the main base material are non-fused at a set temperature of the hot-press molding; and S3: removing the grain base material on the surface of the semi-finished product to obtain the decorative material; wherein the decorative material has a whole-body texture and a surface grain matched with a pattern as an alternative, easier way to produce the desired rich wood texture effects suggested by Zhao (pg 1 fourth line from bottom, pg 2 paragraph 4) without having to scrape away the material.
The previous combination does not teach the removing is realized by brushing or sucking.
However, in the same field of endeavor pertaining to a method for producing a decorative layer, Schulte teaches removing is realized by sucking (Abstract), and as such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute sucking for the removal methods of Friedrich et al as an alternative, easier way to remove the grain base material on the surface of the semi-finished product.
For claims 2-5 and 7-10, Zhao teaches the decorative material is a sheet material or a rollable material (pg 2 last paragraph); preparation materials of the main base material comprise a thermoplastic polymer and a filler; preparation materials of the main base material further comprise a toner; the main base material is one or more of granule, powder, flake or viscous substance (pg 2 paragraph 4); a lower surface of the main base material layer is provided with a base layer (pg3 last line); the step S3 further comprises performing surface treatment on the surface of the semi-finished product from which the grain base material is removed; the surface treatment comprises waxing (pg 3 paragraph 1) and the decorative material is a floor decorative material (pg 2 paragraph 1).
For claim 6, the grain base material and the main base material would be incompatible in characters since the particulate structure (the grain base material) can be removed by solvent and/or by application of thermal energy (see citation above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/10/26 were fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Friedrich embodies a completely different inventive concept from the present application. Its core lies in utilizing the intermediate "incompletely hardened" state of materials during additive manufacturing to print fine surface textures by loading fine particles, but conversely, the present disclosure simultaneously distributes and hot-presses the particles together with the powder/granular main base material, achieving a perfect match between the whole-body texture and the surface unevenness.
Examiner, however, points out that Friedrich also distributes and hot-presses the particles together with the powder/granular main base material, and would achieve a perfect match between the whole-body texture and the surface unevenness.
Applicant's other arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES SANDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743