DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-8, 11-13, 15-17, 20-22, 27, 30, and 31 have been examined and are pending. The Office acknowledges the amended claim set received in the Office on July 1, 2025.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2024 has been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings were received on 10/11/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
6. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 8, dependent upon claim 7, does not necessarily further narrow the respective base claim. Claim 7 lists alternative language in which one or more of the alternating language may or may not be selected for prosecution. Claim 8 includes limitations further narrowing one of the alternatives, and thus when the other alternative is selected for prosecution, claim 8 is indefinite. Examiner respectfully suggests amending either claim 7 or claim 8 to positively recite the limitations that clearly sets forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. The rejections below have similar issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-7, 17, 20, 21, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0098588 A1 to Da Silva et al. (hereinafter “Da Silva”).
Regarding Claim 1, Da Silva discloses a mobility management method (Da Silva: [0111] – base station and corresponding network function includes procedures utilizing Mobility Management Entities (MME).), applied to a terminal device, the method comprising:
receiving first configuration information (Da Silva: [0074-0076], [0082-0086] – UE receives configuration from network.), wherein the first configuration information comprises a beam identifier (Da Silva: [0082-0086] – configuration includes beam index.);
determining a beam to be measured according to the beam identifier (Da Silva: [0086] – granular configuration includes beam index for measurement.);
performing measurement on the beam to be measured to obtain a beam measurement result (Da Silva: [0074-0080], [0082-0086] – UE performs measurement according to configuration, the configuration including the beam index.); and
triggering measurement reporting or handover according to the beam measurement result and a result threshold (Da Silva: [0066-0069], [0074-0078], [0082-0088] – corresponds to triggering the measurement report and/or triggering a handover, based on a condition being satisfied (a measurement threshold) and the received configuration.).
Regarding Claim 2, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information further comprises a cell identifier (Da Silva: [0074-0081] – corresponds to receiving the configuration comprising measurement parameters, including cell (global) IDs.); and
the determining the beam to be measured according to the beam identifier comprises:
determining a cell to be measured according to the cell identifier (Da Silva: [0074-0081] – corresponds to receiving the configuration comprising measurement parameters, including cell (global) IDs.), wherein the cell to be measured comprises a plurality of candidate beams (Da Silva: [0074-0081] – the cell identities correspond to target cell candidates.); and
determining, from the plurality of candidate beams, a candidate beam described by the beam identifier as the beam to be measured (Da Silva: [0080-0083], [0086] – a specific target candidate may be indicated in a measurement report, thus having been measured.).
Regarding Claim 3, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information further comprises a reference signal type (Da Silva: [0019], [0074-0080] – measurement configuration includes reference signal type, for example, RSRP or RSRQ.), and the beam to be measured has a plurality of corresponding candidate signal types (Da Silva: [0065-0067], [0074-0076] – the configuration includes target candidate types, for example New Radio or Long-Term Evolution (LTE) candidates.);
the performing measurement on the beam to be measured to obtain the beam measurement result comprises:
determining, from the plurality of candidate signal types, a candidate signal type matching the reference signal type (Da Silva: [0081] – a beam index (for a CHO, as an example) corresponds to a measurement of an RSRQ or RSRP.); and
performing measurement on a reference signal described by the matching candidate signal type in the beam to be measured to obtain the beam measurement result (Da Silva: [0074-0080], [0082-0086] – UE performs measurement according to configuration and includes the values (RSRQ and/or RSRP) measured for the target cell candidates.).
Regarding Claim 4, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the result threshold is determined from second configuration information corresponding to the first configuration information (Da Silva: [0032-0033], [0036-0038], [0073-0076] – corresponds to receiving a measurement configuration and a configuration for whether the UE should include CHO candidates in a measurement report, the second (CHO) configuration is based on measurements received in the measurement configuration.).
Regarding Claim 5, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the second configuration information further comprises:
a measurement result type (Da Silva: [0076-0080] – corresponds to one or more measurement types and corresponding measurement results included in the report, including event triggered measurement report; periodical measurement report; cell global identity (CGI) report; cross-link interference (CLI) report; and a system frame number frame timing difference (SFTD) report.);
the performing measurement on the beam to be measured to obtain the beam measurement result comprises:
performing measurement on the beam to be measured to obtain the beam measurement result that conforms to the measurement result type (Da Silva: [0077-0083] – corresponds to providing a measurement report based on the measurement type received in the configuration. See also [0094-0099] with associated Tables that describes the plurality of measurement results.).
Regarding Claim 6, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the beam measurement result and the result threshold comprises:
determining, according to the beam measurement result and the result threshold, that a target result event occurs (Da Silva: [0074-0080] – corresponds to determining a condition being satisfied based on a measurement result and a threshold of the result (RSRQ, RSRP).); and
triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the target result event (Da Silva: [0066-0069], [0074-0078], [0082-0088] – corresponds to triggering the measurement report and/or triggering a handover, based on a condition being satisfied (a measurement threshold) and the received configuration.).
Regarding Claim 7, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the second configuration information further comprises at least one of a counting threshold or a timer (Describing what is known in the art, Da Silva discloses a configuration comprising at least a timer element in at least [0017].); and
wherein the triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the target result event comprises any one of:
directly triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the target result event (Da Silva: [0066-0069], [0074-0078], [0082-0088] – corresponds to triggering the measurement report and/or triggering a handover, based on a condition being satisfied (a measurement threshold) and the received configuration.);
triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the target result event and the counting threshold (alternative or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.);
triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the target result event and the timer (alternative or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.); or
triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the target result event, the counting threshold, and the timer (alternative or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 17, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the beam measurement result and result threshold comprises:
generating a measurement reporting message according to the beam measurement result and the result threshold (Da Silva: [0074-0078] – based on a configuration and a measurement result (see [0080-0081]) satisfying a threshold (see [0076]), a measurement report is transmitted to the network.); and
triggering the measurement reporting or handover according to the measurement reporting message (Da Silva: [0066-0069], [0074-0078], [0082-0088] – corresponds to triggering the measurement report and/or triggering a handover, based on a condition being satisfied (a measurement threshold) and the received configuration.), wherein the measurement reporting message carries any one of the following:
the beam identifier (Da Silva: [0081] – corresponds to a beam index.);
the cell identifier (Da Silva: [0080] – corresponds to a cell identifier.);
a third configuration identifier, wherein the third configuration identifier is used to identify third configuration information, the third configuration information comprises a correspondence between a first configuration identifier and a second configuration identifier, the first configuration identifier is used to identify the first configuration information, and the second configuration identifier is used to identify the second configuration information (alternative or dispositive limitation not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 20, Da Silva discloses a mobility management method (Da Silva: [0111] – base station and corresponding network function includes procedures utilizing Mobility Management Entities (MME).), applied to a network device, the method comprising:
sending first configuration information to a terminal device (Da Silva: [0074-0076], [0082-0086] – network transmits configuration to the UE.), wherein the first configuration information comprises a beam identifier (Da Silva: [0082-0086] – configuration includes beam index.); and
in response to measurement reporting or handover of the terminal device, triggering a cell handover for the terminal device, wherein the measurement reporting or handover is triggered by the terminal device based on a beam measurement result and a result threshold (Da Silva: [0066-0069], [0074-0078], [0082-0088] – corresponds to triggering the measurement report and/or triggering a handover, based on a condition being satisfied (a measurement threshold) and the received configuration.), the beam measurement result is obtained by the terminal device performing measurement on a beam to be measured (Da Silva: [0086] – granular configuration includes beam index for measurement.), and the beam to be measured is determined by the beam identifier (Da Silva: [0086] – granular configuration includes beam index for measurement.).
Regarding Claim 21, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 20, wherein the first configuration information further comprises a reference signal type (Da Silva: [0019], [0074-0080] – measurement configuration includes reference signal type, for example, RSRP or RSRQ.), and the beam to be measured has a plurality of corresponding candidate signal types (Da Silva: [0065-0067], [0074-0076] – the configuration includes target candidate types, for example New Radio or Long-Term Evolution (LTE) candidates.);
the beam measurement result is obtained by the terminal device performing measurement on a reference signal described by a candidate signal type matching the reference signal type in the beam to be measured (Da Silva: [0074-0080], [0082-0086] – UE performs measurement according to configuration and includes the values (RSRQ and/or RSRP) measured for the target cell candidates.).
Claim 30, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Da Silva discloses the apparatus as a user equipment comprising a processor and memory in at least Figure 5 with [0050], [0153-0165].
Claim 31, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 20, recites similar features as claim 20 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 20. Please see above rejection of claim 20. Da Silva discloses the apparatus as a network node comprising a processor and memory in at least Figure 7, element 1700 with [0181-0182.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0243660 A1 to Xie et al. (hereinafter “Xie”).
Regarding Claim 11, Da Silva discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the measurement configuration and the CHO configuration includes information for a target, or candidate, beam (Da Silva: [0066-0069], [0074-0078], [0082-0088]), but Da Silva does not expressly disclose wherein the beam to be measured comprises a serving beam and a reference beam, and correspondingly, the beam measurement result comprises a serving measurement result value of the serving beam and a reference measurement result value of the reference beam.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Xie. Xie is similarly concerned with determining a beam based on one or more measurements, particular when handover is required (Xie: [0002], [0006]). Xie discloses the beam to be measured comprises a serving beam and a reference beam (Xie: [0137] – “…the beam measured by the user equipment includes a beam of a camped cell and/or a serving cell and/or a neighboring cell.”), and correspondingly, the beam measurement result comprises a serving measurement result value of the serving beam and a reference measurement result value of the reference beam (Xie: [0137-0144] – a result may be determined for the serving and/or neighboring/camped (reference) cell based on the quality information of the beam(s) and a quality threshold to be met by the beam(s).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the measurement results of Da Silva in view of the measurement results of Xie to determines serving and reference beam measurements for the reasons of improving efficiencies with handover, for example, in allocating resources (Xie: [0121]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Da Silva and Xie discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein Xie further discloses the beam identifier comprises a service beam identifier (Xie: [0137-0139] – the serving cell has a beam identifier.);
the determining, from the plurality of candidate beams, the candidate beam described by the beam identifier as the beam to be measured comprises:
determining, from the plurality of candidate beams, the candidate beam described by the serving beam identifier as the serving beam (Xie: [0137-0139] – each beam, either camped on a cell, serving cell, or neighboring cell includes a beam identifier as part of the measurement result.);
using other candidate beams except the serving beam among the plurality of candidate beams as reference beams (Xie: [0136], [0139], [0144] – Xie discloses assigning a beam ID to measured beams of candidates, wherein the measured beam may be used as a reference (beam) for target beam selection.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the measurement results of Da Silva in view of the measurement results of Xie to determines serving and reference beam measurements for the reasons of improving efficiencies with handover, for example, in allocating resources (Xie: [0121]).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 12, 13, 16, 19, 22, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
17. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 August 5, 2026