Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 14, 18-20, 26, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (US 20230153746).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an uplink transmission method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2), the method comprising:
determining an uplink transmission discard configuration, the uplink transmission discard configuration comprising at least one of a time length or maximum allowable discard information corresponding to the time length, wherein the time length is used for determining a time interval to which the UE belongs (figs. 2-5, s201, [0099-102], receiving an instruction message sent from a base station, which instructs to start monitoring transmission timeout of a data packet in a SDAP layer, starting a packet discarding timer corresponding to each data packet in a data stream of a target session in the SDAP layer according to the instruction message, if it is detected that the target session is initiated. If timing duration setting information exists in the instruction message, the timing duration of the packet discarding timer can be set; [0055], a determination module configured to determine, whenever a preset period of time passing by, an identification corresponding to a discarded data packet in the current period) and the maximum allowable discard information is used for determining whether the UE is allowed to perform uplink discard within the time interval ([0101][0102], discarding the data packet corresponding to the packet discarding timer, if the packet discarding timer expires and it is detected that the data packet corresponding to the packet discarding timer fails to be transmitted locally; [0055], a determination module configured to determine, whenever a preset period of time passing by, an identification corresponding to a discarded data packet in the current period); and
in response to needing to perform the uplink discard, performing the uplink discard based on the uplink transmission discard configuration ([0101], discarding the data packet corresponding to the packet discarding timer, if the packet discarding timer expires and it is detected that the data packet corresponding to the packet discarding timer fails to be transmitted locally).
Claims 18, 29-30 are rejected similarly with claim 1 noting that Jiang discloses a processor and memory (Jiang, figs. 17-18).
Regarding claims 2, 19, Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the time length comprises at least one of:
an absolute time length ([0100-101], a packet discarding timer, which is an absolute time length), or a relative time length,
wherein the relative time length comprises at least one of: a number of system frames, a number of subframes, a number of slots, or a number of symbols, and
wherein the maximum allowable discard information comprises at least one of:
a transmission time of maximum allowable discard ([0055], a determination module configured to determine, whenever a preset period of time passing by, an identification corresponding to a discarded data packet in the current period; [0026], a preset of time period); or
a transmission number of the maximum allowable discard.
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Claims 14 and 26 are rejected similarly with claims 2 and 19, respectively, since the claims are related to the second selective option in claim 2 or claim 19.
Regarding claims 4, 20, Jiang discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the transmission time of the maximum allowable discard comprises at least one of:
an absolute time of the maximum allowable discard, a length of the absolute time of the maximum allowable discard being less than or equal to the absolute time length ([0100-101], a packet discarding timer, which is an absolute time length; [0026], a preset of time period. Note here, the discarding timer and the preset time period two numbers, there are only two possibilities: the discarding timer is less than or equal to the preset time period or verse versus), or
a relative time of the maximum allowable discard, a length of the relative time of the maximum allowable discard being less than or equal to the relative time length, and
wherein the relative time of the maximum allowable discard comprises at least one of:
a number of system frames of the maximum allowable discard,
a number of subframes of the maximum allowable discard,
a number of slots of the maximum allowable discard, or
a number of symbols of the maximum allowable discard.
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Takeda (TW 202135581).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
determining the uplink transmission discard configuration comprises at least one of:
obtaining the uplink transmission discard configuration sent by a network device (figs. 2-5, s201, [0099-102], receiving an instruction message sent from a base station, which instructs to start monitoring transmission timeout of a data packet in a SDAP layer), or
determining the uplink transmission discard configuration based on an agreement of a protocol.
Jiang does not explicitly disclose determining, based on at least one of a configuration of a network device or an agreement of a protocol, first frequency information of an applicable frequency of the uplink transmission discard configuration,
wherein the first frequency information comprises at least one of:
all service frequencies configured by the UE,
one or more service frequencies activated for use among all the service frequencies configured by the UE, or
second frequency information indicating a specified frequency,
wherein the second frequency information comprises at least one of:
cell type indication information of the specified frequency,
cell group type indication information of the specified frequency,
a cell identifier of the specified frequency,
a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier of the specified frequency,
a frequency point identifier of the specified frequency,
a bandwidth of the specified frequency, starting frequency information of the specified frequency, or
ending frequency information of the specified frequency, and
wherein performing the uplink discard based on the uplink transmission discard configuration comprises:
in response to a frequency corresponding to a current uplink transmission being the applicable frequency of the uplink transmission discard configuration, performing the uplink discard based on the uplink transmission discard configuration.
Takeda discloses determining, based on at least one of a configuration of a network device or an agreement of a protocol, first frequency information of an applicable frequency of the uplink transmission discard configuration (Takeda, [0020], discard the based on the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with the first frequency band),
wherein the first frequency information comprises at least one of:
all service frequencies configured by the UE,
one or more service frequencies activated for use among all the service frequencies configured by the UE (Takeda, [0020], discard the based on the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with the first frequency band), or
second frequency information indicating a specified frequency,
wherein the second frequency information comprises at least one of:
cell type indication information of the specified frequency,
cell group type indication information of the specified frequency,
a cell identifier of the specified frequency,
a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier of the specified frequency,
a frequency point identifier of the specified frequency (Takeda, [0020], discard the based on the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with the first frequency band),
a bandwidth of the specified frequency, starting frequency information of the specified frequency, or
ending frequency information of the specified frequency, and
wherein performing the uplink discard based on the uplink transmission discard configuration comprises:
in response to a frequency corresponding to a current uplink transmission being the applicable frequency of the uplink transmission discard configuration, performing the uplink discard based on the uplink transmission discard configuration (Takeda, [0020], discard the based on the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with the first frequency band).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Jiang with the teachings given by Takeda. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide more effective processing of control information and improved data throughput (Takeda, [0041]).
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-9, 15-17, 22, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474