DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 10/11/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 10/11/2024.
Claims 1-22 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to IT 102022/000008069, filed on 04/22/2022; and is a 371 of PCT/IB2023/053988, filed on 04/19/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cab” (claims 14-15 and 18-19) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, lines 2 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “said vehicle” should read, “said heavy vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, line 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the space laterally comprised thereby” should read, “a space laterally comprised thereby”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, line 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral portions” should read, “said pair of lateral portions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, line 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said vertical wall (79)” should read, “said vertical wall (7)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said vehicle” should read, “said heavy vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, lines 2-3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said free portions (6’) of said side portions (6)” should read, “said free portion (6’) of said pair of lateral portions (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said free portions (6”)” should read, “said free portion (6’) of said pair of lateral portions (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side portions (9")” should read, “said pair of lateral portions (9") of said end portion (9)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side portions (6)” should read, “said pair of lateral portions (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, lines 2-3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “fixed to said vertical wall (7) and extending on the opposite side of said side member (2)” should read, “externally fixed to said vertical wall (7) of said pair of lateral portions (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, lines 3-4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “of said steering system.” should read, “of a steering system (11).”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said vertical wall (7) beyond said pair of walls (8', 8")” should read, “said vertical wall (7) of said pair of lateral portions (6) beyond said pair of walls (8', 8") of said pair of lateral portions (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, lines 1-2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “claim l comprising” should read, “claim l, comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral fixing elements” should read, “said pair of lateral fixing elements”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side members” should read, “said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral fixing elements” should read, “said pair of lateral fixing elements”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side members” should read, “said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, lines 2-3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “having at least partially circular cross-section” should read, “having an at least partially circular cross-section”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral fixing elements” should read, “said pair of lateral fixing elements”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said third cross member” should read, “said third cross member element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral fixing flanges” should read, “said pair of lateral fixing flanges”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side members” should read, “said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said central portion (62)” should read, “said central portion (52)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13, lines 1-2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral fixing flanges” should read, “said pair of lateral fixing flanges”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side members” should read, “said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side members” should read, “said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17, line 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “said third cross member” should read, “said third cross member element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said lateral fixing flanges” should read, “said pair of lateral fixing flanges”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said side members” should read, “said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17, line 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said rear portion” should read, “said rear part”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18, lines 2-3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said front part (20) comprising” should read, “said front part comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18, lines 3-4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said support bracket (21)” should read, “said support bracket (22)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said suspension system (20)” should read, “said suspension system (30)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said front part (30) comprising” should read, “said front part comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said suspension system (20)” should read, “said suspension system (30)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said hinge element” should read, “said hinged element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said suspension system (20)” should read, “said suspension system (30)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the support brackets (31) of each side member” should read, “support brackets (31) of said first and second side member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “claim 21 wherein” should read, “claim 21, wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the ends of said torsion bar (35) to said flanges” should read, “ends of said torsion bar (35) to flanges”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzlberger (EP 2,363,336) in view of Harmon (US 2024/0166282).
Regarding claim 1, Spitzlberger discloses a chassis {10} for a heavy vehicle {“chassis 10 of a forward control truck” [0018]} comprising a first and a second side member {14, 16} extending along a longitudinal axis {“two longitudinal members 14, 16 that are spaced apart from each other” [0019]} of said vehicle between a first end portion {left side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)} and a second end portion {right side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)}, said chassis {10} comprising an extension system {24, 26} fixed to said first end portion {left side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)} and extending along said longitudinal axis beyond said first end portion {left side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)}, said extension system {24, 26} being configured to support a suspension configuration {34 (Fig. 1): “the lower end of each cab suspension member 34 is also flanged to a front surface 40 of the respective bearing plate 24, 26” [0024]} to support a cab of said vehicle {“cab suspension member 34 for supporting the cab (not shown) of the truck” [0023]}, wherein said extension system {24, 26} comprises a pair of lateral portions {24, 26: “rear end of each bearing plate 24, 26” [0020]} each fixed to a respective side member {14, 16} externally with respect to the space laterally comprised thereby {Figs. 1, 4, 8: “At the front end of each longitudinal member 14, 16 with respect to the driving direction of the truck, one bearing plate 24, 26 is mounted to form a front end of the frame 12. More precisely, the rear end of each bearing plate 24, 26 is flanged to the outer surface of the vertical flange 18 of a respective longitudinal member 14, 16” [0020]}, a free portion {front end portion of 24 and 26 (Figs. 1, 8)} of each of said pair of lateral portions {24, 26} extending longitudinally beyond the respective side member {14, 16}, wherein each side member {14, 16} comprises a vertical wall {18 (Figs. 1, 7-9)} and a pair of walls {20, 22} extending cantilevered from upper and lower edges of said vertical wall {18} in the direction of the opposite side member {14, 16 (Figs. 1, 7-9)}, said lateral portions {24, 26} each comprising a vertical wall {vertical wall portions of 24, 26 that contacts side members 14, 16 (Figs. 1, 4, 8)} facing said vertical wall {18} of the respective side member {14, 16 (Figs. 1, 4, 8)} and a pair of walls {an upper cantilevered wall: 54 (Figs. 5-6); and a lower cantilevered wall: bottom portions of 24, 26 that extend forward and outward from the vertical wall portions of 24, 26 that contacts side members 14, 16 (Fig. 8)} extending cantilevered from upper and lower edges of said vertical wall {vertical wall portions of 24, 26 that contacts side members 14, 16 (Figs. 1, 4, 8)} in the opposite direction of the respective side member {14, 16}.
However, Spitzlberger does not explicitly disclose said extension system being configured to support different suspension configurations to support a cab of said vehicle.
Harmon teaches a chassis {500} with interchangeable suspension mounting frames {1608, 1616} and interchangeable suspension assemblies {304 (304A, 304B); 1604; 1812 (1812A, 1812B): “example wheel assemblies disclosed herein includes swappable or interchangeable components that include an in-wheel electric motor, suspension assembly, and a suspension mounting frame (frame mounting interface)” [0066]} to support a cab {“passenger cabin” [0068]} of the vehicle {100: “enable a configurable vehicle chassis to be utilized with different vehicle models with minimal configuration changes” [0067]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Spitzlberger, such that said extension system is configured to support different suspension configurations to support a cab of said vehicle, as taught by Harmon, in order “to allow for geometric freedom between the vehicle frame and the components without the need for traditional axle connections… Advantageously, by providing… interchangeable parts that have common attachment and packaging strategies, ride and performance needs can be met for the vehicle while reducing the number of parts and complexity of manufacturing” [0066], and because “By interchanging the interchangeable performance packages, the engine properties and suspension properties of the example vehicle chassis can be changed” [0067].
Regarding claim 2, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses said extension system {24, 26} is further configured to support a steering system {steering gear: “The frame has the function to carry the different functional units of the vehicle. For example, at the front end of the vehicle, the frame provides a number of different supports for the tiltable cab arranged above the frame, a cooler at the front end of the frame, the wheel suspensions for the front axle, the steering gear” [0002]} of said vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses said extension system {24, 26} comprises an end portion {28 (Fig. 1)} suitable for connecting said free portions {front end portion of 24 and 26 (Figs. 1, 8)} of said side portions {24, 26}.
Regarding claim 4, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 3. Spitzlberger further discloses said end portion {28} comprises a pair of lateral portions {30} suitable for allowing fixing thereof with said free portions {front end portion of 24 and 26 (Figs. 1, 8): “the ends of the first traverse member 28 are provided with mounting flanges 30 extending perpendicular to the extension direction of the first traverse member 28, said mounting flanges 30 being flanged to the inner surfaces of the bearing plates 24, 26 and fixed by bolts 32 extending through the mounting flanges 30 into threads provided within the bearing plates 24, 26” [0022]} and a central portion {central portion of 28 (Fig. 1)} comprised between said side portions {30} formed as a box {Figs. 1-4}.
Regarding claim 5, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses said vertical wall {vertical wall portion of 24, 26 that contacts side members 14, 16 (Figs. 1, 4, 8)} of said side portions {24, 26} extends vertically above said vertical wall {18} of the respective side member {14, 16 (Figs. 1, 4, 8)}.
Regarding claim 8, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses a first cross member {60} placed in correspondence with said first end portion {left side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)}, said first cross member {60} comprising a pair of lateral fixing elements {64+66: “The ends 64 of the second traverse member 60 are supported by respective support members 66 that are flanged to inner surfaces of vertical flanges 18 of the longitudinal members 14, 16. The connection between the ends 64 of the second traverse member 60 and the support member 66 is achieved by bolt connections or the like” [0028]} and a central portion {62 (Fig. 7): “central portion 62” [0026]}, said lateral fixing elements {64+66} being shaped so as to position said central portion {62} vertically below said side members {14, 16 (Fig. 7): “the ends of this central portion 62 being connected to the respective longitudinal members 14, 16 by inclined portions 64 forming the ends of the second traverse member 60” [0026]}.
Regarding claim 9, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses a second cross member {60} placed in correspondence with said second end portion {right send end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1, via 14, 16)}, said second cross member {60} comprising a pair of lateral fixing elements {66} and a central portion {62 (Fig. 7)}, said lateral fixing elements {66} being shaped so as to position said central portion {62} vertically below said side members {14, 16 (Fig. 7)}.
Regarding claim 11, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses a third cross member element {60} placed between said first {left side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)} and said second end portions {right side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)}, said third cross member {60} comprising a pair of lateral fixing flanges {64+66} and a central portion {62}, said lateral fixing flanges {64+66} being shaped so as to position said central portion {62} vertically below said side members {14, 16 (Fig. 7)}.
Regarding claim 12, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 11. Spitzlberger further discloses said central portion {62} has the shape of a plate parallel to the ground {Fig. 7}.
Regarding claim 13, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 11. Spitzlberger further discloses said lateral fixing flanges {64+66} define a seat suitable for engaging a rotatable element {a rotatable bolt: “The connection between the ends 64 of the second traverse member 60 and the support member 66 is achieved by bolt connections or the like” [0028]}.
Regarding claim 14, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Spitzlberger further discloses a vehicle {“truck” [0023]} comprising a chassis {10} according to claim l, a cab {“cab (not shown)” [0023]}, a suspension system {34+36+38} for supporting said cab on said chassis {10 (Fig. 1): “a cab suspension member 34 for supporting the cab (not shown) of the truck” [0023]} and a steering system {“steering gear” [0002]} carried by said chassis {10}.
Regarding claim 15, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 14. Spitzlberger further discloses said suspension system {34+36+38} comprises a rear part {34+36+38} provided with a bridge element {36} fixed to said side members {14, 16} by means of respective brackets {34 (Fig. 1)}, and a support element {38} carried in a movable way by said bridge element {36}, said support element {38} being connected to said cab {Fig. 1: via the “further parts connected with the upper ends of the damping members 38” [0023]}.
Regarding claim 16, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 15. Spitzlberger further discloses said brackets {34} comprise a fixing portion {bottom portion of 34 (Fig. 1)} fixed to said side members {14, 16 (via 24, 26)} and extending above them and an end portion {upper portion of 34} connected to said bridge element {36 (Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 17, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 15. Spitzlberger further discloses a third cross member element {60} placed between said first {left side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)} and said second end portions {right side end of 14, 16 (Fig. 1)}, said third cross member {60} comprising a pair of lateral fixing flanges {64+66} and a central portion {62}, said lateral fixing flanges {64+66} being shaped so as to position said central portion {62} vertically below said side members {14, 16 (Fig. 7)}, wherein said rear portion {34+36+38} is placed in correspondence with said third cross member {60 (via 14+24, and 16+26, respectively, see Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 18, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 14. Spitzlberger further discloses said suspension system {34+36+38} comprises a front part {34+36+38} carried by said extension system {24, 26}, said front part {34+36+38} comprising a support bracket {34} fixed to said extension system {24, 26 (Fig. 1)}, said support bracket {34} carrying a hinged element {38 hinged at it bottom end to 34+36, and/or the “further part” hinged to 38 at the upper end of 38 (Fig. 1): “further parts connected with the upper ends of the damping members 38” [0023]} cooperating with said cab {“supporting the cab (not shown) of the truck” [0023]}.
Regarding claim 19, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 14. Spitzlberger further discloses said suspension system {34+36+38} comprises a front part {34+36+38} carried by said extension system {24, 26}, said front part {34+36+38} comprising a support bracket {“further part” hinged to the upper end of 38 (Fig. 1): “further parts connected with the upper ends of the damping members 38” [0023]} fixed to said extension system {24, 26 (Fig. 1)}, said support bracket {“further part” hinged to the upper end of 38 (Fig. 1)} cooperating with said cab {“supporting the cab (not shown) of the truck” [0023]} and carried in a movable way by a flange {34} fixed to said extension system {24, 26: “the lower end of each cab suspension member 34 is also flanged to a front surface 40 of the respective bearing plate 24, 26” [0024]}.
Regarding claim 20, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 19. Spitzlberger further discloses said suspension system {34+36+38} comprises a hinged element {hinging portion between 38 and the “further part” hinged to the upper end of 38 (Fig. 1)} hinged to said support bracket {“further part” hinged to the upper end of 38 (Fig. 1)} and carried in a movable way by damping means {38} operatively interposed between said hinge element {hinging portion between 38 and the “further part” hinged to the upper end of 38} and said flange {34 (Fig. 1)}.
Regarding claim 21, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Spitzlberger further discloses said suspension system {34+36+38} comprises a torsion bar {36 (Fig. 1)} connecting the support brackets {“further part” hinged to the upper end of 38 (Fig. 1)} of each side member {14, 16} to each other {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 22, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 21. Spitzlberger further discloses said suspension system {34+36+38} comprises an arm {upper end of 34 that connects to the outer ends of 36 and the bottom end of 38 (Fig. 1)} configured to connect the ends of said torsion bar {36} to said flanges {34}.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzlberger and Harmon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jia (CN 111252141).
Regarding claim 6, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 1. However, Spitzlberger does not explicitly disclose said chassis comprises a hub fixed to said vertical wall and extending on the opposite side of said side member, said hub being configured to carry a mechanism of said steering system.
Jia teaches a chassis {20+21} comprises a hub {5+6+7} fixed to a vertical wall {1 (Fig. 10)} and extending on the opposite side of said side member {side walls of 20+21 that are connected by cross members 22 and 23 (Fig. 2)}, said hub {5+6+7} being configured to carry a mechanism {10 (Figs. 7, 10)} of said steering system {“When the vehicle is required to turn left or right, the steering push-pull arm 10 can be pushed up by the driving part of the steering drive device. The positioning pin shaft 8 makes a corresponding swing motion, and the push-pull arm 10 pushes the upper turntable plate 6, the lower turntable plate 7 and the hub mounting disk 5 to surround the upper positioning pin shaft 8 and the lower positioning pin shaft 9 to make corresponding swing motions synchronously” [0047]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Spitzlberger and Harmon, such that said chassis comprises a hub fixed to said vertical wall and extending on the opposite side of said side member, said hub being configured to carry a mechanism of said steering system, as taught by Jia, in order to allow the wheels of the vehicle to “realize swing steering to prevent the tires from being severely worn due to slip steering” [0047].
Regarding claim 7, Spitzlberger, Harmon and Jia disclose all the aspects of claim 6. However, Spitzlberger does not explicitly disclose said hub extends cantilevered from said vertical wall beyond said pair of walls.
Jia teaches said hub {5+6+7} extends cantilevered from said vertical wall {1} beyond said pair of walls {3, 4 (Fig. 10)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Spitzlberger, Harmon and Jia, such that said hub extends cantilevered from said vertical wall beyond said pair of walls, as taught by Jia, in order to allow the wheels of the vehicle to “realize swing steering to prevent the tires from being severely worn due to slip steering” [0047].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzlberger and Harmon as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Beus (DE 102006/041664).
Regarding claim 10, Spitzlberger and Harmon disclose all the aspects of claim 9. Spitzlberger further discloses said second cross member {60} comprising a pair of connecting portions {64} configured for connecting said central portion {62} to said lateral fixing elements {66}.
However, Spitzlberger does not explicitly disclose said central portion has a circular section, said second cross member comprising a pair of connecting portions having at least partially circular cross-section and configured for connecting said central portion to said lateral fixing elements (emphasis added).
Beus teaches a cross member {28+34} with a central portion {28 (Figs. 1-3)} and a pair of connecting portions {34 (Figs. 3-5)} each having a circular cross section {“ The support shoes 34, which in turn extend over a considerable length range towards the center of the vehicle frame 14, are adapted in their diameter approximately to that of the cross member part 28. In the present embodiment, this comprises a circular hollow cross-section” [0029]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis, as disclosed by Spitzlberger and Harmon, such that said central portion has a circular section, said second cross member comprising a pair of connecting portions having at least partially circular cross-section and configured for connecting said central portion to said lateral fixing elements, as taught by Beus, because “If the crossbeam section is designed as a preferably hollow-profiled high crossbeam, especially with a circular cross-section, it can be manufactured particularly easily – for example, from a semi-finished product” [0009].
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614