Claim Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “use” claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process renders the claim indefinite. The word “use” in line 1 renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 and 5 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (C.N. Patent Application Number 113462642; cited on IDS, claims are mapped to the machine translation attached, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claims 1, 5 – 6, Wu discloses an invention claiming a fast inducing and differentiating method of mesenchymal stem cells (p. 18, Claim 1; p. 20, Claim 6, A mesenchymal stem cell) comprising: culturing pluripotent stem cells (p. 2, Background) in a medium comprising a BMP4 agonist.
Regarding claim 2, A chemical structure search rendered a match for Formula 1 of instant claim 2 (Top of p. 22 of STIC.SRCH in DAV) linked to Wu.
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses experimental results that display CD90+, CD105+, and CD45- expression by the iPSC differentiation of the MSCs (p. 15, 2. Experimental Results Sect., FIG. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Lu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0055887 A.1.; cited on IDS, hereinafter Lu)
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except (p. 26, Claim 3) a medium containing inhibitors for MEK, p38, JNK, PKC, and GSK3. However, Lu discloses (p. 26, Claim 3) an invention that relates to a method for preparing induced mesenchymal stem cells (MSC), in which the inhibitors of instant claim 3 are used in the medium. Lu discloses that the motivation (para. [0011]) for the addition of the auxiliary agents of claim 3 were to enhance the efficacy of the protocol. Regarding claim 4, Wu does disclose an additional second stage mesenchymal stem cell inducing differentiation culture medium (p. 20, Top of the page) but does not include each inhibitor as stated above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the medium of Lu in the mesenchymal stem cell generating protocol of Wu. Doing so would enhance the efficacy of the protocol, according to Lu.
Claims 8 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Konkuk et al. (K.R. Patent Application Publication No. 102319735; cited on IDS, claims are mapped to machine translation attached; hereinafter Konkuk).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except an extracellular vesicle isolated from a culture solution of the MSCs. However, Konkuk discloses a method for obtaining extracellular vesicles from 3D-cultured MSCs (p. 1, Abstract; p. 9 – 11, Claims section). Regarding claims 9 – 13, Konkuk discloses (p. 10, Bottom of page) a composition for preventing or treating inflammation (multiple skin disorders, p. 10; Crohn’s disease, p. 11, Top of the page) comprising the stem cell-derived extracellular vesicles as an active ingredient. Regarding claim 11, Konkuk does not explicitly disclose the composition as a cosmetic but provides the motivation for one, by disclosing that the composition is useful for multiple skin disorders (including scleroderma). Konkuk discloses that the motivation for using the MSC-derived vesicles is because the exosomes are known to contain key factors related to anti-inflammation (p. 2, Background, 2nd para.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the MSC-derived extracellular vesicle producing teaching/motivation of Konkuk with the MSC-generating protocol of Wu. Doing so would generate and provide a therapeutic option for inflammatory diseases, according to Konkuk. Also, it would have been obvious to change an anti-inflammatory pharmaceutical composition into a cosmetic composition for the purpose of administering it to a subject for the treatment of a skin disorder.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638