Response to Amendment
Claims 16-31 as originally filed, are currently pending and have
been considered below. Claims -15 have been cancelled. Claims 16-31 are newly added claims. Claims 16 and 24 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 16-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangalvedkar(US Publication No. 20200177589 A1) in view of Raleigh (US Publication No. US 2017/0215073 A1.)
Regarding Claim 16:
Mangalvedkar discloses:
A method performed by a personal internet of things (PIN) element with management capability (PEMC) in a communication system, the method comprising(Mangalvedkar, [0021], The IoT provisioning service 109 may automate the provisioning process and control the access between the IoT device 101 and an IoT platform 153, [0081], The provisioning service 109 may be the first point of contact between the an unprovisioned IoT device 101 during the performance of the registration of IoT devices 101, and the provisioning of resources to the IoT device 101. Furthermore, the provisioning service 109 may mediate communications between the IoT device 101 and the IoT platform 153 prior to the registration of the IoT device 101.):
receiving a request message from a first PIN element (PINE) from a plurality of PINEs for registering to a PIN(Mangalvedkar, [0022], Each IoT device 101 connecting to the provisioning service 109 for the first time may request registration with an IoT platform 153. The un-provisioned IoT device 101 may be initially directed (or re-directed) to the provisioning service 109. [0031], computing environment 100, 180, 190, 200, 350 may include a plurality of computer systems and devices interconnected via a computer network 160, such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c… 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”)… the number of IoT devices 101 and IoT platforms 153 may not be limited to the number depicted in the drawings. The number of IoT devices 101, IoT platforms 153 or any other duplicated components or systems being presented by the drawings, may be any number supported by network 160 );
performing an authorization check to determine whether the first PINE is allowed to join the PIN(Mangalvedkar, [0108], the rules registry 119 may return the query results comprising one or more rules that are applicable to the IoT device 101 seeking registration. Embodiments of the rules engine may in step 521 compute a rules statement as a function of the rules returned in the query of step 519. The rules statement computed by the rules engine 117 may comprise one or more sets of instructions to the provisioning service 109 for implementing the expressions of the rules of the rules registry 119. [0109], the rules engine 117 may apply a known IP or MAC address of the IoT device 101 to the rule. It may be determined that the IP address of the IoT device 101 meets the rule's criteria for being banned listed, therefore, as part of the rules statement generated by the rules engine 117. [0111], the IoT device 101 may or may not be authorized to access the IoT platform 153. In step 527,);
Mangalvedkar does not disclose:
and updating dynamic profile information based on the first PINE joining the PIN
Raleigh discloses:
and updating dynamic profile information based on the first PINE joining the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], associate it with the appropriate service profile and/or service plan… the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service… partial credentials or pre-activation credentials generally refer to a subset of credentials that are to gain access to limited network services for the purpose of provisioning of credentials and/or activation of a service plan or service profile. [0376], the service processor performs the following: updates critical software, initializes service policy and control settings, synchronizes service counters, updates service cost data, applies policy settings, applies CRM rules settings, obtains transaction identity certificate, and sends stored CRM and billing information.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration and provisioning information to ensure that device profile information is dynamically associated with the appropriate service profile, service plan, credentials, and authorization information as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance centralized management of registered devices and network service provisioning.
The motivation is to ensure that updated registration, authorization, and service profile information is consistently maintained throughout the provisioning process, thereby improving network administration, device lifecycle management, and accurate service activation.
Regarding Claim 17:
The method of claim 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh discloses, a list of PINEs currently joined to the PIN(Mangalvedkar, [0031], such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c . . . 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”), an IoT administrative system 110, a provisioning server 130),
wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN comprises at least one of an identifier (ID) of the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], associate it with the appropriate service profile and/or service plan, phone number, device identification number, MEID or similar mobile device identifier, hardware security device ID, security signature or other security credentials, device serial number, device identification and/or credential information via security hardware such as a SIM, one or more IP addresses, one or more MAC addresses, any other network address identifier),
a list of services currently offered within the PIN, first information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of the PEMC(Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with a provisioning sequence, associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor),
second information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC)(Raleigh, [0464], portal-client (e.g., interface or communication agent… service processor (or similar device client or agent software) identifier…),
PINE IDs of the PINEs currently joined to the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], MEID or similar mobile device identifier, hardware security device ID, security signature or other security credentials, device serial number, device identification and/or credential information via security hardware such as a SIM, one or more IP addresses, one or more MAC addresses),
and services offered by the PINEs currently joined to the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration information associated with registered IoT devices to ensure that the registration information further includes service profile information, service capabilities, identifiers, and management entity information associated with the registered device as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance network management, service provisioning, and maintenance of current device profile information across the communication system.
The motivation is to ensure that the communication system maintains comprehensive profile information for registered devices, thereby improving provisioning accuracy, service management, and subsequent authorization decisions.
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh discloses further comprising: transmitting, to a PIN server, a notification associated with the first PINE allowed to join the PIN(Mangalvedkar, [0110], The provisioning service 109 may proceed to apply the instructions of the rules statement… [0111], the provisioning service 109 may log the registration of the IoT device 101… the IoT device 101 may or may not be authorized to access the IoT platform 153.);
and transmitting, to a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC), the notification associated with the first PINE allowed to join the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], portal-client (e.g., interface or communication agent that connects to a network portal used at least in part for provisioning or activation for the device or by the user… the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service),
wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated and maintained(Raleigh, [0111], the provisioning service 109 may log the registration of the IoT device 101 and/or the resources provisioned to the IoT device 101 as a result of the registration process, in the provisioning log 121.)
by the PIN server and the PEGC based on the notification(Raleigh, [0464], the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration information following successful device admission to ensure that updated profile information is maintained by both the provisioning server and the gateway-side communication entity participating in provisioning and activation as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance consistent network state information and coordinated service provisioning among network entities.
The motivation is to ensure that network entities participating in device provisioning maintain synchronized profile information, thereby improving network consistency and reducing provisioning errors.
Regarding Claim 19:
The method of claim 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that a role of the PEMC is changed(Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration and provisioning information to ensure that profile information is updated when the management entity associated with a registered device changes as taught by Raleighin order to enhance accurate management of device ownership, provisioning responsibilities, and network administration.
The motivation is to ensure that management information remains synchronized with the entity currently responsible for administering the registered device.
Regarding Claim 20:
The method of claim 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that a role of a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) is changed(Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining device profile information to ensure that gateway-related profile information is updated when the gateway entity responsible for supporting communications changes as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance routing accuracy, communication reliability, and network resource management.
The motivation is to ensure that gateway-related information accurately reflects the network entity currently supporting communications for the registered device.
Regarding Claim 21:
The method of claim 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that at least one service offered by the PIN is changed(Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration profile information to ensure that the maintained profile reflects changes to service profiles, service plans, and service capabilities as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance accurate provisioning and delivery of currently available network services.
The motivation is to ensure that devices receive services consistent with their current service profile and authorized service capabilities.
Regarding Claim 22:
The method of claim 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that the first PINE leaves the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], permanent credentials are never recycled, for example, when the user discontinues service or use of the credentials… temporary credentials are recycled from one or more devices and used for one or more other devices).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration information to ensure that profile information is updated when a registered device discontinues service or leaves the managed communication system as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance accurate tracking of active devices and efficient management of network resources.
The motivation is to ensure that obsolete registration information is removed or updated after a device leaves the communication system, thereby maintaining an accurate representation of active network participants.
Regarding Claim 23:
The method of 16, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose a maximum number of PINEs allowed to join the PIN(Mangalvedkar, [0031], devices interconnected via a computer network 160, such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c . . . 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”), an IoT administrative system 110,),
and a time period of how long the PIN can be active(Mangalvedkar, [0110], one instruction of the rules statement generated in step 521 may set a limited time period for IoT device 101).
wherein a PIN profile is created, and wherein the PIN profile comprises at least one of an identifier of the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], associate it with the appropriate service profile and/or service plan… the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service… the server to determine what the credentials should be and the proper service profile. phone number, device identification number, MEID or similar mobile device identifier, hardware security device ID, security signature or other security credentials, device serial number, device identification and/or credential information via security hardware such as a SIM, one or more IP addresses, one or more MAC addresses, any other network address identifier,),
a list of services currently offered within the PIN(Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience… associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.),
first information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of the PEMC(Raleigh, [0464], associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.),
second information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) (Raleigh, [0464], portal-client (e.g., interface or communication agent… service processor (or similar device client or agent software) identifier…),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for creating and maintaining device registration profiles to ensure that the profile includes identifiers, service information, management entity information, gateway information, and activity duration associated with the managed communication network as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance centralized administration, service provisioning, and management of registered devices within the communication system.
The motivation is to ensure that comprehensive profile information is maintained for each managed network, thereby improving provisioning, service administration, and network management decisions.
Regarding Claim 24:
Mangalvedkar discloses:
A personal internet of things (PIN) element with management capability (PEMC) in a communication system, the PEMC comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to(Mangalvedkar, [0031], devices interconnected via a computer network 160, such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c . . . 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”… a provisioning server 130 that may be loaded with a provisioning service 109, and/or an IoT platform 153 a, 153 b, 153 c…), an IoT administrative system 110,):
receive a request message from a first personal internet of things (PIN) element (PINE) from a plurality of PINEs for registering to a PIN (Mangalvedkar, [0022], Each IoT device 101 connecting to the provisioning service 109 for the first time may request registration with an IoT platform 153. The un-provisioned IoT device 101 may be initially directed (or re-directed) to the provisioning service 109. [0031], computing environment 100, 180, 190, 200, 350 may include a plurality of computer systems and devices interconnected via a computer network 160, such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c… 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”)… the number of IoT devices 101 and IoT platforms 153 may not be limited to the number depicted in the drawings. The number of IoT devices 101, IoT platforms 153 or any other duplicated components or systems being presented by the drawings, may be any number supported by network 160 ),
perform an authorization check to determine whether the first PINE is allowed to join the PIN (Mangalvedkar, [0108], the rules registry 119 may return the query results comprising one or more rules that are applicable to the IoT device 101 seeking registration. Embodiments of the rules engine may in step 521 compute a rules statement as a function of the rules returned in the query of step 519. The rules statement computed by the rules engine 117 may comprise one or more sets of instructions to the provisioning service 109 for implementing the expressions of the rules of the rules registry 119. [0109], the rules engine 117 may apply a known IP or MAC address of the IoT device 101 to the rule. It may be determined that the IP address of the IoT device 101 meets the rule's criteria for being banned listed, therefore, as part of the rules statement generated by the rules engine 117. [0111], the IoT device 101 may or may not be authorized to access the IoT platform 153. In step 527,),
Mangalvedkar does not disclose:
and update dynamic profile information based on the first PINE joining the PIN
Raleigh discloses:
and update dynamic profile information based on the first PINE joining the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], associate it with the appropriate service profile and/or service plan… the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service… partial credentials or pre-activation credentials generally refer to a subset of credentials that are to gain access to limited network services for the purpose of provisioning of credentials and/or activation of a service plan or service profile. [0376], the service processor performs the following: updates critical software, initializes service policy and control settings, synchronizes service counters, updates service cost data, applies policy settings, applies CRM rules settings, obtains transaction identity certificate, and sends stored CRM and billing information.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration and provisioning information to ensure that device profile information is dynamically associated with the appropriate service profile, service plan, credentials, and authorization information as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance centralized management of registered devices and network service provisioning.
The motivation is to ensure that updated registration, authorization, and service profile information is consistently maintained throughout the provisioning process, thereby improving network administration, device lifecycle management, and accurate service activation.
Regarding Claim 25:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose a list of PINEs currently joined the PIN (Mangalvedkar, [0031], such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c . . . 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”), an IoT administrative system 110, a provisioning server 130),
wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN comprises at least one of an identifier (ID) of the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], associate it with the appropriate service profile and/or service plan, phone number, device identification number, MEID or similar mobile device identifier, hardware security device ID, security signature or other security credentials, device serial number, device identification and/or credential information via security hardware such as a SIM, one or more IP addresses, one or more MAC addresses, any other network address identifier),
a list of services currently offered within the PIN, first information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of the PEMC (Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with a provisioning sequence, associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor),
second information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) (Raleigh, [0464], portal-client (e.g., interface or communication agent… service processor (or similar device client or agent software) identifier…),
PINE IDs of the PINEs currently joined to the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], MEID or similar mobile device identifier, hardware security device ID, security signature or other security credentials, device serial number, device identification and/or credential information via security hardware such as a SIM, one or more IP addresses, one or more MAC addresses),
and services offered by the PINEs currently joined to the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration information associated with registered IoT devices to ensure that the registration information further includes service profile information, service capabilities, identifiers, and management entity information associated with the registered device as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance network management, service provisioning, and maintenance of current device profile information across the communication system.
The motivation is to ensure that the communication system maintains comprehensive profile information for registered devices, thereby improving provisioning accuracy, service management, and subsequent authorization decisions.
Regarding Claim 26:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, to a PIN server, a notification associated with the first PINE allowed to join the PIN (Mangalvedkar, [0110], The provisioning service 109 may proceed to apply the instructions of the rules statement… [0111], the provisioning service 109 may log the registration of the IoT device 101… the IoT device 101 may or may not be authorized to access the IoT platform 153.);
and transmit, to a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC), a notification associated with the first PINE allowed to join the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], portal-client (e.g., interface or communication agent that connects to a network portal used at least in part for provisioning or activation for the device or by the user… the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service),
wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated and maintained (Raleigh, [0111], the provisioning service 109 may log the registration of the IoT device 101 and/or the resources provisioned to the IoT device 101 as a result of the registration process, in the provisioning log 121.)
by the PIN server and the PEGC based on the notification (Raleigh, [0464], the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration information following successful device admission to ensure that updated profile information is maintained by both the provisioning server and the gateway-side communication entity participating in provisioning and activation as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance consistent network state information and coordinated service provisioning among network entities.
The motivation is to ensure that network entities participating in device provisioning maintain synchronized profile information, thereby improving network consistency and reducing provisioning errors.
Regarding Claim 27:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that a role of the PEMC is changed (Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration and provisioning information to ensure that profile information is updated when the management entity associated with a registered device changes as taught by Raleighin order to enhance accurate management of device ownership, provisioning responsibilities, and network administration.
The motivation is to ensure that management information remains synchronized with the entity currently responsible for administering the registered device.
Regarding Claim 28:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that a role of a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) is changed (Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining device profile information to ensure that gateway-related profile information is updated when the gateway entity responsible for supporting communications changes as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance routing accuracy, communication reliability, and network resource management.
The motivation is to ensure that gateway-related information accurately reflects the network entity currently supporting communications for the registered device.
Regarding Claim 29:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that at least one service offered by the PIN is changed (Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience, associate or enable the device with one or more service plans or service capabilities, associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining device profile information to ensure that gateway-related profile information is updated when the gateway entity responsible for supporting communications changes as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance routing accuracy, communication reliability, and network resource management.
The motivation is to ensure that gateway-related information accurately reflects the network entity currently supporting communications for the registered device
Regarding Claim 30:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose wherein the dynamic profile information of the PIN is updated, in case that the first PINE leaves the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], permanent credentials are never recycled, for example, when the user discontinues service or use of the credentials… temporary credentials are recycled from one or more devices and used for one or more other devices).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for maintaining registration information to ensure that profile information is updated when a registered device discontinues service or leaves the managed communication system as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance accurate tracking of active devices and efficient management of network resources.
The motivation is to ensure that obsolete registration information is removed or updated after a device leaves the communication system, thereby maintaining an accurate representation of active network participants.
Regarding Claim 31:
The PEMC of claim 24, Mangalvedkar in view of Raleigh disclose a maximum number of PINEs allowed to join the PIN (Mangalvedkar, [0031], devices interconnected via a computer network 160, such as a plurality of IoT devices 101 a, 101 b, 101 c . . . 101 n (hereinafter referred to generally as “IoT device 101”), an IoT administrative system 110,),
and a time period of how long the PIN can be active (Mangalvedkar, [0110], one instruction of the rules statement generated in step 521 may set a limited time period for IoT device 101).
wherein a PIN profile is created, and wherein the PIN profile comprises at least one of an identifier of the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], associate it with the appropriate service profile and/or service plan… the server associates that information with the proper additional credentials (including the phone number) to assign to the device and/or associates the information with the proper service profile to activate service… the server to determine what the credentials should be and the proper service profile. phone number, device identification number, MEID or similar mobile device identifier, hardware security device ID, security signature or other security credentials, device serial number, device identification and/or credential information via security hardware such as a SIM, one or more IP addresses, one or more MAC addresses, any other network address identifier,),
a list of services currently offered within the PIN (Raleigh, [0464], associate or enable the device with one or more service profiles, associate or assist the device with an activation sequence, associate or enable the device with an ambient profile or service experience… associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.),
first information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of the PEMC (Raleigh, [0464], associate the device with a service provider or service owner, associate the device with an OEM or master agent, associate the device with a distributor or master agent, or associate the device with a device group, user group or user.),
second information associated with a PINE that currently has a role of a PIN element with gateway capability (PEGC) (Raleigh, [0464], portal-client (e.g., interface or communication agent… service processor (or similar device client or agent software) identifier…),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar's automated IoT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar's systems for creating and maintaining device registration profiles to ensure that the profile includes identifiers, service information, management entity information, gateway information, and activity duration associated with the managed communication network as taught by Raleigh in order to enhance centralized administration, service provisioning, and management of registered devices within the communication system.
The motivation is to ensure that comprehensive profile information is maintained for each managed network, thereby improving provisioning, service administration, and network management decisions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433