DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in
response to patent application 18/856,358, filed on 10/11/2024.
Claims 1-15 as originally filed, are currently pending and have
been considered below. Claim 1 and 10 are independent claims.
Priority
The application is a section 371 national stage application
of International Application No. PCT/KR2023/005015 04/13/2023. The certified copy has been file with India Patent Application No. 202241022235 field on 04/13/2022.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/11/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 10/11/2024 and 01/14/2025 are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites “the the PEGC entity” remove the duplicate “the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 and 13 recites the limitations "the deactivation notification message”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. therefore, they are rejected based on the same rational as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangalvedkar(US Publication No. 20200177589 A1) in view of Nasir (US Publication No. 20170195424 A1.)
Regarding Claim 1:
Manglvedkar:
A method performed by a node in a communication system, the method comprising(Mangalvedkar, [0019], IIoT devices 101 connected to the Internet or another type of computer network 160 allow for communication to occur between to IoT device 101, the Internet, network enabled computing systems, or devices.):
receiving a request message from a first personal internet of things (PIN) element (PINE) from a plurality of PINEs for registering to a PIN as a PIN element with a management capability (PEMC) entity(Mangalvedkar, [0005], an internet-of-things (IoT) device placed in communication with the processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer readable storage media contains program instructions executing a computer-implemented method comprising the steps of: receiving a registration request from the IoT device;)
authenticating and authorizing the first PINE as the PEMC entity based on a PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0101], he provisioning service 109 may securely validate the credentials by matching the keys, signatures and tokens of the credentials 150 with the authenticated values issued by the issuing authority responsible for issuing the credentials 150 used by the IoT device 101. If the credentials 150 match the values issued by the credentials issued by the issuing authority, then the credentials may be considered verified.);
sending a response message to the first PINE, wherein the response message indicates that the first PINE is authorized as the PEMC entity;(Mangalvedkar,,[0111], deviceID, security tokens and other materials expressing the rules of the rules registry 119 and authorization provisioned to the IoT device 101 in order to access one or more IoT platforms 153 to the IoT device 101. Based on the materials and access provisioned to the IoT device 101),
and updating PIN dynamic information(Mangalvedkar, [0024], the provisioning service 109 may issue new or updated connection credentials 150 to the IoT device 101 in).
Mangalvedkar does not disclose:
receiving an activation request message from the first PINE for activating the PIN based on the response message
requesting a core entity to activate the PIN based on the activation request message
sending a PIN activation success response to the first PINE
Nasir discloses:
receiving an activation request message from the first PINE for activating the PIN based on the response message(Nasir, [0027], an activation request 103 that includes a bar code value or other identifier the IoT device 110, an MDN or other identifier for UE 120, and payment information. Applicant server 130 may process activation request 103 to charge a parking fee to UE 120, and may forward, to UE 120, an activation message 104 that includes a payment confirmation and activation code. UE 120 may forward, to IoT device 110, activation instructions 105 that include the activation code, and the activation code may cause IoT device 110 to perform certain functions);
requesting a core entity to activate the PIN based on the activation request message(Nasir, [0061], …application server 130 may interact with core network 202 to verify that credential for UE 120, included in activation request 103, are correct. Application server 130 may identify data and/or code to be used to activate IoT device…);
sending a PIN activation success response to the first PINE(Nasir, [0013], Activation data 101 may include information regarding IoT device 110 (e.g., a manufacturer and a model of IoT device 110, a serial number, a firmware or a software version, an equipment identifier such as a Media Access Control (MAC) address, security credential).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar’s automated IOT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar’s system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical that are provided with unique identifiers to ensure coordinated and explicitly activation control following successful authorization as taught by Nasir in order to enhance reliable lifecycle management and state synchronization between edge device and core network services
The motivation is to ensure that device activation occurs only after successful registration and authorization, while providing message-based confirmation of activation status to the device and maintaining consistency between device state and core network state, thereby improving network reliability and security.
Regarding Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclose wherein the request message comprises at least one of a PIN identifier (ID), or a PIN element ID(Mangalvedkar, [0005], an internet-of-things (IoT) device placed in communication with the processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer readable storage media contains program instructions executing a computer-implemented method comprising the steps of: receiving a registration request from the IoT device; receiving credentials ),
and wherein the PIN dynamic information comprises at least one of a PIN state associated with the first PINE, a PIN validity duration associated with the first PINE, the PIN element ID associated with the first PINE or the PINAPP ID associated with the first PINE(Manglvedkar, [0025], the provisioning service 109 may also receive additional information stored by the IoT platform 153, wherein registration is sought by the IoT device 101. The provisioning service 109 may request additional metadata 152 and information from credentials 150 stored by IoT platform 153. The second set of metadata 152 and credentials 150 may act as a second form of validation to ensure that the IoT device 101 seeking registration is authorized to access the IoT platform 153.).
wherein the activation request message comprises at least one of the PIN ID, the PIN element ID, the PINAPP ID associated with the first PINE, or a duration of the PIN to be in an active state(Nasir, [0027], an activation request 103 that includes a bar code value or other identifier the IoT device 110, an MDN or other identifier for UE 120, and payment information. Applicant server 130 may process activation request 103 to charge a parking fee to UE 120, and may forward, to UE 120, an activation message 104 that includes a payment confirmation and activation code. UE 120 may forward, to IoT device 110, activation instructions 105 that include the activation code, and the activation code may cause IoT device 110 to perform certain functions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar’s automated IOT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar’s system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical that are provided with unique identifiers to ensure coordinated and explicitly activation control following successful authorization as taught by Nasir in order to enable accurate activation processing and enforcement of time-bounded network access.
The motivation is to ensure that the core network entity can reliably associate the activation request with the correct network instance, device and application and can apply appropriate activation constraints and improve security and lifecycle control of activated devices.
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 1, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclose wherein updating the PIN dynamic information comprises: updating and maintaining the PIN dynamic information(Mangalvedkar, [0061], the registration of IoT devices 101 connected to network 160, based on programmable rules and rule sets stored by a rules registry 119 which may be dynamically changed, amended and/or updated. [0071], A provisioning service 109 may maintain records of IoT devices 101 categorized by typeID and device category);
receiving a request message from a second PINE from the plurality of PINEs for registering to the PIN as a PIN element with a gateway capability (PEGC) entity, wherein the request message comprises a PIN ID(Mangalvedkar, [0005], an internet-of-things (IoT) device placed in communication with the processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer readable storage media contains program instructions executing a computer-implemented method comprising the steps of: receiving a registration request from the IoT device;),
a PIN element, a PIN APP ID associated with the second PINE and a validity duration associated with the second PINE(Mangalvedkar, [0102], the verification of the credentials 150 may further include a step wherein the provisioning service 109 submits a verification request to one or more IoT platforms 153 that may have matching or verified credentials that may be used to further validate the credentials 150 received by the provisioning service 109.);
authenticating and authorizing the second PINE as the PEMC entity based on the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0102], the IoT platform 153 may respond to the verification request positively authenticating the credentials 150 as legitimate, and in some embodiments, the IoT platform 153 may return a verified set of credentials to the provisioning service 109.);
sending a response message to the second PINE, wherein the response message indicates that the second PINE is authorized as the PEGC entity(Mangalvedkar, [0111], deviceID, security tokens and other materials expressing the rules of the rules registry 119 and authorization provisioned to the IoT device 101 in order to access one or more IoT platforms 153 to the IoT device 101. Based on the materials and access provisioned to the IoT device 101);
updating the PIN dynamic information associated with information associated with the PEGC entity, wherein the information comprises at least one of the PINAPP ID, a PIN element ID(Manglvedkar, [0025], the provisioning service 109 may also receive additional information stored by the IoT platform 153, wherein registration is sought by the IoT device 101. The provisioning service 109 may request additional metadata 152 and information from credentials 150 stored by IoT platform 153. The second set of metadata 152 and credentials 150 may act as a second form of validation to ensure that the IoT device 101 seeking registration is authorized to access the IoT platform 153.).,
a reachability information, and a validity duration associated with the PEGC entity;
and notifying the information associated with the PEGC entity to the PEMC entity(Mangalevedkar, [0025], the provisioning service 109 may also receive additional information stored by the IoT platform 153, wherein registration is sought by the IoT device 101. The provisioning service 109 may request additional metadata 152 and information from credentials 150 stored by IoT platform 153. The second set of metadata 152 and credentials 150 may act as a second form of validation to ensure that the IoT device 101 seeking registration is authorized to access the IoT platform 153.).
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 1, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclose further comprising:
authorizing the third PINE as the PEMC entity based on the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0103], The authenticity of the credentials may be validated by the provisioning service 109, IoT platform 153, the issuing authority of the credentials 150 and/or a combination of verifiers thereof. If the credentials);
receiving a request message from a third PINE from the plurality of PINEs for deactivating the PIN(Nasir, [0063], Additionally UE 120 may modify the activation message based on a user input. For example, UE 120 may provide a GUI that enables a user to use contents of activation message 104 to selectively activate certain IoT devices 110 during a given time period. For example, UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired);
sending a response message to the third PINE, wherein the response message indicates the de-activating the PIN(Nasir, [0063], UE 120 may extract relevant portions of activation message 104 (e.g., code and/or data for a particular IoT device 110) and may forward the portions of activation message 104 to the particular IoT device 110. Additionally UE 120 may modify the activation message based on a user input. For example, UE 120 may provide a GUI that enables a user to use contents of activation message 104 to selectively activate certain IoT devices 110 during a given time period. For example, UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired);
notifying that the PIN is de-activated(Nasir, [0063], UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired (e.g., when another user input is received).);
receiving a response to the deactivation notification message from the PEMC entity;
and sending a request message to the core entity to deactivate the PIN and clean the PIN dynamic information(Nasir, [0063], UE 120 may provide a GUI that enables a user to use contents of activation message 104 to selectively activate certain IoT devices 110 during a given time period. For example, UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired (e.g., when another user input is received). UE 120 may further provide through the GUI, an indication of whether IoT device 110 is currently activated and whether IoT device 110, when inactive, can be activated by UE 120.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar’s automated IOT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar’s system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical that are provided with unique identifiers to ensure coordinated and explicitly activation control following successful authorization as taught by Nasir in order to enhance controlled termination of network participation and coordinated teardown of device state across the system.
The motivation is to ensure that deactivation of a network or device group is performed in a secure and authorized manner, while synchronizing deactivation status across edge device and core network entities.
Regarding Claim 5:
The method of claim 4, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclsoe wherein in case that the PIN being de-activated is notified to the a PEGC entity, the response is received from the PEGC entity,wherein in case that the PIN being de-activated is not notified to the the PEGC entity (Mangaledkar, [0088], the provisioning service and IoT device 101 before registration), location-based provisioning (i.e., using geo-fencing) and time-based registration wherein the IoT device 101 may only be activated for a certain period of time before the IoT device 101 become deactivated. In some embodiments of the rules may control the cyclic decommissioning and/or re-registration of IoT devices 101, whereby a previously registered IoT device may be required to decommission and re-register with the IoT platform 153 after a period of time specified by the rules.)
the response is received from the PEMC entity, and wherein the third PINE is identical to the first PINE(Mangalvedkar, [0074], If the preregristration_ID of the IoT device 101 seeking registration matches the approved list of preregistration_IDs, the provisioning service 109 may proceed with the registration process. Likewise, if the preregistration_ID of the IoT device 101 seeking registration matches a preregistration_ID on the banned list, the IoT device 101 may be denied registration by the provisioning service 109.).
Regarding Claim 6:
The method of claim 1, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclose further comprising: receiving a PIN profile management request from a user associated with the first PINE(Mangalvedkar, [0100], In step 503 of method 500, the incoming registration request from one or more IoT devices 101 may be logged with the provisioning log 121 of the provisioning service 109. The provisioning log 121 may record information associated with the registration request including the date and time of the registration request);
identifying whether the user is authorized to perform the requested operation, wherein the identification is based on a local configuration present at the node(Mangalvedkar, [0032], Embodiments of the IoT device 101, IoT administrative system 110, IoT platform 153 and provisioning server 130 may each be a specialized computer system comprising specialized configurations of hardware, software or a combination thereof as shown and described in FIGS. 1-4 a of the present disclosure and in embodiments described herein.);
sending a response to the authorized user as success after completing a requested operation or failure with a failure reason(Mangalvedkar, [0066], the IoT device 101 may initially be directed toward the URL of an IoT platform 153, however, the IoT device 101 may be identified as an unregistered device and subsequently be re-directed to the provisioning service 109 to complete the registration process first before accessing the IoT platform 153.);
and notifying a PINE from the plurality of PINEs about the changes corresponding to create a PIN element profile, create the PIN profile, modify the PIN profile, modify the PIN element profile, delete the PIN element profile, and delete the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0027], re-provision each IoT device 101 based on whether there are changes to the provisioning rules stored by the rules registry 119. An IoT administrative system 110 may connect to the provisioning service 109, access the rules registry and add, delete or modify provisioning rules maintained by the rules registry 119. As provisioning rules are added, deleted or modified, the provisioning service 109 may re-provision IoT devices 101 currently registered to one or more IoT platforms 153, in accordance with the added, deleted or modified rules.).
Regarding Claim 7:
The method of claim 6, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclsoe wherein PIN profile management request comprises at least one of a request to create the PIN element profile, a request to create the PIN profile, a request to modify the PIN profile, a request to modify the PIN element profile, a request to delete the PIN element profile, a request to delete the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0082], Embodiments of the rules engine 117 may be presented as a tool usable by users and administrators that may not have any programming knowledge and may be easy to configure using a simple, easy to understand interface. In some embodiments, rules engine 117 may include a repository for storing each of the rules defined by users or administrators (I.e., a rules registry 119), and a rule editor for creating, modifying and deleting rules of the rules registry 119.).
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 6, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclose wherein the PIN profile comprises at least one of a PIN identifier, a PIN name, a maximum number of a PIN element that is configured within the PIN, a list of the PIN element, a life time of the PIN element to be associated with the PIN, a service offered by the PIN, a list of PIN elements that act as a PEGC entity, a list of PIN elements comprising a validity duration, a list of PIN elements that act as a PEMC entity, the list of PIN elements comprising a validity duration, a list of PIN elements that act as a relay, a life span of the PIN, a time period of the PIN in case that the PIN is active, or a geographical area where the PIN is active(Manglvedkar, [0064], Credentials 150 may allow for computing systems, platforms, and networks to verify the authenticity of the IoT device 101, to ensure that unauthorized devices are not impersonating a legitimate IoT device 101. For example, digital certificates, may use public keys, private keys or digital signatures issued by a digital certificate manager responsible for maintaining the credentials 150 the IoT device 101. The digital keys and/digital signature can be matched to digital certificates being presented by the IoT device 101 at the time of IoT device 101 registration, to verify authenticity of the credentials 150. ).
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 6, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclsoe wherein the PIN element profile comprises at least one of a PIN element identifier, a list of PIN determine whether the PIN element is authorized to join, services offered by the PIN element, whether the PIN element is authorized to act as at least one of a PEGC entity, a PEMC entity, a relay entity, accessibility of a list of services in the PIN, a list of PIN elements act as a relay, list of PIN elements it can communicate with, identifying whether the PIN element use the PEGC entity to communicate with a core entity, a connection type, a discoverable option, and duration of the PIN element in case that the PIN element is active or associated with the PIN(Mangalvedkar, [0054], IoT devices 101 can be used by cloud consumers, for example, a lighting system 101 a, a camera system 101 b, a medical monitoring device 101 c, an automobile system 101 n and/or any physical object equipped with a computing system or computerized components, may communicate. Nodes 310 may communicate with one another and may be grouped (not shown) physically or virtually, in one or more networks, such as Private, Community, Public, or Hybrid clouds as described hereinabove, or a combination thereof. This allows cloud computing environment 350 to offer infrastructure, platforms and/or software as services for which a cloud consumer does not need to maintain resources on a local computing device. It is understood that the types of client devices, including IoT devices 101 connected cloud computing environment).
Regarding Claim 10:
Mangalvedkar discloses:
A node in a communication system, the node comprising(Mangalvedkar, [0019], IIoT devices 101 connected to the Internet or another type of computer network 160 allow for communication to occur between to IoT device 101, the Internet, network enabled computing systems, or devices.):
a transceiver(Nasir, [0056], Communication interface 460 may include a transceiver mechanism that enables computing device 400);
and a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to(Nasir, [0055-0056], Communication interface 460 may include a transceiver mechanism that enables computing device 400 to communicate with other devices and/or systems via wireless communications, wired communications, or a combination of wireless and wired communications. For example, communication interface 460 may include mechanisms for communicating with another device or system via a network.):
receive a request message from a first personal internet of things (PIN) element (PINE) from a plurality of PINEs for registering to a PIN as a PIN element with a management capability (PEMC) entity(Mangalvedkar, [0005], an internet-of-things (IoT) device placed in communication with the processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer readable storage media contains program instructions executing a computer-implemented method comprising the steps of: receiving a registration request from the IoT device;);
authenticate and authorize the first PINE as the PEMC entity based on a PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0101], he provisioning service 109 may securely validate the credentials by matching the keys, signatures and tokens of the credentials 150 with the authenticated values issued by the issuing authority responsible for issuing the credentials 150 used by the IoT device 101. If the credentials 150 match the values issued by the credentials issued by the issuing authority, then the credentials may be considered verified.);
send a response message to the first PINE, wherein the response message indicates that the first PINE is authorized as the PEMC entity( Mangalvedkar, [0111], deviceID, security tokens and other materials expressing the rules of the rules registry 119 and authorization provisioned to the IoT device 101 in order to access one or more IoT platforms 153 to the IoT device 101. Based on the materials and access provisioned to the IoT device 101);
and update PIN dynamic information(Mangalvedkar, [0024], the provisioning service 109 may issue new or updated connection credentials 150 to the IoT device 101 in)
Mangalvedkar does not disclose:
receive an activation request message from the first PINE for activating the PIN based on the response message
request a core entity to activate the PIN based on the activation request message
send a PIN activation success response to the first PINE
Nasir discloses:
receive an activation request message from the first PINE for activating the PIN based on the response message(Nasir, [0027], an activation request 103 that includes a bar code value or other identifier the IoT device 110, an MDN or other identifier for UE 120, and payment information. Applicant server 130 may process activation request 103 to charge a parking fee to UE 120, and may forward, to UE 120, an activation message 104 that includes a payment confirmation and activation code. UE 120 may forward, to IoT device 110, activation instructions 105 that include the activation code, and the activation code may cause IoT device 110 to perform certain functions);
request a core entity to activate the PIN based on the activation request message(Nasir, [0061], …application server 130 may interact with core network 202 to verify that credential for UE 120, included in activation request 103, are correct. Application server 130 may identify data and/or code to be used to activate IoT device…);
send a PIN activation success response to the first PINE(Nasir, [0013], Activation data 101 may include information regarding IoT device 110 (e.g., a manufacturer and a model of IoT device 110, a serial number, a firmware or a software version, an equipment identifier such as a Media Access Control (MAC) address, security credential);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar’s automated IOT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar’s system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical that are provided with unique identifiers to ensure coordinated and explicitly activation control following successful authorization as taught by Nasir in order to enhance reliable lifecycle management and state synchronization between edge device and core network services
The motivation is to ensure that device activation occurs only after successful registration and authorization, while providing message-based confirmation of activation status to the device and maintaining consistency between device state and core network state, thereby improving network reliability and security.
Regarding Claim 11:
The node of claim 10, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir disclose wherein the request message comprises at least one of a PIN identifier (ID), or a PIN element ID(Mangalvedkar, [0005], an internet-of-things (IoT) device placed in communication with the processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer readable storage media contains program instructions executing a computer-implemented method comprising the steps of: receiving a registration request from the IoT device; receiving credentials ),
and wherein the PIN dynamic information comprises at least one of a PIN state associated with the first PINE, a PIN validity duration associated with the first PINE, the PIN element ID associated with the first PINE or the PINAPP ID associated with the first PINE (Manglvedkar, [0025], the provisioning service 109 may also receive additional information stored by the IoT platform 153, wherein registration is sought by the IoT device 101. The provisioning service 109 may request additional metadata 152 and information from credentials 150 stored by IoT platform 153. The second set of metadata 152 and credentials 150 may act as a second form of validation to ensure that the IoT device 101 seeking registration is authorized to access the IoT platform 153.).
wherein the activation request message comprises at least one of the PIN ID, the PIN element ID, the PINAPP ID associated with the first PINE, or a duration of the PIN to be in an active state(Nasir, [0027], an activation request 103 that includes a bar code value or other identifier the IoT device 110, an MDN or other identifier for UE 120, and payment information. Applicant server 130 may process activation request 103 to charge a parking fee to UE 120, and may forward, to UE 120, an activation message 104 that includes a payment confirmation and activation code. UE 120 may forward, to IoT device 110, activation instructions 105 that include the activation code, and the activation code may cause IoT device 110 to perform certain functions),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar’s automated IOT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar’s system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical that are provided with unique identifiers to ensure coordinated and explicitly activation control following successful authorization as taught by Nasir in order to enable accurate activation processing and enforcement of time-bounded network access.
The motivation is to ensure that the core network entity can reliably associate the activation request with the correct network instance, device and application and can apply appropriate activation constraints and improve security and lifecycle control of activated devices.
Regarding Claim 12:
The node of claim 10, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir wherein the processor is configured to: update and maintain the PIN dynamic information(Mangalvedkar, [0061], the registration of IoT devices 101 connected to network 160, based on programmable rules and rule sets stored by a rules registry 119 which may be dynamically changed, amended and/or updated. [0071], A provisioning service 109 may maintain records of IoT devices 101 categorized by typeID and device category);
receive a request message from a second PINE from the plurality of PINEs for registering to the PIN as a PIN element with a gateway capability (PEGC) entity, wherein the request message comprises a PIN ID(Mangalvedkar, [0005], an internet-of-things (IoT) device placed in communication with the processor; and a computer-readable storage media coupled to the processor, wherein the computer readable storage media contains program instructions executing a computer-implemented method comprising the steps of: receiving a registration request from the IoT device;),
a PIN element, a PIN APP ID associated with the second PINE and a validity duration associated with the second PINE(Mangalvedkar, [0102], the verification of the credentials 150 may further include a step wherein the provisioning service 109 submits a verification request to one or more IoT platforms 153 that may have matching or verified credentials that may be used to further validate the credentials 150 received by the provisioning service 109.);
authenticate and authorize the second PINE as the PEMC entity based on the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0102], the IoT platform 153 may respond to the verification request positively authenticating the credentials 150 as legitimate, and in some embodiments, the IoT platform 153 may return a verified set of credentials to the provisioning service 109.);
send a response message to the second PINE, wherein the response message indicates that the second PINE is authorized as the PEGC entity(Mangalvedkar, [0111], deviceID, security tokens and other materials expressing the rules of the rules registry 119 and authorization provisioned to the IoT device 101 in order to access one or more IoT platforms 153 to the IoT device 101. Based on the materials and access provisioned to the IoT device 101);
update the PIN dynamic information associated with information associated with the PEGC entity, wherein the information comprises at least one of the PINAPP ID, a PIN element ID(Manglvedkar, [0025], the provisioning service 109 may also receive additional information stored by the IoT platform 153, wherein registration is sought by the IoT device 101. The provisioning service 109 may request additional metadata 152 and information from credentials 150 stored by IoT platform 153. The second set of metadata 152 and credentials 150 may act as a second form of validation to ensure that the IoT device 101 seeking registration is authorized to access the IoT platform 153.),
a reachability information, and a validity duration associated with the PEGC entity; and
notify the information associated with the PEGC entity to the PEMC entity(Mangalevedkar, [0025], the provisioning service 109 may also receive additional information stored by the IoT platform 153, wherein registration is sought by the IoT device 101. The provisioning service 109 may request additional metadata 152 and information from credentials 150 stored by IoT platform 153. The second set of metadata 152 and credentials 150 may act as a second form of validation to ensure that the IoT device 101 seeking registration is authorized to access the IoT platform 153.).
Regarding Claim 13:
The node of claim 10, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir wherein the processor is configured to: receive a request message from a third PINE from the plurality of PINEs for deactivating the PIN(Nasir, [0063], Additionally UE 120 may modify the activation message based on a user input. For example, UE 120 may provide a GUI that enables a user to use contents of activation message 104 to selectively activate certain IoT devices 110 during a given time period. For example, UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired);
authorize the third PINE as the PEMC entity based on the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0103], The authenticity of the credentials may be validated by the provisioning service 109, IoT platform 153, the issuing authority of the credentials 150 and/or a combination of verifiers thereof. If the credentials);
send a response message to the third PINE, wherein the response message indicates the de-activating the PIN(Nasir, [0063], UE 120 may extract relevant portions of activation message 104 (e.g., code and/or data for a particular IoT device 110) and may forward the portions of activation message 104 to the particular IoT device 110. Additionally UE 120 may modify the activation message based on a user input. For example, UE 120 may provide a GUI that enables a user to use contents of activation message 104 to selectively activate certain IoT devices 110 during a given time period. For example, UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired);
notify that the PIN is de-activated(Nasir, [0063], UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired (e.g., when another user input is received).);
receive a response to the deactivation notification message from the PEMC entity; and
send a request message to the core entity to deactivate the PIN and clean the PIN dynamic information(Nasir, [0063], UE 120 may provide a GUI that enables a user to use contents of activation message 104 to selectively activate certain IoT devices 110 during a given time period. For example, UE 120 may wait to activate IoT device 110 until a user input is received. Similarly, UE 120 may selectively deactivate the IoT device 110 when desired (e.g., when another user input is received). UE 120 may further provide through the GUI, an indication of whether IoT device 110 is currently activated and whether IoT device 110, when inactive, can be activated by UE 120.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mangalvedkar’s automated IOT device registration by enhancing Mangalvedkar’s system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical that are provided with unique identifiers to ensure coordinated and explicitly activation control following successful authorization as taught by Nasir in order to enhance controlled termination of network participation and coordinated teardown of device state across the system.
The motivation is to ensure that deactivation of a network or device group is performed in a secure and authorized manner, while synchronizing deactivation status across edge device and core network entities.
Regarding Claim 14:
The node of claim 13, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir wherein in case that the PIN being de-activated is notified to the a PEGC entity, the response is received from the PEGC entity, wherein in case that the PIN being de-activated is not notified to the the PEGC entity(Mangaledkar, [0088], the provisioning service and IoT device 101 before registration), location-based provisioning (i.e., using geo-fencing) and time-based registration wherein the IoT device 101 may only be activated for a certain period of time before the IoT device 101 become deactivated. In some embodiments of the rules may control the cyclic decommissioning and/or re-registration of IoT devices 101, whereby a previously registered IoT device may be required to decommission and re-register with the IoT platform 153 after a period of time specified by the rules.),
the response is received from the PEMC entity, and wherein the third PINE is identical to the first PINE(Mangalvedkar, [0074], If the preregristration_ID of the IoT device 101 seeking registration matches the approved list of preregistration_IDs, the provisioning service 109 may proceed with the registration process. Likewise, if the preregistration_ID of the IoT device 101 seeking registration matches a preregistration_ID on the banned list, the IoT device 101 may be denied registration by the provisioning service 109.).
Regarding Claim 15:
The node of claim 10, Mangalvedkar in view of Nasir wherein the processor is configured to: receive a PIN profile management request from a user associated with the first PINE(Mangalvedkar, [0100], In step 503 of method 500, the incoming registration request from one or more IoT devices 101 may be logged with the provisioning log 121 of the provisioning service 109. The provisioning log 121 may record information associated with the registration request including the date and time of the registration request);
identify whether the user is authorized to perform the requested operation, wherein the identification is based on a local configuration present at the node(Mangalvedkar, [0032], Embodiments of the IoT device 101, IoT administrative system 110, IoT platform 153 and provisioning server 130 may each be a specialized computer system comprising specialized configurations of hardware, software or a combination thereof as shown and described in FIGS. 1-4 a of the present disclosure and in embodiments described herein.);
send a response to the authorized user as success after completing a requested operation or failure with a failure reason(Mangalvedkar, [0066], the IoT device 101 may initially be directed toward the URL of an IoT platform 153, however, the IoT device 101 may be identified as an unregistered device and subsequently be re-directed to the provisioning service 109 to complete the registration process first before accessing the IoT platform 153.);
and notify a PINE from the plurality of PINEs about the changes corresponding to create a PIN element profile, create the PIN profile, modify the PIN profile, modify the PIN element profile, delete the PIN element profile, and delete the PIN profile(Mangalvedkar, [0027], re-provision each IoT device 101 based on whether there are changes to the provisioning rules stored by the rules registry 119. An IoT administrative system 110 may connect to the provisioning service 109, access the rules registry and add, delete or modify provisioning rules maintained by the rules registry 119. As provisioning rules are added, deleted or modified, the provisioning service 109 may re-provision IoT devices 101 currently registered to one or more IoT platforms 153, in accordance with the added, deleted or modified rules.).
Conclusion
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433