Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
With regards to claims 17-21, Applicant has provided the wrong claim status identifiers in the claim set filed 02/20/2026. Claims 17-21 should be labeled “Previously Presented” and while the amendment filed on 02/20/2026 has been examined on the merits, any future submissions by Applicant containing incorrect status identifiers for any of the claims will be held as non-compliant.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “pluq” and should be “plug” by replacing “q” with a “g”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-13, 15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “that contacts the surrounding stop” which is unclear if this limits the at least one surrounding stop to only a single stop or not because the stop was previously recited as “at least one surrounding stop”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “that contacts the at least one surrounding stop” to be consistent with the previous limitation.
Claims 4, 7, 11, and 15 recite “the stop” and should also be corrected for the same reasons above for claim 1.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 112th second paragraph by virtue of their dependency. Thus, claims 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, and 17-21 are rejected under 112th second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-13, 15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandt (EP 1801485 B1).
The following is an alternative interpretation of Brandt from the previous rejection and with regard to the second condition of claim 1 set by the limitations “or”.
In regard to claim 1, Brandt discloses a multiple coupling for media lines (Fig. 11 shows a multiple coupling for media lines), having at least one first plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 11, the part 2 is plate-shaped and a coupling carrier), at least one second plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 11, the part 4 is plate-shaped and a coupling carrier) and a plurality of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11, the parts at each 10 and 12 define at least plug-in coupling parts), the first coupling carrier having at least one first receptacle (Fig. 11, one of the receptacles that receive the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12) and at least one second receptacle (Fig. 11, another of the receptacles that receive the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12) and the second coupling carrier having at least one first receptacle and at least one second receptacle (Fig. 11, the coupling carrier 4 also has at least two receptacles), wherein the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of both the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier are designed for inserting and for fixedly holding the plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11 shows the receptacles are for inserting and for fixedly holding the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier are designed such that the plug-in coupling parts of corresponding receptacles which can be arranged in the receptacles can be coupled by joining together the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier (Fig. 11 shows when joining 2 and 4 together, the plug-in coupling parts are arranged in the corresponding receptacles),
wherein at least one receptacle of the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier has at least one surrounding stop with at least one projection (See image below, which is a side-by-side view of Figs. 11 and 15, the second coupling carrier has at least one of the receptacles having at least one surrounding stop surface with at least one projection that projects from the surrounding stop) and at least one recess (See image below, within the receptacles defines at least a recess that the plug-in coupling parts insert through) in order to define at least one insertion depth (See image below, the indicated recess defines the insertion depth of the plug-in coupling parts) and at least one insertion orientation for a plug-in coupling part of the plurality of plug-in coupling parts (See image below, the recess also can be reasonably interpreted as defining at least one insertion orientation of the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12 as shown), that contacts the at least one surrounding stop (See image below, the surrounding stops are for contacting the plug-in coupling parts as shown).
In regard to claim 4, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one stop of the at least one first receptacle has a different extension along a respective longitudinal axis of the at least one second receptacle of the second coupling carrier than the at least one stop of the at least one second receptacle in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts with the same diameter (See image below, different insertion depth for each indicated stop and the stops are for two different coupling parts that have at least a same diameter at their respective 20).
In regard to claim 5, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the second coupling carrier has between two and eight receptacles including the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle (Figs. 11 and 15, there are at least between two and eight receptacles as shown for the coupling carrier 4).
In regard to claim 6, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling carrier has between two and eight receptacles including the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle (Figs. 6 and 11, there are at least between two and eight receptacles as shown for the coupling carrier 2).
In regard to claim 7, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one stop on the at least one first receptacle of the second coupling carrier, is designed to fix at least one insertion orientation of a plug-in coupling part of the plurality of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11 and see image above for claim 1, the stop at least fixes an axial insertion orientation of a plug-in coupling part 10 or 12).
In regard to claim 8, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier each have a plurality of latching arms each with at least one latching projection (Fig. 12b, latching arms at each 48 with each latching arm having a radially inward latching projection).
In regard to claim 9, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier each have a plurality of latching arms each with at least one latching projection (Fig. 12a, latching arms at each 48 with each latching arm having a radially inward latching projection).
In regard to claim 10, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 8, wherein the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier each have a plurality of latching arms each with at least one latching projection (Fig. 12a, latching arms at 48 which each have at least one latching projection for 10 and 12), wherein the latching arms of the receptacles opposite each other in the mounted state of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier interact in such a way that a release of fixedly held plug-in coupling parts is blocked (Fig. 11 shows how the latching arms of the receptacles at least overlap near each other in such a way that a release of fixedly held plug-in coupling parts is blocked).
In regard to claim 11, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein at least one stop on the at least one first receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier, is designed as a circumferential projection with at least one recess (See image above for claim 1, the at least one surrounding stop is at least a circumferential projection projecting radially inwards and can define at least one recess for at least one plug-in part on both axial sides), and wherein the at least one stop is designed as a circumferential projection on at least one further receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier (Fig. 15 and see image above for claim 1, the second coupling carrier 4 includes more than two receptacles with a stop having a circumferential projection).
In regard to claim 12, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein at least the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier have a different diameter (Fig. 12a, the receptacles for 10 and 12 have at least a different inner diameter since the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12 have at least one different outer diameter that fit into their respective receptacle).
In regard to claim 13, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein at least one plug-in coupling part has at least one of at least one valve, at least one barbed connecting fitting (Fig. 11, the parts 10 and 12 have at least a barbed connecting fitting end at 20), at least one radially projecting protrusion, at least one fleece oil filter, at least one membrane or at least one pipe elbow with fluid channel.
In regard to claim 15, Brandt discloses a plate-shaped coupling carrier for a multiple coupling (Figs. 11 and 15, part 4 defines a plate-shaped coupling carrier for a multiple coupling), the coupling carrier comprising at least a first receptacle and a second receptacle (Figs. 11 and 15, receptacles for plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least first and second receptacles are designed for the insertion and fixed mounting of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11, the receptacles are designed for insertion and fixed mounting of plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein at least one of the at least first and second receptacles has at least one surrounding stop with at least one projection and at least one recess in order to define at least one insertion depth and at least one insertion orientation for a plug-in coupling part of the plug-in coupling parts (See image below and see claim 1 above for the same reasons that requires the same limitation of “wherein at least one of the at least first and second receptacles…plug-in coupling parts”), that contacts the at least one surrounding stop (See image below and see claim 1 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 17, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 7, wherein a stop of at least one further receptacle cannot fix an insertion orientation of the plug-in coupling part for one of the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier (Figs. 11 and 15, a further receptacle can be defined at another 10 or 12 which cannot fix an insertion orientation of one of the plug-in coupling parts. For example, the receptacle for the plug-in coupling part 10 cannot fix the plug-in coupling part 12 or vice versa since the receptacles are specifically designed for either 10 or 12 and not both.).
In regard to claim 18, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 8, wherein the latching projections of the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle are at the same distance from a surface of the at least one second coupling carrier (Claim 1 has two conditions, a first condition such that the receptacles have a stop to define different insertion depths and a second condition where one of the receptacles has a stop, a projection, and a recess. When the condition is only the second condition, Fig. 15 shows there are at least two identical receptacles for identical plug-in coupling parts 10 or identical plug-in coupling parts 20 which the identical receptacles would have identical latching projections that are at the same distance from an outer surface of the second coupling carrier 4 since they are identical.).
In regard to claim 19, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 18, wherein the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle have different lengths or the same length (Figs. 11 and 15, the latching arms of each receptacle have at least one length that are either different or the same).
In regard to claim 20, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 9, wherein the latching projections of the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle are at the same distance from a surface of the at least one first coupling carrier (See claim 18 above for the same reasoning except applied to the first coupling carrier instead of the second coupling carrier).
In regard to claim 21, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 20, wherein the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle have different lengths or the same length (See claim 19 above for the same reasoning except applied to the first coupling carrier instead of the second coupling carrier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt (EP 1801485 B1).
The following is an alternative interpretation of Brandt from the previous rejection and with regard to the first and third condition of claim 1 set by the limitations “or”.
In regard to claim 1, Brandt discloses a multiple coupling for media lines (Fig. 11 shows a multiple coupling for media lines), having at least one first plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 11, the part 2 is plate-shaped and a coupling carrier), at least one second plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 11, the part 4 is plate-shaped and a coupling carrier) and a plurality of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11, the parts at each 10 and 12 define at least plug-in coupling parts), the first coupling carrier having at least one first receptacle (Fig. 11, one of the receptacles that receive the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12) and at least one second receptacle (Fig. 11, another of the receptacles that receive the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12) and the second coupling carrier having at least one first receptacle and at least one second receptacle (Fig. 11, the coupling carrier 4 also has at least two receptacles), wherein the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of both the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier are designed for inserting and for fixedly holding the plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11 shows the receptacles are for inserting and for fixedly holding the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier are designed such that the plug-in coupling parts of corresponding receptacles which can be arranged in the receptacles can be coupled by joining together the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier (Fig. 11 shows when joining 2 and 4 together, the plug-in coupling parts are arranged in the corresponding receptacles),
wherein the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of at least the second coupling carrier each have at least one stop (See image below, each receptacle of the second coupling carrier 4 has at least one stop), and in that the at least one stop of the first receptacle has a different extension along a longitudinal axis than the at least one stop of the second receptacle in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts (See image below, the stops are at different depths to realize different insertion depths for the different plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least one stop is arranged in such a way that it surrounds the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially or completely (See image below, the at least one stop is within and defines a section of the respective at least one receptacle and extends circumferentially, therefore, the at least one stop can be reasonably considered as surrounding the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially and completely.), wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection from a surface of the at least one second coupling carrier (See image below, the at least one stop is at least an inward projection that extends from an internal surface of the respective at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier),
or
at least the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier have different radial properties in order to avoid interchanging of plug-in coupling parts at least in the at least one first coupling carrier (Figs. 12a and 12b, when 2 and 4 are aligned, the receptacle for 12 of 2 has different radial properties than the receptacle at 10 of 4 in order to at least avoid using two 12’s or two 10’s on the same axis) and in that at least at least one first receptacle in the at least one second coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle in the at least one second coupling carrier each have at least one stop in order to define different insertion depths for the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle (See image below, indicated stops are for defining at least different insertion depths for the receptacles) and to avoid interchanging of plug-in coupling parts at least in the at least one second coupling carrier (See image below, the stops at least indicate different depths which would at least allow a user to identify which plug in parts 10 or 12 is associated with which receptacle), wherein the at least one stop is arranged in such a way that it surrounds the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially or completely (See image below, as previously mentioned, the stops are arranged in such a way that it surrounds the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially and completely), wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection extending from a surface of the at least one second coupling carrier (See image below, as previously mentioned the stops are projections that extend from an internal surface of the respective receptacles of the at least one second coupling carrier).
Brandt does not expressly disclose the at least one stop is designed as a projection that protrudes outward (See images attached above, the at least one stop protrudes inward).
It has been held that a change of shape is obvious absent persuasive evidence. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). In this case, the applicant's specification does not provide criticality of the claimed projection that protrudes outward. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brandt such that the at least one stop includes a protrusion that protrudes outward, since this would allow for at least a thicker and stronger receptacle and allow for increased options for a variety of plug-in parts.
Additionally, the criticality of the claimed projection that protrudes outward of applicant’s invention is to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in parts. However, as shown above in the attached image, the stops of Brandt are at different depths to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in parts. Therefore, Brandt discloses the criticality of applicant’s invention and the only difference is matter of a projection that protrudes outward and a recessed surface, which such a difference is within one of ordinary skill in the art to design different insertion depths by having different recessed and/or axially protruding projections defining the receptacles. Furthermore, even in applicant’s arguments filed on 02/20/2026 failed to provide any sufficient facts or evidence that the claimed outward protruding projection provides any nonobvious effect and only states it is different from the inward projection of Brandt.
In regard to claim 14, Brandt discloses a plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 12b, part 4 defines a plate-shaped coupling carrier) for a multiple coupling, for media lines (Fig. 12b, 4 is for a multiple coupling for media lines), wherein the coupling carrier comprises at least a first receptacle and a second receptacle (Fig. 12b, first and second receptacle at 6 and 8), wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are designed for the insertion and fixed mounting of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 12b, plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle of the coupling carrier each have at least one stop (See image below), and in that the at least one stop of the first receptacle has a different extension along a longitudinal axis than the at least one stop of the second receptacle in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts (See image below, each stop is at a different depth in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12),
wherein the at least one stop is arranged in such a way that it surrounds the respective first receptacle and the second receptacle circumferentially, at least partially or completely, wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection protruding outward from a surface of the coupling carrier (See claim 1 above for the same reasons with regard to “the at least one stop is arranged…of the coupling carrier”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered with respect to claims 1, 14, and 15 but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same interpretation of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for all teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection above that includes an alternative interpretation of Brandt that discloses all the features of claims 1, 14, and 15.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679