Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “pluq” and should be “plug” by replacing “q” with a “g”.
Claim 15 recites “pluq” and should be “plug” by replacing “q” with a “g”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “plate-like” for both the first coupling carrier and the second coupling carrier which is unclear how much more or less of a plate is considered plate-like. See MPEP 2173.05(b). For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “ plate-shaped” as previously presented in the claims. It is noted that applicant failed to properly mark up the limitation and amended claims must require proper mark-ups according to 37 C.F.R. 1.121. Any future amendments to claims without proper mark-ups may be held non-compliant.
Claim 1 recites “the first at least one coupling carrier” which is unclear if this is the same or different the previously recited “at least one first coupling carrier”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the first coupling carrier”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection extending from a surface of the respective at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier” which is unclear because the stop was only previously recited for the at least one second coupling carrier and not the at least one first coupling carrier. Therefore, it is unclear how the stop of the at least one second coupling carrier extend from a surface of the at least one first coupling carrier. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection extending from a surface of
Claim 14 in line 2 recites “the coupling carrier has at least” which is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 1 because applicant failed to properly mark-up the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the coupling carrier comprises at least”. It is noted that “has”, “have”, or “having” will be interpreted as equivalently to “comprise”. See MPEP 2111.03 with regard to transitional phrases. Applicant appears to be interchanging between “has” and “comprises” and at least claim 1 use “having”. Therefore, to avoid ambiguity, “has”, “have”, or “having” will be interpreted as equivalently to “comprise”.
Claim 14 recites “the at least one receptacle” which is unclear if this is the same or different than the previously recited “a first receptacle and a second receptacle”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the respective first receptacle and the second receptacle
Claim 15 recites “the at least one receptacle” which is unclear if this is the same or different from the first receptacle and the second receptacle. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “ of the at least one of the at least first and second receptacles” such that the limitation refers back to one of the previously recited receptacles.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 112th second paragraph by virtue of their dependency. Thus, claims 4-13 and 17-21 are rejected under 112th second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandt (EP 1801485 B1).
In regard to claim 1, Brandt discloses a multiple coupling for media lines (Fig. 11 shows a multiple coupling for media lines), having at least one first plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 11, the part 2 is plate-shaped and a coupling carrier), at least one second plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 11, the part 4 is plate-shaped and a coupling carrier) and a plurality of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11, the parts at each 10 and 12 define at least plug-in coupling parts), the first coupling carrier having at least one first receptacle (Fig. 11, one of the receptacles that receive the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12) and at least one second receptacle (Fig. 11, another of the receptacles that receive the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12) and the second coupling carrier having at least one first receptacle and at least one second receptacle (Fig. 11, the coupling carrier 4 also has at least two receptacles), wherein the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of both the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier are designed for inserting and for fixedly holding the plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11 shows the receptacles are for inserting and for fixedly holding the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier are designed such that the plug-in coupling parts of corresponding receptacles which can be arranged in the receptacles can be coupled by joining together the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier (Fig. 11 shows when joining 2 and 4 together, the plug-in coupling parts are arranged in the corresponding receptacles),
wherein the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of at least the second coupling carrier each have at least one stop (See image below, each receptacle of the second coupling carrier 4 has at least one stop), and in that the at least one stop of the first receptacle has a different extension along a longitudinal axis than the at least one stop of the second receptacle in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts (See image below, the stops are at different depths to realize different insertion depths for the different plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least one stop is arranged in such a way that it surrounds the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially or completely (See image below, the at least one stop is within and defines a section of the respective at least one receptacle and extends circumferentially, therefore, the at least one stop can be reasonably considered as surrounding the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially and completely.), wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection extending from a surface of the respective at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier (See image below, the at least one stop is at least an inward projection that extends from an internal surface of the respective at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier),
or at least one receptacle of the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier has at least one surrounding stop with at least one projection (See image below, which is a side-by-side view of Figs. 11 and 15, the second coupling carrier has at least one of the receptacles having at least one surrounding stop surface with at least one projection) and at least one recess (See image below, within the projection defines at least a recess that the plug-in coupling parts insert through) in order to define at least one insertion depth (See image below, the indicated recess defines the insertion depth of the plug-in coupling parts) and at least one insertion orientation for a plug-in coupling part of the plurality of plug-in coupling parts (See image below, the recess also can be reasonably interpreted as defining at least one insertion orientation of the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12 as shown) or
at least the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier have different radial properties in order to avoid interchanging of plug-in coupling parts at least in the at least one first coupling carrier (Figs. 12a and 12b, when 2 and 4 are aligned, the receptacle for 12 of 2 has different radial properties than the receptacle at 10 of 4 in order to at least avoid using two 12’s or two 10’s on the same axis) and in that at least at least one first receptacle in the at least one second coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle in the at least one second coupling carrier each have at least one stop in order to define different insertion depths for the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle (See image below, indicated stops are for defining at least different insertion depths for the receptacles) and to avoid interchanging of plug-in coupling parts at least in the at least one second coupling carrier (See image below, the stops at least indicate different depths which would at least allow a user to identify which plug in parts 10 or 12 is associated with which receptacle), wherein the at least one stop is arranged in such a way that it surrounds the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially or completely (See image below, as previously mentioned, the stops are arranged in such a way that it surrounds the at least one receptacle circumferentially, at least partially and completely), wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection extending from a surface of the at least one second coupling carrier (See image below, as previously mentioned the stops are projections that extend from an internal surface of the respective receptacles of the at least one second coupling carrier).
In regard to claim 4, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one stop of the at least one first receptacle has a different extension along a respective longitudinal axis of the at least one second receptacle of the second coupling carrier than the at least one stop of the at least one second receptacle in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts with the same diameter (See image below, different insertion depth for each indicated stop and the stops are for two different coupling parts that have at least a same diameter at their respective 20).
In regard to claim 5, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the second coupling carrier has between two and eight receptacles including the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle (Figs. 11 and 15, there are at least between two and eight receptacles as shown for the coupling carrier 4).
In regard to claim 6, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling carrier has between two and eight receptacles including the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle (Figs. 6 and 11, there are at least between two and eight receptacles as shown for the coupling carrier 2).
In regard to claim 7, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one stop on the at least one first receptacle of the second coupling carrier, is designed to fix at least one insertion orientation of a plug-in coupling part of the plurality of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11 and see image above for claim 1, the stop at least fixes an axial insertion orientation of a plug-in coupling part 10 or 12).
In regard to claim 8, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier each have a plurality of latching arms each with at least one latching projection (Fig. 12b, latching arms at each 48 with each latching arm having a radially inward latching projection).
In regard to claim 9, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier each have a plurality of latching arms each with at least one latching projection (Fig. 12a, latching arms at each 48 with each latching arm having a radially inward latching projection).
In regard to claim 10, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 8, wherein the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier each have a plurality of latching arms each with at least one latching projection (Fig. 12a, latching arms at 48 which each have at least one latching projection for 10 and 12), wherein the latching arms of the receptacles opposite each other in the mounted state of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second coupling carrier interact in such a way that a release of fixedly held plug-in coupling parts is blocked (Fig. 11 shows how the latching arms of the receptacles at least overlap near each other in such a way that a release of fixedly held plug-in coupling parts is blocked).
In regard to claim 11, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein at least one stop on the at least one first receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier, is designed as a circumferential projection with at least one recess (See claim 1 above for the same reasons since it recites the same limitation), and wherein the at least one stop is designed as a circumferential projection on at least one further receptacle of the at least one second coupling carrier (Fig. 15 and see claim 1 above, the second coupling carrier 4 includes more than two receptacles with a stop having a circumferential projection).
In regard to claim 12, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein at least the at least one first receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier have a different diameter (Fig. 12a, the receptacles for 10 and 12 have at least a different inner diameter since the plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12 have at least one different outer diameter that fit into their respective receptacle).
In regard to claim 13, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 1, wherein at least one plug-in coupling part has at least one of at least one valve, at least one barbed connecting fitting (Fig. 11, the parts 10 and 12 have at least a barbed connecting fitting end at 20), at least one radially projecting protrusion, at least one fleece oil filter, at least one membrane or at least one pipe elbow with fluid channel.
In regard to claim 14, Brandt discloses a plate-shaped coupling carrier (Fig. 12b, part 4 defines a plate-shaped coupling carrier) for a multiple coupling, for media lines (Fig. 12b, 4 is for a multiple coupling for media lines), wherein the coupling carrier comprises at least a first receptacle and a second receptacle (Fig. 12b, first and second receptacle at 6 and 8), wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are designed for the insertion and fixed mounting of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 12b, plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle of the coupling carrier each have at least one stop (See image below), and in that the at least one stop of the first receptacle has a different extension along a longitudinal axis than the at least one stop of the second receptacle in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts (See image below, each stop is at a different depth in order to realize different insertion depths for different plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12),
wherein the at least one stop is arranged in such a way that it surrounds the respective first receptacle and the second receptacle circumferentially, at least partially or completely, wherein the at least one stop is designed as a projection extending from a surface of the coupling carrier (See claim 1 above for the same reasons with regard to “the at least one stop is arranged…of the coupling carrier”).
In regard to claim 15, Brandt discloses a plate-shaped coupling carrier for a multiple coupling (Figs. 11 and 15, part 4 defines a plate-shaped coupling carrier for a multiple coupling), the coupling carrier comprising at least a first receptacle and a second receptacle (Figs. 11 and 15, receptacles for plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein the at least first and second receptacles are designed for the insertion and fixed mounting of plug-in coupling parts (Fig. 11, the receptacles are designed for insertion and fixed mounting of plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12), wherein at least one of the at least first and second receptacles has at least one surrounding stop with at least one projection and at least one recess in order to define at least one insertion depth and at least one insertion orientation for a plug-in coupling part of the plug-in coupling parts (See image below and see claim 1 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 17, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 7, wherein a stop of at least one further receptacle cannot fix an insertion orientation of the plug-in coupling part for one of the at least one first receptacle and the at least one second receptacle of the at least one first coupling carrier or the at least one second coupling carrier (Figs. 11 and 15, a further receptacle can be defined at another 10 or 12 which cannot fix an insertion orientation of one of the plug-in coupling parts. For example, the receptacle for the plug-in coupling part 10 cannot fix the plug-in coupling part 12 or vice versa since the receptacles are specifically designed for either 10 or 12 and not both.).
In regard to claim 18, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 8, wherein the latching projections of the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle are at the same distance from a surface of the at least one second coupling carrier (Claim 1 has two conditions, a first condition such that the receptacles have a stop to define different insertion depths and a second condition where one of the receptacles has a stop, a projection, and a recess. When the condition is only the second condition, Fig. 15 shows there are at least two identical receptacles for identical plug-in coupling parts 10 or identical plug-in coupling parts 20 which the identical receptacles would have identical latching projections that are at the same distance from an outer surface of the second coupling carrier 4 since they are identical.).
In regard to claim 19, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 18, wherein the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle have different lengths or the same length (Figs. 11 and 15, the latching arms of each receptacle have at least one length that are either different or the same).
In regard to claim 20, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 9, wherein the latching projections of the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle are at the same distance from a surface of the at least one first coupling carrier (See claim 18 above for the same reasoning except applied to the first coupling carrier instead of the second coupling carrier).
In regard to claim 21, Brandt discloses the multiple coupling according to claim 20, wherein the latching arms of the at least one first receptacle and of the at least one second receptacle have different lengths or the same length (See claim 19 above for the same reasoning except applied to the first coupling carrier instead of the second coupling carrier).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Brandt does not disclose the stop as a projection extending from a surface, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because the indicated stop is at least a projection that extends inwardly from an internal surface within the respective receptacle. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. See the updated rejection above.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Brandt does not disclose an “insertion orientation” and an “insertion depth”, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because in the stop the applicant is referring to is the second condition of claim 1 which the claim requires the stop, projection, and recess as a whole to define an insertion orientation and an insertion depth which the indicated stop, projection, and recess are necessary structural components of Brandt to define an insertion orientation and insertion depth for plug-in coupling parts 10 and 12. Furthermore, the claim does not require the surrounding stop to be the only part defining the insertion orientation and the insertion depth and recites “at least one surrounding stop with at least one projection and at least one recess in order to define at least one insertion depth and at least one insertion orientation for a plug-in coupling part”. Additionally, the surrounding stop is reasonably interpreted as at least a stop surface that prevents fluid from passing through and at least a stop surface for a user to grip onto. If applicant intended a surrounding stop to be a surface in contact with components of the coupling carrier, then it must be claimed. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679