DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-8 and 10 are amended. Claim 8 is canceled and claims 11-21 are added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 and 06/11/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 4 and 5, recites “the external tracking device”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the at least one external tracking device”, as recited in line 3.
Claim 3, line 3, recites “a first wireless communication matter”. Examiner suggest “the first wireless communication manner”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 2.
Claim 3, lines 7 and 8, recites “the time delay information”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”.
Claim 3, line 11, recites “the external tracking device”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the at least one external tracking device”, as recited in claim 1.
Claim 4, line 3, recites “a hardware interrupt event”. Examiner suggest “the hardware interrupt event”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 3.
Claim 4, lines 3-4, recites “time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”. Examiner suggests “the time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 3.
Claim 4, line 7, recites “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”.
Claim 5, lines 4-5, recite “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggest “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”, as previously recites in claim 4.
Claim 5, line 6, recites “the time delay information”. To clarify the claim language, examiner suggests “the time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”.
Claim 6, line 2, recites “a plurality of external tracking devices”. Examiner suggests “the plurality of external tracking devices”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 2.
Claim 6, lines 2-3, recites “a second wireless communication manner”. Examiner suggests “the second wireless communication manner”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 2.
Claim 7, line 7, recites “the external tracking device”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the at least one external tracking device”, as recited in claim 1.
Claim 10, lines 3 and 4-5, recites “the external tracking device”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the at least one external tracking device”, as recited in line 2.
Claim 12, lines 2-3, recites “a first wireless communication matter”. Examiner suggest “the first wireless communication manner”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 11.
Claim 13, line 2, recites “a processor”. Examiner suggest “the processor”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 10.
Claim 13, line 7, recites “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”.
Claim 14, line 5, recite “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggest “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”, as previously recites in claim 13.
Claim 14, line 6, recites “the time delay information”. To clarify the claim language, examiner suggests “the time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”.
Claim 15, line 2, recites “a plurality of external tracking devices”. Examiner suggests “the plurality of external tracking devices”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 11.
Claim 16, line 7, recites “the external tracking device”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the at least one external tracking device”, as recited in claim 10.
Claim 20, line 3, recites “a first wireless communication matter”. Examiner suggest “the first wireless communication manner”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 19.
Claim 20, lines 7 and 9, recites “the time delay information”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”.
Claim 20, line 11, recites “the external tracking device”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the at least one external tracking device”, as recited in claim 19.
Claim 21, line 2, recites “a processor”. Examiner suggest “the processor”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 19.
Claim 21, line 3, recites “a hardware interrupt event”. Examiner suggest “the hardware interrupt event”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 20.
Claim 21, lines 3-4, recites “time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”. Examiner suggests “the time delay information of the head mounted all-in-one machine”, since the phrase previously appears in claim 20.
Claim 21, line 7, recites “the time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “time delay information of the wireless communication apparatus time”.
Claims 2, 8, and 11 depend directly or indirectly from an objected claim, therefore are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “A head-mounted terminal device, comprising: a head-mounted all-in-one machine and at least one external tracking device being wearable on a user body part, the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the external tracking device can communicate through at least two wireless communication manners, and the external tracking device comprises an inertial measurement unit; wherein the head-mounted all-in-one machine comprises: a processor and a memory for storing computer executable instructions, the computer executable instructions, when executed by the processor, perform a tracking method of the ahead-mounted terminal device the method comprises: based on a wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization; based on inertial navigation data of the inertial measurement unit, determining posture data of the at least one external tracking device in a three-dimensional space, and performing user body part tracking based on the posture data”. A claim that includes both apparatus and method is indefinite under 35 U.S.C 112(b), since the claim is not clearly directed to either the apparatus or the method, leading to confusion as to when infringement occurs. Claim 10 does not provide an accurate determination of its “metes and bounds”, since it contains method limitations within an apparatus claim. An apparatus claim is a claim directed to a product and defines an invention by its physical or structural components or parts, which focus on “what” is the invention. A method claim is directed to steps of a process, which focus on “how” or a way of doing something and describes a series of steps or “actions” that achieve a particular result rather than the product used in those steps. Moreover, a claim is considered indefinite if it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of its scope. Claim 10 lacks clarity and is ambiguous, therefore is rejected under 112(b) as being indefinite Claims 11-17 also recite process language and depend directly or indirectly from claim 10 therefore are also indefinite. To avoid ambiguity and ensure clarity, examiner suggests clearly direct claims 10-17 to either the product or the process.
Claim 18 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having one or more programs stored thereon, the one or more programs, when executed by a processor, perform a tracking method of a head-mounted terminal device; the tracking method comprises: based on a wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization; based on inertial navigation data of the inertial measurement unit, determining posture data of the at least one external tracking device in a three-dimensional space, and performing user body part tracking based on the posture data”. A claim that includes both apparatus and method is indefinite under 35 U.S.C 112(b), since the claim is not clearly directed to either the apparatus or the method, leading to confusion as to when infringement occurs. Claim 18 does not provide an accurate determination of its “metes and bounds”, since it contains method limitations within an apparatus claim. An apparatus claim is a claim directed to a product and defines an invention by its physical or structural components or parts, which focus on “what” is the invention. A method claim is directed to steps of a process, which focus on “how” or a way of doing something and describes a series of steps or “actions” that achieve a particular result rather than the product used in those steps. Moreover, a claim is considered indefinite if it does not reasonably apprise those skilled in the art of its scope. Claim 18 lacks clarity and is ambiguous, therefore is rejected under 112(b) as being indefinite Claims 19-21 also recite process language and depend directly or indirectly from claim 18 therefore are also indefinite. To avoid ambiguity and ensure clarity, examiner suggests clearly direct claims 18-21 to either the product or the process.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the head-mounted all-in-one machine” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the at least one external tracking device” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the inertial measurement unit” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 20200371584 A1, hereinafter referenced as Zhao).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao teaches a tracking method of a head-mounted terminal device (see para. [0116], Figs. 1A-3, HMD 112, para. [0006].The disclosure describes an artificial reality system that includes a head-mounted display (HMD) and body-mounted magnetic sensors of a magnetic sensor system to perform body pose tracking), wherein the head-mounted terminal device comprises a head-mounted all-in-one machine (see Fig. 3, para. [0044], para. [0054]. HMD 112 may be part of an artificial reality system, such as artificial reality systems 1, 2 of FIGS. 1A, 1B, or may operate as a stand-alone, mobile artificial realty system configured to implement the techniques described herein. HMD 112 includes one or more processors 302 and memory 304 that, in some examples, provide a computer platform for executing an operating system 305, which may be an embedded, real-time multitasking operating system, for instance, or other type of operating system) and at least one external tracking device being wearable on a user body part (see Figs. 1A-1B, Fig. 6para. [0038]-[0040], para. [0078]-[0079]. A wearable magnetic sensor system 127 includes wearable article 130 configured to spatially arrange a plurality of multiple magnetic sensors 125 on a body of user 110. Magnetic sensors 125 are configured to generate and output respective magnetic sensor data indicative of respective locations of the magnetic sensors 125. In FIG. 1A, a magnetic sensor system 127 includes body-mounted magnetic sensors 125 used to perform body pose tracking. Each magnetic sensor 125 further includes an IMU configured to generate IMU data sensed at the respective magnetic sensor 125. The body-mounted magnetic sensors 125 may be included in one or more wearable articles 130 (e.g., a vest, a shirt, a jacket, arm bands, and/or chest bands) positioned on a user's arms and torso. In the example shown in FIG. 1A, user 110 is wearing a vest and two arm bands that are wearable articles of a magnetic sensor system 127 and that each includes at least one of magnetic sensors 125), the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the external tracking device can communicate through at least two wireless communication manners (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.), and the external tracking device comprises an inertial measurement unit (see para. [0039], para. [0065]-[0066]. Each magnetic sensor 125 further includes an (Inertial Measurement Unit) IMU configured to generate IMU data sensed at the respective magnetic sensor 125); the method comprises:
based on a wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.);
based on inertial navigation data of the inertial measurement unit, determining posture data of the at least one external tracking device in a three-dimensional space (see para. [0035]-[0036], para. [0038], para. [0042], para. [0046]-[0047], para. [0060]-[0064], para. [0067]-[0068] Figs. 1A-1B. Magnetic sensors 125 are configured to generate and output respective magnetic sensor data indicative of respective locations of the magnetic sensors 125. Artificial reality system 1 may use such magnetic sensor data, along with other data such as sensed data received from HMD 112, and, in some examples, data from any external sensors 90, such as external cameras, to compute a body pose of user 110. Artificial reality system 10 uses information captured from a real-world, 3D physical environment to render artificial reality content 122 for display to user 110. internal control unit 210 may compute the current pose based on sensor data generated by sensors 206 and/or magnetic sensor system 127. Based on the computed current pose, internal control unit 210 may render artificial reality content corresponding to the master 3D map for an artificial reality application, and internal control unit 210 may display the artificial reality content via the electronic display 203. During this process, pose tracker 326 may operate on sensed data received from HMD 112, such as movement information and user commands, and, in some examples, data from magnetic sensor system 127 and any external sensors 90 or external camera 102 (as shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B) to capture 3D information within the physical 3D environment, such as motion by user 110, and/or feature tracking information with respect to user 110. Based on the sensed data, pose tracker 326 determines a current pose for the frame of reference of HMD 112 and, in accordance with the current pose, generates the artificial reality content for communication to HMD 112 for display to the user via electronic display 203. Sensor data from magnetic sensor system 127 provided to magnetic sensor-based pose tracker 327 can be used in multiple ways to generate body tracking data. Pose tracker 326 computes a body pose of the user by fusing the magnetic sensor data obtained from each magnetic sensor of magnetic sensor components 125 with at least one of IMU data obtained from an IMU of respective magnetic sensor components 125), and performing user body part tracking based on the posture data (see para. [0005]-[0007], para. [0066]-[0068]. Sensor data from magnetic sensor system 127 provided to magnetic sensor-based pose tracker 327 can be used in multiple ways to generate body tracking data. Pose tracker 326 computes a body pose of the user by fusing the magnetic sensor data obtained from each magnetic sensor of magnetic sensor components 125 with at least one of IMU data obtained from an IMU of respective magnetic sensor components 125).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhao teaches the method of claim 1.
Zhao further teaches wherein before based on the wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.), the method further comprises:
controlling the head-mounted all-in-one machine to establish wireless connection with the at least one external tracking device through a corresponding wireless communication manner based on a wireless communication manner supported by an external tracking device (see Fig. 13, para. [0108]-[0109]. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc. Each magnetic sensor in the first set of magnetic sensors may receive the connection request and determine one or more sampling times based on the receipt of the connection request (1306). Note: To stablish the connection the wireless communication inherently needs to be supported by the external tracking device).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhao teaches the method of claim 1.
Zhao further teaches wherein based on the wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.), comprises:
when the head-mounted terminal device being initiated, based on the wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization; and/or, during data interaction of the head-mounted terminal device, the head-mounted all- in-one machine controls the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization in accordance with a set frequency (see para. [0008], para. [0071], para. [0101]. the primary magnetic sensor may receive a trigger signal from the HMD and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors of a magnetic sensor system. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. The wireless connection request command is sent by the primary magnetic sensor at a fixed schedule and specifies a start sampling time based on a time at which the other magnetic sensor receives the command).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao teaches head-mounted terminal device, comprising:
a head-mounted all-in-one machine (see Fig. 3, para. [0044], para. [0054]. HMD 112 may be part of an artificial reality system, such as artificial reality systems 1, 2 of FIGS. 1A, 1B, or may operate as a stand-alone, mobile artificial realty system configured to implement the techniques described herein. HMD 112 includes one or more processors 302 and memory 304 that, in some examples, provide a computer platform for executing an operating system 305, which may be an embedded, real-time multitasking operating system, for instance, or other type of operating system) and at least one external tracking device being wearable on a user body part (see Figs. 1A-1B, Fig. 6para. [0038]-[0040], para. [0078]-[0079]. A wearable magnetic sensor system 127 includes wearable article 130 configured to spatially arrange a plurality of multiple magnetic sensors 125 on a body of user 110. Magnetic sensors 125 are configured to generate and output respective magnetic sensor data indicative of respective locations of the magnetic sensors 125. In FIG. 1A, a magnetic sensor system 127 includes body-mounted magnetic sensors 125 used to perform body pose tracking. Each magnetic sensor 125 further includes an IMU configured to generate IMU data sensed at the respective magnetic sensor 125. The body-mounted magnetic sensors 125 may be included in one or more wearable articles 130 (e.g., a vest, a shirt, a jacket, arm bands, and/or chest bands) positioned on a user's arms and torso. In the example shown in FIG. 1A, user 110 is wearing a vest and two arm bands that are wearable articles of a magnetic sensor system 127 and that each includes at least one of magnetic sensors 125), the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the external tracking device can communicate through at least two wireless communication manners (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.), and the external tracking device comprises an inertial measurement unit (see para. [0039], para. [0065]-[0066]. Each magnetic sensor 125 further includes an (Inertial Measurement Unit) IMU configured to generate IMU data sensed at the respective magnetic sensor 125);
wherein the head-mounted all-in-one machine comprises: a processor and a memory for storing computer executable instructions (see Fig. 3, para. [0054]-[0055], para. [0116]. HMD 112 includes one or more processors 302 and memory 304 that, in some examples, provide a computer platform for executing an operating system 305, which may be an embedded, real-time multitasking operating system, for instance, or other type of operating system), the computer executable instructions, when executed by the processor, perform a tracking method (see para. [0116]. Instructions embedded or encoded in a computer-readable storage medium may cause a programmable processor, or other processor, to perform the method, e.g., when the instructions are executed) of a head-mounted terminal device (see Figs. 1A-3, para. [0006]. head-mounted display (HMD)) the method comprises:
based on a wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.);
based on inertial navigation data of the inertial measurement unit, determining posture data of the at least one external tracking device in a three-dimensional space (see para. [0035]-[0036], para. [0038], para. [0042], para. [0046]-[0047], para. [0060]-[0064], para. [0067]-[0068] Figs. 1A-1B. Magnetic sensors 125 are configured to generate and output respective magnetic sensor data indicative of respective locations of the magnetic sensors 125. Artificial reality system 1 may use such magnetic sensor data, along with other data such as sensed data received from HMD 112, and, in some examples, data from any external sensors 90, such as external cameras, to compute a body pose of user 110. Artificial reality system 10 uses information captured from a real-world, 3D physical environment to render artificial reality content 122 for display to user 110. internal control unit 210 may compute the current pose based on sensor data generated by sensors 206 and/or magnetic sensor system 127. Based on the computed current pose, internal control unit 210 may render artificial reality content corresponding to the master 3D map for an artificial reality application, and internal control unit 210 may display the artificial reality content via the electronic display 203. During this process, pose tracker 326 may operate on sensed data received from HMD 112, such as movement information and user commands, and, in some examples, data from magnetic sensor system 127 and any external sensors 90 or external camera 102 (as shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B) to capture 3D information within the physical 3D environment, such as motion by user 110, and/or feature tracking information with respect to user 110. Based on the sensed data, pose tracker 326 determines a current pose for the frame of reference of HMD 112 and, in accordance with the current pose, generates the artificial reality content for communication to HMD 112 for display to the user via electronic display 203. Sensor data from magnetic sensor system 127 provided to magnetic sensor-based pose tracker 327 can be used in multiple ways to generate body tracking data. Pose tracker 326 computes a body pose of the user by fusing the magnetic sensor data obtained from each magnetic sensor of magnetic sensor components 125 with at least one of IMU data obtained from an IMU of respective magnetic sensor components 125), and performing user body part tracking based on the posture data (see para. [0005]-[0007], para. [0066]-[0068]. Sensor data from magnetic sensor system 127 provided to magnetic sensor-based pose tracker 327 can be used in multiple ways to generate body tracking data. Pose tracker 326 computes a body pose of the user by fusing the magnetic sensor data obtained from each magnetic sensor of magnetic sensor components 125 with at least one of IMU data obtained from an IMU of respective magnetic sensor components 125).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhao teaches the head-mounted terminal device of claim 10.
Zhao further teaches wherein before based on the wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.), the method further comprises:
controlling the head-mounted all-in-one machine to establish wireless connection with the at least one external tracking device through a corresponding wireless communication manner based on a wireless communication manner supported by an external tracking device (see Fig. 13, para. [0108]-[0109]. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc. Each magnetic sensor in the first set of magnetic sensors may receive the connection request and determine one or more sampling times based on the receipt of the connection request (1306). Note: To stablish the connection the wireless communication inherently needs to be supported by the external tracking device).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhao teaches the head-mounted terminal device of claim 10.
Zhao further teaches wherein based on the wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.), comprises:
when the head-mounted terminal device being initiated, based on the wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization; and/or, during data interaction of the head-mounted terminal device, the head-mounted all- in-one machine controls the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization in accordance with a set frequency (see para. [0008], para. [0071], para. [0101]. the primary magnetic sensor may receive a trigger signal from the HMD and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors of a magnetic sensor system. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. The wireless connection request command is sent by the primary magnetic sensor at a fixed schedule and specifies a start sampling time based on a time at which the other magnetic sensor receives the command)..
Regarding Claim 18, Zhao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see para. [0116] The techniques described in this disclosure may also be embodied or encoded in a computer-readable medium, such as a computer-readable storage medium, containing instructions), having one or more programs stored thereon, the one or more programs, when executed by a processor, perform a tracking method (see para. [0116]. Instructions embedded or encoded in a computer-readable storage medium may cause a programmable processor, or other processor, to perform the method, e.g., when the instructions are executed) of a head-mounted terminal device (see para. [0116], Figs. 1A-3, HMD 112, para. [0006].The disclosure describes an artificial reality system that includes a head-mounted display (HMD) and body-mounted magnetic sensors of a magnetic sensor system to perform body pose tracking);
the tracking method comprises:
based on a wireless communication manner between the head-mounted all-in-one machine and the at least one external tracking device, controlling the head-mounted terminal device to perform time synchronization (see para. [0007]-[0008], para. [0069]-[0071], para. [0089], para. [0101], para. [0108]. The primary magnetic sensor may be mounted to an HMD or to a peripheral device, for example. The primary magnetic sensor may generate and send sensor data to a wireless data hub that operates as a sensor data collector and transmits data to a computing device that performs pose tracking for the system. Synchronizer 324 may also perform techniques for synchronizing a magnetic sensor sampling frequency that leverage existing wireless connection protocols to align sensor sampling with an internal system event, e.g., the center of a camera exposure window for image capture device 208 of HMD 112. For example, a primary magnetic sensor of magnetic sensors 125 may receive a trigger signal from HMD 112 and, in response, send a wireless connection request command that comprises a wireless synchronization signal to one or more other magnetic sensors 125 of magnetic sensor system 127. The wireless connection request command may be an initial command, e.g., a connection request or handshake, used to establish or re-establish a wireless communication channel, e.g., Bluetooth, WiFi, or the like, between the primary magnetic sensor and another magnetic sensor. FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating operations of a method for synchronizing sampling frequency of magnetic sensors in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. An internal system, such as an HMD, console, machine-learning system etc. may generate a trigger signal. In response to receiving the trigger signal (1302), a primary magnetic sensor may transmit a connection request to a first set of magnetic sensors (1304). In some aspects, the connection request may conform to a wireless communication standard such as Bluetooth, WiFi, etc.);
based on inertial navigation data of the inertial measurement unit, determining posture data of the at least one external tracking device in a three-dimensional space (see para. [0035]-[0036], para. [0038], para. [0042], para. [0046]-[0047], para. [0060]-[0064], para. [0067]-[0068] Figs. 1A-1B. Magnetic sensors 125 are configured to generate and output respective magnetic sensor data indicative of respective locations of the magnetic sensors 125. Artificial reality system 1 may use such magnetic sensor data, along with other data such as sensed data received from HMD 112, and, in some examples, data from any external sensors 90, such as external cameras, to compute a body pose of user 110. Artificial reality system 10 uses information captured from a real-world, 3D physical environment to render artificial reality content 122 for display to user 110. internal control unit 210 may compute the current pose based on sensor data generated by sensors 206 and/or magnetic sensor system 127. Based on the computed current pose, internal control unit 210 may render artificial reality content corresponding to the master 3D map for an artificial reality application, and internal control unit 210 may display the artificial reality content via the electronic display 203. During this process, pose tracker 326 may operate on sensed data received from HMD 112, such as movement information and user commands, and, in some examples, data from magnetic sensor system 127 and any external sensors 90 or external camera 102 (as shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B) to capture 3D information within the physical 3D environment, such as motion by user 110, and/or feature tracking information with respect to user 110. Based on the sensed data, pose tracker 326 determines a current pose for the frame of reference of HMD 112 and, in accordance with the current pose, generates the artificial reality content for communication to HMD 112 for display to the user via electronic display 203. Sensor data from magnetic sensor system 127 provided to magnetic sensor-based pose tracker 327 can be used in multiple ways to generate body tracking data. Pose tracker 326 computes a body pose of the user by fusing the magnetic sensor data obtained from each magnetic sensor of magnetic sensor components 125 with at least one of IMU data obtained from an IMU of respective magnetic sensor components 125), and performing user body part tracking based on the posture data (see para. [0005]-[0007], para. [0066]-[0068]. Sensor data from magnetic sensor system 127 provided to magnetic sensor-based pose tracker 327 can be used in multiple ways to generate body tracking data. Pose tracker 326 computes a body pose of the user by fusing the magnetic sensor data obtained from each magnetic sensor of magnetic sensor components 125 with at least one of IMU data obtained from an IMU of respective magnetic sensor components 125).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the robjections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15, and 20-21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 8/27/26