DETAILED ACTION
The Office acknowledges receipt of the Applicant’s response filed 24 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanbu (JP H0923779 A) in view of Robert et al. (US Patent 10,518,915 B2) hereinafter referred to as Robert.
** See Applicant provided translation of Nabu (IDS of 24 July 2025) for citations.
Regarding claim 1, Nanbu discloses an egg filling apparatus (figs. 1 and 3) for filling an egg tray (11; fig. 1) with eggs, the apparatus comprising:
an individual egg cup collection unit (88, 90 – belt conveyors) in which a plurality of individual egg cups (2; figs. 1-2) on which the eggs (4) are placed one by one are collected (fig. 1, paragraphs 0021-0022; Cups 2 have eggs placed on them one by one as seen in fig. 1 and then the cups 2 are collected on belt 90);
a filling location information acquisition unit (5, 22, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40) that acquires information on a location where an egg is to be placed in the egg tray (paragraphs 0025-0029, 0031 – Eggs are sorted based on weight information that determines which groups the eggs are sorted into and made available for transfer. This results in similar weighted eggs being placed on the same tray 11. As such, this information is used to determine where the egg is placed via the transfer mechanism 94 on a tray by ensuring that the egg is only placed on a tray designated for that weight of egg.);
an egg transfer mechanism (94) that transfers (paragraphs 0021-0023) the egg from an individual egg cup in the individual egg cup collection unit (88, 90) to the egg tray (11) based on filling location information acquired by the filling location information acquisition unit (paragraphs 0031-0033 - Eggs are sorted based on weight information that determines which groups the eggs are sorted into and made available for transfer. This results in similar weighted eggs being placed on the same tray 11. As such, this information is used to determine where the egg is placed via the transfer mechanism 94 on a tray by ensuring that the egg is only placed on a tray designated for that weight of egg); and
an individual egg cup removing mechanism (90, 91, 92; alternatively just 91 and 92) that removes an empty individual egg cup from the individual egg cup collection unit (paragraphs 0021-0022, 0032).
Nanbu fails to disclose an egg filling apparatus for filling an egg tray, from which a defective egg has been removed in the egg tray, with eggs, a filling location information acquisition unit that acquires information of an egg storage seat from which the defective egg has been removed in the egg tray and which is to be filled with an egg, and an egg transfer mechanism that transfers the egg from an individual egg cup to the egg storage seat from which the defective egg has been removed in the egg tray, based on filling information acquired by the filling location information acquisition unit.
However, Robert teaches an egg filling apparatus (figs. 1-3) for filling an egg tray (8), from which a defective egg has been removed (col. 4 lines 4-7) in the egg tray, with eggs, a filling location information acquisition unit (20; fig. 3; col. 4 lines 20-48; col. 6 line 64 – col. 7 line 32) that acquires information of an egg storage seat (22) from which the defective egg has been removed in the egg tray and which is to be filled with an egg, and an egg transfer mechanism (12; col. 6 lines 25-48) that transfers the egg from an individual egg cup (24; col. 4 lines 13-15, 49-58) to the egg storage seat from which the defective egg has been removed in the egg tray, based on filling information acquired by the filling location information acquisition unit (col. 6 line 64 – col. 7 line 32).
Given the teachings of Roberts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nanbu to include the filling location information acquisition unit features of Robert. Doing so would ensure that the final tray was completely full by filling for any removed defective eggs that might be sensed.
Regarding claim 2, Nanbu discloses wherein the individual egg cup removing mechanism (90, 91, 92; alternatively just 91 and 92) removes the empty individual egg cup from the individual egg cup collection unit during an egg transfer operation by the egg transfer mechanism (paragraphs 0021-0022 – “The gate 91 abuts on the protector 2 conveyed by the belt conveyor 90 at the rising position to generate a slip between the protector 2 and the belt conveyor 90 to prevent the movement of the protector 2 in the D direction, and allows the movement of only the protector 2 from which the egg 4 is removed by the lifting device 94…”; paragraph 0032 – “the remaining five eggs 4 are lifted by the lifting device 94 and placed in the remaining accommodating seats of the packaging container 11, while the remaining five protectors 2 from which the eggs 4 have been removed are discharged from the belt conveyor 90”).
Regarding claim 3, Nanbu discloses an individual egg cup replenishing mechanism (#3, 6-9, 31-35; paragraphs 0015-0019, 0021-0022, 0027-0028, 0031) that replenishes the individual egg cup collection unit with an individual egg cup on which an egg is placed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments rely on amendments to the claims which are deemed to be taught by the new teachings of Robert as detailed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731