DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nordstrom et al. (U.S. 2018/0278354), hereinafter Nordstrom.
With respect to Claim 1, Nordstrom teaches a terminal comprising: a
transmitting section that transmits support information indicating a support for a specific reception function for interference mitigation in reception (¶ 0092, “When the UE is indicating the (advanced) capability of interference mitigation, then the network node may use a lower power level for transmitting the control channels (e.g. PDCCH).”) and
a control section that controls the reception by using the specific reception function (¶ 0092, “When the UE is indicating the (advanced) capability of interference mitigation, then the network node may use a lower power level for transmitting the control channels (e.g. PDCCH).”)
With respect to Claim 2, Nordstrom teaches the terminal according to claim 1, Nordstrom teaches wherein the support information indicates the support for the specific reception function by using an index or a bit location corresponding to the specific reception function (¶ 0087, “The UE capability can be taken as one combined value with all control channels included as one bit indicating the interference mitigation capability, or it can be taken separately as capability for each control channel with different receiver types standing for different capabilities.”)
With respect to Claim 3, Nordstrom teaches the terminal according to claim 1, Nordstom teaches wherein the control section determines channel state information (CSI), based on a configuration corresponding to the specific reception function and a measurement result (¶ 0108, “Regarding neighCellsCRS-Info, this field contains assistance information, concerning the primary frequency, used by the UE to mitigate interference from CRS while performing RRM/RLM/CSI measurement or data demodulation.”)
With respect to Claim 5, the claim is the radio communication method for a terminal corresponding to the terminal of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claim 6, the claim is the corresponding base station, which communicates with and corresponds to the terminal of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordstrom et al. (U.S. 2018/0278354), hereinafter Nordstrom, in view of Berliner et al. (U.S. 11,115,086), hereinafter Berliner.
With respect to Claim 4, Nordstrom teaches the terminal according to claim 1, Nordstrom fails to explicitly teach wherein the control section controls reception of resource allocation information involving a parameter higher than a specific value with respect to modulation or encoding.
Berliner teaches wherein the control section controls reception of resource allocation information involving a parameter higher than a specific value with respect to modulation or encoding (column 6, lines 30-45, “At base station 110, a transmit processor 220 may receive data from a data source 212 for one or more UEs, select one or more modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for each UE based at least in part on channel quality indicators (CQIs) received from the UE, process (e.g., encode and modulate) the data for each UE based at least in part on the MCS(s) selected for the UE, and provide data symbols for all UEs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Berliner with the invention of Nordstrom to alter the resource allocation based on the modulation and coding scheme in order to improve utilization as higher MCS schemes improve data rate and reduce overall resource utilization.
Conclusion
/ANGELA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479