This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/856446, filed on 10/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1, 17 and 19-20 are independent claims.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/018574 filed 04/13/2023. PCT/US2023/018574 has PRO 63/363,014 filed 04/14/2022.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/11/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 10/11/2024 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "at the least one receiver", the limitation being recited in line 17 of Claim 1 and by reference in all dependent claims. Suggested corrections include changing the terminology to ‘recipient’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities claim 6 recites the limitation “those controls" in the penultimate line. Suggested corrections include changing the term to “controls” (‘operating controls in the new file at the viewer’). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the encrypted document transformation module" in the first two lines. Suggested corrections include changing the term to “the document transformation module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Additionally, “the first database" in line 11. Suggested corrections include changing the term to “the database”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“Document transformation module that is in data transmission connection with said input device… the document transformation module transforming said original electronic document… ” in claims 1, 13, 19. The claims do not recite sufficient structure to perform the intended functions (e.g., ‘software’, ‘ instructions in memory performed by a processor’, ‘hardware’, etc.). The recited functionalities of being in connection with devices and databases, discarding documents, and transforming documents do not recite structure sufficient enough to perform the functionalities in question.
“Data transmission subsystem transmitting the transformation document per email” in claims 1, 19, 20. The claims do not recite sufficient structure to perform the intended functions (e.g., ‘software’, ‘instructions in memory performed by a processor’, ‘hardware’, etc.). The recited functionalities of transmission and ‘making’ do not recite structure sufficient enough to perform the functionalities in question.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation is:
“Data Transmission Subsystem” in claim 16, which is modified structurally due to the recitation “the data transmission subsystem includes a server separate from the recipient”.
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation does not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “document transformation module” of claims 1 and 19 (and resulting dependent claims) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no structure directly specified to constitute a 'document transformation module', such that any structure that can perform the functions described in the claims can possibly be covered by the claims despite there being no structure for the 'document transformation module' in the specified invention. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “data transmission subsystem” of claims 1, 19 and 20 (and resulting dependent claims) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no structure directly specified to constitute a 'data transmission subsystem', such that any structure that can perform the functions described in the claims can possibly be covered by the claims despite there being no structure for the 'data transmission subsystem' in the specified invention. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the new file at the viewer" in the last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the complete set of original file data" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/134,480. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the con-pending application contains every element of claims on the instant application The table shows the mapping of independent claim 1.
For example, please see the claim 1 of current application mapping below.
Current Application No. 18/856,446
Patent application No. 18/134,480
Claim 1:
An electronic document transformation and sharing system allowing a document originator control over an electronic document shared by the document originator with at least one recipient, said system comprising:
an input device configured to receive an original electronic document and document-specific controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document,
and to assign a transaction ID pertaining to said original electronic document;
a web server;
a database on said web server,
storing transaction IDs with correlating controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document;
a document transformation module that is in data transmission connection with said input device that receives the original electronic document and database that stores the transaction ID's with correlating controls instructions for said original electronic document,
the document transformation module transforming said original electronic document to an encrypted transformation document encompassing said transaction ID and controls information;
a data transmission subsystem transmitting the transformation document per email to at the least one receiver or making the encrypted transformation document retrievable by the at least one recipient per API from a second data storage;
an electronic transformation document viewer that has at least the capabilities of a standard web browser for viewing said encrypted transformation document by the at least one recipient,
said document viewer being in data transmission connection with said database and making said encrypted transformation document visible after transaction ID verification between the encrypted transformation document and the transaction ID stored in said database if said document-specific controls instructions correlating to said transaction ID are met.
Claim 1:
An electronic document transformation and sharing system allowing a document originator control over an electronic document shared by the document originator with at least one recipient, said system comprising:
an input device configured to receive an original electronic document and document-specific controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document,
and to assign a transaction ID pertaining to said original electronic document;
a web server,
the web server comprising; a database on said web server, storing transaction IDs with correlating controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document;
a document transformation module that is in data transmission connection with (i) said input device that receives the original electronic document and (ii) the database that stores the transaction IDs with correlating controls instructions for said original electronic document,
the document transformation module configured to transform said original electronic document to an encrypted transformation document and embed said transaction ID in encrypted or unencrypted form into the encrypted transformation document;
and a data transmission subsystem configured to transmitting the transformation document to at the least one recipient directly or to the originator for subsequent transmittal to the at least one recipient, such that the encrypted document is not stored on the server, and
an electronic transformation document viewer for viewing said encrypted transformation document by the at least one recipient, said document viewer configured at least for JavaScript execution and web-based document rendering and being in data transmission connection with said database: wherein said electronic transformation document viewer is configured to transmit the encrypted transformation document to the web server for decryption: wherein after transaction ID verification between the encrypted transformation document and the transaction ID stored in said database if said document-specific controls instructions correlating to said transaction ID are met, the web server is configured to decrypt the encrypted transformation document, and the electronic transformation document viewer is configured to make the decrypted transformation document visible: wherein the web server transmits back the encrypted transformation document to the document viewer as a view accessible representation of the original electronic document, that view accessible representation being an image of one page, wherein each page is transmitted independently when the viewer indicates a request to view a different page: and wherein the web server is configured to delete the temporarily stored decrypted transformation document after the recipient finishes viewing.
This is a provisional non-statutory obviousness type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dogu(US Publication No. 20180307855 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Dogu discloses:
An electronic document transformation and sharing system allowing a document originator control over an electronic document shared by the document originator with at least one recipient, said system comprising: an input device configured to receive an original electronic document (Dogu, Fig. 1, [0028], the user device creates file by receiving instructions from a user
and document-specific controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document(Dogu, [0028], the user selects access data for file, such that user device receives the data from user),
and to assign a transaction ID pertaining to said original electronic document (Dogu,[0028], [0101], wherein the transmission and access management information (user ID for the file ID currently being processed) (transaction ID) is associated with the right to access a specific file (pertaining to said original document));
a web server (Dogu, [0028], there is a management server (server). [0035], the management server communicates to the user device through the network (thus, web server));
a database on said web server(Dogu, [0041], management server has storage unit (database)),
storing transaction IDs with correlating controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document(Dogu, [0043], storage unit of management server stores management information including file ID, as well as the user ID (transaction ID) and access right information associated with those IDs);
a document transformation module that is in data transmission connection with said input device that receives the original electronic document and database that stores the transaction ID's with correlating controls instructions for said original electronic document, the document transformation module transforming said original electronic document to an encrypted transformation document encompassing said transaction ID and controls information(Dogu,[0034]-[0035], the device containing the file encrypting unit (document transformation module) can communicate with (in data transmission connection with) the invention’s servers, which contains said database as shown above, file encrypting unit contained in and controlled by user device (input device). [0032], wherein the encryption can also be performed, not by the input device, but by a cooperating server, such that in the embodiment of the invention where the encrypting is performed by the cooperating server, the module is in connection with both the input device and the database of the management web server);
transforming said original electronic document to an encrypted transformation document encompassing said transaction ID and controls information(Dogu,[0104], the encrypted file generating unit (document transformation module) generates the encrypted file (transformation document) including the file and user IDs (transaction ID as shown above), access information (controls information), and the data of the file itself),
a data transmission subsystem transmitting the transformation document per email to at the least one receiver(Dogu,[0029], the encrypted document is emailed to the recipient (implying a subsystem for sending the email))
or making the encrypted transformation document retrievable by the at least one recipient per API from a second data storage (Dogu, [0051], [0055], where the encrypted file, stored in the user device (second data storage) may be received by an API hook);
an electronic transformation document viewer that has at least the capabilities of a standard web browser for viewing said encrypted transformation document by the at least one recipient(Dogu, [0019], wherein the encrypted file is displayed through software such as a web browser),
said document viewer being in data transmission connection with said database and making said encrypted transformation document visible (Dogu, [0084]-[0087], wherein, in response to opening the file on the browsing viewer of the user device, the management server (holding the database with the file ID, the user ID (transaction ID) and access control information) and cooperating server, which performs decryption and processing for display are notified through an indirect data transmission connection via the file sharing server)
after transaction ID verification between the encrypted transformation document and the transaction ID stored in said database (Dogu, [0085], wherein the access right of a user for an encrypted file is judged. [0094], “At the cooperating server 120, when the transceiving unit 582 has received, from the file sharing server 130, information indicating an access right, it is judged whether or not the user of the user ID received at S1411 is authorized for decryption based on the received access right information”, such that judging the access right of a user is taught to be the verification of a user ID (transaction ID). [0112], wherein the verification of a user ID is taught to consist of comparing a known user ID (transaction ID stored in said database) with the user ID)
if said document-specific controls instructions correlating to said transaction ID are met(Dogu, [0082], wherein operations whose access may be controlled include viewing a file).
Regarding Claim 2:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1 wherein the document viewer is configured to display a notification to the recipient indicating access is not available if said document-specific controls instructions correlating said transaction ID are not met(Dogu, [0054], the access control unit 370 controls access to the data of the decrypted electronic file 30 according to the access authorization information. For example, when the user 190 is prohibited from editing the electronic file 30, the access control unit 370 does not accept user operation to alter the data of the electronic file 30. The access control unit 370 may respond with NOP to user operation to alter the data of the electronic file 30.).
Regarding Claim 3:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1 wherein the document viewer is configured to transmit an indication to said web server(Dogu, [0029], . When accessing the encrypted file 40, the user device 20 transmits information indicating the user 190 to the management server 110.).
Regarding Claim 6:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1, wherein the controls information prescribes to restrict access or functionality in the encrypted transformation document based on one or more of the following controls information from the group consisting of: printing, timestamping, watermarking(Dogu, [0113], a user can be allowed to access the data of the electronic file 30 according to a set access right. For example, operation about file operation such as viewing, printing, watermark printing, editing, saving, copying of data to a memory region such as a clipboard, capturing of a display screen, etc. can be restricted.),
limiting viewing by IP range, limiting viewing by viewer domain, limiting viewing by start time of expire time, limiting viewing by information deletion(Dogu, [0059], the access control unit 370 such that the user 190 cannot view the electronic file 30 in the encrypted file 40.),
track viewing by use of steganography, operation those controls in the new file at the viewer(Dogu, [0047], the user 180 designates access right information including the contents of operation that an access-permitted user is permitted to perform or prohibited from performing on the data of the electronic file 30. Examples of the contents of permitted or prohibited operation on the data of the electronic file 30 include viewing, printing, watermark printing, editing, saving, copying of data to a memory region such as a clipboard, capturing of a display screen).
Regarding Claim 9:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1 wherein the encrypted transformation document is prepared to be associated with a unique viewer identity(Dogu, [0104], the encrypted file generating unit 210 generates the encrypted file 40 including: the file ID generated at S610; the user ID indicating an access-permitted user; the access information encrypted by the supplementary information generating unit 230; and the data of the electronic file 30 encrypted by the file encrypting unit 200… in the encrypted file, user IDs identifying respective ones of one or more users having rights to access the electronic file 30.).
Regarding Claim 10:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 9 wherein the unique viewer identity is an email address(Dogu, ([0028], “The user ID may be a mail address”, [0029], “The encrypted file 40 is passed over to the user device 20 and to the user 190 via an e-mail”).
Regarding Claim 11:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1 wherein the encrypted transformation document is transmitted to a storage directory for later access by a viewer(Dogu, [0028], The user ID may be a mail address. [0029], The encrypted file 40 is passed over to the user device 20 and to the user 190 via an e-mail).
Regarding Claim 12:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1 wherein the encrypted transformation document is transmitted to a storage directory (Dogu, [0030],[0031], a file is to be shared by using the file sharing server 130, the user device 10 uploads the encrypted file 40 to a predetermined folder in the file sharing server 130. Then, the user device 10 acquires, from the file sharing server 130, a shared file ID of the encrypted file uploaded to the file sharing server 130. The shared file ID is one example of information identifying a file stored in the file sharing server 130. The user device 10 transmits the shared file ID to the management server 110.)
with an identifier of the unique viewer with permitted access to the encrypted transformation document(Dogu, [0104], the file ID generated at S610; the user ID indicating an access-permitted user; the access information encrypted by the supplementary information generating unit 230; and the data of the electronic file 30 encrypted by the file encrypting unit 200. In this manner, the encrypted file generating unit 210 embeds the encrypted supplementary information in the encrypted file. ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu (US Publication No. 2018/0307855 A1) in view of Ramos (US 2020/0394322 A1, herein referred to as Ramos).
Regarding Claim 4:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein the indication is a like, dislike or vote
Ramos discloses:
wherein the indication is a like, dislike or vote(Ramos, [0050], The document server may tally the votes for consensus, and then it may reconcile the differences back into the original document. Finally, the document server provides a real-time update notification to all users including viewers of a redacted document version. In simple terms, everyone works off the master document, even the redacted viewers.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that information reflecting a user’s reaction or interaction can be communicated as taught by Ramos in order allow a system administrator or content provider to collect and process user interaction data such as votes with the viewed document.
The motivation is to ensure improved monitoring and management of user interaction with shared electronic documents by enabling the system to record and evaluate user feedback transmitted from the document viewer to the server.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 2018/0307855 A1) in view of Yabe (US Publication No. 2009/0205017 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 3…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein the web server stores a third database storing indications received at the web server, wherein said indications that the document is permissible to be viewed
are transmitted from the web server into the encrypted transformation document
when said encrypted transformation document is re-opened, refreshed, or connectivity permits
Yabe discloses:
wherein the web server stores a third database storing indications received at the web server, wherein said indications that the document is permissible to be viewed(Yabe, Fig. 8, [0100], In S806, the DMS 104 acquires the access history stored in the storage device 1032 in the policy server 103, and counts the number of executed times, up to that point, of the processing permitted by the access right defined by the policy applied to the document.)
are transmitted from the web server into the encrypted transformation document(Yabe, Fig. 8, Fig 11, If the number of executed times of each processing has reached the number of executable times in S807, the DMS 104 issues update instructions of the policy applied to the document, and updates the online policy by interacting with the policy server 103 in S808.)
when said encrypted transformation document is re-opened, refreshed, or connectivity permits(Yabe, FIG. 8 is a flowchart of when the document managed by the DMS 104 is accessed.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure the document viewer can be stored in an additional database as taught by Yabe in ordered to enhance the system by maintain and updating document related interaction information.
The motivation is to ensure that user interaction information associated with a document can be centrally stored and dynamically reflected when the document is reopened or refreshed, thereby improving document management and system feedback.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 2018/0307855 A1) in view of Ball (US Publication 2007/0156738 A1 ).
Regarding Claim 7:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein the controls information prescribes to add a watermark on the document viewed
that watermark being associated with the identity of the viewer, and that watermark changing with each subsequent permitted and authenticated viewer to be associated with the subsequent viewer
Ball discloses:
wherein the controls information prescribes to add a watermark on the document viewed(Ball, [0002], a method for operating a data processing system and in particular to a method for electronic processing of document… [0016], producing data which represents a watermark for the document; and adding the data which represents the watermark to the first file so that at least one part of the document contains the watermark when displayed by a user.) ,
that watermark being associated with the identity of the viewer, and that watermark changing with each subsequent permitted and authenticated viewer to be associated with the subsequent viewer(Ball, [0029], The user information can comprise, for example, the name or the e-mail address of the user. A watermark is produced from this information and in Step 6 this watermark is transferred to each page of the PDF document (except for the cover sheet). ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that a watermark associated with the identity of the viewer as taught by Ball in ordered to allow the system to identify the viewer associated with a displayed document and deter unauthorized redistribution or leakage of the document content
The motivation is to ensure improved document security and traceability by embedding viewer specific watermark information within the document displayed to each authenticated viewer.
Claims 8, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 2018/0307855 A1) in view of Toshio-229 (US Publication No. 2021/0377229 A1).
Regarding Claim 8:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein web server transmits back the encrypted transformation document at the document viewer a view accessible representation of the original electronic document, that view accessible representation being an image of one page, wherein each page transmitted independently when the viewer indicates a request to view a different page
Toshio-229 discloses:
wherein web server transmits back the encrypted transformation document at the document viewer a view accessible representation of the original electronic document, that view accessible representation being an image of one page, wherein each page transmitted independently when the viewer indicates a request to view a different page(Toshio-229, [0117], In a case where the size to be read is the size displayed on the display screen of the user terminal 200, the user terminal 200 may transmit the partial information of the encrypted third file 130 to the information processing device 100 every time the screen is scrolled, and then, the decryption part 30 may decrypt the partial information of the encrypted third file 130 received from the user terminal 200, and then, the device transmit part 70 may transmit the partial information 130 b of the decrypted third file 130 to the user terminal 200.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the server transmits a accessible representation of the document as taught by Toshio-229 in ordered to allow efficient rendering and controlled delivery of document content to a viewer without transmitting the entire original document.
The motivation is to ensure improved efficiency and security in document viewing by transmitting page-page image representation of a document in response to viewer requests.
Regarding Claim 17:
A method of electronic document transformation and sharing allowing a document originator control over an electronic document shared by the document originator with at least one recipient, said method comprising: the originator submitting an electronic document with a transaction ID and controls instructions into a database on a server(Dogu, Figs. 1, 9, 11, [0067], the monitoring unit 560 is monitoring an electronic file uploaded to a predetermined shared folder in the file sharing server 130), [0043] ,The storage unit 490 stores therein management information that associates a file ID, a user ID and access right information indicating a right to access a file by a user identified by the user ID. The authorization information processing unit 400 acquires, from the storage unit 490, access right information that is associated with a file ID and a user ID.) ;
the server generating an encrypted transformation document with the transaction ID and the controls instructions embedded(Dogu, Fig. 9, [0068], a file encryption key (S920) and encrypts the electronic file 30 (S930), and the encrypted file generating unit 510 embeds the file ID (S940).);
transmitting the encrypted transformation document to the recipient(Dogu, [0029], The encrypted file 40 is passed over to the user device 20 and to the user 190 via an e-mail, a storage medium, etc., and is accessed through the user device 20);
upon attempting to open the encrypted transformation document, the encrypted transformation document initiating a request for authorization (Dogu, [0084], [0085], When the user 190 instructs to open a shared file on browsing software (S1100), the transceiving unit 380 of the user device 20 transmits, to the file sharing server 130, an instruction to display the encrypted file 40 (S1110)… At the file sharing server 130, an access right of the user 190 about the encrypted file 40 is judged according to an access right set for the shared folder (S1120). When the user 190 has an access right, the file sharing server 130 transmits data of the encrypted file 40 to the cooperating server 120 (S1130) );
the server determining whether the recipient is an authorized reader, and if not, decline the authorization(Dogu, [0085], the user 190 has an access right, the file sharing server 130 transmits data of the encrypted file 40 to the cooperating server 120 (S1130). When the transceiving unit 582 has received the data of the encrypted file 40, the preprocessing unit 540 reads out a file ID from the data of the received encrypted file 40 (S1140). Subsequently, the transceiving unit 580 transmits the file ID read out to the management server 110 (S1150).),
and if yes, decrypting the encrypted transformation document(Dogu, Fig. 11, Encrypted File Decryption Step S1160))
and sending the decrypted transformation document to an electronic transformation document viewer to be viewed by the recipient(Dogu, Fig. 11, Data For Display Steps S1180, S1190, [0087], the file decrypting unit 550 decrypts the encrypted file 40 received at S1130 by using the file decryption key received by the transceiving unit 580 (S1160). The data converting unit 570 converts the data of the electronic file 30 obtained at S1160 into data for display (S1170). Examples of the format of data for display include PDF, HTML, image data, etc. At S1180, the transceiving unit 582 transmits the data for display to the file sharing server 130. At S1190, the data for display is transmitted from the file sharing server 130 to the user device 20. ).
authorizing the upload of the encrypted transformation document(Toshio-229, ([0093]-[0094], When the identification-determination part 10 determines that the user is authorized to read the information in the wrapped file 105, the encrypted first file 110 within the wrapped file 105 is retrieved from the wrapped file 105. Next, the encrypted first file 110 is transmitted (uploaded) from the user terminal 200, and then, the device receive part 60 of the information processing device 100 receives the first file 110 from the user terminal 200.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the server transmits a accessible representation of the document as taught by Toshio-229 in ordered to allow efficient rendering and controlled delivery of document content to a viewer without transmitting the entire original document.
The motivation is to ensure improved efficiency and security in document viewing by transmitting page-page image representation of a document in response to viewer requests.
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 17, Dogu in view of Toshio-229 disclose further comprising transmitting back, through the encrypted transformation document, a view accessible representation of the original electronic document at the document viewer, that view accessible representation being an image of one page; and transmitting back each page independently when the viewer indicates a request to view a different page(Toshio-229, [0107], In the case of adopting an aspect in which the decryption part 30 decrypts the information of the encrypted second file 120 received from the user terminal 200 by the size to be read, decryption will be performed for only a very limited range necessary for reading, making it possible to achieve high security.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the server transmits a accessible representation of the document as taught by Toshio-229 in ordered to enhance efficient viewing of document content while limiting transmission of the complete document file at once.
The motivation is to ensure efficient document rendering and controlled delivery of document content to a viewer in response to user page requests.
Regarding Claim 19:
An electronic document transformation system allowing a document originator control over a shared electronic document, said system comprising: an input device configured to receive an original electronic document (Dogu, [0028], The user device 10 encrypts the electronic file 30 to generate an encrypted file 40 which is an encrypted electronic file. Based on an instruction from the user 180, )
and document-specific controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document(Dogu, [0028], the user device 10 selects an access right and an access-permitted user who can access data of the electronic file 30. ),
and to assign a transaction ID pertaining to said original electronic document(Dogu, [0028], and the access right of the access-permitted user is transmitted from the user device 10 to the management server 110 to be managed by the management server 110)
a database, storing transaction IDs with correlating controls instructions pertaining to said original electronic document(Dogu, [0028], to the management server 110 to be managed by the management server 110, [0041], the management server 110. The management server 110 has an authorization information processing unit 400, a transceiving unit 480 and a storage unit 490., [0043], The storage unit 490 stores therein management information that associates a file ID, a user ID and access right information indicating a right to access a file by a user identified by the user ID. ));
a document transformation module that is in data transmission connection with said input device that receives the original electronic document and database that stores the transaction ID's with correlating controls instructions for said original electronic document, the document transformation module transforming (Dogu, [0034]-[0035], The user device 10 has a file encrypting unit 200, an encrypted file generating unit 210, a supplementary information generating unit 230, a monitoring unit 260, a storage unit 290 and a transceiving unit 280… The transceiving unit 280 performs communication via the communication network 70. The transceiving unit 280 communicates with the management server 110, the file sharing server 130, etc… [0032], a shared file ID of the encrypted file uploaded to the file sharing server 130 and transmits the shared file ID to the management server 110, as in the case of encrypting the electronic file 30 in the user device 10. Thereby, when the user device 20 downloads the encrypted file 40 from the file sharing server 130, and opens it, it is allowed to access the data of the electronic file 30 according to an access right set for the shared folder in the file sharing server 130.);
said original electronic document to an encrypted transformation document encompassing said transaction ID and controls information(Dogu, [0104], the second file 120 is encrypted and then the encrypted second file 120 is transmitted to the user terminal 200, it is advantageous in a point where a certain control can be applied to the second file 120 returned to the user terminal 200. )
a data transmission subsystem transmitting the encrypted transformation document to the originator or to a designated system by the originator(Dogu, [0029], The encrypted file 40 is passed over to the user device 20 and to the user 190 via an e-mail, a storage medium, etc., and is accessed through the user device 20. When accessing the encrypted file 40, the user device 20 transmits information indicating the user 190 to the management server 110…),
or making the encrypted transformation document retrievable by the at least one recipient per API from a second data storage(Dogu, [0051], the encrypted file 40 is accessed in the user device 20. At S710, if it is instructed by the user 190 to open the encrypted file 40, the preprocessing unit 340 reads out a file ID from the encrypted file 40 (S720). [0055], the data of the encrypted file 40 and the electronic file 30 at the user device 20 may be implemented by using at least one of code injection, such as DLL injection, and API hook);
an electronic transformation document viewer that has at least the capabilities of a standard web browser for viewing said encrypted transformation document(Dogu, [0019], where the encrypted file 40 shared in the file sharing server 130 is displayed through browsing software such as a WEB browser.),
said document viewer being in data transmission connection with said database and making said encrypted transformation document visible (Dogu, [0084]-[0087], the transceiving unit 380 of the user device 20 transmits, to the file sharing server 130, an instruction to display the encrypted file 40 (S1110). A file stored in the file sharing server 130 can be accessed through an external service. The user 190 utilizes an external service provided by the cooperating server 120 to instruct the file sharing server 130 to open the encrypted file 40. At the file sharing server 130, an access right of the user 190 about the encrypted file 40 is judged according to an access right set for the shared folder (S1120)…)
after transaction ID verification between the encrypted transformation document and the transaction ID stored in said database(Dogu, [0085], an access right of the user 190 about the encrypted file 40 is judged according to an access right set for the shared folder (S1120), [0094], the user ID received at S1411 is authorized for decryption based on the received access right information (S1414). For example, the access right information includes information indicating whether or not it is the owner of a file, and when the access right information received at S1413 includes information indicating that it is the owner of the file with the shared file ID received at S1411, it may be judged that the user is authorized for decryption))
if said document- specific controls instructions corelating said transaction ID are met(Dogu, [0082], The device transmit part 70 may transmit the encrypted second file 120 a to the user terminal 200. At this time, the device transmit part 70 may transmit the encrypted second file 120 a to the browser of the user terminal 200. ) ,
wherein said encrypted transformation document is made visible web server transmits back the encrypted transformation document at the document viewer a view accessible representation of the original electronic document, that view accessible representation being an image of one page, wherein each page transmitted independently when the viewer indicates a request to view a different page(Toshio-229, (Toshio-229,[0117], In a case where the size to be read is information for one page, the user terminal 200 may transmit the partial information of the encrypted third file 130 to the information processing device 100 every time the page is changed, and the decryption part 30 may decrypt the partial information of the encrypted third file 130 received from the terminal 200, and then, the device transmit part 70 may transmit the partial information 130b of the decrypted third file 130 to the user terminal 200., [0074], “The information processing device 100 is, for example, a server., [0103], the file can be changed to a predetermined file format of the second file 120 regardless of the file format of the first file 110. For example, while the file cannot be displayed by a browser in a Word or Excel file format, the file can be displayed by the browser by converting the file as the second file 120 in the PDF or image file format.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the server transmits a accessible representation of the document as taught by Toshio-229 in ordered to enhance efficient viewing of document content while limiting transmission of the complete document file at once.
The motivation is to ensure efficient document rendering and controlled delivery of document content to a viewer in response to user page requests.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 20180307855 A1) in view of LI, (US Publication No. 2014/0195825 A1).
Regarding Claim 13:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein the encrypted document transformation module is configured to discard the original document after the encrypted transformation document was created
Li discloses:
wherein the encrypted document transformation module is configured to discard the original document after the encrypted transformation document was created(Li, [0078], After the file A is encrypted, an original file A may be deleted to prevent the unencrypted original file A from being easily obtained by others and thus affecting the security. A process of deleting the original file A may be performed by the encryption/decryption software or may be manually performed by the user).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the original electronic document discarded after the encrypted transformation as taught by Li in ordered to prevent retention of unprotected versions of the document within the system after encryption has been completed.
The motivation is to ensure improved document security by elimination unencrypted copies of the original document once the encrypted document has been generated.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 20180307855 A1) in view of LI (US Publication No. 2014/0195825 A1) further in view of Toshio-229.(US Publication No. 2021/0377229 A1)
Regarding Claim 14:
Dogu in view of Li discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 13…
Dogu in view of Li do not disclose:
wherein the system is further configured to discard the encrypted transformation document after it was transmitted to the at least one recipient
Toshio-229 disclsoes:
wherein the system is further configured to discard the encrypted transformation document after it was transmitted to the at least one recipient(Toshio-229, Fig. 5, [0083], an erasing part 55 that erases the encrypted second file 120 a after the device transmit part 70 has transmitted the encrypted second file 120 a to the user terminal 200. The erasing part 55 may erase not only the encrypted second file 120 a but also the files related to the encrypted second file 120 a, such as the first file 110,).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu in view of Li’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu in view of Li’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the original electronic document discarded after the encrypted transformation as taught by Toshio-229 in order to prevent unnecessary retention of transmitted encrypted documents within the system.
The motivation is to ensure improve data security and storage efficiency by eliminating stored encrypted documents after successful transmission to the intended recipient.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 20180307855 A1) in view of Kumbhashi (US 2020/0242262 A1) and further in view of Toshio-229(US Publication No. US 20210377229 A1.
Regarding Claim 15:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein the system input device is programmed to receive a first transmission when the encrypted transformation document initiates the open process in viewer
wherein the first transmission comprising a data package that includes preliminary metadata for the system input device to evaluate to determine the status of the encrypted transformation document before accepting a second transmission
the input device is configured to check the first database for that encrypted transformation document status associated with that transaction ID
and if not expired, is configured to return a signal to the encrypted transformation document or file viewer
Kumbhashi discloses:
wherein the system input device is programmed to receive a first transmission when the encrypted transformation document initiates the open process in viewer(Kumbhashi, [0029], Block 330 may include checking metadata for the specific user entity by security sub-system. For example, referring to FIG. 2A, the security sub-system 250 may identify the user entity that owns the file 245, [0027], FIG. 2A, the file management sub-system 240 may detect the request 205 for access to the file 245.),
wherein the first transmission comprising a data package that includes preliminary metadata for the system input device to evaluate to determine the status of the encrypted transformation document before accepting a second transmission(Kumbhashi, [0030], FIG. 2B, the security sub-system 250 may determine whether the file 245 is expired based on the user metadata 260 (e.g., via the expiration information 235).);
and the first transmission includes the initial metadata about the encrypted transformation document including at least the transaction ID(Kumbhashi, [0020], In still another example, the user metadata 260 may specify an expiration rule or policy that is applicable to the user or file. Further, in some implementations, the user metadata 260 may specify a current status for a particular file (e.g., expired or not expired)),
the input device is configured to check the first database for that encrypted transformation document status associated with that transaction ID(Kumbhashi, [0030], whether the file 245 is expired based on the user metadata 260 (e.g., via the expiration information 235, [0021], the security sub-system 250 receives or otherwise accesses expiration information 235 associated with the user metadata 260. For example, the expiration information 235 may be the expiration date, age, or period of the requested file 245 as specified in the user metadata 260 of the user entity that owns the requested file 245. In another example, the expiration information 235 may be a yes/no flag indicating whether the requested file 245 has expired.) ,
and if not expired, is configured to return a signal to the encrypted transformation document or file viewer (Kumbhashi, [0032], if it is determined at diamond 340 that the particular file is not expired, then at block 380, the request to access the file is approved. Block 370 may include saving audit data related to the approved request.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the original electronic document discarded after the encrypted transformation as taught by Kumbhashi in order to allow the system to determine whether the encrypted document is valid and authorized for access.
The motivation is to ensure efficient and secure access control by verifying document status and authorization using metadata before allowing transmission of the encrypted document content.
Dogu in view of Kumbhashi do not disclose:
the second transmission is an encrypted content package that contains the complete set of original file data
to transmit the rest of the encrypted content package that is the content of the encrypted transformation document and remaining metadata.
Toshio-229 discloses:
the second transmission is an encrypted content package that contains the complete set of original file data (Toshio-229, [0114], “In an aspect of the first embodiment and the second embodiment, the encrypted first file 110 is transmitted from the user terminal 200 to the information processing device 100.”) to a server ([0074], “The information processing device 100 is, for example, a server.”).;
to transmit the rest of the encrypted content package that is the content of the encrypted transformation document and remaining metadata (Toshio-229,[0114], In an aspect of the first embodiment and the second embodiment, the encrypted first file 110 is transmitted from the user terminal 200 to the information processing device 100.), ([0074], “The information processing device 100 is, for example, a server.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu in view of Kumbhashi’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu in view of Kumbhashi’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the original electronic document discarded after the encrypted transformation as taught by Toshio-229 in order to allow the system to determine whether the encrypted document is valid and authorized for access.
The motivation is to ensure that encrypted document access is verified using stored document status information before permitting transmission of the remaining encrypted document content, thereby improving access control and prevention access to expired documents.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 20180307855 A1) in view of Ortner (US Publication No. 2017/0302653 A1)
Regarding Claim 16:
Dogu discloses:
The electronic document transformation and sharing system of claim 1…
Dogu does not disclose:
wherein the data transmission subsystem includes a server separate from the recipient wherein the server is programmed to identify whether an email sent by the originator includes at least one electronic document as an attachment, and if so, separates the at least one attached electronic document from the email, transforms the at least one attached electronic document into the encrypted transformation document by submitting it with a create process via a second API to the server creating the encrypted transformation document, wherein the second API is configured to return and attach the encrypted transformation document to the email, replacing the email attachment in form of the original electronic document by the encrypted transformation then transmitted to the recipient as the new replacement email attachment.
Ortner discloses:
wherein the data transmission subsystem includes a server separate from the recipient wherein the server is programmed to identify whether an email sent by the originator includes at least one electronic document as an attachment(Ortner, ([0239], “the method 1600 may include receiving a communication from a sender for communication to a recipient, the communication including a file coupled to the communication as an attachment. This may, for example include receiving the communication … or at an electronic mail server used by the sender for outbound electronic mail.”),
and if so, separates the at least one attached electronic document from the email(Ortner, [0243], the method 1600 may include removing the attachment from the communication.),
transforms the at least one attached electronic document into the encrypted transformation document by submitting it with a create process via a second API to the server creating the encrypted transformation document(Orther, ([0244], “As shown in step 1604, the method 1500 may include encrypting the file(s) in the attachment, to provide an encrypted instance of the file(s).”, [0245], “As shown in step 1606, the method 1600 may include wrapping the attachment into a portable encrypted container. As described above, this container may an object that contains an encrypted instance of the file,”),
wherein the second API is configured to return and attach the encrypted transformation document to the email(Ortner, [0247], such that the encrypted container is attached to the email again. [0250], “The foregoing method may be implemented in any of a number of network devices such… an electronic mail server… and program code providing a user interface that supports… attaching the portable encrypted container to the communication, and transmitting the communication and the portable encrypted container to the recipient through the second interface.”,),
replacing the email attachment in form of the original electronic document by the encrypted transformation then transmitted to the recipient as the new replacement email attachment(Ortner, [0248], the method 1600 may include transmitting the communication and the portable encrypted container to the recipient. This may include sending an electronic mail, a text message, a file transfer, or any of the other communications contemplated herein.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the original electronic document discarded after the encrypted transformation as taught by Ortner in order to allow automatic encryption and secure handling of email attachments.
The motivation is to ensure improved security and control over electronic documents transmitted via email by automatically transforming attached documents into encrypted documents.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogu(US Publication No. 20180307855 A1) in view of Toshio(US Publciation. 2021/0377229 A1), further in view of Neystadt (US Publication No. 2010/0228989 A1)
Regarding Claim 20:
An electronic document transformation and sharing system allowing a document originator control over an electronic document shared by the document originator with at least one recipient, said system comprising:an input device configured to receive an original electronic document;a web server;a database on said web server, storing an identifier for each document received;;at the recipient:an electronic transformation document viewer that has at least the capabilities of a standard web browser for viewing images in standard formats;an input device configured to receive requests to view identified documents;
Dogu does not disclose:
a system which responds to requests to view a document by returning singularly an image of each page of the original document with each request to view a page of the document
Toshio-229 discloses:
a system which responds to requests to view a document by returning singularly an image of each page of the original document with each request to view a page of the document(Toshio-229, [0117], In a case where the size to be read is information for one page, the user terminal 200 may transmit the partial information of the encrypted third file 130 to the information processing device 100 every time the page is changed, and the decryption part 30 may decrypt the partial information of the encrypted third file 130 received from the terminal 200, and then, the device transmit part 70 may transmit the partial information 130b of the decrypted third file 130 to the user terminal 200.,.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu’s access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu’s user device communication with the management server to ensure that the server transmits a accessible representation of the document as taught by Toshio-229 in ordered to enhance efficient viewing of document content while limiting transmission of the complete document file at once.
The motivation is to ensure efficient document rendering and controlled delivery of document content to a viewer in response to user page requests.
Dogu in view of Toshio-229 do not disclose:
a data transmission subsystem transmitting by email an information link identifying the document to at least one recipient
Neystadt discloses:
a data transmission subsystem transmitting by email an information link identifying the document to at least one recipient(Neystadt, [0066], “As information elements are generally much smaller than shared resources, this reduces the amount of data that is transferred between computing devices to achieve access control”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Dogu in view of Toshio-229 access management system, file access system, encrypting apparatus and program by enhancing Dogu in view of Toshio-229 user device communication with the management server to ensure that the server transmits a accessible representation of the document as taught by Neystadt in order to allow recipients to access the document through a server-controlled link that identifies the document stored in the system.
The motivation is to ensure improved control and efficient document distribution by transmitting a link identifying the document instead of transmitting the document itself via email.
Conclusion
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433