DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 11, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on October 11, 2024 are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: Claim limitation “an attachment mechanism configured to attach the respiratory therapy sound capturing device to a respiratory therapy device;” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with functional language “to attach” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “mechanism”.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claim 1: “an attachment mechanism”, refers to the specification [00053]: “include, but are not limited to, glue, adhesive, magnets, snaps, straps, VELCROTM, and/or clasp.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rice et al. (US 2024/0042149 A1) (“Rice”).
Regarding claim 1, Rice discloses A respiratory therapy sound capturing device comprising (Abstract and entire document):
an attachment mechanism configured to attach the respiratory therapy sound capturing device to a respiratory therapy device (FIG. 1 and [0051] sensor housing, respiratory therapy device 122 housing and memory device housing, individual housings, combined housings, etc. attachment is implied. The sound device is attached to the therapy device to attach the sensors, see also [0103] – [0105] an attachment mechanism attaches the sensors to the respiratory device. See also [0059]);
a microphone configured to detect sound made when a user is using the respiratory therapy device and communicate the detected sound to a transceiver (FIG. 1 microphone 140 and [0053] transceiver); and
the transceiver, the transceiver being communicatively coupled to the microphone and transmit sound detected by the microphone to an external computing device (FIG. 1 microphone 140 and [0053] transceiver).
Regarding claim 2, Rice discloses The respiratory therapy sound capturing device of claim 1, further comprising: an accelerometer configured to detect at least one of motion of the respiratory therapy sound capturing device and an orientation of the respiratory therapy sound capturing device (FIG. 1, [0065] motion sensor 138).
Regarding claim 3, Rice discloses The respiratory therapy sound capturing device of claim 1, wherein the respiratory therapy device is at least one of an inhaler, a positive expiratory pressure (PEP) device, oscillating positive expiratory pressure (oPEP) device, incentive spirometer, respiratory muscle trainer (RMT), spirometer, nebulizer, and a peak flow meter ([0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Rice discloses The respiratory therapy sound capturing device of any of claim 1, wherein the respiratory therapy device includes a mouthpiece and a body and the respiratory therapy sound capturing device is configured to be placed between the mouthpiece and the body of the respiratory therapy device to capture sound the user makes when inhaling out of the mouthpiece or exhaling into the mouthpiece (FIG. 2 and associated paragraphs, face mask, user interface 124, and see [0059], sensors can be attached anywhere in the system).
Regarding claim 6, Rice discloses The respiratory therapy sound capturing device of claim 5, wherein the respiratory therapy sound capturing device further comprises: a lumen configured to allow air exhaled into mouthpiece to be communicated to the body of the respiratory therapy device and is also configured to allow air inhaled through the body of the respiratory therapy device to be communicated to the mouthpiece (FIG. 2 and associated paragraphs, face mask, user interface 124).
Regarding claim 7, Rice discloses The respiratory therapy sound capturing device of claim 1,wherein the sound detected by the microphone is sound corresponding to at least one of air moving into the respiratory therapy device, air moving out of the respiratory therapy device, a vibration of the respiratory therapy device, and an oscillation of a component air of the respiratory therapy device (FIG. 2 and associated paragraphs, face mask, user interface 124, and see [0059], sensors can be attached anywhere in the system, to include air coming in and out; see also [0067], [0158], [0161]).
Regarding claim 8, Rice discloses A system comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a respiratory therapy device (FIG. 1 and [0051], respiratory therapy device 122, and [0064]); and
a respiratory therapy sound capturing device coupled to the respiratory therapy device, the respiratory therapy sound capturing device comprising (FIG. 1 and [0051] sensor housing, respiratory therapy device 122 housing and memory device housing, individual housings, combined housings, etc. attachment is implied. The sound device is attached to the therapy device to attach the sensors, see also [0103] – [0105] an attachment mechanism attaches the sensors to the respiratory device. See also [0059]):
a microphone configured to detect sound made when a user when the user is using the respiratory therapy device and communicate the detected sound to a transceiver (FIG. 1 microphone 140 and [0053] transceiver); and
the transceiver, the transceiver being communicatively coupled to the microphone and transmit sound detected by the microphone to an external computing device (FIG. 1 microphone 140 and [0053] transceiver).
Regarding claim 9, Rice discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the respiratory therapy sound capturing device further comprises: an accelerometer configured to detect at least one of motion of the respiratory therapy sound capturing device and an orientation of the respiratory therapy sound capturing device (FIG. 1, [0065] motion sensor 138).
Regarding claim 10, Rice discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the respiratory therapy device is at least one of an inhaler, a positive expiratory pressure (PEP) device, oscillating positive expiratory pressure (oPEP) device, a peak flow meter, Incentive spirometer, and a respiratory muscle trainer device ([0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Rice discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the respiratory therapy device includes a mouthpiece and a body and the respiratory therapy sound capturing device is configured to be placed between the mouthpiece and the body of the respiratory therapy device to capture sound the user makes when inhaling out of the mouthpiece or exhaling into the mouthpiece (FIG. 2 and associated paragraphs, face mask, user interface 124, and see [0059], sensors can be attached anywhere in the system).
Regarding claim 12, Rice discloses The system of claim 11, wherein the respiratory therapy sound capturing device further comprises: a lumen configured to allow air exhaled into mouthpiece to be communicated to the body of the respiratory therapy device and is also configured to allow air inhaled through the body of the respiratory therapy device to be communicated to the mouthpiece (FIG. 2 and associated paragraphs, face mask, user interface 124).
Regarding claim 13, Rice discloses The system of claim 8, wherein the sound detected by the microphone is sound corresponding to at least one of air moving into the respiratory therapy device, air moving out of the respiratory therapy device, a vibration of the respiratory therapy device, and an oscillation of a component of the respiratory therapy device (FIG. 2 and associated paragraphs, face mask, user interface 124, and see [0059], sensors can be attached anywhere in the system, to include air coming in and out; see also [0067], [0158], [0161]).
Regarding claim 14, Rice discloses A method comprising (Abstract and entire document):
receiving, by a processor, a parameter for using a respiratory therapy device (FIG. 1 and [0051], respiratory therapy device 122, and [0064], [0050] processor and [0067] parameters);
receiving, by the processor, sound detected by a microphone when a user when the user is using the respiratory therapy device and communicate the detected sound to a transceiver (FIG. 1 microphone 140 and [0053] transceiver);
analyzing, by the processor, the received sound to determine if the received sound corresponds to use of the respiratory therapy device in a manner that is compliant with the received parameter (FIG. 1 and [0051], respiratory therapy device 122, and [0064], [0050] processor and [0067] parameters and monitoring and analyzing to generate sleep score, determine if user is sleeping in a manner according to a parameter); and
providing a result of the analysis to a display device ([0052], [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Rice discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the analysis includes determining at least one of a number of inhales in a time period, a number of exhales in a time period, a duration of inhales in a time period, and a duration of exhales in a time period ([0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Rice discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the analysis includes determining at least one of a peak frequency and a peak amplitude detected for one or more exhalations detected during a time period ([0067]).
Regarding claim 17, Rice discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the analysis includes determining at least one of an average frequency, a peak frequency, an average amplitude, a peak amplitude, and a duration detected for one or more inhalations detected during a time period ([0067], [0158], [0161]).
Regarding claim 18, Rice discloses The method of claim 14, further comprising: determining, by the processor, a recommendation regarding how to use the respiratory therapy device responsively to the analysis; and providing, by the processor, the recommendation to the user ([0190]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rice in view of Miller et al. (US 2015/0101600 A1) (“Miller”).
Regarding claim 4, Rice discloses The respiratory therapy sound capturing device of claim 1, Rice fails to disclose wherein the attachment mechanism is an adhesive.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches wherein the attachment mechanism is an adhesive (FIG. 2A-2C and FIG. 3 and associated paragraphs see at least [0026] and [0029] discussing attaching sensor module to respiratory device using adhesive as the interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Rice to include wherein the attachment mechanism is an adhesive as taught by Miller to be removable for ease of cleaning (abstract, [0018]).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791