DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In communications filed on 7/31/2026, claims 1-12, 22, 24, 26, and 28-32 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 5, and 8 are independent.
Amended claim(s): 1-10.
Applicants’ arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 7/31/2026, with respect to claim(s) rejected under prior art have been considered but are not persuasive. Zeus explicitly discloses it’s the UDM that initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR information (Zeus: ¶200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 22, 24, 26, and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200344606 A1 (hereinafter ‘Zaus’) in view of US 20250184729 A1 (hereinafter ‘Baskaran’).
As regards claim 1, Zaus (US 20200344606 A1) discloses: An authentication method, (Zaus: Figs. 13-14), comprising: receiving authentication procedure trigger information from an authentication server function (AUSF) network element, wherein the authentication procedure trigger information comprises an identifier of a user equipment (UE) corresponding to the AUSF network element (Zaus: Fig. 13, ¶201-¶203, i.e., the SUPI information (unique UE id) and msg for authentication), and the authentication procedure trigger information indicates a unified data management (UDM) network element to trigger an authentication procedure for the UE; and (Zaus: Fig. 13, msg 1312c from AUSF 1306 to UDM 1306)
sending an authentication notification message to an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element, wherein the authentication notification message comprises the identifier of the UE, and (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, msg 1418 to AMF, ¶215-¶216) the authentication notification message notifies the AMF network element to perform the authentication procedure for the UE. (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, step 1420, ¶216, i.e., AMF performs the authentication)
Zaus in combination with an analogous art, Baskaran (US 20250184729 A1) further teaches: wherein a cause for which the UDM network element sends the authentication notification message to trigger the authentication procedure for the UE comprises at least one of a steering of roaming (SoR) counter (Zaus: ¶200, i.e., UDM initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR information) reaching a first upper limit or a UE parameter update (UPU) counter reaching a second upper limit. (Baskaran: Fig. 3, ¶46-¶59, i.e., UDM initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR or UPI counter information)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zaus to include UDM initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR or UPI counter information as taught by Baskaran with the motivation to trigger authentication/re-authentication procedure based on SOR/UPI counters (Baskaran: ¶44)
Claim 5 and 22-25 recite substantially the same features recited in claim 1 above and are rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 2, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication notification message further comprises access type information, and the access type information indicates an access type applicable for the authentication procedure initiated, the access types comprise 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access and/or non-3GPP access. (Zaus: Fig. 1, ¶32)
As regards claim 3, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication procedure trigger information indication and the authentication notification message further comprise an authentication cause for which the AUSF network element requests to trigger the network authentication procedure, and the authentication cause comprises at least one of: a counter reaching an upper limit; and a counter reaching an upper limit. (Zaus: ¶4-¶5, ¶8-¶9, i.e., the SOR counter for triggering authentication/re-authentication of the UE. See also, Baskaran: Fig. 3, ¶44-¶59)
Claim 6 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 3 above and is rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 4, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving an authentication notification acknowledgement message from the AMF network element, wherein the authentication notification acknowledgement message indicates that the AMF network element accepts to request the UE to perform the authentication procedure (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, ¶191, msg 1418 to AMF, ¶215-¶216)
As regards claim 7, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising: after confirming that the network authentication procedure is completed, generating a new AUSF network element key corresponding to the UE, and resetting values of the steering of roaming counter and the UE parameter update counter. (Zaus: ¶205)
As regards claim 8, Zaus (US 20200344606 A1) discloses: An authentication method, (Zaus: Figs. 13-14), comprising: receiving an authentication notification message from a unified data management (UDM) network element, wherein the authentication notification message comprises an identity of a user equipment (UE), and the authentication notification message notifies the a mobility management function (AMF) network element to perform an authentication procedure for the UE; (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, msg 1418 to AMF, ¶215-¶216)
sending an authentication request to the UE via an Non-Access Stratum (NAS) connection between the AMF network element and the UE, wherein the authentication request requests the UE to perform the authentication procedure; and (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, ¶8-¶13, ¶69, i.e., the authentication of UE by AMF using NAS signaling)
receiving an authentication response from the UE, wherein the authentication response is configured to provide feedback on an authentication request, the authentication response comprises information required to perform the authentication procedure, (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, ¶8-¶13, ¶69, i.e., the authentication of UE by AMF using NAS signaling) the authentication request is sent by the AMF network element to the UE and is configured to request the UE to perform the authentication procedure; (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, ¶8-¶13, ¶69, i.e., the authentication of UE by AMF using NAS signaling)
Zaus in combination with an analogous art, Baskaran (US 20250184729 A1) further teaches: wherein a cause for which the UDM network element triggers the authentication procedure for the UE comprises at least one of a steering of roaming (SoR) counter (Zaus: ¶200, i.e., UDM initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR information) reaching a first upper limit or a UE parameter update (UPU) counter reaching a second upper limit. (Baskaran: Fig. 3, ¶46-¶59, i.e., UDM initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR or UPI counter information)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zaus to include UDM initiates authentication/re-authentication based on SOR or UPI counter information as taught by Baskaran with the motivation to trigger authentication/re-authentication procedure based on SOR/UPI counters (Baskaran: ¶44)
Claim 26 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 8 above and is rejected based on the rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 9, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising: sending a paging message to the UE to create a non-access stratum (NAS) connection between the AMF network element and the UE: and sending the authentication request to the UE via the NAS connection. (Zaus: ¶159)
As regards claim 10, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 8, comprising: sending the authentication notification acknowledgement message to the UDM network element, wherein the authentication notification acknowledgement message indicates that the AMF network element accepts to request the UE to perform the network authentication procedure. (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, step 1420, ¶189, ¶216)
As regards claim 11, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising: performing security protection on the authentication request based on an NAS security context locally stored. (Zaus: ¶68)
As regards claim 12, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 11, further comprising: updating the NAS security context locally stored after the network authentication procedure is completed. (Zaus: ¶31, ¶198-¶199)
As regards claim 28, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the authentication notification message further comprises a confirmation request indication for requesting the authentication notification acknowledgement message from the AMF network element. (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, ¶191, msg 1418 to AMF, ¶215-¶216)
As regards claim 29, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the authentication notification message further comprises a confirmation request indication for requesting the authentication notification acknowledgement message from the AMF network element. (Zaus: Figs. 13-14, ¶191, msg 1418 to AMF, ¶215-¶216)
As regards claim 30, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication procedure trigger information comprises at least one of a SoR protection response or a UPU protection response, the SoR protection response indicates the SoR counter reaching the first upper limit or the UPU protection response indicates the UPU counter reaching the second upper limit. (Zaus: ¶200. See also, Baskaran: Fig. 3, ¶44-¶59)
As regards claim 31, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the authentication procedure trigger information comprises at least one of a SoR protection response or a UPU protection response, the SoR protection response indicates the SoR counter reaching the first upper limit or the UPU protection response indicates the UPU counter reaching the second upper limit. (Zaus: ¶200. See also, Baskaran: Fig. 3, ¶44-¶59)
As regards claim 32, Zaus et al combination teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the SoR counter reaching the first upper limit and the UPU counter reaching the second upper limit indicated respectively by a SoR protection response and a UPU protection response comprised in authentication procedure trigger information received by the UDM network element from an authentication server function (AUSF) network element. (Zaus: ¶200. See also, Baskaran: Fig. 3, ¶44-¶59)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432