DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/11/24 are informal, since the letters, numbers and lead lines appear to be hand drawn and are not uniform in nature in the Figure.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On Page 17, line 1, “EDP” is referenced as 40 and in lines 2 and 3, “control” is also referenced as 40.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Apparently “EPC” should be “EDP”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the linear drive" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 – 15 and 17 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (2374553).
Regarding claim 11, the Miller reference discloses a method for filling a container (10) of standardized geometry with clay, comprising the steps of:
a) extruding the clay by an extruder (21);
b) pumping the clay plasticized by the extruder and an outlet of the extruder by a pump and/or by pressure built up in the clay by the extruder (page 5, left col., lines 46 – 49) through a conduit (43) into an outlet opening (243) at an underside of a piston element (244, 251) adapted to fit through an opening of the container (10) and into an interior of the container, which is essentially cylindrical with a cross-section of the interior essentially constant along a cylinder axis and the opening (e.g., see Figures 17 and 37);
c) guiding the piston element in a direction of the cylinder axis by a device (258) with a drive (i.e. pneumatic (air)) designed to exert pressure against the clay introduced under the piston element into the container. See page 7, right column, lines 53 – 74; and page 9, left column, lines 21 – 41.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the piston element is adapted to the geometry of the container so that in step c) an annular gap is formed between the piston element and a cylindrical inner sleeve surface of the container. See page 3, right column, lines 2 – 15.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the annular gap between the piston element and the cylindrical inner sleeve surface of the container is sealed by a seal (51b), or is used for ventilation without a seal. See Figure 17 and page 3, right column, lines 2 – 15.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the annular gap between the piston element and the cylindrical inner sleeve surface of the container is sealed by a seal and negative pressure is produced in the container and/or under the piston element by a vacuum pump for venting (inherent). See page 3, left column, lines 60 – 67; and page 7, right column, lines 20 – 23.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the conduit (43) has a pipe section (180) in which a static and/or a dynamic mixer (182, 183; page 6, right column, lines 19 – 35) is arranged.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the pump and/or a flange between the extruder and the pump and/or the conduit and/or the pipe section at least in sections and/or the piston plate and/or the bottom and/or the lateral surface of the container is temperature regulated at least in regions by a heating device (i.e., steam). See page 9, right column, lines 30 – 34.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the pump is a screw-spindle pump (183).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the linear drive is a pneumatic cylinder (258). See page 9, left column, lines 21 – 41
Regarding claim 20, container (mold 10) is a cylindrical container filled with clay according to claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller.
Regarding claim 16, the Miller reference further discloses wherein pressure in the clay is measured at the extruder outlet and at the pump inlet and a pressure difference is calculated by an EPC and the pressure in the extruder is regulated by a control with the pressure difference as a controlled variable and pump speed as a manipulated variable. See page 8, lines 6 – 38. Miller doesn’t disclose the controller being a computer system. The Examiner takes Official Notice that modern systems are well known to be controlled by computer systems (i.e., EDPs) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to employ a computer system in place of the electrical system on the Miller device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Oyer reference (2539319) discloses another clay dispensing device having an extruder (21), container (4) and pistons (5, 24).
The Wollett reference (2959900) discloses another clay dispensing device (Fig. 1) having an extruder (22), piston (36) and container (11).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753