DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that 18/856504 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 10/11/24
Oath/Declaration
2. The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
3. The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objection
4. Claims 1-6,10-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 6 states ….detecting a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format for a cell having a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) active therein based on the PDCCH monitoring …. It is unclear how a DCI format for a cell having a first BWP is detected therein based on the PDCCH monitor. It is unclear how the PDCCH monitoring is related to the detection.
The specification does not seem to provide further clarification. see paragraphs [0010]-[0014]
Claim 10 states… transmitting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format for a cell having a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) active therein… It is unclear if PDCCH is being transmitted or if it is being used to transmit.
The specification discloses, A PDCCH is transmitted through a control resource set (CORESET). One or more CORESETs may be configured for the UE. The CORESET consists of a set of PRBs with a duration of 1 to 3 OFDM symbols. The PRBs and a CORESET duration that constitute the CORESET may be provided to the UE through higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling. A set of PDCCH candidates in the configured CORESET(s) is monitored according to corresponding search space sets. In the present disclosure, monitoring implies decoding (called blind decoding) each PDCCH candidate according to monitored DCI formats.(see paragraph [0118])
It would seem to further clarify a PDCCH is transmitted through a CORESET.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-6, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (EP3907919A2),
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method by a user equipment, the method comprising:
performing Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring;(paragraph [0043] explains…..PDCCH monitoring indication and dormancy/non-dormancy behaviour for SCells, also see claim 1)
detecting a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format for a cell having a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) active therein based on the PDCCH monitoring;(see paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0052]-[0057] explains…. If an active DL BWP provided by dormant-BWP for a UE on an activated SCell is not a default DL BWP for the UE on the activated SCell, as described in Clause 12, the BWP inactivity timer is not used for transitioning from the active DL BWP provided by dormant-BWP to the default DL BWP on the activated SCell….A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection of a DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1…..)
and performing BWP switching to switch an active BWP of the cell from the first BWP to a second BWP based on the DCI format including a switching related indication, (see paragraph [0112], [0115], In some examples,a DCIformat26maybeindicativeofSCelldomancyinformationfora SCell and/orwhether or not one or more UEs enter and/or switch to a dormant BWP of the SCell. For example, the DCI format 2.6 and/or 30 EP 3 907 919 A2 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40 45 50 55 the SCell dormancy information may be indicative of SCell dormancy status, of the SCell, for the one or more UEs. The SCell dormancy status may be indicative of domant status (e.g., dormant SCell status and/or dormant BWP status) or non-dormant status (e.g., non-dormant SCell status and/or non-dormant BWP status). In some examples, the SCell dormancy status of the SCell being indicative of dormant status may correspond to an indication and/or instruction that the one or more UEs use a dormant BWP of the SCell,continue using a dormant BWP of the SCell, switch and/or enter into a dormant BWP of the SCell, not use a non-dormant BWP of the SCell and/or switch from an active BWP of the SCell into a dormant BWP of the SCell. ….[0118]) wherein the DCI format including the switching related indication is detected not in a search space specific to the user equipment but in a common search space only. (see [0049] a number of search space sets, by dci-Format2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI formal 26 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space as described in Clause 10.1 )
Regarding claim 2, Huang taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the DCI format includes information regarding a timing point for the BWP switching.(see paragraph [0116] …..In some examples, a UE may monitorDCI format 2_6 based on a search space configuration (e.g., a search space configuration with which the UE is configured) and/or a DRX configuration (e.g., a DRX configuration withwhich the UE isconfigured). Insomeexamples, the UE monitors DCIformal2_6 outside activetime (e.g., theUE may monitor DCI format 2_6 only outside the active time of the UE and/or may not monitor DCI format 2_6 during the active time of the UE). In some examples, a DCI format 2..6 may be for (and/or indicated to and/or transmitted to) a group of UEs comprising the UE (e.g., the group of UEs may monitor and/orreceive the DCIformat26 and/orthe group ofUEsmay be intended recipients of the DCI format 2.6).)
Regarding claim 3, Huang taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Huang further teaches comprising: receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration for the DCI format, wherein the RRC configuration includes a configuration regarding a Network Energy Saving (NES) BWP, and wherein the second BWP comprises the NES BWP.(see paragraph [0081], [0108]….. InNR Rel-16,additional power saving schemes have been introduced for reducing power consumption of UEs and/or devices. For example, one mechanism for reducing power consumption corresponds to configuring a dormant Bandwidth Part (BWP) in a secondary cell (SCell). In some examples, configuring a dormant BWP in a SCell provides for a reduction of power consumption of a UE and/or a network, such as when the UE and/or the network have less than a threshold amount of data to transmit or receive. In some examples, when a UE is in a dormant BWP in a SCell, the UE may be in power saving state. For example, the UE may not monitor PDCCH associated with (e.g., on and/or for) the SCell when the UE is in the dormant BWP…)
Regarding claim 4, Huang taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Huang further teaches comprising: receiving a Hybrid Automatic Repeat request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback related configuration for the DCI format, wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback related configuration comprises a configuration regarding a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource related to the DCI format, and wherein the PUCCH resource is dedicated to the user equipment. (see paragraph [0057]…. A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection ofa DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1. If processingType2Enabled of PDSCH-ServingCellConfig is set to enable for the serving cell with the PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1, N= 5 for a = 0, N = 5.5 for M= 1, and N : 11 forMEE 2; otherwise, N = 10 foris = 0, N= 12 for µ = 1, N = 22for µ = 2, andN= 25 forµ = 3,…)
Regarding claim 5, Huang taught the method of claim 4, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the DCI format includes information related to a timing of transmitting HARQ-ACK information for the DCI format. (see paragraph [0057] …. A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection ofa DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1. If processingType2Enabled of PDSCH-ServingCellConfig is set to enable for the serving cell with the PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1, N= 5 for a = 0, N = 5.5 for M= 1, and N : 11 forMEE 2; otherwise, N = 10 foris = 0, N= 12 for µ = 1, N = 22for µ = 2, andN= 25 forµ = 3,…[0116])
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches a user equipment comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions causing the at least one processor to perform operations when executed, the operations comprising: performing Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring; ;(paragraph [0043] explains…..PDCCH monitoring indication and dormancy/non-dormancy behaviour for SCells, also see claim 1)
detecting a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format for a cell having a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) active therein based on the PDCCH monitoring; ;(see paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0052]-[0057] explains…. If an active DL BWP provided by dormant-BWP for a UE on an activated SCell is not a default DL BWP for the UE on the activated SCell, as described in Clause 12, the BWP inactivity timer is not used for transitioning from the active DL BWP provided by dormant-BWP to the default DL BWP on the activated SCell….A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection of a DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1…..)
and performing BWP switching to switch an active BWP of the cell from the first BWP to a second BWP based on the DCI format including a switching related indication, (see paragraph [0112], [0115], In some examples,a DCIformat26maybeindicativeofSCelldomancyinformationfora SCell and/orwhether or not one or more UEs enter and/or switch to a dormant BWP of the SCell. For example, the DCI format 2.6 and/or 30 EP 3 907 919 A2 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40 45 50 55 the SCell dormancy information may be indicative of SCell dormancy status, of the SCell, for the one or more UEs. The SCell dormancy status may be indicative of domant status (e.g., dormant SCell status and/or dormant BWP status) or non-dormant status (e.g., non-dormant SCell status and/or non-dormant BWP status). In some examples, the SCell dormancy status of the SCell being indicative of dormant status may correspond to an indication and/or instruction that the one or more UEs use a dormant BWP of the SCell,continue using a dormant BWP of the SCell, switch and/or enter into a dormant BWP of the SCell, not use a non-dormant BWP of the SCell and/or switch from an active BWP of the SCell into a dormant BWP of the SCell. ….[0118]) wherein the DCI format including the switching related indication is detected not in a search space specific to the user equipment but in a common search space only. (see [0049] a number of search space cells, by dei-Format2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI formal 26 on the active DL BWP ofthe PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space as described in Clause 10.1 )
7-9. (canceled)
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches a base station comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions causing the at least one processor to perform operations when executed, the operations comprising:
transmitting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format for a cell having a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) active therein; (see paragraphs [0049], [0050], [0052]-[0057] explains…. If an active DL BWP provided by dormant-BWP for a UE on an activated SCell is not a default DL BWP for the UE on the activated SCell, as described in Clause 12, the BWP inactivity timer is not used for transitioning from the active DL BWP provided by dormant-BWP to the default DL BWP on the activated SCell….A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection of a DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1…..)
and performing BWP switching to switch an active BWP of the cell from the first BWP to a second BWP based on the DCI format including a switching related indication, (see paragraph [0112], [0115], In some examples,a DCIformat26maybeindicativeofSCelldomancyinformationfora SCell and/orwhether or not one or more UEs enter and/or switch to a dormant BWP of the SCell. For example, the DCI format 2.6 and/or 30 EP 3 907 919 A2 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40 45 50 55 the SCell dormancy information may be indicative of SCell dormancy status, of the SCell, for the one or more UEs. The SCell dormancy status may be indicative of domant status (e.g., dormant SCell status and/or dormant BWP status) or non-dormant status (e.g., non-dormant SCell status and/or non-dormant BWP status). In some examples, the SCell dormancy status of the SCell being indicative of dormant status may correspond to an indication and/or instruction that the one or more UEs use a dormant BWP of the SCell,continue using a dormant BWP of the SCell, switch and/or enter into a dormant BWP of the SCell, not use a non-dormant BWP of the SCell and/or switch from an active BWP of the SCell into a dormant BWP of the SCell. ….[0118]) wherein the DCI format including the switching related indication is detected not in a search space specific to the user equipment but in a common search space only. (see [0049] a number of search space sets, by dci-Format2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI formal 26 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space as described in Clause 10.1 )
Regarding claim 11, Huang taught the base station of claim 10, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the DCI format includes information regarding a timing point for the BWP switching. (see paragraph [0057] …. A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection ofa DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1. If processingType2Enabled of PDSCH-ServingCellConfig is set to enable for the serving cell with the PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1, N= 5 for a = 0, N = 5.5 for M= 1, and N : 11 forMEE 2; otherwise, N = 10 foris = 0, N= 12 for µ = 1, N = 22for µ = 2, andN= 25 forµ = 3,…)
Regarding claim 12, Huang taught the base station of claim 10, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the operations comprise: receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration for the DCI format, wherein the RRC configuration includes a configuration regarding a Network Energy Saving (NES) BWP, and wherein the second BWP comprises the NES BWP. (see paragraph [0081], [0108]…. InNR Rel-16,additionalpowersaving schemes have been introduced for reducing power consumption of UEs and/or devices. For example, one mechanism for reducing power consumption corresponds to configuring a dormant Bandwidth Part (BWP) in a secondary cell (SCell). In some examples, configuring a dormant BWP in a SCell provides for a reduction of power consumption of a UE and/or a network, such as when the UE and/or the network have less than a threshold amount of data to transmit or receive. In some examples, when a UE is in a dormant BWP in a SCell, the UE may be in power saving state. For example, the UE may not monitor PDCCH associated with (e.g., on and/or for) the SCell when the UE is in the dormant BWP…)
Regarding claim 13, Huang taught the base station of claim 10, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the operations comprise: receiving a Hybrid Automatic Repeat request-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback related configuration for the DCI format, wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback related configuration comprises a configuration regarding a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource related to the DCI format, and wherein the PUCCH resource is dedicated to the user equipment. (see paragraph [0057] …. A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection ofa DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1. If processingType2Enabled of PDSCH-ServingCellConfig is set to enable for the serving cell with the PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1, N= 5 for a = 0, N = 5.5 for M= 1, and N : 11 forMEE 2; otherwise, N = 10 foris = 0, N= 12 for µ = 1, N = 22for µ = 2, andN= 25 forµ = 3,…)
Regarding claim 14, Huang taught the base station of claim 13, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the DCI format includes information related to a timing of transmitting HARQ-ACK information for the DCI format.(see paragraph [0057] …. A UE is expected to provide HARQ-ACK information in response to a detection of a DCI format 1..1 indicating SCell dormancy after N symbols from the last symbol of a PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1. If processingType2Enabled of PDSCH-ServingCellConfig is set to enable for the serving cell with the PDCCH providing the DCI format 1_1, N= 5 for a = 0, N = 5.5 for M= 1, and N : 11 forMEE 2; otherwise, N = 10 foris = 0, N= 12 for µ = 1, N = 22for µ = 2, andN= 25 forµ = 3,…)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478