DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2024/0080664) in view of Tian et al. (hereinafter Tian)(US 2024/0179523).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method, comprising: by an authentication proxy(AF in Fig. 6) in a cellular network: receiving a request to establish a first application session from a wireless device(Fig. 6, step 1; P[0133], request includes A-KID to the AF); performing authentication of the wireless device with an authentication anchor function (AAnF) associated with the cellular network to obtain an authentication result for the wireless device(steps2-4; P[0134-0135]).
Wang did not teach specifically method for providing an indication of the authentication result to a first application server (AS) associated with the first application session. However, Tian teaches in an analogous art method for providing an indication of the authentication result to a first application server (AS) associated with the first application session(P[0080], authentication proxy; Fig. 7A; items 417 in Fig. 7B). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for providing an indication of the authentication result to a first application server (AS) associated with the first application session in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Tian teaches the method of wherein the indication of the authentication result is provided to the first AS based at least in part on the request to establish the first application session(item 417 in Fig. 7B; also Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Tian teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a request for the authentication result from the first AS, wherein the indication of the authentication result is provided to the first AS based at least in part on the request for the authentication result from the first AS(item 415 in Fig. 7B; item 417 in Fig. 7B; ; also Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, Tian teaches the method wherein the indication of the authentication result includes wireless device identification information( A-KID; item 707 in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 11, Tian teaches the method of The method of wherein an authentication proxy-application server interface for communication between the authentication proxy and the first AS includes use of one or more of: Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP); HTTP secure (HTTPS); Internet Protocol Security (IPSec); or Internet Key Exchange Version 2 (IKEv2)(P[0102, 0122, 0149, 0157, 0229],server through an HTTP response message ).
Claims 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 4 respectively.
Claim(s) 5, 14-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2024/0080664) in view of Tian et al. (hereinafter Tian)(US 2024/0179523) and Rajadurai et al. (hereinafter Rajadurai)(US 2023/0232221).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Tian teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method of claim 4, wherein the wireless device identification information includes one or more of: a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI); or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI). However, Rajadurai teaches in an analogous art wherein the wireless device identification information includes one or more of: a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI); or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI)(P[0057], request to application function comprises GPSI; P[0061], SUPI). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the wireless device identification information includes one or more of: a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI); or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) in order to have improved clarity.
Claims 14-15 and 19 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2024/0080664) in view of Tian et al. (hereinafter Tian)(US 2024/0179523) and Ohba et al. (hereinafter Ohba)(US 7587598).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Tian teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the method further comprises: storing relationship mapping information between application servers and wireless devices that are authenticated to those application servers.
However, Rajadurai teaches in an analogous art wherein the method further comprises: storing relationship mapping information between application servers and wireless devices that are authenticated to those application servers(col. 7, secure TLS tunnel; col. 7, line 35-36, authentication agent, TLS tunnel; claim 14; stored session identifier corresponding to previously established session). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the method further comprises: storing relationship mapping information between application servers and wireless devices that are authenticated to those application servers in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 7-9, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2024/0080664) in view of Tian et al. (hereinafter Tian)(US 2024/0179523) and Bykampadi et al. (hereinafter Bykampadi)(WO 2021/099675).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Tian teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication of whether a new transport layer security (TLS) tunnel is requested for the first application session from the wireless device; determining to establish a new TLS tunnel for the first application session if the indication from the wireless device requests a new TLS tunnel for the first application session; and determining to use an existing TLS tunnel for the first application session if the indication from the wireless device does not request a new TLS tunnel for the first application session. However, Bykampadi teaches in an analogous art wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication of whether a new transport layer security (TLS) tunnel is requested for the first application session from the wireless device; determining to establish a new TLS tunnel for the first application session if the indication from the wireless device requests a new TLS tunnel for the first application session; and determining to use an existing TLS tunnel for the first application session if the indication from the wireless device does not request a new TLS tunnel for the first application session(Page 16, lines 1-9; life time of TLS tunnel; Page 16, lines 1-10; TLS tunnel; page 10, lines 1-10; first request; page 14, lines 1-10; the proxy entity may include the received actor token in a subsequent request to an authorization entity; col. 18, lines 20-30, Stored access tokens may be re-used for accessing service(s) from producer NF type listed in claims (scope, audience) during their validity time). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication of whether a new transport layer security (TLS) tunnel is requested for the first application session from the wireless device; determining to establish a new TLS tunnel for the first application session if the indication from the wireless device requests a new TLS tunnel for the first application session; and determining to use an existing TLS tunnel for the first application session if the indication from the wireless device does not request a new TLS tunnel for the first application sessionin order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Bykampadi teaches the method of The method of wherein the request to establish the first application session includes the indication of whether a new TLS tunnel is requested for the first application session(Page 16, lines 1-10; TLS tunnel; page 10, lines 1-10; first request).
Regarding claim 9, Bykampadi teaches the method of The method of wherein the indication of whether a new TLS tunnel is requested for the first application session is provided separately from the request to establish the first application session(page 10, lines 1-10; first request; page 14, lines 1-10; the proxy entity may include the received actor token in a subsequent request to an authorization entity).
Regarding claim 16, 20, Wang in view of Tian teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the application session establishment request includes the indication of whether a new TLS tunnel is requested for the application session. However, Bykampadi teaches in an analogous art wherein the application session establishment request includes the indication of whether a new TLS tunnel is requested for the application session(Page 16, lines 1-9; life time of TLS tunnel; Page 16, lines 1-10; TLS tunnel; page 10, lines 1-10; first request; page 14, lines 1-10; the proxy entity may include the received actor token in a subsequent request to an authorization entity; col. 18, lines 20-30, Stored access tokens may be re-used for accessing service(s) from producer NF type listed in claims (scope, audience) during their validity time). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the application session establishment request includes the indication of whether a new TLS tunnel is requested for the application session
in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2024/0080664) in view of Tian et al. (hereinafter Tian)(US 2024/0179523) and Reddy et al. (hereinafter Reddy)(US 2018/0351757).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Tian teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the method further comprises: determining whether to establish a new transport layer security (TLS) tunnel for the first application session based at least in part on a number of application sessions served by one or more existing TLS tunnels between the wireless device and the authentication proxy, wherein a new TLS tunnel is not established for the first application session if an existing TLS tunnel between the wireless device and the authentication proxy serves fewer than a threshold number of application sessions, wherein a new TLS tunnel is established for the first application session if each existing TLS tunnel between the wireless device and the authentication proxy serves at least the threshold number of application sessions. However, Reddy teaches in an analogous art wherein the method further comprises: determining whether to establish a new transport layer security (TLS) tunnel for the first application session based at least in part on a number of application sessions served by one or more existing TLS tunnels between the wireless device and the authentication proxy, wherein a new TLS tunnel is not established for the first application session if an existing TLS tunnel between the wireless device and the authentication proxy serves fewer than a threshold number of application sessions, wherein a new TLS tunnel is established for the first application session if each existing TLS tunnel between the wireless device and the authentication proxy serves at least the threshold number of application sessions(claim 17, session exceeds a threshold number; claim 12, TLS tunnel). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the method further comprises: determining whether to establish a new transport layer security (TLS) tunnel for the first application session based at least in part on a number of application sessions served by one or more existing TLS tunnels between the wireless device and the authentication proxy, wherein a new TLS tunnel is not established for the first application session if an existing TLS tunnel between the wireless device and the authentication proxy serves fewer than a threshold number of application sessions, wherein a new TLS tunnel is established for the first application session if each existing TLS tunnel between the wireless device and the authentication proxy serves at least the threshold number of application sessions in order to have improved clarity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khare et al. (US 2023/0345246), Authentication proxy for AKMA authentication service.
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647