DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 1-10 are amended.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) EP22191343.7 submitted on August 19th, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on January 7th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the specification and abstract of the disclosure filed October 14th, 2024 is considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for providing …” and “means for receiving …” in claim(s) 9-10. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “The method according to claim 0 …” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites a similar limitation.
Claim 4 is also being rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over SHETE et al. (US 2024/0236766 A1) hereinafter “SHETE” in view of FORENZA (US 2024/0214833 A1) hereinafter “FORENZA”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9,
SHETE discloses an access network controller [see fig(s). 3 & 4, pg. 3, ¶30 lines 1-8, a radio access network control apparatus “1”] comprising:
means for providing [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, a Near-RT RIC (node control unit “3”) and/or the NFO and/or the OAM Function in the SMO provide], to a distributed unit of an access network [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, to the rApp and/or the Non-RT RIC through the O1/O2 interface and the like and/or an O-RAN compliant distributed unit (DU)], at least one scheduling policy for scheduling transmission of at least one transport block by a user equipment [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, feedback on the operational policy such as the traffic control policy issued in “S9” and/or feedback from the O-Cloud (virtual infrastructure “2”) on the operational policy such as the resource allocation policy issued in “S9”], wherein the at least one scheduling policy is based on statistical information about a respective waiting time [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, the operational policy issuance unit “13” includes a resource allocation policy issuance unit “131” that issues a resource allocation policy and/or a workload management policy], associated with each queue of a plurality of queues [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, concerning the resource allocation and/or the workload management of the plurality of RAN nodes “21” to “2N”].
Although SHETE discloses a plurality of queues, SHETE does not explicitly teach “each queue of the plurality of queues being associated with a respective logical processing unit representing a hardware accelerator for processing TBs”.
However FORENZA discloses providing [see fig. 11: Step “1130”, pg. 7, ¶102 lines 1-5, the RT RIC performs], to a distributed unit (DU) of an access network [see fig. 11: Step “1130”, pg. 7, ¶102 lines 1-5, with respect to a node (at least one of an O-DU, O-CU, O-RU, or O-eNB), over the real-time control loop], at least one scheduling policy for scheduling transmission of at least one transport block (TB) by a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 11: Step “1130”, pg. 7, ¶102 lines 1-5, a policy operation (i.e., the RT RIC sets a policy parameter on one of the activated functions)], wherein the at least one scheduling policy is based on statistical information about a respective waiting time [see fig. 11: Step “1110”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-5, the RT RIC performs an insert operation with respect to a node (at least one of an O-DU, O-CU, O-RU, or O-eNB) by instructing the node to activate a user plane function], associated with each queue of a plurality of queues [see fig. 11: Step “1110”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-5, over the real-time control loop], and wherein each queue of the plurality of queues being associated with a respective logical processing unit (LPU) representing a hardware accelerator (HA) for processing TBs [see pg. 3, ¶53 lines 1-16, the RT RIC is implemented within the same processor (e.g., CPU, GPU, or any hardware accelerator) as the O-DU, or different processor within the same motherboard, or different motherboard within the same enclosure, or separate enclosure within the same rack, or separate rack within the same data center].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “each queue of the plurality of queues being associated with a respective logical processing unit representing a hardware accelerator for processing TBs” as taught by FORENZA in the system of SHETE for providing a novel real-time RIC (RT RIC) for performing O-RAN intelligent management in real-time [see FORENZA, pg. 1, ¶8 lines 1-3].
Regarding Claim 5,
The combined system of SHETE and FORENZA discloses the method according to claim 1.
SHETE further discloses the access network controller is a non-real-time (non-RT) access network controller [see pg. 1, ¶17 lines 1-14, the SMO is equipped with a Non-RT RIC (Non-Real Time RAN Intelligent Controller) that functions as the overall control processor responsible for overall control], and the at least one scheduling policy is provided to the DU via a near-real-time (near-RT) access network controller [see pg. 1, ¶17 lines 1-14, the Non-RT RIC, which has a relatively long control cycle (e.g. 1 second or longer), issues guidelines, policies, guidance and the like concerning the operation of each RAN node (O-CU and/or O-DU)].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of SHETE and FORENZA discloses the method according to claim 1.
SHETE further discloses the statistical information [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, the operational policy issuance unit “13” includes a resource allocation policy issuance unit “131” that issues a resource allocation policy and/or a workload management policy] comprises:
a mean waiting time [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, the operational policy issuance unit “13” includes a resource allocation policy issuance unit “131”].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of SHETE and FORENZA discloses the method according to claim 1.
SHETE further discloses the at least one scheduling policy is based on a respective maximum bandwidth allowed for each grant in a subsequent time interval [see pgs. 2-3, ¶25 lines 1-17, examples of the operational data include: … the quality of the channel between UE and O-RU; the coverage and/or the available bandwidth of the communication cell provided by O-RU].
Regarding Claims 8 and 10,
SHETE discloses a distributed unit of an access network [see fig(s). 1, 3 & 4, pg. 2, ¶18 lines 1-22; pg. 3, ¶30 lines 1-8, a radio access network control apparatus “1” or RAN node including an O-CU, which is an O-RAN compliant central unit (CU), and/or O-DU, which is an O-RAN compliant distributed unit (DU)], the DU [see fig(s). 1, 3 & 4, pg. 2, ¶18 lines 1-22; pg. 3, ¶30 lines 1-8, the O-RAN compliant distributed unit (DU)] comprising:
means for receiving [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, obtaining], from an access network controller [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, from the Near-RT RIC (node control unit “3”)], at least one scheduling policy for scheduling transmission of at least one transport block by a user equipment [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, feedback on the operational policy such as the traffic control policy issued in “S9” to the rApp and/or the Non-RT RIC through the O1 interface and the like and/or the NFO and/or the OAM Function in the SMO provide feedback from the O-Cloud (virtual infrastructure “2”) on the operational policy such as the resource allocation policy issued in “S9” to the rApp and/or the Non-RT RIC through the O2 interface], wherein the at least one scheduling policy is based on statistical information about a respective waiting time [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, the operational policy issuance unit “13” includes a resource allocation policy issuance unit “131” that issues a resource allocation policy and/or a workload management policy], associated with each queue of a plurality of queues [see fig(s). 3 & 4: Step(s) “9”/ “10”, pg. 4, ¶36 lines 1-8, concerning the resource allocation and/or the workload management of the plurality of RAN nodes “21” to “2N”].
Although SHETE discloses a plurality of queues, SHETE does not explicitly teach “each queue of the plurality of queues being associated with a respective logical processing unit representing a hardware accelerator for processing TBs”.
However FORENZA discloses receiving [see fig. 11: Step “1130”, pg. 7, ¶102 lines 1-5, the RT RIC performs], from an access network controller [see fig. 11: Step “1130”, pg. 7, ¶102 lines 1-5, with respect to a node (at least one of an O-DU, O-CU, O-RU, or O-eNB), over the real-time control loop], at least one scheduling policy for scheduling transmission of at least one transport block (TB) by a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 11: Step “1130”, pg. 7, ¶102 lines 1-5, a policy operation (i.e., the RT RIC sets a policy parameter on one of the activated functions)], wherein the at least one scheduling policy is based on statistical information about a respective waiting time [see fig. 11: Step “1110”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-5, the RT RIC performs an insert operation with respect to a node (at least one of an O-DU, O-CU, O-RU, or O-eNB) by instructing the node to activate a user plane function], associated with each queue of a plurality of queues [see fig. 11: Step “1110”, pg. 7, ¶100 lines 1-5, over the real-time control loop], and wherein each queue of the plurality of queues being associated with a respective logical processing unit (LPU) representing a hardware accelerator (HA) for processing TBs [see pg. 3, ¶53 lines 1-16, the RT RIC is implemented within the same processor (e.g., CPU, GPU, or any hardware accelerator) as the O-DU, or different processor within the same motherboard, or different motherboard within the same enclosure, or separate enclosure within the same rack, or separate rack within the same data center].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “each queue of the plurality of queues being associated with a respective logical processing unit representing a hardware accelerator for processing TBs” as taught by FORENZA in the system of SHETE for providing a novel real-time RIC (RT RIC) for performing O-RAN intelligent management in real-time [see FORENZA, pg. 1, ¶8 lines 1-3].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Pandit et al. (US 2022/0286754 A1); see fig. 5, pg. 7, ¶68-¶69.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469