DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to the application filed on 06/29/2023.
2. Claims 1-29 are pending.
3. Claims 15 and 17-22 are rejected.
4. Claim 16 is objected.
5. Claims 1-14 and 23-29 are allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 and 23-29 are allowed. This is based on the fact that the method/system and remote terminal use both quantum and non-quantum channels to execute the transaction between devices, and because at least a portion of the random numbers is used as an encryption key for encrypting the transactions.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takayuki Kubo et al (EP 1 833 009 A1), hereinafter “Kubo”.
Regarding Claim 15, Kubo discloses a remote quantum terminal comprising:
a random number generator for generating random numbers (Kubo, Paragraph 0036, first host computer system (issuer host), which implements quantum hardware security module, which includes a quantum key distribution device, which generates random numbers. Paragraph 0037, generating random keys using a quantum key distribution device);
a memory for storing the random numbers (Kubo, Paragraph 0018, storing functionality);
and a quantum channel interface for transmitting the random numbers to a local quantum terminal via a quantum channel that uses a perfect cipher or a quasi-perfect cipher and a quantum key distribution (QKD) protocol for encoding the random numbers as quantum information (Kubo, Paragraph 0028, quantum communication is performed through an optical fiber. Paragraph 0036, quantum communication between first and second host computing system (issuer host and acquirer host) using quantum key distribution in order to generate random numbers to enable the two parties to share actual one-time-key pads (i.e., perfect cipher or a quasi-perfect cipher). Paragraph 0038, preparing the necessary one-time-pad key using the QKD protocol between them).
Regarding Claim 17, Kubo discloses the remote quantum terminal of claim 15 above, wherein the random number generator generates the random numbers based on a quantum physical process (Kubo, Paragraph 0036, quantum key distribution device generates random keys).
Regarding Claim 18, Kubo discloses the remote quantum terminal of claim 15 above, wherein the random number generator measures a quantum property of a quantum particle including at least one of:
radioactive decay, polarization, or thermal effects (Kubo, Paragraphs 0028-0032, polarization sates are used to encode bit values over an optical fiber. Using polarization information to use the numbers as a key).
Regarding Claim 19, Kubo discloses the remote quantum terminal of claim 15 above, wherein the remote quantum terminal encodes and communicates the random numbers as quantum information using a QKD protocol including at least one of:
Bennett-Brassard-84 (BB84), Bennett-92 (B92), and Ekert-91 (E91) (Kubo, Paragraph 0028, BB84 protocol is used).
Regarding Claim 20, Kubo discloses the remote quantum terminal of claim 15 above, wherein the remote quantum terminal stores the random numbers as data packets, where each data packet is associated with at least one of:
a time stamp, a progressive number, and a unique identifier of a secure smart card (Kubo, Paragraph 0018, storing functionality. Paragraphs 0041-0043, verification of card in order to determine if the PIN matches).
Regarding Claim 21, Kubo discloses the remote quantum terminal of claim 15 above, wherein the remote quantum terminal uses at least a portion of the random numbers as an encryption key for performing a secure transaction between the remote quantum terminal and a secure smart card using at least a portion of the random numbers stored at the secure smart card and at least a portion of the random numbers stored at the remote quantum terminal, wherein the length of the encryption key is greater than or equal to the length of information encrypted by the encryption key (Kubo, Paragraph 0034, specially generated keys can have different sizes. Paragraph 0039, encrypting the PIN with the one-time-[ad using the generated keys. Paragraphs 0041-0043, optical channel used for communication between parties using a card).
Regarding Claim 22, Kubo discloses the remote quantum terminal of claim 15 above, wherein the remote quantum terminal uses at least a portion of the random numbers as an encryption key for performing a secure transaction between the remote quantum terminal and a secure smart card using at least a portion of the random numbers stored at the secure smart card and at least a portion of the random numbers stored at the remote quantum terminal, wherein the length of the encryption key less than the length of information encrypted by the encryption key and at least 10 percent of the length of information encrypted by the encryption key (Kubo, Paragraph 0034, specially generated keys can have different sizes. Paragraph 0039, encrypting the PIN with the one-time-[ad using the generated keys. Paragraphs 0041-0043, optical channel used for communication between parties using a card).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All the references listed on 892 are related to the subject matter of performing secure transactions using quantum computing techniques.
Some of the prior art include:
US 20070130455 A1, US 20160359626 A1, and US 11736281 B1.
/JAVIER O GUZMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446