DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is in response to amendments/arguments filed on January 5, 2026. Applicant has amended Claims 1, 8, 40, 41, 46, and 49. Claims 1 – 10 and 40 – 49 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
Previous title objections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Previous claim objections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. New claim objections are presented below, necessitated by amendment.
Previous 112b rejections are withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. New 112 rejections are presented below, necessitated by amendment.
With regards to Claim 1, applicant amended the claim by adding the features of wherein the recess port defines a continuously maintained leak path extending from the first longitudinal side of one of the lobes, around the end face of said lobe, and to the second longitudinal side of said lobe. This feature overcomes the previous grounds of rejection over Crisenbery.
With regards to Claim 41, applicant amended the claim be adding the features of wherein the first recessed area extends from a first region adjacent to the pair of cavities to a second region extending to an outer edge of the main body, arguing that the recesses 66,68 of Crisenbery are entirely defined on all sides by the bearing plate and do not extend to any outer edge. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite that the recessed area extends radially outwards to a radial outer edge of the main body – they just recite an outer edge, i.e. any outer edge. Figure 10 of Crisenbery clearly shows the recesses 66, 68, and 64 all extend to an axial outer edge of the main body. Even if applicant were to amend to a radial outer edge, references such as Hopkins (WO 2016/201171, see inset portion 106 in Figures 3, 4) and Swartzlander (US 2016/0003129, see portion 152 in Figure 2), both already references of record, would anticipate the claim.
For the sake of compact prosecution, examiner suggests applicant further amend Claim 41 by adopting the radial language above, rolling up Claim 44 and further amending the second recessed area features of Claim 44 to incorporate the radial extension language as well. Such an amendment would overcome the proposed grounds of rejection above.
With regards to Claim 45, applicant argues that the amended claim 45 requires the V-shape to be part of a continuous recessed area extending across both cavity regions. However, Claim 45 as currently filed, has no amendment of record. As such, the previous grounds of rejection over Crisenbery stand. Nevertheless, the proposed amendment would not overcome the Hopkins or Swartzlander references discussed in the claim 41 arguments above.
With regards to Claim 46, applicant amended the claim by adding the features of wherein a continuously maintained leak path extends from the inlet nozzle [structure] to the second opening via the first opening. This feature overcomes the previous grounds of rejection over Swartzlander.
Claim Objections
Claim 46 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 46, second to last line: the inlet nozzle should be corrected to the inlet nozzle structure for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 43 recites the first recessed area extends to an outer edge of the main body. Claim 41, upon which Claim 43 depends, already recites such a feature, making the language of Claim 43 not further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41 – 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crisenbery et al. (hereafter “Crisenbery” – US 5118268)
With regards to Claim 41:
Crisenbery discloses a bearing plate (bearing plate 16, Figures 1 – 6, 9, and 10) for a Roots-type device, the bearing plate comprising:
a) a main body (bearing plate 16) extending along a longitudinal axis (axes 22a, 24a) from a first side (right side from perspective of Figure 10) to a second side (left side from perspective of Figure 10);
b) a pair of cavities (bores 16, 16c, Figure 5) for supporting bearing and seal assemblies, the cavities extending between the first and second sides of the main body;
c) a primary surface at least partially defining the first side and being orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (see Figure 10, surface on right side upon which recesses 66, 68 are located); and
d) a first recessed area (recesses 66, 68, 70) at least partially defining the first side and being axially recessed from the primary surface in a direction towards the second side, the recessed area being configured to provide a leak path for the Roots-type device (Col. 7, Lines 4 – 68), wherein the first recessed area extends from a first region adjacent to the pair of cavities to a second region extending to an outer edge of the main body (see Figure 10, recesses 66, 68 extend to an axial outer edge of plate bearing 16).
With regards to Claim 42:
Crisenbery discloses the first recessed area is located entirely on a first side of a plane extending centrally through the pair of cavities and parallel to the longitudinal axis (see Figure 10, recesses 66, 68 located above plane 32).
With regards to Claim 43:
Crisenbery discloses the first recessed area extends to an outer edge of the main body (see Figure 10, recesses 66, 68 extend to an axial outer edge of plate bearing 16).
With regards to Claim 44:
Crisenbery discloses the main body includes a second recessed area (recess 64, Figures 9, 10) at least partially defining the first side and being axially recessed from the primary surface in a direction towards the second side, the second recessed area being located entirely on a second side of the plane (see Figure 10, recess 64 located under plane 32).
With regards to Claim 45:
Crisenbery discloses the first recessed area has a V-shape (see Figure 9, recesses 66, 68 form a V-shape under BRI).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 10, 40, and 46 – 49 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Wednesday, January 21, 2026