DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tip body of claims 24 and 40 and the regularly-spaced markings of claim 34 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 3A-7B and 8B do not comprise solid black lines, see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(a)(1).
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 8A contains a photograph; however, a photograph is not the only practicable medium to show the depicted elements, see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(b)(1).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “312” has been used to designate both the nano-patterned surface region (see specification ¶[0044] and Fig. 3B), the micro-capillary tube (see specification ¶[0045] and Fig. 3A), and a tooth (see Fig. 8A). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 403 in Fig. 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶[0046] of the specification ends in an incomplete sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites “the tip member comprising: a tip body” in lines 3-4. The specification describes several tip members 300/400/502/702 (see specification ¶[0043]-[0055]; Figs. 3A-7B). The only mention of a “tip body” is in ¶[0006]-[0007] with the same language as in the claim. It is not clear what exactly the “tip body” even is, considering that the “tip member” appears to be a body itself. Is the tip body just the tip member, an additional body, or something else? This inconsistency renders claim 24 indefinite. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 25-39 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 24.
Claim 34 recites the term “regularly” in line 2, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “regularly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear if regularly-spaced requires equidistant spacing, scaled spacing, or something else.
Claim 37 recites “essential oils” in line 4 which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essential oils” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a listing for any such oils, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 40 recites “the tip member comprises: a tip body” in line 4. The specification describes several tip members 300/400/502/702 (see specification ¶[0043]-[0055]; Figs. 3A-7B). The only mention of a “tip body” is in ¶[0006]-[0007] with the same language as in the claim. It is not clear what exactly the “tip body” even is, considering that the “tip member” appears to be a body itself. Is the tip body just the tip member, an additional body, or something else? This inconsistency renders claim 40 indefinite. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 41-46 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The succeeding art rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 below are made with the claims as best understood and interpreted in light of the preceding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 above.
Claims 24-28, 40-42, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Knickerbocker et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0135464 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Knickerbocker.
Regarding Claims 24 and 40, Knickerbocker teaches a smart toothbrush with a head portion including a sample testing chamber, and may comprise at least one electronic and/or optical sensor (see abstract and Fig. 2). Knickerbocker teaches a sample collecting device/method (see abstract and Fig. 2), comprising:
positioning a tip member (¶[0025]-[0026] the removable tip 202; Fig. 2) of a device inside a subject's mouth (¶[0025]-[0026] the removable tip for saliva sample collection inside the subject’s mouth), the device comprising
a handle having an interface at a first end (¶[0024]-[0025] the handle is the head and handle portion of Knickerbocker, the interface is the portion of the sample testing chamber 204 (i.e., the reservoir) connected to the removable tip 202; Fig. 2); and
the tip member releasably coupled to the interface (¶[0025]-[0026] the removable tip 202 connected to the portion of the sample testing chamber 204 (i.e., the reservoir); Fig. 2), the tip member comprising:
a tip body (the removable tip 202; Fig. 2);
a lumen passing through the tip body (¶[0026]-[0028] the removable tip 202 may comprise a disposable pipette tip, which necessarily has a lumen, such a tip 202 for transporting a fluid sample to the sample testing chamber 204 necessarily requires a fluid path; Fig. 2); and
a reservoir coupled to a proximal end of the lumen (¶[0025] the sample testing chamber 204; Fig. 2);
guiding the tip member along teeth and/or gums of a subject (¶[0016] and ¶[0019] the usage of the smart tooth brush is similar to that of a normal toothbrush, with the device used in the subject’s mouth and passed over the tooth surface, gums, etc.); and
collecting a sample from the subject's mouth in the reservoir of the device (¶[0025]-[0028] the saliva sample is drawn into the testing chamber 204 via the pump system 212; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 25 and 41, Knickerbocker teaches the device/method of claims 24 and 40, respectively, as stated above. Knickerbocker further teaches the tip member comprises a proximal end coupled to the interface (¶[0025]-[0026] the portion of the removable tip 202 connected to the portion of the sample testing chamber 204; Fig. 2) and
a pointed distal end having an aperture (¶[0025]-[0026] the tip of the removable tip 202; Fig. 2),
wherein the lumen extends from the reservoir to the aperture of the pointed distal end of the tip member (¶[0026]-[0028] the removable tip 202 may comprise a disposable pipette tip, which necessarily has a lumen, such a tip 202 for transporting a fluid sample to the sample testing chamber 204 necessarily requires a fluid path; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 26, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker further teaches the handle comprises a light source configured to direct light to a region surrounding a distal end of the lumen (¶[0019] and ¶[0041] the head portion may comprise an optical sensor including a light source 402 and an optical detector 404, see claims 1 and 11-13, the device may incorporate both embodiments; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 27, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker further teaches the handle comprises an imaging device configured to capture images of a region surrounding a distal end of the lumen (¶[0019] and ¶[0041] the head portion may comprise an optical sensor including a light source 402 and an optical detector 404, the optical detector 404 may be a camera, see claims 1 and 11-14, the device may incorporate both embodiments; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 28, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker further teaches the reservoir is detachable from the tip body (¶[0025]-[0026] the removable tip 202 connected to the portion of the sample testing chamber 204; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 42, Knickerbocker teaches the method of claim 40 as stated above. Knickerbocker further teaches the collecting the sample from the subject's mouth comprises collecting one or more of: a microbial sample, a fluid sample, a biofilm sample, or a gingival crevicular fluid sample (¶[0025]-[0028] the saliva sample, which is a fluid, is drawn into the testing chamber 204 via the pump system 212; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 46, Knickerbocker teaches the method of claim 40 as stated above. Knickerbocker further teaches analyzing the sample from the subject's mouth (¶[0030] and ¶[0050]-[0051] the analysis of the saliva sample via the sensor 206; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The succeeding art rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 below are made with the claims as best understood and interpreted in light of the preceding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 above.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker as applied to claim 24 above, and in view of Spruit et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0320353), hereinafter Spruit.
Regarding Claim 29, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker teaches that any variety of pumps may be utilized by for the draw/dispense of the saliva sample and for the draw/dispense of the calibration solution (see ¶[0028]); however, Knickerbocker does not specifically teach that the reservoir comprises a compressible chamber.
Spruit teaches an apparatus configured such that passage of a fluid through an open port on a distal probe tip enables detection of a substance, such as plaque, on a surface, such as a tooth (see abstract and ¶[0084]-[0087]; Figs. 10-12), including a reservoir comprising a compressible chamber (¶[0165] the pump may comprise a mechanical pump, which may utilize a spring to move the plunger 126, as the plunger is movable for the pump, the chamber is expandable and compressible; Figs. 4A-4B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the spring mechanical pump of Spruit for the pump for the draw/dispense of the saliva sample and/or for the draw/dispense of the calibration solution of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Knickerbocker requires a pump for the saliva sample and the calibration solution and Spruit teaches one such pump.
Regarding Claim 30, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker teaches that any variety of pumps may be utilized by for the draw/dispense of the saliva sample and for the draw/dispense of the calibration solution (see ¶[0028]); however, Knickerbocker does not specifically teach that the reservoir comprises a spring configured to expand a volume of the reservoir.
Spruit teaches an apparatus configured such that passage of a fluid through an open port on a distal probe tip enables detection of a substance, such as plaque, on a surface, such as a tooth (see abstract and ¶[0084]-[0087]; Figs. 10-12), including a reservoir comprising a spring configured to expand a volume of the reservoir (¶[0165] the pump may comprise a mechanical pump, which may utilize a spring to move the plunger 126, as the plunger is movable for the pump, the reservoir is expandable and compressible; Figs. 4A-4B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the spring mechanical pump of Spruit for the pump for the draw/dispense of the saliva sample and/or for the draw/dispense of the calibration solution of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Knickerbocker requires a pump for the saliva sample and the calibration solution and Spruit teaches one such pump.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker as applied to claim 24 above, and in view of Gatzemeyer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0216293 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Gatzemeyer.
Regarding Claim 31, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker teaches that any variety of pumps may be utilized by for the draw/dispense of the saliva sample and for the draw/dispense of the calibration solution (see ¶[0028]); however, Knickerbocker does not specifically teach that the reservoir comprises an absorbent material.
Gatzemeyer teaches an oral care implement that includes a collection system for oral fluids (see abstract and Figs. 1-3), in which a collecting member 200 is connected to a reservoir 155 via the fluid pathway 140, implemented such as a capillary channel (see ¶[0023]-[0024]; Fig. 3), in which the reservoir comprises an absorbent material (¶[0035] the reservoir 155 may comprise a hydrophilic foam; Fig. 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the capillary channel and hydrophilic foam of Gatzemeyer for the pump for the draw of the saliva sample of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the simple substitution for one known element for another to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Knickerbocker requires a pump for the saliva sample and the calibration solution and Gatzemeyer teaches one such alternative to the pump; and/or (3) the passive capillary channel and hydrophilic foam would function without needing the complexity and/or power of an operated pump.
Claims 32-33 and 35-37; and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker as applied to claims 24 and 40, respectively, above, and in view of Hunter et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0003601 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Hunter.
Regarding Claim 32, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker is silent regarding an absorbent material provided in the lumen.
Hunter teaches a tooth treatment device that includes a detector that detects a marker of oral health and a fluid ejector that ejects fluid against teeth in response to the marker (see abstract and Fig. 1), positioning a tip member (¶[0053] the nozzle 114, ¶[0108] the head with the polymer strip 802; Figs. 1 and 8) of a device inside a subject's mouth (¶[0101]-[0103] during usage of the device, a small volume of saliva may be collected pre- or post-brushing/cleaning to evaluate oral health), a handle (¶[0052]-[0053] the body of the device 100; Fig. 1), with a reservoir connected via a lumen to an opening of the tip member (¶[0053]-[0054] the nozzle 114 coupled to the reservoir 113 via the tube 103; Fig. 1), in which an absorbent material may be provided in the lumen (¶[0104] the disposable tube, such as a straw 602, that contains labeled or conjugated binding reagent (e.g. fluorophore or enzymatic respectively) dried onto the inner surface of the straw at a specific location, and then absorbed onto a solid support or matrix, for example a polymer, containing one or more antibodies of interest bound at a specific site; Fig. 6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the disposable straw of Hunter for the disposable pipette of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the simple substitution for one known element for another to yield predictable results and/or (2) Hunter provides an alternative and/or additional measurement modality to that of Knickerbocker that is capable to detect various biological markers.
Regarding Claim 33, Knickerbocker in view of Hunter teaches the device of claim 32 as stated above. The modified Knickerbocker further teaches the absorbent material comprises a removable wicking paper (see Hunter ¶[0104] the portion that absorbs via the solid support or matrix falls under the BRI of wicking paper, note that the claim does not require a specific material for such a paper, such as cellulose based, etc.).
Regarding Claims 35 and 43, Knickerbocker teaches the device/method of claims 24 and 40, respectively, as stated above. Knickerbocker does not specifically teach dispensing a therapeutic agent from an exterior surface of the tip member to the subject's mouth.
Hunter teaches a tooth treatment device that includes a detector that detects a marker of oral health and a fluid ejector that ejects fluid against teeth in response to the marker (see abstract and Fig. 1), positioning a tip member (¶[0053] the nozzle 114, ¶[0108] the head with the polymer strip 802; Figs. 1 and 8) of a device inside a subject's mouth (¶[0101]-[0103] during usage of the device, a small volume of saliva may be collected pre- or post-brushing/cleaning to evaluate oral health), a handle (¶[0052]-[0053] the body of the device 100; Fig. 1), with a reservoir connected via a lumen to an opening of the tip member (¶[0053]-[0054] the nozzle 114 coupled to the reservoir 113 via the tube 103; Fig. 1), and dispensing a therapeutic agent from an exterior surface of the tip member to the subject's mouth (¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0052] the ejected fluid onto a tooth, gum, or other tissue may include a medicant, as the fluid is ejected from the tip it would be from an exterior surface, i.e., the aperture; Fig. 1), in which the medicant may comprise an antiseptic (see ¶[0084]) or fluoride (see ¶[0099]), etc.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the therapeutic ejection of Hunter with the device of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device/method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the therapeutic would help the user with any such ailments in their mouth and thus improve user health.
Regarding Claim 36, Knickerbocker in view of Hunter teaches the device of claim 35 as stated above. The modified Knickerbocker further teaches the therapeutic agent comprises one or more of: a probiotic treatment; molecules effective to block bacterial functions; molecules effective to block metabolic byproducts that fuel inflammation; antibodies or molecules that block a surface antigen or receptor; an enzyme treatment effective to slow or prevent bacterial attachment; non-pathogenic organisms effective to slow, outcompete, or prevent attachment of pathogenic biofilms; molecules effective to down- regulate an inflammatory response in teeth or gums; or molecules effective to elevate pH in a subject's mouth (see Hunter ¶[0084] and ¶[0099] the medicant may comprise an antiseptic or fluoride, both of which block bacterial functions).
Regarding Claim 37, Knickerbocker in view of Hunter teaches the device of claim 35 as stated above. The modified Knickerbocker further teaches the therapeutic agent comprises one or more of: hydrogen peroxide, xylitol, fluoride, ginger, pineapple, cranberry, sodium hypochlorite, sodium chlorate, chlorine dioxide, chlorhexidine, essential oils, spearmint oil, tea tree oil, arginine, or quinone (see Hunter ¶[0084] and ¶[0099] the medicant may comprise an antiseptic or fluoride).
Regarding Claim 44, Knickerbocker teaches the method of claim 40 as stated above. Knickerbocker does not specifically teach dispensing a treatment effective to enhance one or more of a biofilm management or inflammatory process management from the tip member to one or more of the teeth or gums of the subject.
Hunter teaches a tooth treatment device that includes a detector that detects a marker of oral health and a fluid ejector that ejects fluid against teeth in response to the marker (see abstract and Fig. 1), positioning a tip member (¶[0053] the nozzle 114, ¶[0108] the head with the polymer strip 802; Figs. 1 and 8) of a device inside a subject's mouth (¶[0101]-[0103] during usage of the device, a small volume of saliva may be collected pre- or post-brushing/cleaning to evaluate oral health), a handle (¶[0052]-[0053] the body of the device 100; Fig. 1), with a reservoir connected via a lumen to an opening of the tip member (¶[0053]-[0054] the nozzle 114 coupled to the reservoir 113 via the tube 103; Fig. 1), and dispensing a treatment effective to enhance one or more of a biofilm management or inflammatory process management from the tip member to one or more of the teeth or gums of the subject (¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0052] the ejected fluid onto a tooth, gum, or other tissue may include a medicant, ¶[0084] and ¶[0099] the medicant may comprise an antiseptic or fluoride, which would both be effective to enhance biofilm management).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the therapeutic ejection of Hunter with the device of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the therapeutic would help the user with any such ailments in their mouth and thus improve user health.
Regarding Claim 45, Knickerbocker teaches the method of claim 40 as stated above. Knickerbocker does not specifically teach dispensing a treatment effective to enhance one or more of a biofilm management or inflammatory process management from the tip member to one or more of the teeth or gums of the subject.
Hunter teaches a tooth treatment device that includes a detector that detects a marker of oral health and a fluid ejector that ejects fluid against teeth in response to the marker (see abstract and Fig. 1), positioning a tip member (¶[0053] the nozzle 114, ¶[0108] the head with the polymer strip 802; Figs. 1 and 8) of a device inside a subject's mouth (¶[0101]-[0103] during usage of the device, a small volume of saliva may be collected pre- or post-brushing/cleaning to evaluate oral health), a handle (¶[0052]-[0053] the body of the device 100; Fig. 1), with a reservoir connected via a lumen to an opening of the tip member (¶[0053]-[0054] the nozzle 114 coupled to the reservoir 113 via the tube 103; Fig. 1), and dispensing a therapeutic agent comprising one or more of: a probiotic treatment; molecules effective to block bacterial functions; molecules effective to block metabolic byproducts that fuel inflammation; antibodies or molecules that block a surface antigen or receptor; an enzyme treatment effective to slow or prevent bacterial attachment; non-pathogenic organisms effective to slow, outcompete, or prevent attachment of pathogenic biofilms; molecules effective to down-regulate an inflammatory response in teeth or gums; or molecules effective to elevate pH in a subject's mouth (¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0052] the ejected fluid onto a tooth, gum, or other tissue may include a medicant, ¶[0084] and ¶[0099] the medicant may comprise an antiseptic or fluoride, which would both be effective to block bacterial functions).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the therapeutic ejection of Hunter with the device of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the therapeutic would help the user with any such ailments in their mouth and thus improve user health.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker as applied to claim 24 above, and in view of Chang et al. (US Patent 11,191,428 B1), hereinafter Chang.
Regarding Claim 34, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker is silent regarding an exterior surface of the tip member includes a plurality of regularly-spaced markings.
Chang teaches a medical/dental handpiece including lighting and a probe to be positioned adjacent or within a treatment area (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which an exterior surface of the tip member includes a plurality of regularly-spaced markings (col. 22 ln. 55 – col. 23 ln. 11, the light guide 100I with the probes 106I/106I’/106I” with the depth markings 112I; Figs. 22A-22E).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the regularly-spaced markings of Chang with the tip of the device of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the markings would help to provide depth and locational awareness within the user’s mouth, such as depth within a periodontal pocket (see Chang col. 22 ln. 55 – col. 23 ln. 11).
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker as applied to claim 24 above, and in view of Loudermilk et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0383664), hereinafter Loudermilk.
Regarding Claim 38, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker is silent regarding that the tip body comprises wood or a cellulose material.
Loudermilk teaches a sample testing apparatus including a fluid collector tube and fluid collector in fluid communication with a sample holding container (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which a fluid collector is utilized to collect a fluid sample from the user (see ¶[0113]-[0115]), in which the fluid may be saliva (see ¶[0041]), in which the tip body comprises wood or a cellulose material (¶[0113]-[0115] the fluid collector may include an absorbent material to collect the fluid, such as a cellulose, a cellulose derivative, or wood pulp, usable with suction to encourage fluid flow into the material).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the absorbent fluid collector material of Loudermilk with the tip of the device of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the tip of Knickerbocker requires a material and Loudermilk teaches one such suitable material for saliva collection.
Regarding Claim 39, Knickerbocker teaches the device of claim 24 as stated above. Knickerbocker is silent regarding that the tip body comprises a material softer than 3 Mohs on the Mohs hardness scale.
Loudermilk teaches a sample testing apparatus including a fluid collector tube and fluid collector in fluid communication with a sample holding container (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which a fluid collector is utilized to collect a fluid sample from the user (see ¶[0113]-[0115]), in which the fluid may be saliva (see ¶[0041]), in which the tip body comprises a material softer than 3 Mohs on the Mohs hardness scale (¶[0113]-[0115] the fluid collector may include an absorbent material to collect the fluid, such as a cellulose, a cellulose derivative, or wood pulp, usable with suction to encourage fluid flow into the material, note that cellulose or wood would be lower than 3 on the Mohs scale, and the present application tip is cellulose or wood also described as being lower than 3 on the Mohs scale, see specification ¶[0044]-[0045]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the absorbent fluid collector material of Loudermilk with the tip of the device of Knickerbocker because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the tip of Knickerbocker requires a material and Loudermilk teaches one such suitable material for saliva collection.
Conclusion
/J.D.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791