DETAILED ACTION
1. The Office Action is in response to Application 18856723 filed on 10/14/2024. Claims 1-12, 15-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024, 03/31/2025, 08/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d):(d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
5. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 depend on independent claim 1 but fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
6. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 22 depend on independent claim 7 but fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. For claim 16, it dependents on claim 1, which is a communication method; however, the claim as a whole is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Therefore, it is not clear if it claims a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or a communication method. Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
9. For claim 22, it dependents on claim 7, which is a communication method; however, the claim as a whole is an electronic device. Therefore, it is not clear if it claims an electronic device or a communication method. Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 5, it recites limitations of “the sensing measurement” in “in response to the second message frame not participating in the sensing measurement, the number identified by the first subfield is set to 1”; However, it is not clear if the sensing measurement refer to “a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process” or “sensing measurement” in “wherein the long training field is configured for sensing measurement” in claim 1 (which includes a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process and a trigger-based sensing measurement process).
Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
13. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 11, it recites limitations of “the sensing measurement” in “in response to the second message frame not participating in the sensing measurement, the number identified by the first subfield is set to 1; However, it is not clear if the sensing measurement refer to “a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process” or “sensing measurement” in “wherein the long training field is configured for sensing measurement” in claim 7 (which includes a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process and a trigger-based sensing measurement process).
Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
14. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 20, it recites limitations of “the sensing measurement” in “in response to the second message frame not participating in the sensing measurement, the number identified by the first subfield is set to 1; However, it is not clear if the sensing measurement refer to “a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process” or “sensing measurement” in “wherein the long training field is configured for sensing measurement” in claim 15 (which includes a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process and a trigger-based sensing measurement process).
Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
16. Claims 1-2, 8-9, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by JIANG et al. (US 20190132155).
Regarding claim 1, JIANG teaches a communication method (fig. 4A), comprising:
determining a first message frame (fig. 2A, NDPA 224/NDP 226 is a first message frame determined; paragraph 0044, … The trigger frames sent by the responder AP 202 may indicate that they are trigger frames for UL NDPs so that the initiators provide the UL NDPs to the responder AP 202. The NDP 226 may use a frame format for a HE NDP PPDU), wherein the first message frame comprises a first subfield (fig. 2B, 244, L-LTF),
wherein the first subfield identifies information of a long training field in a second message frame (fig. 2B and fig. 2C, in which, fig. 2C is the second message frame and 244 in fig. 2B identifies information of a long training field 264 in a second message frame; paragraph 0047, the HE sounding NDP 240 may include one or more fields, such as a legacy short training field (L-STF) 242, a legacy long training field (L-LTF) 244);
wherein the long training field is used configured for sensing measurement (the function is inherent; since the long training field is used configured for sensing measurement by default);
and sending the first message frame (fig. 4A, step 402, 410).
Regarding claim 7, JIANG teaches a communication method (fig. 4B), comprising:
receiving a first message frame (fig. 4B, 452 and 460; fig. 2A, NDPA 224/NDP 226 is a first message frame determined; paragraph 0044, … The trigger frames sent by the responder AP 202 may indicate that they are trigger frames for UL NDPs so that the initiators provide the UL NDPs to the responder AP 202. The NDP 226 may use a frame format for a HE NDP PPDU), wherein the first message frame comprises a first subfield (fig. 2B, 244, L-LTF),
wherein the first subfield identifies information of a long training field in a second message frame (fig. 2B and fig. 2C, in which, fig. 2C is the second message frame and 244 in fig. 2B identifies information of a long training field 264 in a second message frame; paragraph 0047, the HE sounding NDP 240 may include one or more fields, such as a legacy short training field (L-STF) 242, a legacy long training field (L-LTF) 244);
wherein the long training field is used configured for sensing measurement (the function is inherent; since the long training field is used configured for sensing measurement by default);
and obtaining the information of the long training field in the second message frame (fig. 4B, step 462) based on the first message frame (fig. 4B, step 456; paragraph 0069-0072, … At block 456, the device may determine, based on the HE-LTF mode and the guard interval duration, a HE TB NDP, the HE TB NDP including a first packet extension field… At block 462, the device may identify a downlink NDP received from the AP, the downlink NDP including a second packet extension field).
Regarding claim 15, JIANG teaches an electronic device (fig. 5), comprising: a processor (fig. 5, 506) ; and a memory (fig. 5, 506) storing a computer program executable by the processor (paragraph 0082, … the communication station 500 is illustrated as having several separate functional elements, two or more of the functional elements may be combined and may be implemented by combinations of software-configured elements, such as processing elements including digital signal processors (DSPs), and/or other hardware elements), wherein the processor is configured to:
determining a first message frame (fig. 2A, NDPA 224/NDP 226 is a first message frame determined; paragraph 0044, … The trigger frames sent by the responder AP 202 may indicate that they are trigger frames for UL NDPs so that the initiators provide the UL NDPs to the responder AP 202. The NDP 226 may use a frame format for a HE NDP PPDU), wherein the first message frame comprises a first subfield (fig. 2B, 244, L-LTF),
wherein the first subfield identifies information of a long training field in a second message frame (fig. 2B and fig. 2C, in which, fig. 2C is the second message frame and 244 in fig. 2B identifies information of a long training field 264 in a second message frame; paragraph 0047, the HE sounding NDP 240 may include one or more fields, such as a legacy short training field (L-STF) 242, a legacy long training field (L-LTF) 244);
wherein the long training field is used configured for sensing measurement (the function is inherent; since the long training field is used configured for sensing measurement by default);
and sending the first message frame (fig. 4A, step 402, 410).
Regarding claim 16, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (fig. 5, 506) storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the communication method ((paragraph 0082, … the communication station 500 is illustrated as having several separate functional elements, two or more of the functional elements may be combined and may be implemented by combinations of software-configured elements, such as processing elements including digital signal processors (DSPs), and/or other hardware elements).
Regarding claim 22, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that an electronic device(fig. 6), comprising: a processor (fig. 6, 602); and a memory (fig. 6, 604) storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the communication method (fig. 6, 624).
Regarding claim 2, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein the first subfield is a long training field repetition subfield for identifying a number of long training fields in the second message frame (fig. 2B-2C; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams).
Regarding claim 4, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that in a trigger-based sensing measurement process (as shown in fig. 2A, in which, TF 212 is the triggering frame and the process is a trigger-based sensing measurement process; paragraph 0005, … multi-user measurement sequence) , the second message frame participates in the sensing measurement and the number identified by the first subfield is set to at least 1 (fig. 2A, NDP participates in the sensing measurement; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which is as least 1).
Regarding claim 5, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein in a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process (as shown in fig. 3A-3B, it is a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process), in response to the second message frame participating in the sensing measurement (as shown in fig. 3B, the top scheme, NDPA 356 is the second message frame), the number identified by the first subfield is set to at least 1 (paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which is as least 1) , in response to the second message frame not participating in the sensing measurement (fig. 3B, the lower scheme, in which, 356 is not participating in the sensing measurement), the number identified by the first subfield is set to 1 (fig. 2A, NDP 226 participates in the sensing measurement; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which can be 1).
Regarding claim 6, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein the first message frame is a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame or a sensing measurement trigger frame (as shown in fig. 2A, 224 (NDPA )and 212/126 (trigger frame)).
Regarding claim 8, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein the first subfield is a long training field repetition subfield for identifying a number of long training fields in the second message frame (fig. 2B-2C; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams).
Regarding claim 10, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 8 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that in a trigger-based sensing measurement process (as shown in fig. 2A, in which, TF 212 is the triggering frame and the process is a trigger-based sensing measurement process; paragraph 0005, … multi-user measurement sequence) , the second message frame participates in the sensing measurement and the number identified by the first subfield is set to at least 1 (fig. 2A, NDP 226 participates in the sensing measurement; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which is as least 1).
Regarding claim 11, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 8 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein in a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process (as shown in fig. 3A-3B, it is a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process), in response to the second message frame participating in the sensing measurement (as shown in fig. 3B, the top scheme, NDPA 356 is the second message frame), the number identified by the first subfield is set to at least 1 (paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which is as least 1) , in response to the second message frame not participating in the sensing measurement (fig. 3B, the lower scheme, in which, 356 is not participating in the sensing measurement), the number identified by the first subfield is set to 1 (fig. 2A, NDP 226 participates in the sensing measurement; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which can be 1).
Regarding claim 12, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein the first message frame is a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame or a sensing measurement trigger frame (as shown in fig. 2A, 224 (NDPA )and 212/126 (trigger frame)).
Regarding claim 17, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 15 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein the first subfield is a long training field repetition subfield for identifying a number of long training fields in the second message frame (fig. 2B-2C; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams).
Regarding claim 19, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 17 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that in a trigger-based sensing measurement process (as shown in fig. 2A, in which, TF 212 is the triggering frame and the process is a trigger-based sensing measurement process; paragraph 0005, … multi-user measurement sequence) , the second message frame participates in the sensing measurement and the number identified by the first subfield is set to at least 1 (fig. 2A, NDP 226 participates in the sensing measurement; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which is as least 1).
Regarding claim 20, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 17 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein in a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process (as shown in fig. 3A-3B, it is a non-trigger-based sensing measurement process), in response to the second message frame participating in the sensing measurement (as shown in fig. 3B, the top scheme, NDPA 356 is the second message frame), the number identified by the first subfield is set to at least 1 (paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which is as least 1) , in response to the second message frame not participating in the sensing measurement (fig. 3B, the lower scheme, in which, 356 is not participating in the sensing measurement), the number identified by the first subfield is set to 1 (fig. 2A, NDP 226 participates in the sensing measurement; paragraph 0048, …. The number of HE-LTF symbols in the HE sounding NDP 240 may be determined by a sub-field of the HE-SIG-A field 250 indicating a number of spatial streams; which can be 1).
Regarding claim 21, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 15 as discussed above. In addition, JIANG further discloses that wherein the first message frame is a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame or a sensing measurement trigger frame (as shown in fig. 2A, 224 (NDPA )and 212/126 (trigger frame)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim 3, 9, 18 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG et al. (US 20190132155) and in view of LEE et al. (KR 20160058049).
Regarding claim 3, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
It is noticed that JIANG does not disclose explicitly of wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield.
LEE discloses of wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield (fig. 10-fig. 14, in which, ID is an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, page 12, … the BA information, the ID, and the bitmap set are repeated. The BA information may include a traffic identifier (TID) through which the ACK frame is transmitted).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield as a modification to the method for the benefit of that identify which device to apply the message efficiently (page 12).
Regarding claim 9, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 7 as discussed above.
It is noticed that JIANG does not disclose explicitly of wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield.
LEE discloses of wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield (fig. 10-fig. 14, in which, ID is an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, page 12, … the BA information, the ID, and the bitmap set are repeated. The BA information may include a traffic identifier (TID) through which the ACK frame is transmitted).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield as a modification to the method for the benefit of that identify which device to apply the message efficiently (page 12).
Regarding claim 18, JIANG teaches the limitations recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
It is noticed that JIANG does not disclose explicitly of wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield.
LEE discloses of wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield (fig. 10-fig. 14, in which, ID is an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, page 12, … the BA information, the ID, and the bitmap set are repeated. The BA information may include a traffic identifier (TID) through which the ACK frame is transmitted).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that wherein the first message frame comprises a second subfield, wherein the second subfield identifies an identifier of a device to which the first subfield is to be applied, and wherein the second subfield corresponds to the first subfield as a modification to the device for the benefit of that identify which device to apply the message efficiently (page 12).
19. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892.
20. Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488