DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 10/14/2024, amended claims 5, 9, 25, 28, 32, 37, 39, cancelled claims 6-7, 10-23, 29-30, 33-35, 38, 40-42, and added claims 43-46.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 24-25, 27-28, 31-32, 36-37, 39 and 43-46 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 39 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 39, 45, and 46, the phrases "such as" and particularly renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, the limitations following “such as” and “particularly” are interpreted as exemplary and as not further limiting the claim.
Moreover, since the recitations following “such as” and “particularly” are interpreted as not further limiting the claim, “i),” “ii),” and “iii),” are all interpreted as “wherein the disease is an EGFR kinase-mediated disease.” As such, “ii),” and “iii)” are superfluous and should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 3, 9, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
- Claim 3 depends from claim 2, wherein claim 2 defines its compound (X) as:
. However claim 3 recites a -N(Rs)S(O)2(CH3) group at the -P(O)(CH3)2 group of compound (I) of claim 2. Claim 31, which depends from claim 3, also recites a -N(Rs)S(O)2(CH3) group at the -P(O)(CH3)2 group of compound (I) of claim 2.
-Claim 9 depends from claim 8, wherein claim 8 defines “n” as 1, 2, 3, or 4. However, claim 9, in wherein “iv),” defines n as 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5.
-Claim 31 depends ultimately from claim 2, wherein claim 2 defines R6 as
, and claim 31 broadens the scope of the definition of R6 by defining it as
.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 24-25, 27-28, 31-32, 36-37, 39 and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a) compounds of formula (A), (X), and the species of claim 36, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof of claims 1-5, 8-9, 24-25, 27-28, 31-32, 36, and 43-44 and b) a method of treating an EGFR kinase mediate disease by administering a compound of formula (A) or (X), and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, it does not reasonably provide enablement for a) enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of compounds of formula (A), (X), or the species of claim 36 or b) a method of preventing an EGFR kinase mediated disease by administering a compound formula (A), (X), or the species of claim 36, or pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants thereof.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The criteria for enablement set out in the In re Wands, MPEP 2164.01(a), considers the following factors:
Breadth of the Claims
Independent claims 1, 2 and 36 are directed toward any pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of instant compounds (A), (X), and the species of claim 36.
Claims 39, and 45-46 are directed toward a method of treating or preventing any EGFR kinase mediated disease with any pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of instant compounds (A), (X), and the species of claim 36.
As such, the breadth of the claims is great.
Level of Skill in Art
The level of skill in the art is a clinician or an artisan with a PhD.
State of the Prior Art
As detailed in the below prior art rejections WO 2021/036922 to Zhao teaches the instantly claimed compounds and teaches methods of treating EGFR kinase mediated diseases with the recited compounds. However, Zhao exemplifies zero methods of treating or preventing EGFR kinase mediated diseases, but merely provides IC50 (nM) inhibitory values for EGFR receptors (pgs. 126-128, 130-131, Original). Moreover, Zhao does not exemplify its compounds as pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants.
Similarly, while WO 2022/171123 to Liu (published 02/09/2022, IDS of 12/11/2025) teaches a method of treating EGFR diseases by administering structurally similar compounds (claims 39, 42-46, pgs. 151-171), it exemplifies zero methods of treating or preventing such diseases, but merely provides IC50 inhibitory values for EGFR receptors (pg. 119). Moreover, Liu does not exemplify its compounds as pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants.
Predictability in the Art
The instant claims and specification specifically teach a number of species of cancer as EGFR kinase-mediated diseases treated or prevented by its methods.
However, as taught by The University of Kansas, no cancer is 100% preventable (pg. 1).
In view of the teachings of The University of Kansas, and the state of the prior art, wherein Zhao and Liu merely exemplify IC50 values of compounds of the present invention and structurally similar compounds, a method of preventing any EGFR disease, let alone cancer, is unpredictable.
Working Examples
The instant specification provides zero examples of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of compounds of instant formula (A), (X), or the species of claim 36.
The instant specification provides examples of four species of instantly claimed compounds that have inhibitor activity against an EGFR receptor. The instant specification provides zero examples of method of treating, let alone preventing, EGFR-mediated diseases by administering the instantly claimed compounds.
Direction and Guidance
In view of the lack of working examples and lack of written description, the instant specification does not provide sufficient direction or guidance to make pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of compounds of formula (A), (X) or species of claim 36, or provide sufficient direction or guidance use the pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of compounds of formula (A), (X), and species of claim 36, to prevent EGFR kinase mediated diseases.
Quantity of Experimentation
The quantity of experimentation required to determine all species of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants of compounds of formula (A), (X) or species of claim 36, and which of these species, in addition to the free base compounds, are useful in what amounts to treat any and every EGFR kinase-mediated diseases, would be astronomical.
A great deal of experimentation would be required starting with proof-of-concept, and proceeding through all levels of lead identification and optimization,
This amounts to invention, not development; it is an undue amount of experimentation.
This rejection can be overcome by deleting “enantiomers, diastereomers, racemates, solvates, hydrates, polymorphs, prodrugs, or isotropic variants” and the term “preventing” from the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/036922 to Zhao (published 03/04/2021, IDS of 01/13/2025, and Translation, PTO-892).
Zhao teaches:
(pg. 84, Original), which meets the limitations of the compound of claim 1 when:
Z is CH2,
L is a bond
E is CR#R#’, wherein R# and R#’ are H
n is 5
q is 0
R3 is -OC1alkyl,
R4 and R5 are H,
R6 is a C1 alkyl,
R1 is the halogen Br
R2 is H
L1 is NR#, wherein R# is H
A is a 6 membered heteroaryl,
p is 0, and
Ra1 is
.
See also C169, C183, C185, C188, C227, C228 (pgs. 87, 95, 97, 98, 110, Original.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Regarding claim 37, Zhao teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising its compounds and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (claims, pg. 22 Translation).
Regarding claim 39, Zhao teaches a method of treating and/or preventing a disease mediated by EGFR by administering one of its compounds or the pharmaceutical composition thereof (claims, pg. 22, Translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 8-9, 27-28, 43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable WO 2021/036922 to Zhao (published 03/04/2021, IDS of 01/13/2025, and Translation, PTO-892).
Zhao is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 2, while Zhao teaches a compounds of instant claim 1, it differs from that of instant claim 2 in that it does not teach R6 as -NH-C(O)-CR=CR’R”.
Zhao teaches that its Z position:
(pg. 2, Original) can be substituted with R4, which corresponds to instant R6, wherein R4 is:
(pgs. 4, Translation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the methyl in
, with -NH-C(O)-CH=CH2 or -NH-C(O)-CH=C1-6alkyl, to arrive at instant claim 2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because 922 teaches that its R4 position can be a C1 alkyl or a -NHC(O)-C2-6alkenyl.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound; a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. ‘An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.’ In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979),” According to MPEP 2144.09(I). See also MPEP 2114.08.
Regarding claim 3,
is a compound of (II).
Regarding claim 4, while Zhao teaches
and
(pgs. 95, 97 Original), it differs from that of instant claim 4 in that it does not teach the instant R6 as -NH-C(O)-CR=CR’R”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the methyl in
or
, at the instant R6 position, with -NH-C(O)-CH=CH2 or -NH-C(O)-CH=C1-6alkyl, to arrive at instant claim 4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Zhao teaches that its R4 position, which is instant R6, can be a C1 alkyl or a -NHC(O)-C2-6alkenyl.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound; a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. ‘An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.’ In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979),” According to MPEP 2144.09(I). See also MPEP 2114.08.
Regarding claim 5, the modified compound of claim 4 meets the limitation of wherein “i).”
Regarding claim 8, the modified C186 compound of claim 4 teaches n is 3.
Regarding claim 9, the compound of claim 8 meets the limitation of wherein “i)”.
Regarding claim 43, Zhao teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising its compounds and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (claims, pg. 22 Translation).
Regarding claim 45, Zhao teaches a method of treating and/or preventing a disease mediated by EGFR by administering one of its compounds or the pharmaceutical composition thereof (claims, pg. 22, Translation).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 24-25, 27-28, 36-37, 39, and 43-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 20-23, 25-29, 31, and 33-34 of copending Application No. 17/637690 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Note: On 06/25/2026, a Notice of Allowance was mailed for this Application. Once the patent publishes, this provisional Double Patenting rejection will be converted to a non-provisional Double Patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, ‘690 claims:
(claims 8-9, 28), wherein ‘690 defines R4, which is instant R6, as Me or -NHC(O)CH=CH2 and
Y is C substituted by two RZ1, wherein RZ1 is H,
L1 is
L2 is a bond, CH2, or CH2CH2
m is 0-3
E is an alkyl group.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute the Me of (I-1-I’’’) with -NHC(O)CH=CH2, to arrive at the generic compound of instant claims 2-3, 27-28 since ‘690 teaches Me and -NHC(O)CH=CH2 as interchangeable at this position.
Alternatively, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to select -NHC(O)CH=CH2 as the R4 of (I-1-F), to arrive at the compound of instant claims 4-5, 8-9, 24-25, 36, since ‘690 teaches R4 as -NHC(O)CH=CH2.
Regarding claims 37, and 43-44 ‘690 claims compositions comprising its compounds and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (claim 29).
Regarding claims 39, and 45-46, ‘690 claims methods of treating diseases mediated by EGFR kinase by administering to a subject, the instantly claimed compounds (claims 31, 33-34).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Free of the Prior Art
Claims 24-25, 27-28, 31-32 and 36 are free of the prior art.
The closest prior art is WO 2021/036922 to Zhao (published 03/04/2021, IDS of 01/13/2025, and Translation, PTO-892).
Regarding claims 24-25, Zhao does not teach a compound wherein R6 is -NH-C(O)-CR=CR’R” or -NH-C(O)-C≡CR’, A is absent, and R3 is H.
Regarding claims 27-28, Zhao does not teach a compound wherein R6 is -NH-C(O)-CR=CR’R” or -NH-C(O)-C≡CR’ and A is absent.
Regarding claims 31-32, Zhao does not teach a compound wherein the instant Ra1 position is N(Rs)S(O)2CH3.
Regarding claim 36, Zhao does not teach the species of instant claim 36.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622