DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 9, line 10, this limitation is incomplete (“from the”,) . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 7, 14-16, 18-19, 23, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al (US 20210120513 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 20250071595 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 14-16, 18, Siomina et al discloses a baseband processor (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and baseband circuitry (the processing circuitry 42 may include a processor 44 and memory 46 ; paragraph 0076) coupled to the memory and, when executing the instructions, configured to (the host computer 24 comprises processing circuitry 42, which may have storage and processing capabilities; paragraph 0076-0077): receive (a wireless device is configured to receive a configuration of a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern; abstract, paragraph 0016) a first measurement gap configuration configuring a first measurement gap (receive from the network node first and second measurement gap patterns, and perform measurements according to the first and second measurement gap patterns; paragraph 0016-0017); receive (configure the WD with a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern; and receive an indication of a positioning measurement from the WD; paragraph 0025) a second measurement gap configuration configuring a second measurement gap (a wireless device is configured to receive from the network node first and second measurement gap patterns, and perform measurements according to the first and second measurement gap patterns; paragraph 0014, 0017, 0108-0109); determine (a WD 22 may be configured with a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) (gap pattern #0 or any from Table 1) and may be configured with a second measurement gap pattern (MGP2); paragraph 0118-0120) a measurement gap (MG) proximity between the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap (determine a measurement period of at least first measurements based on a first measurement gap configuration; and perform at least one operational task based on the first measurement gap configuration ; furthermore, the network node 16 may configure MGP2 and signal to the WD 22, based on the received information ; the network node 16 may further determine the measurement period of first measurements and the second measurements, based on the configured MGP2, and use this information for one or more operational tasks ; paragraph 0205-0206, 0210-0211) ; determine that the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap are overlapping (an amount of overlap between the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern and the at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern; paragraph 0014, 0017, 0092), and in response, select one of the first measurement gap or the second measurement gap for receiving reference signals (the WD 22 may select or determine the CE level based on the signal measurement results performed by the WD 22 ; the WD 22 may also determine the CE level with respect to a cell during the random access transmission procedure to that cell; for instance, the WD 22 may select the random access transmission resources; paragraph 0108, 0112, 0150).
However, Siomina et al, does not specifically disclose the features of evaluating the MG proximity with respect to a proximity condition, wherein the proximity condition defines a minimum time between measurement gaps; and in response to the MG proximity violating the proximity condition.
On the other hand, Chen et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of evaluating the MG proximity with respect to a proximity condition (the user equipment 110 (UE) performs measurements during two or more measurement gaps; the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs overlap or are too close in time; furthermore, the UE 110 may randomly assign priority to an MG when a conflict arises and then evaluate whether the priority assignment satisfies the SF assigned by the network; allocating priority to MGs based on a SF; the SF may be indicated on a per UE basis or on an FR basis ; paragraph 0002, 0008, 0035-0036), wherein the proximity condition defines a minimum time between measurement gaps (UE capability or type (the UE 110 determines whether an MG conflict exists, e.g., overlapping MGs or MGs too close in time; reduced capability UE, minimum required processing time ; the UE 110 performs the signal measurements for the conflict occasion based on the MG conflict resolution information in the MG configuration; paragraph 0031, 0038); and in response to the MG proximity violating the proximity condition (if the priority assignment violates the SF, e.g., the second MG was assigned priority more than once within a predefined window, the UE 110 may change the priority to the MG that does not violate the SF; paragraph 0035). Note that the UE 110 receives an MG configuration from the gNB 120A, where the MG configuration is transmitted via Radio Resource Control signaling between the gNB 120A and the UE 110. The MG configuration includes one or more MGs configured for the UE 110 to perform measurements on reference signals from neighbor cells and/or cells from a different RAT, e.g., synchronization signal block, channel state information reference signal, positioning reference signal. Furthermore, the MG configuration may include an MG conflict resolution which the UE 110 is configured to use if the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs partially or fully overlap or are too close in time. The engines may include an MG management engine 335 for performing operations including configuring MGs for the UE 110 and configuring an MG conflict resolution for when the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs overlap or are too close in time (paragraph 0029-0030, 0038). In addition, the MG conflict resolution includes an indication of which of the multiple configured MGs is a default MG. For example, if the gNB 120A configures the UE 110 with a first MG and a second MG, the MG configuration may include an indication that the first MG is the default MG. When the UE 110 determines that the first MG partially or fully overlaps with the second MG, the UE 110 will prioritize the first MG over the second MG (paragraph 0030-0031, 0050-0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Chen to the communication system of Siominia in order to provide a method for configuring multiple measurement gaps and performing signal measurements based on the MG configuration
Regarding claim 3, Siomina et al as modified discloses a baseband processor (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), wherein the baseband circuitry is configured to determine the margin period based on a frequency range in which reference signals measured by a UE during the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap are transmitted (determine the measurement period of first measurements and/or the second measurements, based on the configured MGP2, and use this information for one or more operational tasks; performing measurements M2 and entire part of MG1 certain time period T2 or T2 ‘ and then use MGP1 again ;the WD 22 selects to use MGP2 only during time T2 or T2 ; paragraph 0150, 0164).
Regarding claim 4, Siomina et al as modified discloses a baseband processor (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), wherein the baseband circuitry is configured to determine the proximity condition based on a length of the first measurement gap (second measurement gap pattern (MGP2) with a second measurement gap length (MGL2) can be configured for performing second measurements (M2) on a second type of signals (discovery signals, DRS2, used for doing positioning measurement such as RSTD on dense PRS configuration; paragraph 0013-0014) or the second measurement gap (measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern is larger than the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern; receiving the configuration of the second measurement gap pattern as a result of a request from the WD to perform reference signal time difference, RSTD, measurements; paragraph 0014, 0019, 0023).
Regarding claim 5, Siomina et al as modified discloses a baseband processor (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), wherein the baseband circuitry is configured to determine the proximity condition based on a type of satellite transmitting reference signals measured during the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap (receive a request from the WD to perform reference signal time difference, RSTD, measurements; and configure the WD with the second measurement gap pattern as a result of the request; receiving the indication of the positioning measurement from the WD, send a de-configuration message to the WD, the de-configuration message instructing the WD to stop using the second measurement gap pattern ; paragraph 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 6, Siomina et al as modified discloses a baseband processor (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), wherein the baseband circuitry is configured to receive a signal indicative of the proximity condition from a serving cell (determine measurement period for M2, the network node 16 may send a de-configuration message for MGP2 or instruct the WD 22 to stop using the MGP2; in addition, the WD 22 may also determine the CE level with respect to a cell (cell1, cell2, etc.) during the random access transmission procedure to that cell; the WD 22 may select the random access transmission resources (e.g. repetition level of random access; paragraph 0123, 0150, 0206-0207).
Regarding claim 7, Siomina et al as modified discloses a baseband processor (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), wherein the baseband circuitry is configured to receive a signal indicative of the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap overlapping from a serving cell (receive a configuration of a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern; and if at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern at least partially overlaps with at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern: discard the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern; and perform positioning measurements during at least one measurement period according to the second measurement gap pattern; measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern based on an amount of overlap between the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern and the at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern; a speed of the WD 22; a coverage enhancement level of a reference cell; a characteristic of reference signals used for measurements using the first measurement gap pattern and the second measurement gap pattern ; paragraph 0014, 0092, 0150).
Regarding claim 19, Siomina et al discloses a processor for a radio access network node(figs. 3-4, fig. 7), comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine (read as: determine a measurement period of at least first measurements based on a first measurement gap configuration; and perform at least one operational task based on the first measurement gap configuration ; furthermore, the network node 16 may configure MGP2 and signal to the WD 22, based on the received information ; paragraph 0205-0206, 0210-0211), wherein the proximity (read as: measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern is larger than the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern; receiving the configuration of the second measurement gap pattern as a result of a request from the WD to perform reference signal time difference, RSTD, measurements; paragraph 0014, 0019, 0023), wherein two measurement gaps separated by less than the minimum time are determined to be overlapping measurement gaps (a WD 22 may be configured with a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) (gap pattern #0 or any from Table 1) and may be configured with a second measurement gap pattern (MGP2); an amount of overlap between the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern and the at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern; paragraph 0014, 0017, 0092; paragraph 0118-0120); identify (the network node 16 may further determine the measurement period of first measurements and the second measurements, based on the configured MGP2, and use this information for one or more operational tasks ; paragraph 0205-0206, 0210-0211) a first measurement gap and a second measurement gap as overlapping measurement gaps (determine measurement period for M2, the network node 16 may send a de-configuration message for MGP2 or instruct the WD 22 to stop using the MGP2; in addition, the WD 22 may also determine the CE level with respect to a cell (cell1, cell2, etc.) during the random access transmission procedure to that cell; the WD 22 may select the random access transmission resources (e.g. repetition level of random access; paragraph 0123, 0150, 0206-0207); select one of the first measurement gap or the second measurement gap for use by a user equipment (the WD 22 may select or determine the CE level based on the signal measurement results performed by the WD 22 ; the WD 22 may also determine the CE level with respect to a cell during the random access transmission procedure to that cell; for instance, the WD 22 may select the random access transmission resources; paragraph 0108, 0112, 0150); and receive measurement results from the, wherein the measurement results are for a selected measurement gap of the selected first measurement gap or second measurement gap (receive a configuration of a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern; and if at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern at least partially overlaps with at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern: discard the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern; and perform positioning measurements during at least one measurement period according to the second measurement gap pattern; measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern based on an amount of overlap between the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern and the at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern; a speed of the WD 22; a coverage enhancement level of a reference cell; a characteristic of reference signals used for measurements using the first measurement gap pattern and the second measurement gap pattern ; paragraph 0014, 0092, 0150).
However, Siomina et al, does not specifically disclose the features of determining a proximity condition, wherein the proximity condition defines a minimum time between measurement gaps.
On the other hand, Chen et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of determine a proximity condition (the user equipment 110 (UE) performs measurements during two or more measurement gaps; the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs overlap or are too close in time; furthermore, the UE 110 may randomly assign priority to an MG when a conflict arises and then evaluate whether the priority assignment satisfies the SF assigned by the network; allocating priority to MGs based on a SF; the SF may be indicated on a per UE basis or on an FR basis ; paragraph 0002, 0008, 0035-0036), wherein the proximity condition defines a minimum time between measurement gaps (UE capability or type (the UE 110 determines whether an MG conflict exists, e.g., overlapping MGs or MGs too close in time; reduced capability UE, minimum required processing time ; the UE 110 performs the signal measurements for the conflict occasion based on the MG conflict resolution information in the MG configuration; paragraph 0031, 0038); note that if the priority assignment violates the SF, e.g., the second MG was assigned priority more than once within a predefined window, the UE 110 may change the priority to the MG that does not violate the SF; paragraph 0035). Note that the UE 110 receives an MG configuration from the gNB 120A, where the MG configuration is transmitted via Radio Resource Control signaling between the gNB 120A and the UE 110. The MG configuration includes one or more MGs configured for the UE 110 to perform measurements on reference signals from neighbor cells and/or cells from a different RAT, e.g., synchronization signal block, channel state information reference signal, positioning reference signal. Furthermore, the MG configuration may include an MG conflict resolution which the UE 110 is configured to use if the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs partially or fully overlap or are too close in time. The engines may include an MG management engine 335 for performing operations including configuring MGs for the UE 110 and configuring an MG conflict resolution for when the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs overlap or are too close in time (paragraph 0029-0030, 0038). In addition, the MG conflict resolution includes an indication of which of the multiple configured MGs is a default MG. For example, if the gNB 120A configures the UE 110 with a first MG and a second MG, the MG configuration may include an indication that the first MG is the default MG. When UE 110 determines that the first MG partially or fully overlaps with the second MG, the UE 110 will prioritize the first MG over the second MG (paragraph 0030-0031, 0050-0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Chen to the communication system of Siominia in order to provide a method for configuring multiple measurement gaps and performing signal measurements based on the MG configuration.
Regarding claims 23, 26, 27, Siomina et al discloses a user equipment (figs. 3-4, fig. 7), comprising: a radio frequency circuitry ; a memory; and one or more processors (the processing circuitry 42 may include a processor 44 and memory 46 ; paragraph 0076) coupled to the memory and, when executing the instructions, configured to (the host computer 24 comprises processing circuitry 42, which may have storage and processing capabilities; paragraph 0076-0077): receive (a wireless device is configured to receive a configuration of a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern; abstract, paragraph 0016) a first measurement gap configuration configuring a first measurement gap (receive from the network node first and second measurement gap patterns, and perform measurements according to the first and second measurement gap patterns; paragraph 0016-0017); receive (configure the WD with a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern; and receive an indication of a positioning measurement from the WD; paragraph 0025) a second measurement gap configuration configuring a second measurement gap (a wireless device is configured to receive from the network node first and second measurement gap patterns, and perform measurements according to the first and second measurement gap patterns; paragraph 0014, 0017, 0108-0109); determine (a WD 22 may be configured with a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) (gap pattern #0 or any from Table 1) and may be configured with a second measurement gap pattern (MGP2); paragraph 0118-0120) a measurement gap (MG) proximity between the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap (determine a measurement period of at least first measurements based on a first measurement gap configuration; and perform at least one operational task based on the first measurement gap configuration ; furthermore, the network node 16 may configure MGP2 and signal to the WD 22, based on the received information ; the network node 16 may further determine the measurement period of first measurements and the second measurements, based on the configured MGP2, and use this information for one or more operational tasks ; paragraph 0205-0206, 0210-0211) ; determine that the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap are overlapping (an amount of overlap between the at least one measurement gap within the first measurement gap pattern and the at least one measurement gap within the second measurement gap pattern; paragraph 0014, 0017, 0092), and in response, select one of the first measurement gap or the second measurement gap for receiving reference signals (the WD 22 may select or determine the CE level based on the signal measurement results performed by the WD 22 ; the WD 22 may also determine the CE level with respect to a cell during the random access transmission procedure to that cell; for instance, the WD 22 may select the random access transmission resources; paragraph 0108, 0112, 0150).
However, Siomina et al, does not specifically disclose the features of evaluating the MG proximity with respect to a proximity condition, wherein the proximity condition defines a minimum time between measurement gaps; and in response to the MG proximity violating the proximity condition.
On the other hand, Chen et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of evaluating the MG proximity with respect to a proximity condition (the user equipment 110 (UE) performs measurements during two or more measurement gaps; the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs overlap or are too close in time; furthermore, the UE 110 may randomly assign priority to an MG when a conflict arises and then evaluate whether the priority assignment satisfies the SF assigned by the network; allocating priority to MGs based on a SF; the SF may be indicated on a per UE basis or on an FR basis ; paragraph 0002, 0008, 0035-0036), wherein the proximity condition defines a minimum time between measurement gaps (UE capability or type (the UE 110 determines whether an MG conflict exists, e.g., overlapping MGs or MGs too close in time; reduced capability UE, minimum required processing time ; the UE 110 performs the signal measurements for the conflict occasion based on the MG conflict resolution information in the MG configuration; paragraph 0031, 0038); and in response to the MG proximity violating the proximity condition (if the priority assignment violates the SF, e.g., the second MG was assigned priority more than once within a predefined window, the UE 110 may change the priority to the MG that does not violate the SF; paragraph 0035). Note that the UE 110 receives an MG configuration from the gNB 120A, where the MG configuration is transmitted via Radio Resource Control signaling between the gNB 120A and the UE 110. The MG configuration includes one or more MGs configured for the UE 110 to perform measurements on reference signals from neighbor cells and/or cells from a different RAT, e.g., synchronization signal block, channel state information reference signal, positioning reference signal. Furthermore, the MG configuration may include an MG conflict resolution which the UE 110 is configured to use if the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs partially or fully overlap or are too close in time. The engines may include an MG management engine 335 for performing operations including configuring MGs for the UE 110 and configuring an MG conflict resolution for when the UE 110 determines that two or more MGs overlap or are too close in time (paragraph 0029-0030, 0038). In addition, the MG conflict resolution includes an indication of which of the multiple configured MGs is a default MG. For example, if the gNB 120A configures the UE 110 with a first MG and a second MG, the MG configuration may include an indication that the first MG is the default MG. When the UE 110 determines that the first MG partially or fully overlaps with the second MG, the UE 110 will prioritize the first MG over the second MG (paragraph 0030-0031, 0050-0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Chen to the communication system of Siominia in order to provide a method for configuring multiple measurement gaps and performing signal measurements based on the MG configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12, 13, 17, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641