DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on October 14, 2024 wherein claims 1-5 remain pending and ready for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication unit, reception unit, and control unit in claims 1-3 and communication unit, transmission unit, and control unit of claim 4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. More specifically, communication unit, reception unit, transmission unit, and control unit are interpreted to cover any combination of at least of hardware and software as described in specification paragraph 0095 (PGPub [129]).
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the term “assume” in the limitation “assum[ing] that … the cancellation indication for the uplink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers,” as recited in claims 1, 4, and 5, includes judging, calculating, computing, processing, deriving, investigating, searching (e.g., looking up or inquiring, such as searching in a table, database, or other data structure), ascertaining, receiving (e.g., receiving information), transmitting (e.g., transmitting information), inputting, outputting, accessing (e.g., accessing data in memory), resolving, selecting, choosing, establishing, comparing, expecting, considering, or the like, according to specification paragraph 0143 (PGPub [177]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5:
The limitation “in a case where the scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers”, as recited in claims 1, 4, and 5, renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the unit is required to include: (1) only some portions of the plurality of component carriers, as shown in Figs. 2–3, or (2) the plurality of component carriers in their entirety, as the claim language literally suggests. For purposes of examination, the latter interpretation is adopted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al. (US 20210329679 A1, hereafter Hosseini).
Regarding Claim 1, Hosseini discloses:
A terminal (Fig.12, 1200, scheduled entity, UE) comprising:
a communication unit (combination of UE’s hardware and software; See Fig.12 and corresponding descriptions) configured to perform uplink or downlink communication in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation ([0079] The DCI may include a set of information used to schedule a downlink data channel (e.g., physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) or an uplink data channel (e.g., a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)). [0180] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a hardware implementation of a scheduled entity 1200; [0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. [0187] … In some examples, the uplink channel may include two or more component carriers);
a reception unit (combination of UE’s hardware and software; See Fig.12 and corresponding descriptions) configured to receive a cancelation indication (uplink cancellation indication (ULCI)) for an uplink signal in downlink (DCI) ([0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel.); and
a control unit (combination of UE’s hardware and software; See Fig.12 and corresponding descriptions) configured to assume that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit (uplink channel) including a plurality of component carriers (two or more component carriers)) in the aggregated frequency band ([0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. [0187] … In some examples, the uplink channel may include two or more component carriers), the cancelation indication (ULCI) for the uplink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers (each serving cell, each of the set of component carriers) ([0081] The DCI format 2_4 message may provide a scheduled entity with a set of serving cells and a corresponding set of locations for fields in the DCI. As used in this context, a set of serving cells may be understood to mean a set of component carriers. The set of serving cells may identify a primary component carrier and one or more secondary component carriers. For each serving cell, each scheduled entity may be provided with the following cancellation indication (CI): [0082] NCI: a number of bits in the DCI; [0083] BCI: a number of RBs defining a frequency span of the ULCI; [0084] TCI: a number of OFDM symbols, excluding DL symbols, defining a time span of the ULCI; [0085] GCI: a number of OFDM symbol partitions within the TCI OFDM symbols; and [0086] NBI: a number of groups of RBs.) or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers.
Regarding Claim 2, Hosseini discloses:
wherein the control unit (combination of UE’s hardware and software; See Fig.12 and corresponding descriptions) is configured to determine a frequency resource area to be canceled for each of the plurality of component carriers ([0081] The DCI format 2_4 message may provide a scheduled entity with a set of serving cells and a corresponding set of locations for fields in the DCI. As used in this context, a set of serving cells may be understood to mean a set of component carriers. The set of serving cells may identify a primary component carrier and one or more secondary component carriers. For each serving cell, each scheduled entity may be provided with the following cancellation indication (CI): [0082] NCI: a number of bits in the DCI; [0083] BCI: a number of RBs defining a frequency span of the ULCI; [0084] TCI: a number of OFDM symbols, excluding DL symbols, defining a time span of the ULCI; [0085] GCI: a number of OFDM symbol partitions within the TCI OFDM symbols; and [0086] NBI: a number of groups of RBs.; See also Figs.5-7 and corresponding descriptions) or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers.
Regarding Claim 3, Hosseini discloses:
wherein the control unit (combination of UE’s hardware and software; See Fig.12 and corresponding descriptions) is configured to determine a time resource area to be canceled for each of the plurality of component carriers ([0081] The DCI format 2_4 message may provide a scheduled entity with a set of serving cells and a corresponding set of locations for fields in the DCI. As used in this context, a set of serving cells may be understood to mean a set of component carriers. The set of serving cells may identify a primary component carrier and one or more secondary component carriers. For each serving cell, each scheduled entity may be provided with the following cancellation indication (CI): [0082] NCI: a number of bits in the DCI; [0083] BCI: a number of RBs defining a frequency span of the ULCI; [0084] TCI: a number of OFDM symbols, excluding DL symbols, defining a time span of the ULCI; [0085] GCI: a number of OFDM symbol partitions within the TCI OFDM symbols; and [0086] NBI: a number of groups of RBs.; See also Figs.5-7 and corresponding descriptions) or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers.
Regarding Claim 4, Hosseini discloses:
A base station (Fig.8, 800, scheduling entity, base station) comprising:
a communication unit (combination of base station’s hardware and software; See Fig.8 and corresponding descriptions) configured to perform communication with a terminal (Fig.12, 1200, scheduled entity, UE) in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation ([0079] The DCI may include a set of information used to schedule a downlink data channel (e.g., physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) or an uplink data channel (e.g., a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)). [0180] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a hardware implementation of a scheduled entity 1200; [0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. [0187] … In some examples, the uplink channel may include two or more component carriers);
a transmission unit (combination of base station’s hardware and software; See Fig.8 and corresponding descriptions) configured to transmit a cancelation indication (uplink cancellation indication (ULCI)) for an uplink signal to the terminal ([0151] At block 904, the scheduling entity may transmit an uplink cancellation indication (ULCI), in a second DCI, to the group of scheduled entities identifying at least a portion of the allocated resources that are canceled for use as the uplink channel. For example, the ULCI may identify at least some resource blocks and OFDM symbols in the allocated resources that are canceled for use as the uplink channel. An example of the ULCI and the resource blocks and OFDM symbols recited may be found in FIG. 6 and its related text. For example, the ULCI circuitry 843, the transceiver 814, and the antenna 816 shown and described above in connection with FIG. 8 may provide a means to transmit the ULCI, in the second DCI, to the group of scheduled entities, identifying at least the portion of the allocated resources that are canceled for use as the uplink channel. [0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel.); and
a control unit (combination of base station’s hardware and software; See Fig.8 and corresponding descriptions) configured to assume that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit (uplink channel) including a plurality of component carriers (two or more component carriers)) in the aggregated frequency band ([0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. [0187] … In some examples, the uplink channel may include two or more component carriers), the cancelation indication (ULCI) for the uplink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers (each serving cell, each of the set of component carriers) ([0081] The DCI format 2_4 message may provide a scheduled entity with a set of serving cells and a corresponding set of locations for fields in the DCI. As used in this context, a set of serving cells may be understood to mean a set of component carriers. The set of serving cells may identify a primary component carrier and one or more secondary component carriers. For each serving cell, each scheduled entity may be provided with the following cancellation indication (CI): [0082] NCI: a number of bits in the DCI; [0083] BCI: a number of RBs defining a frequency span of the ULCI; [0084] TCI: a number of OFDM symbols, excluding DL symbols, defining a time span of the ULCI; [0085] GCI: a number of OFDM symbol partitions within the TCI OFDM symbols; and [0086] NBI: a number of groups of RBs.) or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers.
Regarding Claim 5, Hosseini discloses:
A communication method (Figs. 5-7, 9-11, 13-14) executed by a terminal (Fig.12, 1200, scheduled entity, UE), the method comprising steps of:
performing uplink or downlink communication in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation ([0079] The DCI may include a set of information used to schedule a downlink data channel (e.g., physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) or an uplink data channel (e.g., a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)). [0180] FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a hardware implementation of a scheduled entity 1200; [0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. [0187] … In some examples, the uplink channel may include two or more component carriers);
receiving a cancelation indication (uplink cancellation indication (ULCI)) for an uplink signal in downlink (DCI) ([0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel.); and
assuming that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit (uplink channel) including a plurality of component carriers (two or more component carriers)) in the aggregated frequency band ([0182] … In some examples, the communication and processing circuitry 1241 may also be configured to receive and process a message from the scheduling entity, such as a DCI allocating an uplink channel and a ULCI canceling at least a portion of the resources allocated for the uplink channel. [0187] … In some examples, the uplink channel may include two or more component carriers), the cancelation indication (ULCI) for the uplink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers (each serving cell, each of the set of component carriers) ([0081] The DCI format 2_4 message may provide a scheduled entity with a set of serving cells and a corresponding set of locations for fields in the DCI. As used in this context, a set of serving cells may be understood to mean a set of component carriers. The set of serving cells may identify a primary component carrier and one or more secondary component carriers. For each serving cell, each scheduled entity may be provided with the following cancellation indication (CI): [0082] NCI: a number of bits in the DCI; [0083] BCI: a number of RBs defining a frequency span of the ULCI; [0084] TCI: a number of OFDM symbols, excluding DL symbols, defining a time span of the ULCI; [0085] GCI: a number of OFDM symbol partitions within the TCI OFDM symbols; and [0086] NBI: a number of groups of RBs.) or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeda et al. (US 20210314924 A1) also discloses that scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band (See Figs.4-6 and corresponding descriptions).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418