DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
2. Applicant’s Reply filed August 07, 2006 (“08/07/26 Reply") has been entered, and fully considered.
3. In the 08/07/26 Reply, no claims were amended, cancelled (claims 3, 6, 8, 14, 15, 22-30, 36, & 37 were previously cancelled), or newly added.
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-13, 16-21, & 31-35 remain pending in the application.
5. The rejections under §§ 102 & 103 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/07/26 (“05/07/26 Action”) have been maintained. Applicant's arguments are addressed in detail below in the "RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS" section.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 102
I. § 102 Rejections based on Foerster
7. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0049450 to Foerster (“Foerster”).
8. Regarding claim 1, Foerster discloses a catheter assembly, comprising:
a delivery catheter [catheter (1a) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3] comprising a delivery catheter body [proximal shaft (3) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3] defining an inner lumen of the delivery catheter [through which tube (16) extends - see FIGS. 3, 4a, 8-10; ¶[0101]]; and
a working catheter [tube (16) - ¶[0081]; FIG. 3] comprising a modification device [distal heating assembly (4) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3] wherein:
the working catheter [(16)] extends through the inner lumen of the delivery catheter [(1a)] [see FIGS. 3, 8-10]; and
the working catheter [(16)] is selectively couplable with the delivery catheter [ribs (9) mate with rib relief (15) - see ¶[0066]; FIGS. 3, 5].
9. Regarding claim 2, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster further discloses wherein at least a portion of the working catheter [(16)] is more flexible than the delivery catheter [(1a)] [NOTE: as broadly as claimed, it is the Examiner’s position that tube (16) has a smaller diameter and is therefore “more flexible” than proximal shaft (3) of delivery catheter (1a)].
10. Regarding claim 4, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster further discloses wherein the working catheter [(16)] is advanceable through a blood vessel separately from the delivery catheter [(1a)] when the working catheter [(16)] is decoupled from the delivery catheter [(1a)] [clearly shown in, e.g., FIGS. 8-9 wherein tube (16) is separately advanceable into secondary vessel (22)].
11. Regarding claim 5, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster further discloses wherein the working catheter [(16)] further comprises a nesting site [broadly, rib relief (15) - ¶[0066]; FIGS. 3,5], wherein the nesting site [(15)] is configured to selectively couple with the delivery catheter [(1a)] [ribs (9) mate with rib relief (15) - see ¶[0066]; FIGS. 3, 5].
12. Regarding claim 7, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster further discloses wherein the delivery catheter [(1a)] further comprises a docking site [broadly, ribs (9) - ¶[0066]; FIG. 3], wherein the working catheter [(16)] is configured to selectively couple with the delivery catheter [(1a)] at the docking site [ribs (9) mate with rib relief (15) - see ¶[0066]; FIGS. 3, 5].
II. § 102 Rejections based on Ward
13. Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0184504 to Ward et al. (“Ward”).
14. Regarding claim 1, Ward discloses a catheter assembly, comprising:
a delivery catheter [outer sheath (228) - ¶[0024]; FIG. 2] comprising a delivery catheter body [body of sheath (228); FIG. 2] defining an inner lumen [lumen (226) - ¶[0024]; FIG. 2] of the delivery catheter [(228)]; and
a working catheter [shunt (100) - ¶[0020]; FIGS. 1-2] comprising a modification device [piercing end (108) - ¶[0024]; FIG. 2] wherein:
the working catheter [(100)] extends through the inner lumen [(226)] of the delivery catheter [(228)] clearly shown in FIG. 2]; and
the working catheter [(100)] is selectively couplable with the delivery catheter [NOTE: shunt (100) is selectively couplable to push rod (222) which can be integral with (and therefore considered part of) sheath (228) - see ¶[0024] (“a locking mechanism may be positioned about proximal end 230 of outer sheath 228 to secure or hold outer sheath 228 and push rod 222 together to ensure that there is no premature longitudinal movement of push rod 222 relative to outer sheath 228 prior to delivery system 220 being located at a treatment site”); see also ¶[0021] (“Attachment end 106 of shunt 100 has internal screw threads 111 for mating with external screw threads 523 of a push rod 222”); FIG. 2].
15. Regarding claim 5, Ward discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ward further discloses wherein the working catheter [(100)] further comprises a nesting site [at threads (111) - ¶’s [0021], [0033]; FIGS. 2, 3, 11], wherein the nesting site is configured to selectively couple with the delivery catheter [via engagement with threads (523) of push rod (222) - ¶’s [0021], [0033]].
16. Regarding claim 7, Ward discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ward further discloses wherein the delivery catheter [(228)] further comprises a docking site [threads (523) of push rod (222) - ¶’s [0021], [0033]], wherein the working catheter [(100)] is configured to selectively couple with the delivery catheter [(228)] at the docking site [via engagement with threads (111) of shunt (100)].
17. Regarding claim 11, Ward discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ward further discloses, wherein:
the working catheter [(100)] further comprises a nesting site including nesting threads [threads (111) - ¶’s [0021], [0033]; FIGS. 2, 3, 11]; and
the delivery catheter [(228)] further comprises a docking site including docking threads [threads (523) of push rod (222) - ¶’s [0021], [0033]], wherein:
the nesting site is configured to selectively threadedly couple with the docking site to couple the working catheter to the delivery catheter [¶’s [0021], [0033]].
18. Regarding claim 12, Ward discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ward further discloses wherein the modification device piercing end (108) - ¶[0024]; FIG. 2] is positioned within the inner lumen [(226)] of the delivery catheter [(228)] when the working catheter [(100)] is coupled with the delivery catheter [clearly shown in FIG. 2].
III. § 102 Rejections based on Gruber
19. Claims 1, 5, 7, 10, 12, 13, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0135053 to Gruber et al. (“Gruber”).
20. Regarding claim 1, Gruber discloses a catheter assembly, comprising:
a delivery catheter [outer sheath (47) - ¶[0040]; FIG. 2A] comprising a delivery catheter body [body of sheath (47)] defining an inner lumen of the delivery catheter [clearly shown in FIG. 2A]; and
a working catheter [device (11) which includes, inter alia, a hollow, outer member (13) having an open proximal end (17), an open distal end (19), and a side wall (21) - ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D] comprising a modification device [device (11) includes an inner member (15) adapted to induce scarring (see ¶[0038]); also, anchoring tines (23) are additionally considered a “modification device” since they are driven into the intima of the fallopian tube to anchor the device (see ¶[0037])] wherein:
the working catheter [(11)] extends through the inner lumen of the delivery catheter (47) [clearly shown in FIG. 2A]; and
the working catheter [(11)] is selectively couplable with the delivery catheter [NOTE: device (11) is selectively couplable to insertion rod (43) of sheath (47) - see ¶[0040] (“the distal end 41 of an insertion rod 43 is inserted distally into bore 35 of inner member 15, rod 43 being appropriately dimensioned to engage bore 35 by a friction-fit”), and (“rod 43 is pulled away from device 11, and the combination of rod 43 and sheath 47 is withdrawn from the patient”)].
21. Regarding claim 5, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses wherein the working catheter [(11)] further comprises a nesting site [bore (35) of inner member (15) of device (11) - ¶’s [0038] & [0040]], wherein the nesting site [(35)] is configured to selectively couple with the delivery catheter [with rod (43) of sheath (47) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 2A-2C].
22. Regarding claim 7, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses wherein the delivery catheter [(47)] further comprises a docking site [distal end of rod (43) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 2A-2D], wherein the working catheter [(11)] is configured to selectively couple with the delivery catheter at the docking site [see ¶[0040] (“the distal end 41 of an insertion rod 43 is inserted distally into bore 35 of inner member 15, rod 43 being appropriately dimensioned to engage bore 35 by a friction-fit”)].
23. Regarding claim 10, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses wherein:
the working catheter [(11)] further comprises a nesting site [bore (35) of inner member (15) of device (11) - ¶’s [0038] & [0040]]; and
the delivery catheter further comprises a docking site [distal end of rod (43) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 2A-2D], wherein:
the nesting site [(35)] is configured to form a friction fit with the docking site to couple the working catheter [(11)] to the delivery catheter [see ¶[0040] (“the distal end 41 of an insertion rod 43 is inserted distally into bore 35 of inner member 15, rod 43 being appropriately dimensioned to engage bore 35 by a friction-fit”)].
24. Regarding claim 12, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses wherein the modification device [(15)] is positioned within the inner lumen of the delivery catheter [(47)] when the working catheter [(11)] is coupled with the delivery catheter [clearly shown in FIG. 2A].
25. Regarding claim 13, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses wherein the working catheter [(11)] further comprises a working site [the distal end of outer member (13) having the tines (23) thereon - see FIG. 1A], wherein the modification device [tines (23)] is configured to radially extend away from the working catheter [(11)] at the working site [when outer member (13) expands radially - FIGS. 2C-2D].
26. Regarding claim 20, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses wherein the working catheter [(11)] further comprises an expandable cage [(13)] configured to bias the modification device [tines (23) - ¶[0037]; FIG. 2D]] against a first blood vessel wall [the device of Gruber is capable of performing the claimed function].
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
I. § 103 Rejections based on Foerster as the Primary Reference
29. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0157475 to Consigny et al. ("Consigny").
30. Regarding claim 18, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster does not, however, disclose:
wherein the working catheter further comprises one or more biasing rails, wherein:
the one or more biasing rails longitudinally extend along a length of the working catheter and are configured to radially arch away from a non-active side of the working catheter such that the one or more biasing rails are configured to bias the modification device against a first blood vessel wall.
Consigny, in a similar field of endeavor, relates to devices associated with the creation of, and/or the maturation of, an arteriovenous (AV) fistula [¶[0001]].
Consigny further teaches that it was known to use biasing rails [spacers made of a shape memory material such as nitinol wire - the number and position of which may vary] to maintain an inserted device in a desired position [e.g., ¶’s [0011], [0053], [0058]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Foerster to include one or more biasing rails, wherein: the one or more biasing rails longitudinally extend along a length of the working catheter and are configured to radially arch away from a non-active side of the working catheter such that the one or more biasing rails are configured to bias the modification device against a first blood vessel wall, so as to provide the benefit/advantage of maintaining the device of Foerster in a desired position during a procedure.
31. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0302935 to Miller et al. ("Miller").
32. Regarding claim 19, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster does not, however, disclose:
wherein the working catheter further comprises a balloon configured to bias the modification device against a first blood vessel wall.
Miller, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed to devices and methods for forming a fistula [e.g., ¶[0002]], and teaches that it was known to utilize one or more expandable elements including, e.g., a balloon, to help position a catheter within a blood vessel [e.g., ¶[0034]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Foerster such that the working catheter further comprises a balloon configured to bias the modification device against a first blood vessel wall, since such a modification would provide the benefit/advantage of helping to maintain the device of Foerster in a desired position during a procedure.
33. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0306959 to Kellerman et al. ("Kellerman").
34. Regarding claim 21, Foerster discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
As noted above, Foerster discloses that the modification device is a heater [distal heating assembly (4) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3].
Foerster does not, however, disclose:
wherein the modification device is an electrode, and the working catheter further comprises a lead wire electrically coupled to the electrode and positioned within a working catheter body, wherein the working catheter body comprises an insulative material.
Kellerman, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device for creating an arteriovenous (AV) fistula [Abstract] that is similarly configured to Foerster, and teaches that the modification device may comprises heating elements or electrodes [see, e.g., ¶[0035] (“Referring now particularly to the drawings, there is shown in FIG. 1 a bi-polar tapered tip catheter embodiment 10, which comprises an elongate outer tube 12 having … a central lumen 14, within which a tubular structure 16 for attaching a tip 18 may slide. There are separate lumina that run down the elongated core of the outer tube 12 for wiring to power electrodes or heating elements 20, 22 (proximal and distal, respectively), disposed on aligned tapered faces of the respective elongate outer tube 12 and distal tip 18, and to also measure the temperature during the coaptation and cutting processes. In this configuration, the catheter is powered using bipolar energy to the distal RF electrode 22 and the proximal RF electrode 20”)]. Though not explicit, Examiner notes that it would have been routine for a skilled artisan to have the body of working catheter (16) in Kellerman made of an insulative material so as to avoid creating an electrical short between electrodes (20, 22) which are connected via the body of catheter (16) [see FIG. 1 of Kellerman].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Foerster such that the modification device is an electrode, and the working catheter further comprises a lead wire electrically coupled to the electrode and positioned within a working catheter body, wherein the working catheter body comprises an insulative material, since such a modification amounts merely to the simple substitution of one known modification device (electrode) for another (heating device), as recognized by Kellerman, yielding predictable results [the use of energy to create an anastomosis] to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
35. Claims 31-35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster in view of Miller.
36. Regarding claim 31, Foerster teaches a system for forming a fistula between two blood vessels, comprising:
a first catheter assembly comprising:
a delivery catheter [catheter (1a) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3] comprising a delivery catheter body [proximal shaft (3) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3] defining an inner lumen of the delivery catheter [through which tube (16) extends - see FIGS. 3, 4a, 8-10; ¶[0101]]; and
a working catheter [tube (16) - ¶[0081]; FIG. 3] comprising a modification device [distal heating assembly (4) - ¶[0064]; FIG. 3] wherein:
the working catheter [(16)] extends through the inner lumen of the delivery catheter [(1a)] [see FIGS. 3, 8-10]; and
the working catheter [(16)] is selectively couplable with the delivery catheter [ribs (9) mate with rib relief (15) - see ¶[0066]; FIGS. 3, 5].
Foerster does not, however, teach:
a second catheter.
Miller, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed to devices and methods for forming a fistula [e.g., ¶[0002]], and teaches that it was known to utilize multiple catheters, which may or may not have the same configuration of elements as one another, during a procedure wherein a fistula is formed [see, e.g., ¶[0031] (“In other instances, a system comprising multiple catheters may be used to form a fistula. For example, in some instances a catheter may be placed in each of the two blood vessels. In these instances, it should be appreciated that each catheter may or may not have the same configuration of elements, and that some catheters may be different from and/or complementary to other catheters”)].
In one example, Miller teaches use of a second catheter for the introduction of one or more fluids or substances during a procedure [see ¶[0032] and [0033] (“may be used to pass… one or more drugs or fluids (e.g., contrast agents, perfusion fluids), combinations thereof, or the like at least partially along or through the catheter”)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Foerster to include a second catheter, since such a modification would allow for the delivery/introduction of beneficial or desired fluids/substances to a treatment site during a procedure, as explicitly taught by Miller.
37. Regarding claim 32, the combination of Foerster and Miller teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
As noted above, Miller further teaches wherein the first catheter assembly is configured to be positioned within a first blood vessel and the second catheter is configured to be positioned within a second blood vessel adjacent to the first blood vessel [Miller, ¶[0031]].
38. Regarding claim 33, the combination of Foerster and Miller teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Miller further teaches wherein the second catheter further comprises a recessed region defining an active site of the second catheter, the recessed region configured to receive the modification device of the working catheter [Miller, e.g., ¶[0081]].
39. Regarding claim 34, the combination of Foerster and Miller teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Miller further teaches wherein the second catheter comprises a second catheter body and one or more magnets arranged along the second catheter body [Miller, e.g., ¶’s [0104]-[0109]].
40. Regarding claim 35, the combination of Foerster and Miller teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Foerster further teaches wherein at least a portion of the working catheter [(16)] is more flexible than the delivery catheter [(1a)] [NOTE: as broadly as claimed, it is the Examiner’s position that tube (16) has a smaller diameter and is therefore “more flexible” than proximal shaft (3) of delivery catheter (1a)].
II. § 103 Rejections based on Gruber as the Primary Reference
41. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruber in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0264863 to Bloom ("Bloom").
42. Regarding claim 9, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
As noted above, Gruber discloses that the working catheter [(11)] further comprises a nesting site [bore (35) of inner member (15) of device (11) - ¶’s [0038] & [0040]], the delivery catheter further comprises a docking site [distal end of rod (43) - ¶[0040]; FIGS. 2A-2D], wherein: the nesting site [(35)] is configured to form a friction fit with the docking site to couple the working catheter [(11)] to the delivery catheter [see ¶[0040] (“the distal end 41 of an insertion rod 43 is inserted distally into bore 35 of inner member 15, rod 43 being appropriately dimensioned to engage bore 35 by a friction-fit”)].
In addition to the foregoing coupling configuration, Gruber further discloses that rod (43) may be detachably engaged with inner member (15) by other mechanisms [see ¶[0040]].
Gruber does not, however, disclose wherein:
the working catheter further comprises a nesting site including a nesting magnet; and
the delivery catheter further comprises a docking site including a docking magnet, wherein:
the nesting magnet is configured to selectively magnetically couple with the docking magnet to couple the working catheter to the delivery catheter.
Bloom, in a similar field of endeavor, relates to catheter delivery systems with articulating tips [¶[0031]], and teaches that it was known to selectively couple two components of an articulating tip assembly to one another via magnets [see, e.g., ¶’s [0032], [0033], [0035] (“In the embodiment depicted in FIG. 3, the wedge shaped proximal ring 311 is made from a magnet, or magnetized material, and at least a portion of the distal ring 307 of tip 305 is made from material that is attracted to the magnet. In other embodiments, the distal ring can be made from a magnet and the proximal ring is made from material that is attracted to magnets. In at least one embodiment, both the distal ring and the proximal ring are made from magnets. The size of the magnet depends on factors such as, but not limited to, the diameter of the ring, the material composing the magnet, the size of the catheter, the desired amount of attractive force between the rings and the particular application for which the catheter is being used”); & [0040]; FIG. 3].
In view of Gruber’s explicit disclosure that rod (43) may be detachably engaged with inner member (15) by other mechanisms [¶[0040]], it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gruber to utilize/implement a known, art-recognized configuration for selectively coupling articulating components of a catheter assembly to one another, including wherein: the working catheter further comprises a nesting site including a nesting magnet; and the delivery catheter further comprises a docking site including a docking magnet, wherein: the nesting magnet is configured to selectively magnetically couple with the docking magnet to couple the working catheter to the delivery catheter, since such a modification amounts merely to the simple substitution of one known coupling configuration for another, yielding predictable results [selective coupling of articulating components of a catheter assembly to one another] to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
43. Claims 16 &17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruber in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0097470 to Gruber et al. ("Gruber ‘470").
44. Regarding claims 16 & 17, Gruber discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Gruber further discloses:
[claims 16 & 17] wherein the working catheter [(11)] further comprises:
a working site [the distal end of outer member (13) having the tines (23) thereon - see FIG. 1A], wherein the modification device [tines (23)] is configured to radially extend away from the working catheter [(11)] at the working site [when outer member (13) expands radially - FIGS. 2C-2D].
Gruber does not, however, disclose:
[claim 16] one or more arrays of magnets longitudinally positioned along the working catheter relative to the working site, nor
[claim 17] one or more magnets positioned within the working site of the working catheter
Gruber ‘470, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it was known to provide magnets at the distal, working end of a catheter to allow for the distal portion of the catheter to be manipulated by one or more clinician-controllable magnetic fields for positioning [e.g., ¶’s [0156]-[0157]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gruber to include one or more arrays of magnets longitudinally positioned along the working catheter relative to the working site, and/or one or more magnets positioned within the working site of the working catheter, so as to enable manipulation of the distal portion of the catheter by one or more clinician-controllable magnetic fields for aiding in positioning of the device.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
45. As noted above, the rejections under §§ 102 & 103 previously set forth in the 05/07/26 Action have been maintained.
46. Applicant's arguments are addressed below.
47. FOERSTER - REJECTIONS UNDER §§ 102 & 103
48. Claim 1 (§ 102)
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that “Foerster's center shaft/tube 16 is an internal shaft of the same device used to move the distal tip relative to the proximal base; it is not a separate working catheter that itself comprises the modification device and is selectively couplable with a delivery catheter as required by claim 1.” This argument is not persuasive. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. In the instant case, Applicant’s Specification sets forth no apparent special definition of “catheter.” As such, the plain meaning of the term “catheter” means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time, which is “a tubular medical device for insertion into canals, vessels, passageways, or body cavities for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes (as to permit injection or withdrawal of fluids or to keep a passage open)” [see www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/catheter]. The center shaft/tube (16) of Foerster, which includes the distal heating assembly (4), satisfies this definition.
Applicant further argues that “Foerster describes ribs 9 as part of embedded heater 12, with ribs 9 moving into rib relief 15 on heat spreader 24 to cut tissue prior to welding. That disclosure concerns interaction between heating/cutting surfaces during tissue cutting and welding. It does not disclose selective coupling between a working catheter and a delivery catheter.” This argument is likewise without merit. Claim 1 only broadly requires that “the working catheter is selectively couplable with the delivery catheter.” The claim sets forth no limitations concerning the type of coupling, the structure required for coupling, nor the circumstances under which the two components are “selectively coupled.” With reference to annotated FIG. 5 of Foerster (provided below), Foerster clearly discloses that working catheter is “selectively couplable” with the delivery catheter when the ribs (9) of the proximal base (10) of the delivery catheter are received in rib relief (15) of the modification device (4) of the working catheter (16). For the foregoing reasons, the rejection of claim 1 under § 102 is maintained.
Annotated FIG. 5 of Foerster
49. Claim 2 (§ 102)
Applicant’s argument concerning claim 2 is not persuasive. The “technical reasoning” underlying the rejection is that, because the device of Foerster is flexible and is introduced, advanceable, and operable in flexible body conduits (blood vessels such as, e.g., arteries and veins), a first flexible component [(16)] of the flexible device having a smaller diameter than a second flexible component [proximal shaft (3) of delivery catheter (1a)] of the flexible device would be “more flexible” than the second flexible component. It is further noted that Foerster discloses that the proximal base and shaft may be made of the same material [e.g., ¶[0099]].
50. Claim 4 (§ 102)
Applicant’s argument that Foerster fails to disclose the working catheter (16) being advanceable separately from the delivery catheter (1a) is not persuasive. FIG. 9 of Foerster was cited (in the rejection) as it shows tube (16) and its distal heating assembly (4) in an advanced/extended position vis-à-vis the distal end of catheter (1a). Foerster is replete with further teachings concerning the ability of tube (16) to be separately advanceable through a blood vessel separate from delivery catheter (1a) [see, e.g., Abstract (“a proximal base having a distal diagonal end surface and a distal tip connected to the proximal base and movable relative to the proximal base”); ¶[0014] (“A shaft is provided for connecting the distal tip to the proximal base, the shaft being extendable and retractable to extend and retract the distal tip relative to the proximal base”); ¶[0101] (“The center shaft 16 connects the distal tip 5 to the proximal base 10, and is typically fixedly attached at its distal end to the distal tip 5, and slidably attached at its proximal end to the proximal base 10, so that the shaft 16 can slide within a center lumen 52 in the proximal base 10 (see FIG. 4a), in order to permit the distal tip to move axially relative to the proximal base”)]. Foerster clearly possesses the claimed structure.
51. Claim 18 (§ 103: Foerster/Consigny)
Applicant’s arguments concerning the modification of Foerster to utilize the spacers of Consigny are not persuasive. Consigny teaches the use of biasing rails [spacers made of a shape memory material such as nitinol wire - the number and position of which may vary] to maintain an inserted device in a desired position [e.g., ¶’s [0011], [0053], [0058]]. Nowhere does the rejection assert that the biasing rails should be used in the same manner as Consigny (to center a body in a lumen). Rather, the stated motivation concerns the straightforward benefit/advantage of helping maintain the device of Foerster in a desired position during a procedure. Therefore, the rejection is maintained. While not necessary for the rejection, Examiner notes that such an implementation would be beneficial when, for instance, the distal tip of Foerster mismatches with the proximal base as a result of pressure applied during a procedure [Foerster, ¶[0102]].
52. Claim 19 (§ 103: Foerster/Miller)
Applicant raises a similar argument (as that of claim 18 above) concerning the modification of Foerster to utilize an expandable balloon (such as that of Miller) to bias the modification device against a first blood vessel wall. Using an expandable balloon to provide the benefit/advantage of helping to maintain the device of Foerster in a desired position during a procedure satisfies the claim limitation, as the addition of the balloon (perhaops for a different purpose) would nonetheless render the device of Foerster/Miller capable of performing the claimed function.
53. Claim 21 (§ 103: Foerster/Kellerman)
Applicant argues that the rejection of claim 21, which is based on a straightforward substitution of known, art-recognized heating modalities (bipolar RF energy for resistive heating) [see Kellerman, e.g., ¶[0013]] is improper. This argument is not persuasive. The “simple substitution” rationale underlying the rejection is an example of a rationale specifically identified by the Supreme Court in KSR, which is based on the substitution of known components, for one another, yielding predictable results.
Applicant additionally takes issue with Examiner’s finding that it would have been routine for a skilled artisan to have the body of working catheter (16) in Kellerman made of an insulative material so as to avoid creating an electrical short between electrodes (20, 22) which are connected via the body of catheter (16) [see FIG. 1 of Kellerman]. Examine notes that "[a] person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Office personnel may… take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. In the instant case, it would have been straightforward for a skilled artisan to not connect two bipolar electrodes to one another with a conductive member. Nonetheless, is response to Applicant’s request that the Examiner provide documentary evidence supporting the asserted routineness of an insulative working catheter body, Examiner notes ¶[0099] of Foerster which lists insulative materials (e.g., polyimide) for the shaft [see ¶’s [0098]-[0099]].
54. Claims 31-35 (§ 103: Foerster/Miller)
Regarding claim 31’s broad recitation of a “second catheter,” and the modification of Foerster to include a second catheter (as taught by Miller), Applicant argues that “Miller's generic disclosure of multiple catheters and fluid delivery does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would have modified Foerster's catheter/heating-assembly structure into the claimed delivery-catheter/working-catheter arrangement, or why adding a separate Miller catheter for fluid delivery would improve Foerster in the claimed manner.” This argument is without merit as the rejection sets forth a clear basis for the modification. Again, Miller is directed to devices and methods for forming a fistula [e.g., ¶[0002]], and teaches that it was known to utilize multiple catheters, which may or may not have the same configuration of elements as one another, during a procedure wherein a fistula is formed [see, e.g., ¶[0031] (“In other instances, a system comprising multiple catheters may be used to form a fistula. For example, in some instances a catheter may be placed in each of the two blood vessels. In these instances, it should be appreciated that each catheter may or may not have the same configuration of elements, and that some catheters may be different from and/or complementary to other catheters”)]. In one example, Miller teaches use of a second catheter for the introduction of one or more fluids or substances during a procedure [see ¶[0032] and [0033] (“may be used to pass… one or more drugs or fluids (e.g., contrast agents, perfusion fluids), combinations thereof, or the like at least partially along or through the catheter”)]. As such, modification of Foerster to include a second catheter would allow for the delivery/introduction of beneficial or desired fluids/substances to a treatment site during a procedure, as explicitly taught by Miller.
55. WARD - REJECTIONS UNDER § 102
56. Claim 1 (§ 102)
Applicant argues that the rejection of independent claim 1 under § 102 based on Ward is improper in part because shunt (100) is not a “working catheter.” Examiner disagrees given the plain and ordinary meaning of “catheter” set forth above in the discussion of Foerster [see ¶49 of this Action (above)]. Shunt (100) comprises a tubular medical device for insertion into canals, vessels, passageways, or body cavities for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes [i.e., shunt (100) comprises a resilient hollow tube (102) that is inserted into the body, and it defines a fluid passageway [e.g., ¶’s [0020]-[0021]].
Applicant further argues against the interpretation (in the rejection) that the working catheter (100) is selectively couplable with the delivery catheter (228) because shunt (100) is selectively couplable to push rod (222) which can be integral with (and therefore considered part of) sheath (228) - see ¶[0024] (“a locking mechanism may be positioned about proximal end 230 of outer sheath 228 to secure or hold outer sheath 228 and push rod 222 together to ensure that there is no premature longitudinal movement of push rod 222 relative to outer sheath 228 prior to delivery system 220 being located at a treatment site”); see also ¶[0021] (“Attachment end 106 of shunt 100 has internal screw threads 111 for mating with external screw threads 523 of a push rod 222”); FIG. 2]. Applicant also argues that the “[t]he locking mechanism quoted in the rejection is expressly a temporary measure.”
Applicant is improperly reading limitations into the claim. Nothing in the claim requires that the selective coupling between the working catheter and delivery catheter be for a certain time period, or a certain number of uses, or be devoid of any intermediate structure(s). In other words, nothing precludes the interpretation set forth in the body of the rejection given the breadth of the current claim language. As such, Ward anticipates independent claim 1 as broadly as currently claimed.
57. GRUBER - REJECTIONS UNDER §§ 102 & 103
58. Claim 1 (§ 102)
Concerning the rejection of independent claim 1 based on Gruber, Applicant raises arguments similar to Ward (addressed above), namely, that the relied-upon components do not comprise “catheters,” and because an intermediate structure [insertion rod (43)] is used as a part of the “selective coupling.” These arguments are likewise not persuasive for the same reasons noted above in the discussion of Ward. Particularly, given the current breadth of the claim language, nothing precludes the interpretations set forth in the body of the rejection.
59. Claim 20 (§ 102)
Applicant’s argument concerning the rejection of claim 20 is not persuasive. As noted in the body of the rejection, the device of Gruber is capable of performing the claimed function. Claim 20 is an apparatus claim. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
60. Claim 9 (§ 103: Gruber/Bloom)
Applicant’s arguments concerning the modification of Gruber to implement the magnetic coupling of Bloom are not persuasive. As noted in the body of the rejection, Gruber explicitly contemplates that rod (43) may be detachably engaged with inner member (15) by other mechanisms [¶[0040]]. Bloom, which relates to catheter delivery systems with articulating tips [¶[0031]], teaches that it was known to selectively couple two components of an articulating tip assembly to one another via magnets [see, e.g., ¶’s [0032], [0033], [0035]]. As such, modifying Gruber to utilize a known coupling configuration to couple the working catheter to the delivery catheter, amounts merely to the simple substitution of one known coupling configuration for another, yielding predictable results [selective coupling of articulating components of a catheter assembly to one another] to one of ordinary skill in the art.
61. Claims 16 & 17 (§ 103: Gruber/Gruber ‘470)
Applicant’s arguments concerning the modification of Gruber to include the magnetic arrays of Gruber ‘470 are not persuasive. The stated motivation for the combination concerns the benefit/advantage of enabling manipulation of the distal portion of the catheter by one or more clinician-controllable magnetic fields for aiding in positioning of the device.
CONCLUSION
62. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time
policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Joanne M. Rodden, can be reached at telephone number 303-297-4276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BRADFORD C. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794