DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to Application No. 18/856,790 filed on 11/14/2024. Claims 1-7 are presented for examination and are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Independent claim 1 is directed to a system and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1 recites the following abstract ideas:
leads the non-abelian anyon included in the quantum bit to each of the plurality of waveguides having different branched lengths (Mental process directed to leading the non-abelian anyon included in the quantum bit to each of the plurality of waveguides which can be done by observing the non-abelian anyon and making a judgement on leading the non-abelian anyon in the quantum bit to waveguides of different branched lengths); and
generating a delay amount in at least the part of the non-abelian anyons (Mental process directed to generating a delay amount which can be done by observing the non-abelian anyons and making a judgement on the delay amount that will be generated)
measures the quantum bits subjected to the braiding operation (Mental process directed to measuring the quantum bits subjected to the braiding operation which can be done by observing the quantum bits and making a judgement on the measurement of the quantum bit).
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
a topological quantum operation system comprising: an anyon generation unit that generates a quantum bit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h));
a quantum gate operation unit that is connected to an output of the anyon generation unit, executes a braiding operation on at least a part of non-abelian anyons constituting the quantum bit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)),
wherein: the quantum gate operation unit includes a plurality of waveguides having different branched lengths, and a switch that (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h))
the quantum gate operation unit executes the braiding operation by (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
a measurement unit that is connected to an output of the quantum gate operation unit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)) and
Step 2B
a topological quantum operation system comprising: an anyon generation unit that generates a quantum bit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h));
a quantum gate operation unit that is connected to an output of the anyon generation unit, executes a braiding operation on at least a part of non-abelian anyons constituting the quantum bit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)),
wherein: the quantum gate operation unit includes a plurality of waveguides having different branched lengths, and a switch that (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h))
the quantum gate operation unit executes the braiding operation by generating a delay amount in at least the part of the non-abelian anyons (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
a measurement unit that is connected to an output of the quantum gate operation unit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)) and
4. Dependent claim 2 is directed to a system and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 2 recites the following abstract ideas:
a delay path for generating the delay amount (Mental process directed to generating a delay amount which can be done by observing the delay path and making a judgement on the amount of delay generated).
Claim 2 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the quantum gate operation unit further comprises a variable beam splitter that transmits only a specific non-abelian anyon (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
Claim 2 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the quantum gate operation unit further comprises a variable beam splitter that transmits only a specific non-abelian anyon (This limitation is directed to to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
5. Dependent claim 3 is directed to a system and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 3 recites the following abstract ideas:
a mechanism that corrects a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons caused by the braiding operation (Mental process directed to correcting a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons which can be done by observing the non-abelian anyons and making a judgement of correcting the disturbance).
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the quantum gate operation unit further (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)) comprises
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the quantum gate operation unit further (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)) comprises
6. Dependent claim 4 is directed to a system and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 4 recites the following abstract ideas:
corrects a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons generated by the braiding operation (Mental process directed to correcting a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons which can be done by observing the non-abelian anyons and making a judgement of correcting the disturbance).
Claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
a waveguide that the quantum bit is guided forms a loop memory (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
the quantum gate operation unit (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)) further comprises:
a first operation unit that performs the braiding operation in a clockwise direction (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h));
a second operation unit that performs the braiding operation in a counterclockwise direction (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
a third operation unit wherein the third operation unit (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h))
Claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
a waveguide that the quantum bit is guided forms a loop memory (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
the quantum gate operation unit (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)) further comprises:
a first operation unit that performs the braiding operation in a clockwise direction (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h));
a second operation unit that performs the braiding operation in a counterclockwise direction (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
a third operation unit wherein the third operation unit (This is limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h))
7. Independent claim 5 is directed to a method and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 5 recites the following abstract ideas:
guiding the generated quantum bits … to lead the non-abelian anyons to each of a plurality of branched waveguides (Mental process directed to guiding the quantum bits to lead the non-abelian anyons to each of a plurality of branched waveguides. This can be done by observing the quantum bits and making a judgment on leading the non-abelian anyons to the branched waveguides);
generating, in at least a part of the plurality of branched waveguides, a delay amount with respect to the non-abelian anyons to be guided (Mental process directed to generating a delay amount which can be done by observing the non-abelian anyons and making a judgement on the delay amount that will be generated);
leading the plurality of non-abelian anyons that have been guided to the plurality of branched waveguides into one waveguide again to obtain a new quantum bit (Mental process directed leading the non-abelian anyons to the branched waveguides. This can be done by observing the non-abelian anyons and making a judgment on leading the non-abelian anyons to the branched waveguides to obtain a quantum bit); and
measuring the new quantum bit (Mental process directed to measuring the quantum bit which can be done by observing the new quantum bit and making a judgement on the measurement of the new quantum bit).
Claim 5 recites the following additional elements:
generating a quantum bit including a plurality of non-abelian anyons (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h));
to a quantum gate operation unit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim 5 recites the following additional elements:
generating a quantum bit including a plurality of non-abelian anyons (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h));
to a quantum gate operation unit (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
8. Dependent claim 6 is directed to a method and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 6 recite the following abstract ideas:
further comprising correcting a disturbance of an interval between the plurality of non-abelian anyons after generating the delay amount (Mental process directed to correcting a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons which can be done by observing the non-abelian anyons and making a judgement of correcting the disturbance).
Claim 6 do not recite any additional elements.
9. Dependent claim 7 is directed to a method and falls into one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 7 do not recite any abstract ideas.
Claim 7 recites the following additional elements:
generating the delay amount comprises: a clockwise braiding operation (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
a counterclockwise braiding operation (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h)), and
the topological quantum operation method is repeatedly executed until all target quantum gate operations are completed (This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. This limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 7 recites the following additional elements:
generating the delay amount comprises: a clockwise braiding operation (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)); and
a counterclockwise braiding operation (This limitation is directed to generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(h)), and
the topological quantum operation method is repeatedly executed until all target quantum gate operations are completed (This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. This does not amount to significantly more than judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. ("Quantum topological photonics." Advanced Optical Materials 9.15 (2021): 2001739). in view of Matthews et al. ("Observing fermionic statistics with photons in arbitrary processes." Scientific reports 3.1 (2013): 1539).
Regarding claim 1, Yan teaches a topological quantum operation system (quantum topological photonics is intended to realize robust quantum entanglement and prevent decoherence to allow these structures to be applied in quantum information processing and complex quantum computing, pg. 7 of 29, left col., second to the last para.) comprising:
an anyon generation unit (ground state created pairs of anyons (pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para.); The ground state in this circuit was prepared and m anyons were created, as shown in Figure 9b m anyons represent a type of anyon, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para. The Examiner notes the ground state is an anyon generation unit) that generates a quantum bit (These operations, including the braiding operation, the creation, and the annihilation operation were realized using a combination of single qubit gates, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para.);
a quantum gate operation unit that is connected to an output of the anyon generation unit (Then, braiding operations were applied at the ground state because the ground state created pairs of anyons, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para. The Examiner notes that braiding operations (performed in quantum gate operation unit) is connected to a ground state as anyon generation unit),
executes a braiding operation on at least a part of … anyons constituting the quantum bit (When using a superconducting circuit, anyonic braiding statistics have a topological property that is error-tolerant, pg. 17 of 29, right col., first para.),
wherein: the quantum gate operation unit includes a plurality of waveguides having different branched lengths (varying the coupling length, the waveguide
widths, the distances between the waveguides (pg. 18 of 29, right col., last para.)), and
a switch (Two entangled photons with orthogonal polarizations are generated and injected into a polarizing beam splitter (PBS) to split the two photons. Both photons pass through a half-wave plate (HWP) and a unitary operator is applied to one of the photons, Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29. The Examiner notes half-wave plate switches the polarization state of light by altering its phase delay using an applied voltage) that leads the … anyon included in the quantum bit to each of the plurality of waveguides having different branched lengths (varying the coupling length, the waveguide widths, the distances between the waveguides, pg. 18 of 29, right col., last para.); and
the quantum gate operation unit executes the braiding operation by generating a delay amount in at least the part of the … anyons (In addition, the 2D topological photonics in an optical delay line is another popular artificial structure that is also used for entangled quantum generation and beam splitters, pg. 24 of 29, left col., second to the last para.); and
a measurement unit that is connected to an output of the quantum gate operation unit and measures the quantum bits (Figure 9. a) Schematic of light path used to measure the fractional topological phase of the qudit states (pg. pg. 16 of 29); A qudit is defined as a quantum state in the d-dimensional system, following from the definition of the qubit in two dimensions, pg. 16 of 29, left col., last sentence. The Examiner notes a qudit with d=2 is a qubit) subjected to the braiding operation (These operations, including the braiding operation, the creation, and the annihilation operation were realized using a combination of single qubit gates, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para.).
Yan teaches anyons but does not explicitly teach non-abelian anyons.
Matthews teaches a topological quantum operation system (a novel method to study fractional quantum interference phenomena, pg. 5, right col., second para.)
comprising: an anyon generation unit that generates a quantum bit (To see this we define without loss of generality the input labels by j< k and the output labels by r < q and consider two identical anyons created at modes j and k, transformed according to A and detected at modes r and q, pg. 2, right col., first para.)
a quantum gate operation unit (Figure 1 a) Quantum interference of N identical particles with arbitrary statistics launched into a network described by matrix A, pg. 2, Fig. 1. The Examiner notes A: MxM mode transform in Fig. 1(a) is the quantum gate operation unit) that is connected to an output (A maps the anyon at j to mode r and the anyon at k to mode q with amplitude Ar,j Aq,k; or A maps the anyon at j to mode q and the anyon at k to mode r via ω clockwise braids with fractional phase Φ and amplitude Aq,jAr,k, pg. 2, right col., first para.) of the anyon generation unit (particles confined to two dimensions known as anyons (pg. 1, left col., first para.); N-particle input generated by the anyon generation unit in Figure 1(a) is the output of the anyon generated unit),
executes a braiding operation on at least a part of non-abelian anyons constituting the quantum bit (By defining fractional exchange algebra (1–3) for 0 < θ < π and some integer winding number v, we can observe the effect of fractional exchange statistics on quantum interference between two indistinguishable anyons undergoing braiding operations dependent upon A; Eq. (4) represents the resulting quantum interference between two abelian anyons (0 < θ < π) in superposition of braiding ω times and not braiding at all, pg. 2, right col., first para.),
wherein: the quantum gate operation unit (Figure 1 (a) Quantum interference of N identical particles with arbitrary statistics launched into a network described by matrix A, pg. 2, Figure 1. The Examiner notes A: MxM mode transform in Figure 1(a) is the quantum gate operation unit) includes a plurality of waveguides having different branched lengths (We measured two sets of correlation matrices for two different inputs: immediate neighbouring waveguides in the centre of the array (j, k) = (-1, 0) (Fig. 3); and next but one neighbouring waveguides (j, k) = (-1, 1), with vacuum input in waveguide 0 (Fig. 4), pg. 3, left col., last para.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yan to incorporate the teachings of Matthews for the benefit of an approach can be used in the context of topological fault tolerant quantum computation with photons (Matthews, pg. 6, left col., first para.)
Regarding claim 2, Yan and Matthews teach the topological quantum operation system according to claim 1, Yan teaches wherein the quantum gate operation unit further comprises: a variable beam splitter that transmits only a specific … anyon (Two entangled photons with orthogonal polarizations are generated and injected into a polarizing beam splitter (PBS) to split the two photons. Both photons pass through a half-wave plate (HWP) and a unitary operator is applied to one of the photons, Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29); and
a delay path for generating the delay amount (In addition, the 2D topological photonics in an optical delay line is another popular artificial structure that is also used for entangled quantum generation and beam splitters, pg. 24 of 29, left col., second to the last para.).
Matthews teaches non-abelion anyon (Eq. (4) represents the resulting quantum interference between two abelian anyons (0 < θ < π) in superposition of braiding ω times and not braiding at all, pg. 2, right col., first para.)
The same motivation to combine independent claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 3, Yan and Matthews teach the topological quantum operation system according to claim 1, Yan teaches wherein the quantum gate operation unit further comprises a mechanism (Topological photonics paves the way to the scalability of quantum sources, owing to its properties of anti-disturbance, robustness, and low loss, which can help keep the qubits in a coherent state as the number of qubits increases and prevent them from being affected by exponentially increased losses, pg. 12 of 29, left col., first para.) that corrects a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons caused by the braiding operation (Quantum error correction is used to reduce the noise in quantum systems, pg. 17 of 29, left col., second para.).
Regarding claim 4, Yan and Matthews teach the topological quantum operation system according to claim 1, Yan teaches wherein: a waveguide (A directional coupler consists of two coupled waveguides that have input and output ports on their ends, pg. 18 of 29, left col., last para.) that the quantum bit is guided forms a loop memory (The paths of the anyon pair are loops 2, and 3. Different loops are used to measure the different phases after the anyons are annihilated (, pg. 17of 29, right col., first para); These operations, including the braiding operation… were realized using a combination of single qubit gates, pg. 17of 29, right col., first para.); and
the quantum gate operation unit (Fig. 9 … m anyons are moving around three loops, pg. 16 of 29) further comprises:
a first operation unit that performs the braiding operation in a clockwise direction (loop 3 performs braiding operation in clockwise direction, Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29);
a second operation unit that performs the braiding operation in a counterclockwise direction (loop 2 performs braiding operation in counterclockwise direction, Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29); and
a third operation unit wherein the third operation unit corrects a disturbance of an interval of the non-abelian anyons generated by the braiding operation (The topological cluster-state error correction process is based on the connections between the units, pg. 17of 29, left col., second para.).
Regarding claim 5, Yan teaches a topological quantum operation method (quantum topological photonics is intended to realize robust quantum entanglement and prevent decoherence to allow these structures to be applied in quantum information processing and complex quantum computing, pg. 7 of 29, left col., second to the last para.) comprising:
generating a quantum bit including a plurality of … anyons (These operations, including the braiding operation, the creation, and the annihilation operation were realized using a combination of single qubit gates, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para.; The ground state in this circuit was prepared and m anyons were created, as shown in Figure 9b m anyons represent a type of anyon, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para.);
guiding the generated quantum bits to a quantum gate operation unit (the annihilation operation were realized using a combination of single qubit gates, pg. 17 of 29, right col., second para) to lead the … anyons to each of a plurality of branched waveguides (m anyons are moving around three loops (Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29); Schematic of … waveguides using a series of curves … Vortex lines, which can constitute complex topological characteristics … unbounded … in loops (white), Fig. 11, pg. 20 of 29);
generating, in at least a part of the plurality of branched waveguides (We measured two sets of correlation matrices for two different inputs: immediate neighbouring waveguides in the centre of the array (j, k) = (-1, 0) (Fig. 3); and next but one neighbouring waveguides (j, k) = (-1, 1), with vacuum input in waveguide 0 (Fig. 4), pg. 3, left col., last para.), a delay amount with respect to the … anyons to be guided (In addition, the 2D topological photonics in an optical delay line is another popular artificial structure that is also used for entangled quantum generation and beam splitters, pg. 24 of 29, left col., second to the last para.);
leading the plurality of … anyons that have been guided to the plurality of branched waveguides into one waveguide again (m anyons are moving around three loops (Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29); Schematic of … waveguides using a series of curves … Vortex lines, which can constitute complex topological characteristics … unbounded … in loops (white), Fig. 11, pg. 20 of 29) to obtain a new quantum bit (obtained from repeated measurements, pg. 3 of 29, right col., first para.); and
measuring the new quantum bit (Figure 9. a) Schematic of light path used to measure the fractional topological phase of the qudit states (pg. pg. 16 of 29); A qudit is defined as a quantum state in the d-dimensional system, following from the definition of the qubit in two dimensions, pg. 16 of 29, left col., last sentence. The Examiner notes a qudit with d=2 is a qubit).
Yan teaches anyons but does not explicitly teach non-abelian anyons.
Matthews teaches a topological quantum operation method (a novel method to study fractional quantum interference phenomena, pg. 5, right col., second para.) comprising:
generating a quantum bit including a plurality of non-abelian anyons (By defining fractional exchange algebra (1–3) for 0 < θ < π and some integer winding number v, we can observe the effect of fractional exchange statistics on quantum interference between two indistinguishable anyons undergoing braiding operations dependent upon A; Eq. (4) represents the resulting quantum interference between two abelian anyons (0 < θ < π) in superposition of braiding ω times and not braiding at all, pg. 2, right col., first para.);
guiding the generated quantum bits to a quantum gate operation unit (Figure 1 (a) Quantum interference of N identical particles with arbitrary statistics launched into a network described by matrix A, pg. 2, Figure 1. The Examiner notes A: MxM mode transform in Figure 1(a) is the quantum gate operation unit) to lead the non-abelian anyons to each of a plurality of branched waveguides (We measured two sets of correlation matrices for two different inputs: immediate neighbouring waveguides in the centre of the array (j, k) = (-1, 0) (Fig. 3); and next but one neighbouring waveguides (j, k) = (-1, 1), with vacuum input in waveguide 0 (Fig. 4), pg. 3, left col., last para.);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yan to incorporate the teachings of Matthews for the benefit of an approach can be used in the context of topological fault tolerant quantum computation with photons (Matthews, pg. 6, left col., first para.)
Regarding claim 7, Yan and Matthews teach the topological quantum operation method according to claim 6, Yan teaches wherein: generating the delay amount comprises: a clockwise braiding operation (loop 3 performs braiding operation in clockwise direction, Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29); and
a counterclockwise braiding operation (loop 2 performs braiding operation in counterclockwise direction, Fig. 9, pg. 16 of 29), and
the topological quantum operation method is repeatedly executed until all target quantum gate operations are completed (They soon completed a 9-qubit planar code based on anyonic braiding (pg. 17 of 29, right col., first para.); Different loops are used to measure the different phases after the anyons are annihilated … this work was the first to prove the topologically path-independent nature of anyonic braiding in a photonic system … These operations, including the braiding operation, the creation, and the annihilation operation were realized using a combination of single qubit gates., pg. 17 of 29, right col., first para.).
11. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. ("Quantum topological photonics." Advanced Optical Materials 9.15 (2021): 2001739). in view of Matthews et al. ("Observing fermionic statistics with photons in arbitrary processes." Scientific reports 3.1 (2013): 1539) and further in view of Wootton ("Quantum memories and error correction." Journal of Modern Optics 59.20 (2012): 1717-1738).
Regarding claim 6, Yan and Matthews teach the topological quantum operation method according to claim 5, Matthews teaches non-abelion anyon (Eq. (4) represents the resulting quantum interference between two abelian anyons (0 < θ < π) in superposition of braiding ω times and not braiding at all, pg. 2, right col., first para.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yan to incorporate the teachings of Matthews for the benefit of an approach can be used in the context of topological fault tolerant quantum computation with photons (Matthews, pg. 6, left col., first para.)
They do not explicitly teach further comprising correcting a disturbance of an interval between the plurality of … anyons after generating the delay amount.
Wootton teaches further comprising correcting a disturbance of an interval between the plurality of … anyons after generating the delay amount (Correction is achieved by trying to determine in which pairs the anyons were created (pg. 4, left col. last para.); If correction is performed periodically, with the delay between correction rounds less than the lifetime, the quantum memory can be sustained indefinitely, pg. 13, left col., first para. The Examiner notes this indicates correction is made after delay amount).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yan and Matthews to incorporate the teachings of Wootton for the benefit of an error correction and self-correction to achieve fault-tolerant quantum computation (Wootton, abstract)
Conclusion
/M.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2148