DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 10/14/2024 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 4 independent claims and 16 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by JEONG et al. Publication No. (US 2024/0155400 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JEONG teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (storage unit 1y-30 [0370] FIG.1y); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (controller 1y-40 may control the overall operations of the UE. For example, the controller 1y-40 may transmit and/or receive signals through the baseband processor 1y-20 and the RF processor 1y-10. The controller 1y-40 may write and read data to and from the storage unit 1y-30. [0371] FIG.1y) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first signaling as a request for quality of experience (QoE) measurements collection capabilities supported by the UE (the base station may send a message (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry) regarding a request for the UE capability message, which indicates whether the access stratum (AS) UE supports QoE measurement by service type. [0113] FIG.1H);
transmit a second signaling indicating a maximum access stratum (AS) layer buffer size capability for storing the QoE measurements in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or in a RRC inactive state (the AS UE may transmit information, which indicates whether the UE AS 1f-05 supports QoE measurement by service type (e.g., at least one of streaming, MTSI, MBS, or VR) to a base station, via a UE capability message (e.g., UECapabilityInformation) [0113] the UE AS 1i-10 to transmit the message including availability, and conditions need to be satisfied, including when a new base station supports QoE measurements in inactive and/or idle mode, and when the size of logged QoE data exceeds a specific threshold (a fixed value defined in logged QoE configuration information or a standard defining the buffer size [0268] The UE may report to the base station only when the logged data size exceeds the threshold. The threshold for QoE data size may also be applied on a per-service-type basis. The UE may report to the base station only when a logged data size for one service type exceeds a threshold for the service type [0292] FIG.1I); and
receive a third signaling indicating a configuration for collecting the QoE measurements for at least one multicast broadcast service (MBS) (the UE may report the logged QoE data to the base station 1i-05. To report the QoE data. the UE transmits a QoE measurement to report measured QoE in a connected mode, the UE may also report a logged QoE measurement value, if any. The QoE measurement report in the connected mode and the QoE measurement report in an inactive and/or idle mode may be distinguished within the QoE measurement report [0297-298] the QoE report is for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast [0388] FIG.1I).
Regarding claim 2, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: collect the QoE measurements for the at least one MBS in accordance with the third signaling; and transmit a fourth signaling of collected QoE measurements (the QoE report is for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast, receiving, from the UE, a QoE report including a result of the QoE measurement based on the configuration information, the result of the QoE measurement performed in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state is stored in an access stratum (AS) layer memory of the UE [0383-384] FIG.1z).
Regarding claim 3, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the first signaling, the second signaling, the third signaling, and the fourth signaling are communicated in a RRC connected state (RRC connection is established before any signaling between the UE 1i-10 and the NG 1i-05 the QoE report is transmitted to the base station in an RRC connected stat [0380] 1i-15 FIG.1I).
Regarding claim 4, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration for collecting the QoE measurements includes at least one of a session identity of a QoE measurements collection session, one or more RRC states of the QoE measurements collection session, or an AS layer reporting interval that triggers a transmission of collected QoE measurements associated with the QoE measurements collection session in the RRC idle state or in the RRC inactive state (the UE may report the availability of the UE's QoE data logging to the base station 1i-05 by using the following pieces of information: ID to identify QoE measurement configuration and reporting at an RRC level: It may be indicated which QoE measurement configuration and reporting triggered availability transmission. Priority of logged QoE data: Data with higher priority may be retrieved by the base station with priority. Multiple priorities in logged QoE data. Remaining logged data validity time of logged QoE data. Remaining retrieval validity time of logged QoE data. The amount or number of logged QoE data [0258-266] FIG.1I).
Regarding claim 5, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein the session identity of the QoE measurements collection session comprises a mobile country code (MCC), a mobile network code (MNC), and a QoE measurement collection (QMC) identifier (It may be specified what type of service the logged QoE measurement configuration is for. [0217] ID to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: The ID to identify the QoE measurement configuration at the RRC level may be included in RRC signaling at the time of QoE measurement configuration and measurement reporting [0258-261] FIG.1).
Regarding claim 6, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a fourth signaling indicating release information associated with a release of one or more QoE measurement collection sessions for MBSs in the RRC idle state or in the RRC inactive state (the base station 1e-10 may transition the UE 1e-05 into the idle or inactive mode by using an RRC release message. Depending on an RRC state to which transition is performed, the RRC release message may include configuration information for an operation in the RRC state [0101-103] FIG.1E).
Regarding claim 7, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine whether to release at least one of the QoE measurement collection sessions for at least one of the MBSs based at least in part on the release information, the release information including a list of session identities of the one or more QoE measurement collection sessions indicating the release of the one or more QoE measurement collection sessions for the MBSs in the RRC idle state or in the RRC inactive state (The operation of the UE AS having received the RRC message may be: measConfigAppLayerToReleaseList is included in appLayerMeasConfig within RRCReconfiguration or RRCResume, for each measConfigAppLayerId value included in the measConfigAppLayerToReleaseList, forward the measConfigAppLayerId and inform upper layers about the release of the application layer measurement configuration including any RAN visible application layer measurement configuration [0122-125] FIG.1E).
Regarding claim 8, JEONG teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: stop the QoE measurement collection for a released QoE measurement collection session; and discard stored QoE measurement reports associated with the released QoE measurement collection session from the AS layer buffer (When the memory is full, the UE AS may transmit indicator 1 to the UE APP in order to notify the UE APP that the memory is full or instruct the UE APP to stop QoE measurement. Indicator 1 may be defined as a parameter in an AT command. When indicator 1 is present or configured to be true, indicator 1 may signify that the UE AS is informing the UE APP that memory is full or instructing the UE APP to stop the QoE measurement. When indicator 1 is present or configured to be true, the UE APP that has received indicator 1 may stop the QoE measurement and stop reporting of the QoE measurement to the UE AS. Subsequently, when the UE AS memory has free space (e.g., when a stored QoE measurement report is discarded after reporting to the base station, or when a stored QoE measurement report expires and is discarded), the UE AS may transmit indicator 1 to the UE APP to indicate that the memory is empty (or free) or to instruct the UE APP to resume QoE measurement [0349] FIG.1I).
Regarding claim 9, related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claim 1, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from the “processor” side and wordings of the claim were interchanged within the claim itself or were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claim and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to this claim. Therefore, this claim was rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claims 10-15, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-8, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “base station” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claims 16-20, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-8, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “method” in the UE side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELNABI O MUSA whose telephone number is (571)270-1901, and email address is abdelnabi.musa@uspto.gov ‘preferred’. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472