DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 4/22/2026 in which Claims 23-42 are pending and Claims 1-22 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Qualcomm fails to teach receiving an indication of a padding sequence, wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol. Examiner disagrees and points to Jia’s teaching that this communicating at 908 involves transmitting the signaling by the BS to the UE and receiving the signaling by the UE from the BS. The signaling is indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network. The zero padding includes both head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol (see ¶ 0120). Examiner further points to Qualcomm’s teaching the pulse gk,m(n) are the frequency and time shifted version of the prototype filter g(n), as shown in Equation 2-4 below. Specifically, the modulo operation makes gk,m(n) circularly shifted in time by m sub-symbols, and the exponential term shifts the filter in frequency by k sub-carriers (see Section 2.2.6.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0193062 to Jia et al (“Jia”) in view of “Waveform Candidates”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #84b, R1-162199, Busan, Korea, April 11-15, 2016 to Qualcomm Incorporated in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0036470 to Olesen et al (“Olesen”).
As to Claim 23, Jia teaches a method for wireless communications for use in a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU) (Each ED 110 represents any suitable end user device for wireless operation and may include such devices (or may be referred to) as a user equipment/device (UE), a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), see ¶ 0051), the method comprising: receiving reference signal (RS) information (receiving a zero-padded transmission symbol and a reference signal for channel estimation, but by a second communication device, see ¶ 0020); receiving an indication of a padding sequence structure (Multiple zero-padding patterns may be distributed and stored at a communication device, pre-configured at a communication device, or otherwise be available at a communication device, in which case an identifier of a zero-padding may be indicated in signaling to the communication device, see ¶ 0101; a zero-padding pattern indicator in signaling may specify zero-padding order, in terms of positions or indices in a symbol for example. Starting from head zero padding and then tail zero padding, the following are two examples of this type of zero-padding pattern indicator: (0,1, L−1,2, L−2 . . . ), or (0,1, L−1,2, L−1,3,4 . . . ). Other examples of zero-padding pattern indicators include, among others, a total number of zeros padded at the head and tail of a transmission symbol, a number of head zeros, a number of tail zeros, and a ratio between zeros padded at the head and tail, see ¶ 0102; For dynamic configuration of zero padding, a zero-padding indicator may be indicated by DCI or RRC signaling, for example, although other signaling options noted elsewhere herein may also or instead be used in dynamic configuration of zero padding, see ¶ 0107; For dynamic CP adjustment, signaling may be in DCI to indicate a zero-padding configuration, such as a zero-padding pattern index from a pre-defined zero-padding table. DCI may also or instead be used to indicate additional CP length plus a head and tail zero padding ratio, see ¶ 0118),
recovering the data from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the RS information and the indication of the padding sequence structure (This communicating at 908 involves transmitting the signaling by the BS to the UE and receiving the signaling by the UE from the BS. The signaling is indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network. The zero padding includes both head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol, see ¶ 0120; The transmitter 1300 is an example for DFT-s-OFDM, see ¶ 0176; Figure 9 illustrates in 908 signaling to indicate zero padding [padding sequence structure] and in 902 signaling to indicate other configuration/settings [RS information]); and transmitting feedback based on the recovery of the data (Applying zero padding to generate zero-padded symbols is illustrated at 914, see ¶ 0125; an uplink transmission from the UE to the BS [transmitting feedback] is shown at 916, and represents one example of how a zero-padded transmission symbol may be communicated in a wireless communication network. In this example, communicating the zero-padded transmission symbol involves transmitting the zero-padded transmission symbol by the UE to the BS and receiving the zero-padded transmission symbol by the BS from the UE, see ¶ 0126; Fig. 9).
Jia does not expressly disclose wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol.
Qualcomm teaches wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol (the pulse gk,m(n) are the frequency and time shifted version of the prototype filter g(n), as shown in Equation 2-4 below. Specifically, the modulo operation makes gk,m(n) circularly shifted in time by m sub-symbols, and the exponential term shifts the filter in frequency by k sub-carriers (see Section 2.2.6.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia with Qualcomm to teach wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce adjacent channel leakage ratio (see Section 2.2.6.4).
Jia and Qualcomm do not expressly disclose receiving a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol which includes data, padding and an RS.
Olesen teaches receiving a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol which includes data, padding and an RS (In an example of RS generation, a block of reference symbols may be repeated n times, for example, before being processed by a DFT block, e.g., so the output of the DFT block may have zeros at every nth output pin. The output of the DFT block may be fed into corresponding inputs of an IDFT block, see ¶ 0117; the associated DM-RS for a PUSCH may be located at the front of the slot for a PUSCH transmission and commonly used for one or more waveforms and a sequence (e.g., cyclic shift of an RS, scrambling code, or sequence type), pattern (set of subcarriers), or location (e.g., OFDM or DFT-s-OFDM symbol location) of the associated DM-RS may be determined based on the selected or determined waveform type for a PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0122; Reference symbols (e.g. for DFT-s-OFDM) may be distributed (e.g. uniformly interleaved) among data symbols. A composite block of symbols may be spread with a DFT block. An example block, {ro, d1, d2, d3, r1, d4, d5, d6, r2, d7, d8, d9} may contain data symbols d and reference symbols r [DFT-s-OFDM includes data and an RS], see ¶ 0132; A default CP length may be indicated in a common control channel, such as, for example, the broadcast channel. A WTRU may first read the common control channel and learn the length of the CP (e.g., and other relevant information), see ¶ 0135. Figure 5 illustrates the RS, data and padding of the DFT-s-OFDM symbol);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia and Qualcomm with Olesen to teach wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a constant-envelope sequence, a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to indicate the waveform type using reference signals (see ¶ 0123).
As to Claim 24, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia teaches wherein the RS information includes an indication of an RS sequence, an indication of an RS length, and/or an indication of a subcarrier offset (The zero-padded transmission symbol and the reference signal are received by the second communication device from the first communication device. The zero padding has been applied to the zero-padded transmission symbol, and the reference signal is based on a sequence that, as also described above and elsewhere herein, is shorter than the zero-padded transmission symbol and is zero padded to a same length as the zero-padded transmission symbol [indication of RS length], see ¶ 0020; The length of an RS sequence, which is used to generate an RS, can be shorter than the length to which a transmission symbol is zero padded. In some embodiments the length of an RS sequence is less than the length of a data sequence that is included in a zero-padded transmission symbol, shown as non-zero data in FIGS. 6 and 7, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 25, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia teaches wherein the RS information is received in a DCI or MAC CE (consider that when zero padding is used for data signals, it may also be applied to reference signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) that is used for channel estimation. There may be specific considerations for reference signal (RS) design in the context of zero padding, see ¶ 0174; For dynamic configuration of zero padding, a zero-padding indicator may be indicated by DCI or RRC signaling, for example, although other signaling options noted elsewhere herein may also or instead be used in dynamic configuration of zero padding, see ¶ 0107).
As to Claim 26, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia teaches wherein the indication of the padding sequence structure includes an indication of a padding sequence structure identifier or an indication of a codebook index (Multiple zero-padding patterns may be distributed and stored at a communication device, pre-configured at a communication device, or otherwise be available at a communication device, in which case an identifier of a zero-padding may be indicated in signaling to the communication device, see ¶ 0101; a zero-padding pattern indicator in signaling may specify zero-padding order, in terms of positions or indices in a symbol for example. Starting from head zero padding and then tail zero padding, the following are two examples of this type of zero-padding pattern indicator: (0,1, L−1,2, L−2 . . . ), or (0,1, L−1,2, L−1,3,4 . . . ). Other examples of zero-padding pattern indicators include, among others, a total number of zeros padded at the head and tail of a transmission symbol, a number of head zeros, a number of tail zeros, and a ratio between zeros padded at the head and tail, see ¶ 0102; For dynamic configuration of zero padding, a zero-padding indicator may be indicated by DCI or RRC signaling, for example, although other signaling options noted elsewhere herein may also or instead be used in dynamic configuration of zero padding, see ¶ 0107; For dynamic CP adjustment, signaling may be in DCI to indicate a zero-padding configuration, such as a zero-padding pattern index from a pre-defined zero-padding table. DCI may also or instead be used to indicate additional CP length plus a head and tail zero padding ratio, see ¶ 0118).
As to Claim 27, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia teaches wherein the indication of the padding sequence structure is received in a DCI or MAC CE (For dynamic CP adjustment, signaling may be in DCI to indicate a zero-padding configuration, such as a zero-padding pattern index from a pre-defined zero-padding table. DCI may also or instead be used to indicate additional CP length plus a head and tail zero padding ratio, see ¶ 0118).
As to Claim 28, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Olesen teaches wherein the padding sequence structure is estimated by blind detection based on the indication of the padding sequence structure (A WTRU may determine the transmission of an additional RS based on at least one of channel condition, scheduling parameter (e.g., MCS level), and mobility and the WTRU may indicate the determined condition of presence or absence of an additional RS (e.g., on or off) by determining a sequence, pattern, and/or location of the first RS. A determination of the status of the additional RSs (e.g., on or off) may be determined, e.g., using blind detection, see ¶ 0126).
As to Claim 33, Jia teaches A wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU) configured for wireless communications (Each ED 110 represents any suitable end user device for wireless operation and may include such devices (or may be referred to) as a user equipment/device (UE), a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), see ¶ 0051), the WTRU comprising: circuitry configured to receive reference signal (RS) information (receiving a zero-padded transmission symbol and a reference signal for channel estimation, but by a second communication device, see ¶ 0020); circuitry configured to receive an indication of a padding sequence structure (Multiple zero-padding patterns may be distributed and stored at a communication device, pre-configured at a communication device, or otherwise be available at a communication device, in which case an identifier of a zero-padding may be indicated in signaling to the communication device, see ¶ 0101; a zero-padding pattern indicator in signaling may specify zero-padding order, in terms of positions or indices in a symbol for example. Starting from head zero padding and then tail zero padding, the following are two examples of this type of zero-padding pattern indicator: (0,1, L−1,2, L−2 . . . ), or (0,1, L−1,2, L−1,3,4 . . . ). Other examples of zero-padding pattern indicators include, among others, a total number of zeros padded at the head and tail of a transmission symbol, a number of head zeros, a number of tail zeros, and a ratio between zeros padded at the head and tail, see ¶ 0102; For dynamic configuration of zero padding, a zero-padding indicator may be indicated by DCI or RRC signaling, for example, although other signaling options noted elsewhere herein may also or instead be used in dynamic configuration of zero padding, see ¶ 0107; For dynamic CP adjustment, signaling may be in DCI to indicate a zero-padding configuration, such as a zero-padding pattern index from a pre-defined zero-padding table. DCI may also or instead be used to indicate additional CP length plus a head and tail zero padding ratio, see ¶ 0118),
circuitry configured to recover the data from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the RS information and the indication of the padding sequence structure (This communicating at 908 involves transmitting the signaling by the BS to the UE and receiving the signaling by the UE from the BS. The signaling is indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network. The zero padding includes both head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol, see ¶ 0120; The transmitter 1300 is an example for DFT-s-OFDM, see ¶ 0176; Figure 9 illustrates in 908 signaling to indicate zero padding [padding sequence structure] and in 902 signaling to indicate other configuration/settings [RS information]); and circuitry configured to transmit feedback based on the recovery of the data (Applying zero padding to generate zero-padded symbols is illustrated at 914, see ¶ 0125; an uplink transmission from the UE to the BS [transmitting feedback] is shown at 916, and represents one example of how a zero-padded transmission symbol may be communicated in a wireless communication network. In this example, communicating the zero-padded transmission symbol involves transmitting the zero-padded transmission symbol by the UE to the BS and receiving the zero-padded transmission symbol by the BS from the UE, see ¶ 0126; Fig. 9).
Jia does not expressly disclose wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol.
Qualcomm teaches wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol (the pulse gk,m(n) are the frequency and time shifted version of the prototype filter g(n), as shown in Equation 2-4 below. Specifically, the modulo operation makes gk,m(n) circularly shifted in time by m sub-symbols, and the exponential term shifts the filter in frequency by k sub-carriers (see Section 2.2.6.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia with Qualcomm to teach wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce adjacent channel leakage ratio (see Section 2.2.6.4).
Jia and Qualcomm do not expressly disclose circuitry configured to receive a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol which includes data, padding, and an RS.
Olesen circuitry configured to receive a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol which includes data, padding, and an RS (In an example of RS generation, a block of reference symbols may be repeated n times, for example, before being processed by a DFT block, e.g., so the output of the DFT block may have zeros at every nth output pin. The output of the DFT block may be fed into corresponding inputs of an IDFT block, see ¶ 0117; the associated DM-RS for a PUSCH may be located at the front of the slot for a PUSCH transmission and commonly used for one or more waveforms and a sequence (e.g., cyclic shift of an RS, scrambling code, or sequence type), pattern (set of subcarriers), or location (e.g., OFDM or DFT-s-OFDM symbol location) of the associated DM-RS may be determined based on the selected or determined waveform type for a PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0122; Reference symbols (e.g. for DFT-s-OFDM) may be distributed (e.g. uniformly interleaved) among data symbols. A composite block of symbols may be spread with a DFT block. An example block, {ro, d1, d2, d3, r1, d4, d5, d6, r2, d7, d8, d9} may contain data symbols d and reference symbols r [DFT-s-OFDM includes data and an RS], see ¶ 0132; A default CP length may be indicated in a common control channel, such as, for example, the broadcast channel. A WTRU may first read the common control channel and learn the length of the CP (e.g., and other relevant information), see ¶ 0135. Figure 5 illustrates the RS, data and padding of the DFT-s-OFDM symbol);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia and Qualcomm with Olesen to teach wherein the padding sequence structure comprises at least one of a constant-envelope sequence, a sign-reversed data symbol, or a phase-shifted data symbol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to indicate the waveform type using reference signals (see ¶ 0123).
As to Claim 34, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia teaches wherein the RS information includes an indication of an RS sequence, an indication of an RS length, and/or an indication of a subcarrier offset (The zero-padded transmission symbol and the reference signal are received by the second communication device from the first communication device. The zero padding has been applied to the zero-padded transmission symbol, and the reference signal is based on a sequence that, as also described above and elsewhere herein, is shorter than the zero-padded transmission symbol and is zero padded to a same length as the zero-padded transmission symbol [indication of RS length], see ¶ 0020; The length of an RS sequence, which is used to generate an RS, can be shorter than the length to which a transmission symbol is zero padded. In some embodiments the length of an RS sequence is less than the length of a data sequence that is included in a zero-padded transmission symbol, shown as non-zero data in FIGS. 6 and 7, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 35, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia teaches further comprising circuitry configured to receive the RS information in a DCI or MAC CE (consider that when zero padding is used for data signals, it may also be applied to reference signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) that is used for channel estimation. There may be specific considerations for reference signal (RS) design in the context of zero padding, see ¶ 0174; For dynamic configuration of zero padding, a zero-padding indicator may be indicated by DCI or RRC signaling, for example, although other signaling options noted elsewhere herein may also or instead be used in dynamic configuration of zero padding, see ¶ 0107).
As to Claim 36, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia teaches wherein the indication of the padding sequence structure includes an indication of a padding sequence structure identifier or an indication of a codebook index (Multiple zero-padding patterns may be distributed and stored at a communication device, pre-configured at a communication device, or otherwise be available at a communication device, in which case an identifier of a zero-padding may be indicated in signaling to the communication device, see ¶ 0101; a zero-padding pattern indicator in signaling may specify zero-padding order, in terms of positions or indices in a symbol for example. Starting from head zero padding and then tail zero padding, the following are two examples of this type of zero-padding pattern indicator: (0,1, L−1,2, L−2 . . . ), or (0,1, L−1,2, L−1,3,4 . . . ). Other examples of zero-padding pattern indicators include, among others, a total number of zeros padded at the head and tail of a transmission symbol, a number of head zeros, a number of tail zeros, and a ratio between zeros padded at the head and tail, see ¶ 0102; For dynamic configuration of zero padding, a zero-padding indicator may be indicated by DCI or RRC signaling, for example, although other signaling options noted elsewhere herein may also or instead be used in dynamic configuration of zero padding, see ¶ 0107; For dynamic CP adjustment, signaling may be in DCI to indicate a zero-padding configuration, such as a zero-padding pattern index from a pre-defined zero-padding table. DCI may also or instead be used to indicate additional CP length plus a head and tail zero padding ratio, see ¶ 0118).
As to Claim 37, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia teaches further comprising circuitry configured to receive the indication of the padding sequence structure in a DCI or MAC CE (For dynamic CP adjustment, signaling may be in DCI to indicate a zero-padding configuration, such as a zero-padding pattern index from a pre-defined zero-padding table. DCI may also or instead be used to indicate additional CP length plus a head and tail zero padding ratio, see ¶ 0118).
As to Claim 38, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Olesen teaches further comprising circuitry configured to receive estimate the padding sequence structure by blind detection based on the indication of the padding sequence structure (A WTRU may determine the transmission of an additional RS based on at least one of channel condition, scheduling parameter (e.g., MCS level), and mobility and the WTRU may indicate the determined condition of presence or absence of an additional RS (e.g., on or off) by determining a sequence, pattern, and/or location of the first RS. A determination of the status of the additional RSs (e.g., on or off) may be determined, e.g., using blind detection, see ¶ 0126).
Claim(s) 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0193062 to Jia et al (“Jia”) in view of “Waveform Candidates”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #84b, R1-162199, Busan, Korea, April 11-15, 2016 to Qualcomm Incorporated in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0036470 to Olesen et al (“Olesen”) and in further view of “DFT-Spread OFDM with Frequency Domain Reference Symbols”, IEEE Global Communications Conference, pp. 1-6 (December 4, 2017) to Sahin et al (“Sahin”).
As to Claim 29, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen do not expressly disclose wherein recovering the data includes removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the padding sequence structure, and/or removing interference due to insertion of the RS into the DFT-s-OFDM symbol. Sahin teaches wherein recovering the data includes removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the padding sequence structure, and/or removing interference due to insertion of the RS into the DFT-s-OFDM symbol (the punctured vector is mapped to another vector in M-dimensional space by inserting Np zeros via a nulling matrix N to accommodate frequency domain reference symbols…the interference vector is not arbitrary as every other Nt output of the DFT-spread block is nulled, see Section III, 1st and 3rd paras).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen with Sahin to teach wherein recovering the data includes removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the padding sequence structure, and/or removing interference due to insertion of the RS into the DFT-s-OFDM symbol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to insert null symbols to allow the receiver to recover the data symbol (see Section III, 5th para).
As to Claim 30, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen do not expressly disclose wherein recovering the data includes removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol prior to demodulation. Sahin teaches wherein recovering the data includes removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol prior to demodulation (the punctured vector is mapped to another vector in M-dimensional space by inserting Np zeros via a nulling matrix N to accommodate frequency domain reference symbols…the interference vector is not arbitrary as every other Nt output of the DFT-spread block is nulled, see Section III, 1st and 3rd paras).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen with Sahin to teach wherein recovering the data includes removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol prior to demodulation. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to insert null symbols to allow the receiver to recover the data symbol (see Section III, 5th para).
As to Claim 31, Jia, Qualcomm, Olesen and Sahin depending on Claim 29, Jia teaches wherein the feedback includes an indication of a performance of the removal of the interference, and/or an indication of a preferred padding sequence structure (Applying zero padding to generate zero-padded symbols is illustrated at 914, see ¶ 0125; an uplink transmission from the UE to the BS [transmitting feedback] is shown at 916, and represents one example of how a zero-padded transmission symbol may be communicated in a wireless communication network. In this example, communicating the zero-padded transmission symbol involves transmitting the zero-padded transmission symbol by the UE to the BS and receiving the zero-padded transmission symbol by the BS from the UE, see ¶ 0126; Fig. 9).
As to Claim 32, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 23, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen do not expressly disclose wherein the feedback includes an indication of a bit error rate (BER) and/or an indication of a block error rate (BLER). Sahin teaches wherein the feedback includes an indication of a bit error rate (BER) and/or an indication of a block error rate (BLER) (punctured DFT-s-OFDM is approximately 2 dB as two noisy components are added, see Section IV, B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen with Sahin to teach wherein the feedback includes an indication of a bit error rate (BER) and/or an indication of a block error rate (BLER). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to indicate that the interference due to the puncturing significantly deteriorates the BER performance (see Section IV, C).
As to Claim 39, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen do not expressly disclose further comprising circuitry configured to recover the data by removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the padding sequence structure, and/or removing interference due to insertion of the RS into the DFT-s-OFDM symbol. Sahin teaches further comprising circuitry configured to recover the data by removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the padding sequence structure, and/or removing interference due to insertion of the RS into the DFT-s-OFDM symbol (the punctured vector is mapped to another vector in M-dimensional space by inserting Np zeros via a nulling matrix N to accommodate frequency domain reference symbols…the interference vector is not arbitrary as every other Nt output of the DFT-spread block is nulled, see Section III, 1st and 3rd paras).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen with Sahin to teach further comprising circuitry configured to recover the data by removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol based on the padding sequence structure, and/or removing interference due to insertion of the RS into the DFT-s-OFDM symbol. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to insert null symbols to allow the receiver to recover the data symbol (see Section III, 5th para).
As to Claim 40, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen do not expressly disclose further comprising circuitry configured to recover the data by removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol prior to demodulation. Sahin teaches further comprising circuitry configured to recover the data by removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol prior to demodulation (the punctured vector is mapped to another vector in M-dimensional space by inserting Np zeros via a nulling matrix N to accommodate frequency domain reference symbols…the interference vector is not arbitrary as every other Nt output of the DFT-spread block is nulled, see Section III, 1st and 3rd paras).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen with Sahin to teach further comprising circuitry configured to recover the data by removing interference from the DFT-s-OFDM symbol prior to demodulation. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to insert null symbols to allow the receiver to recover the data symbol (see Section III, 5th para).
As to Claim 41, Jia, Qualcomm, Olesen and Sahin depending on Claim 39, Jia teaches wherein the feedback includes an indication of a performance of the removal of the interference, and/or an indication of a preferred padding sequence structure (Applying zero padding to generate zero-padded symbols is illustrated at 914, see ¶ 0125; an uplink transmission from the UE to the BS [transmitting feedback] is shown at 916, and represents one example of how a zero-padded transmission symbol may be communicated in a wireless communication network. In this example, communicating the zero-padded transmission symbol involves transmitting the zero-padded transmission symbol by the UE to the BS and receiving the zero-padded transmission symbol by the BS from the UE, see ¶ 0126; Fig. 9).
As to Claim 42, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen depending on Claim 33, Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen do not expressly disclose wherein the feedback includes an indication of a bit error rate (BER) and/or an indication of a block error rate (BLER). Sahin teaches wherein the feedback includes an indication of a bit error rate (BER) and/or an indication of a block error rate (BLER) (punctured DFT-s-OFDM is approximately 2 dB as two noisy components are added, see Section IV, B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jia, Qualcomm and Olesen with Sahin to teach wherein the feedback includes an indication of a bit error rate (BER) and/or an indication of a block error rate (BLER). The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to indicate that the interference due to the puncturing significantly deteriorates the BER performance (see Section IV, C).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622