DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 14 October 2024, 21 May 2025, and 12 August 2025, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 14 October 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 14 October 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 15, 17-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koskinen et al. (US 20250126566 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Koskinen”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 7, Koskinen discloses the method according to claim 1.
Koskinen further discloses wherein at least one of predetermined threshold values for terminals with different types of antenna structures to perform the SDT are different (¶72-73, Koskinen discloses that the thresholds are specific to reduced capability (RedCap) terminals performing SDT), or
bias values for the terminals with different types of antenna structures to perform the SDT are different.
Regarding Claim 8, Koskinen discloses the method according to claim 1.
Koskinen further discloses wherein the first type antenna structure comprises one of:
a number of receiving antennas being a predetermined number (¶59-63 & ¶55, Koskinen discloses that the number of antennas of the RedCap device must be a minimum of 2), wherein the terminal operates in a frequency range 1 (FR1) (¶59-63, Koskinen discloses that the minimum number of antennas of the RedCap device when the RedCap device operates in frequency range 1 (FR1)), or
a number of antenna elements comprised in a single antenna panel being less than a quantity threshold, wherein the terminal operates in a frequency range 2 (FR2).
Regarding Claim 9, Koskinen discloses a wireless transmission method, performed by an access network device, the method comprising:
sending configuration information to a terminal (¶71-73 & Fig. 2 (201), Koskinen discloses sending, by a next generation node (gNB), an indication for adjusting one or more conditions to a user equipment (UE). Examiner correlates indication for adjusting one or more conditions" to "the configuration information"), and
wherein the configuration information is configured for the terminal to determine a threshold value of signal quality for the terminal to perform small data transmission (SDT) based on the configuration information (¶71-73 & Fig. 2 (201), Koskinen discloses that the indication for adjusting one or more conditions is configured to cause the UE to determine a received signal received power (RSRP) threshold for the UE to perform small data transmission (SDT)), and
the configuration information is configured to indicate at least one of:
a predetermined threshold value of signal quality for a first type terminal with a first type antenna structure to perform the SDT (¶71-74 & Fig. 2 (201) & ¶72-73 & ¶55, Koskinen discloses that the RSRP threshold is configured for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE where the RedCap UE possesses a different antenna structure than non-RedCap UE); or
a bias value of a reference threshold value of the signal quality for the first type terminal to perform the SDT.
Regarding Claim 11, Koskinen discloses the method according to claim 9.
Koskinen further discloses wherein at least one of predetermined threshold values for terminals with different types of antenna structures to perform the SDT are different (¶72-73, Koskinen discloses that the thresholds are specific to reduced capability (RedCap) terminals performing SDT), or
bias values for the terminals with different types of antenna structures to perform the SDT are different.
Regarding Claim 12, Koskinen discloses the method according to claim 9.
Koskinen further discloses wherein the first type antenna structure comprises one of:
a number of receiving antennas being a predetermined number (¶59-63 & ¶55, Koskinen discloses that the number of antennas of the RedCap device must be a minimum of 2), wherein the terminal operates in a frequency range 1 (FR1) (¶59-63, Koskinen discloses that the minimum number of antennas of the RedCap device when the RedCap device operates in frequency range 1 (FR1)), or
a number of antenna elements comprised in a single antenna panel being less than a quantity threshold, wherein the terminal operates in a frequency range 2 (FR2).
Regarding Claim 15, Koskinen discloses a communication device, comprising:
a memory (¶118-125 & Fig. 8, Koskinen discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising memory 820); and
one or more processors connected to the memory (¶118-125 & Fig. 8, Koskinen discloses the UE further comprising a processor 810 connected to the memory 820) and configured to
determine a threshold value of signal quality for the communication device to perform small data transmission (SDT) based on configuration information (¶71-73 & Fig. 2 (201), Koskinen discloses determining, by a user equipment (UE), a received signal received power (RSRP) threshold for the UE to perform small data transmission (SDT) where the RSRP threshold is based on an indication for adjusting one or more conditions for SDT received from a next generation node (gNB). Examiner correlates the RSRP threshold to "a threshold value of signal quality". Examiner correlates "the indication for adjusting one or more conditions" to "the configuration information"),
wherein the configuration information is configured to indicate at least one of:
a predetermined threshold value of signal quality for a first type communication device with a first type antenna structure to perform the SDT (¶71-74 & Fig. 2 (201) & ¶72-73 & ¶55, Koskinen discloses that the RSRP threshold is configured for a reduced capability (RedCap) UE where the RedCap UE possesses a different antenna structure than non-RedCap UE), or
a bias value of a reference threshold value of the signal quality for the first type communication device to perform the SDT.
Regarding Claim 17, Koskinen discloses the communication device according to claim 15.
Koskinen further discloses wherein the communication device is the first type communication device (¶74 & Fig. 2 (201), Koskinen discloses that the UE to receive the indication of one or more conditions is a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE). Examiner correlates the RedCap UE to "the first terminal type"), and
when determining the threshold value of the signal quality for the communication device to perform the SDT based on the configuration information, the one or more processors are configured to:
based on the configuration information, determine the threshold value of the signal quality for performing the SDT as the predetermined threshold value (¶71-74 & Fig. 2 (201), Koskinen discloses determining, based upon the indication for adjusting one or more conditions for the UE to perform SDT, the RSRP threshold prior to the SDT), or
based on the configuration information, determine the threshold value of the signal quality for performing the SDT as the reference threshold value corrected based on the bias value.
Regarding Claim 18, Koskinen discloses the communication device according to claim 15.
Koskinen further discloses the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine the configuration information based on a communication protocol (¶71-74 & Fig. 2 (201) & ¶54, Koskinen discloses determining, by the UE, the indication for adjusting one or more conditions for the UE to perform SDT based upon 5G Release 17); or
receive the configuration information sent by an access network device (¶71-74 & Fig. 2 (201), Koskinen discloses receiving, by the UE, the indication for adjusting one or more conditions for the UE to perform SDT sent by the gNB. Examiner correlates the gNB to "an access network device").
Regarding Claim 21, Koskinen discloses a communication device, comprising:
a memory (¶126-127 & Fig. 9, Koskinen discloses a next generation node (gNB) comprising memory 920); and
one or more processors connected to the memory and configured to perform the method according to claim 9 (¶126-127 & Fig. 9, Koskinen discloses the gNB further comprising communication control circuitry 910 connected to the memory 920 to perform the method of Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 22, Koskinen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (¶119 & Fig. 8, Koskinen discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising memory 820 storing computer readable instructions for execution by a processor 810 to perform the method of Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 23, Koskinen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 9 (¶126 & Fig. 9, Koskinen discloses a next generation node (gNB) comprising memory 920 storing computer program code 922 for execution by communication control circuitry 910 to perform the method of Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen in view of Turtinen et al. (US 20230397198 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Turtinen”) in further view of Huang et al. (US 20210227586 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 10, Koskinen discloses the method according to claim 9.
However, Koskinen does not disclose wherein the threshold value of the signal quality comprises a threshold value of signal quality for the terminal to perform the SDT based on a predetermined transmission manner, and the predetermined transmission manner comprises at least one of: a first manner, which is a configured grant based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the first manner is a first threshold value, and the first threshold value is greater than a second threshold value, wherein the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT, a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value, and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value, wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT, or a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value, wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value, and wherein the first threshold value is a threshold value of configured grant based SDT, and the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT.
Turtinen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the threshold value of the signal quality comprises a threshold value of signal quality for the terminal to perform the SDT based on a predetermined transmission manner (¶66-67 & Fig. 7 (520), Turtinen discloses determining whether a condition is satisfied in order to perform a SDT where the condition involves determining whether the RSRP), and
the predetermined transmission manner comprises at least one of:
a first manner, which is a configured grant based SDT manner (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses determining whether a condition is satisfied in order to perform a SDT according to a first manner/configuration or a second manner/configuration);
wherein a threshold value of the first manner is a first threshold value (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses determining that the RSRP is lower than a first threshold), and the first threshold value is greater than a second threshold value (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses that the first threshold is greater than the second threshold by an offset amount), wherein the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT (¶40, Turtinen discloses the UE 110 may decide to fallback from the SDT procedure to the RA procedure when the RSRP measured at the UE 110 is lower than the first threshold by an amount equal to or larger than the predefined offset),
wherein the first threshold value is a threshold value of configured grant based SDT (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses that the first threshold is greater than the second threshold by an offset amount causes performance of the SDT according to an uplink (UL) grant), and
the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT (¶40, Turtinen discloses the UE 110 may decide to fallback from the SDT procedure to the RA procedure when the RSRP measured at the UE 110 is lower than the first threshold by an amount equal to or larger than the predefined offset).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koskinen by requiring that the threshold value of the signal quality comprises a threshold value of signal quality for the terminal to perform the SDT based on a predetermined transmission manner, and the predetermined transmission manner comprises at least one of: a first manner, which is a configured grant based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the first manner is a first threshold value, and the first threshold value is greater than a second threshold value, wherein the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT, and wherein the first threshold value is a threshold value of configured grant based SDT, and the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT as taught by Turtinen because the probability of successfully transmitting uplink data to the network is increased by enabling the UE to transition from the SDT procedure to another procedure such as an RA procedure different from the SDT procedure when a certain condition is satisfied (Turtinen, ¶34).
However, Koskinen in view of Turtinen does not disclose a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value, and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value, wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT, or a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value, wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value.
Huang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to perform a 2-step random access SDT in response to comparing the RSRP to a first threshold corresponding to SDT and a second threshold corresponding to random access type); wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to a second threshold corresponding to a 2-step random access), and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to a third threshold to determine RA type for SDT), wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses the third threshold corresponds to a 4-step random access), or
a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to perform a 2-step random access SDT in response to comparing the RSRP to a first threshold corresponding to SDT and a second threshold corresponding to random access type); wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to a third threshold to determine RA type for SDT), wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses that the first threshold used to determine SDT or non-SDT transmission is greater than the second threshold corresponding to 2-step random access and the third threshold corresponding to 4-step random access).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koskinen in view of Turtinen by requiring that a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value, and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value, wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT, or a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value, wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value as taught by Huang because the procedure of small data transmission is improved by determining whether the radio condition of the UE is below a threshold (Huang, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Koskinen in view of Turtinen in further view of Huang discloses the method according to claim 4.
Huang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches that further comprising:
in response to measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the predetermined transmission manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining, in response to the RSRP being greater than a third threshold and a first threshold, to perform SDT).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koskinen in view of Turtinen by requiring that [the method] further comprising further comprising: in response to measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the predetermined transmission manner as taught by Huang because the procedure of small data transmission is improved by determining whether the radio condition of the UE is below a threshold (Huang, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Koskinen in view of Turtinen in further view of Huang discloses the method according to claim 5.
Huang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the predetermined transmission manner comprises:
in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value and greater than the first threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the first manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining, in response to the RSRP being greater than a third threshold and a first threshold, to perform SDT without random access); or
in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, greater than the second threshold value and less than the first threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the second manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining, in response to the RSRP being less than the first threshold and greater than a second threshold, to perform 2-step random access SDT); or
in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, less than the first threshold value and less than the second threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the third manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining, in response to the RSRP being less than the first threshold and greater than a third threshold, to perform 4-step random access SDT).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koskinen in view of Turtinen by requiring that in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the predetermined transmission manner comprises: in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value and greater than the first threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the first manner; or in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, greater than the second threshold value and less than the first threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the second manner; or in response to the measured signal quality being greater than the third threshold value, less than the first threshold value and less than the second threshold value, determining to perform the SDT based on the third manner as taught by Huang because the procedure of small data transmission is improved by determining whether the radio condition of the UE is below a threshold (Huang, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Koskinen discloses the communication device according to claim 15.
Turtinen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the threshold value of the signal quality comprises a threshold value of signal quality for the terminal to perform the SDT based on a predetermined transmission manner (¶66-67 & Fig. 7 (520), Turtinen discloses determining whether a condition is satisfied in order to perform a SDT where the condition involves determining whether the RSRP), and
the predetermined transmission manner comprises at least one of:
a first manner, which is a configured grant based SDT manner (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses determining whether a condition is satisfied in order to perform a SDT according to a first manner/configuration or a second manner/configuration);
wherein a threshold value of the first manner is a first threshold value (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses determining that the RSRP is lower than a first threshold), and the first threshold value is greater than a second threshold value (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses that the first threshold is greater than the second threshold by an offset amount), wherein the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT (¶40, Turtinen discloses the UE 110 may decide to fallback from the SDT procedure to the RA procedure when the RSRP measured at the UE 110 is lower than the first threshold by an amount equal to or larger than the predefined offset),
wherein the first threshold value is a threshold value of configured grant based SDT (¶66-67 & ¶81 & Fig. 7 (520->540 OR 550), Turtinen discloses that the first threshold is greater than the second threshold by an offset amount causes performance of the SDT according to an uplink (UL) grant), and
the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT (¶40, Turtinen discloses the UE 110 may decide to fallback from the SDT procedure to the RA procedure when the RSRP measured at the UE 110 is lower than the first threshold by an amount equal to or larger than the predefined offset).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koskinen by requiring that the threshold value of the signal quality comprises a threshold value of signal quality for the terminal to perform the SDT based on a predetermined transmission manner, and the predetermined transmission manner comprises at least one of: a first manner, which is a configured grant based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the first manner is a first threshold value, and the first threshold value is greater than a second threshold value, wherein the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT, and wherein the first threshold value is a threshold value of configured grant based SDT, and the second threshold value is a threshold value of 2-step random access based SDT as taught by Turtinen because the probability of successfully transmitting uplink data to the network is increased by enabling the UE to transition from the SDT procedure to another procedure such as an RA procedure different from the SDT procedure when a certain condition is satisfied (Turtinen, ¶34).
However, Koskinen in view of Turtinen does not disclose a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value, and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value, wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT, or a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value, wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value.
Huang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to perform a 2-step random access SDT in response to comparing the RSRP to a first threshold corresponding to SDT and a second threshold corresponding to random access type); wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to a second threshold corresponding to a 2-step random access), and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to a third threshold to determine RA type for SDT), wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses the third threshold corresponds to a 4-step random access), or
a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to perform a 2-step random access SDT in response to comparing the RSRP to a first threshold corresponding to SDT and a second threshold corresponding to random access type); wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses determining to a third threshold to determine RA type for SDT), wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value (¶325 & Fig. 8, Huang discloses that the first threshold used to determine SDT or non-SDT transmission is greater than the second threshold corresponding to 2-step random access and the third threshold corresponding to 4-step random access).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koskinen in view of Turtinen by requiring that a second manner, which is a 2-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the second manner is the second threshold value, and the second threshold value is greater than a third threshold value, wherein the third threshold value is a threshold value of 4-step random access based SDT, or a third manner, which is a 4-step random access based SDT manner; wherein a threshold value of the third manner is the third threshold value, wherein at least one of the first threshold value is greater than the second threshold value or the second threshold value is greater than the third threshold value as taught by Huang because the procedure of small data transmission is improved by determining whether the radio condition of the UE is below a threshold (Huang, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 5.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474