DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 16-22 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0106728 (hereinafter Cheng ‘728).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng ‘728 discloses a method performed by a relay user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (disclosed is a method performed by a relay UE in a wireless communication system, according to [0112], Fig. 5 [element 115-j]), the method comprising:
establishing a PC5 link with a peer remote UE for UE-to-UE (U2U) sidelink communication between a remote UE and the peer remote UE (PC5 link setup is performed between the relay UE and a source UE [“peer remote UE”] and a destination UE [“remote UE”] in order to facilitate U2U communications between the source UE and the destination UE, according to [0112]-[0113], [0116], Fig. 5 [step 505]);
assigning an identity (ID) of the remote UE and an ID of the peer remote UE for a sidelink relay adaption protocol (SRAP) (the relay UE assigns a local identifier to the source UE and assigns a local identifier to the destination UE, which support an SRAP header that is associated with PC5-S messages, according to [0115], Fig. 5 [step 515]); and
transmitting, to the peer remote UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message including the ID of the remote UE and the ID of the peer remote UE (the relay UE transmits a PC5-RRC message, comprising the source UE local identifier and the destination UE local identifier, to the source UE, according to [0116], Fig. 5 [step 520]).
Claim 24 recites the relay UE, comprising a transceiver and a controller coupled with the transceiver (a UE comprises a transceiver and a processor coupled to said transceiver, according to [0139]-[0141]), that performs the method recited in claim 16, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Cheng ‘728 discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: transmitting, to the remote UE, a RRC message including the ID of the remote UE and the ID of the peer remote UE (the relay UE transmits a PC5-RRC message, comprising the source UE local identifier and the destination UE local identifier, to the destination UE, according to [0116], Fig. 5 [step 520]).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng ‘728 discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the RRC message further includes a layer 2 (L2) ID of the remote UE and a L2 ID of the peer remote UE (the local identifiers that are assigned to each of the source UE and the destination UE are L2 identifiers, according to [0114]).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng ‘728 discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: identifying a data to be transmitted to the peer remote UE (the relay UE identifies a security message, comprising an SRAP header, to be transmitted to the source UE, according to [0118], [0120], Fig. 6 [step 615]); and
determining the PC5 link for the data based on the ID of the peer remote UE (the relay UE performs routing to the correct PC5 link based on the local identifiers in the SRAP header, according to [0122]).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng ‘728 discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the data includes a SRAP header including the ID of the remote UE, the ID of the peer remote UE, and an ID of a bearer for the data (the identified data comprises the SRAP header, which comprises the local identifiers of the source UE and the destination UE, and is associated with a particular SRB (signaling radio bearer), such as SRB0 through SRB3, according to [0122]).
Regarding claim 21, Cheng ‘728 discloses the method of claim 16, wherein a bearer for the U2U sidelink communication is mapped with a radio link control (RLC) channel via a SRAP sublayer of the relay UE (particular SRBs for sidelink communication between the UEs is configured based on a default configuration, such that one or more sidelink RLC channels are established for these SRBs based on this default configuration, whereby this default configuration causes the UE to perform routing based on one or more local identifiers that are included in the SRAP header, according to [0122]).
Regarding claim 22, Cheng ‘728 discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: performing a discovery procedure for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE (a discovery procedure for sidelink communication between the UEs is performed before the link setup procedure, according to [0106]-[0108]).
Claims 25-29 do not differ substantively from claims 17-21, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claims 17-21, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng ‘728 as applied to claims 16 and 24 above, in view of Cheng, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0284116 (hereinafter Cheng ‘116).
Regarding claim 23, Cheng ‘728 discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Cheng ‘728 does not expressly disclose that a PC5 link with the remote UE is established for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE.
Cheng ‘116 discloses that a PC5 link with the remote UE is established for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE (a unicast link (which may be a PC5 link, according to [0083]) between a UE and a first relay UE is initially established, whereby a unicast link is later established between said UE and a second relay UE before the release of the unicast link between said UE and said first relay UE, according to [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng ‘728 with Cheng ‘116 such that a PC5 link with the remote UE is established for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate mission-critical mesh communications (Cheng ‘116: [0065]).
Regarding claim 30, Cheng ‘728 discloses all the limitations of claim 24. Additionally, Cheng ‘728 discloses that the controller is further configured to: perform a discovery procedure for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE (a discovery procedure for sidelink communication between the UEs is performed before the link setup procedure, according to [0106]-[0108]).
Cheng ‘728 does not expressly disclose that a PC5 link with the remote UE is established for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE.
Cheng ‘116 discloses that a PC5 link with the remote UE is established for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE (a unicast link (which may be a PC5 link, according to [0083]) between a UE and a first relay UE is initially established, whereby a unicast link is later established between said UE and a second relay UE before the release of the unicast link between said UE and said first relay UE, according to [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng ‘728 with Cheng ‘116 such that a PC5 link with the remote UE is established for the U2U sidelink communication before an establishment of the PC5 link with the peer remote UE.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate mission-critical mesh communications (Cheng ‘116: [0065]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645