DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear what method is to be used to ascertain claimed yield stress and claimed tensile strength. There are different recognized methods in the art, and it is unclear which methods is/are being claimed. Is the method specifically used in the Specification at paragraph 93 necessarily to be the method used?
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by the phrase “an average value b in the top 5 % of prior austenite grain sizes”. It is unclear whether b is to be an average value of grain size in the top 5 % of grain sizes, or of something else.
Regarding Claim 2, it is unclear whether the claim encompasses situation where Cu, for example, is in its claimed range, e.g., at 0.5 %, and Mo is not, e.g., at 1.1 %. Such composition by its plain meaning would “further contain … at least one”, but it is unclear whether it is to be encompassed by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Furuya WO 2020/0136829 (as translated by USPA 2021/0222277).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Furuya discloses nickel containing steel plate having claimed composition and thickness (Table 1, Steel Ex. 5; Table 3-1 Ex. 5: 18 mm). Furuya teaches claimed retained austenite (Table 5-1, Ex. 5: 2.2%), claimed tensile strength (Table 5-1, Ex. 5: 784 MPa). Furuya does not expressly teach claimed prior austenite grain size, claimed a/b ratio, or claimed yield strength. However, Furuya teaches that the average prior austenite grain size is 9 microns for this example (paragraph 26; Table 5-1, Ex. 5). Thus, it would be expected that for any reasonable distribution of sizes that the claimed value of less than 100 microns would be obtained or substantially obtained, including for normal distribution or log-normal distribution. Applicant explains that steel suitable for LNG applications needs claimed yield strength. See Specification (paragraph 65). This is the same application Furuya contemplates for Furuya’s steels (paragraph 2). Furuya teaches aspect ratio (Table 5-1, Ex. 5: 1.4) and Charny impact values (Table 5-1, Ex. 5: 205J) that applicant demonstrates are desired for claimed articles. See Specification (Tables 2 and 3). The Specification teaches that claimed prior austenite grain size and claimed a/b ratio are optimized as claimed so as to achieve low temperature toughness in the range that Furuya achieves. See Specification (paragraphs 59 and 57). Thus, it would be expected that the claimed articles encompass or substantially encompass those of Furuya since the parameters that are disclosed in Furuya are the same as or are correlated to what applicant teaches is needed and desired in low temperature toughness articles. Furthermore, Furuya’s method of manufacturing is very close to that used by applicant as claimed and characterized. The steel is heated to 1100oC and has a roll finishing temperature (Table 5-1; CR start temperature and Temperature before one finishing pass: “801oC” and “731oC”). This meets applicant’s preferred temperatures. See Specification (paragraph 74). Reheating occurs at 810oC, which is above Ac3, which is 736.2oC, using applicant’s formula, and below 900oC. See Specification (paragraph 80). Then, tempering occurs at 575oC (Table 4-1, Ex. 5), which is in the desired range taught by applicant. See Specification (paragraph 83). Furuya does not mention rolling reduction requirements. See Specification (paragraph 76; and Claim 3). However, applicant’s Tables 2 and 3 show that low temperature toughness is what is not achieved by not meeting this criterion, but Furuya does obtain low temperature toughness. More generally, Furuya’s method is very similar to that used by applicant. Furuya’s articles furthermore meet and exceed the thresholds for low temperature toughness which applicant explains is the desired outcome for applicant’s process steps and motivates applicant’s preferred claimed structural features. There are no examples provided by applicant where low temperature toughness was obtained using preferred method and these parameters that are not expressly disclosed in Furuya are not obtained. For example, in the Specification Exs. 29 and 30 obtain good low temperature toughness and fail to meet some of these parameters, but they were tempered outside the advised range, unlike Furuya which tempers in the advised range. Thus, absent further evidence to the contrary, it would be expected that the claimed parameters not expressly disclosed in Furuya would nevertheless be expected to be the same as or substantially the same as those in Furuya were they to have been ascertained since so many specified claimed parameters are present, since the uses to be put are comparable, since the process steps are very similar to the extent disclosed, and since, where applicant’s evidence demonstrates failure to obtained claimed values, what caused those failures is not present in how Furuya prepared Furuya’s steels. Other examples in the tables also read on and suggest the claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784
16 March 2026