Preliminary Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment submitted on 10/15/2024 has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the Application Filed on 10/15/2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20180344163 A1, hereinafter, “Lee*”) in view of Li et al. (US 20180070842 A1, hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for phase-restoring translational shifting of a multidimensional optical coherence tomography (OCT) image (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals; ¶ [0063] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a plurality of interference images. Fig. 5 shows interference images takes in multidimensions, x-, y-, and k-direction), comprising:
obtaining, from an image source, a spectral signal (See Lee, ¶ [0049] full-field OCT system can capture interference images. Examiner considers the interference images to be the spectral signal) corresponding to the multidimensional OCT image (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image; Fig. 5, ¶ [0063] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a plurality of interference images. Fig. 5 shows interference images takes in multidimensions, x-, y-, and k-direction); and
at one or more processors (See Lee, ¶ [0058] an image processor 480):
computing a first shifted, complex-valued image (See Lee, ¶ [0053], “short-time A-line profile” may mean, in an OCT system or a full-field OCT system, a result of short-time Fourier transform on interference intensities in a wave number domain. Examiner considers this to be a complex valued image as Fourier transform outputs a complex value) by converting the spectral signal (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals based on the measured depth-directional movement. Examiner considers the compensation as converting) to a shifted spectral signal (See Lee, ¶ [0053] measure the depth-directional movement of a measurement target by observing a peak of a short-time A-line (Axial-line) profile corresponding to a point in time where interference images of the measurement target are captured. Examiner considers the depth-directional movement as a shift in the interference images) and transforming the shifted spectral signal along a first axis (See Lee, ¶ [0081] Since there is depth-directional movement, the depth-directional position of the peak of the A-line profile is changed in accordance with depth-directional movement at each point in time where the wavelength of the wavelength-tunable laser is changed. Examiner considers the first axis to be in the depth direction, z-axis);
computing a spatial frequency component of the multidimensional OCT (See Lee, ¶ [0127] if the measurement target 450 has moved in the depth direction and the horizontal direction, the image processor 480 can perform the process of measuring and compensating for the horizontal movement and then the process of measuring and compensating for the depth-directional movement. Examiner considers the measuring in the depth direction as computing a frequency component) by transforming the first shifted, complex-valued image along at least one further axis perpendicular to the first axis (See Lee, ¶ [0051] The illustrated 2D OCT images are OCT cross-sectional images showing x-axis and z-axis (axis in depth direction). Examiner considers the at least one further axis to be the x-axis) and
producing a phase-restored image by converting the spatial frequency component of the multidimensional OCT image (See Lee, ¶ [0070] FIG. 6 is a drawing showing a process of obtaining a short-time wave number domain profile by applying a sliding wave number domain window to interference images in the full-field OCT system. Examiner considers applying a sliding wave number domain window as converting the spatial frequency component) to a shifted spatial frequency spectrum (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals based on the measured depth-directional movement. Examiner considers the compensating as shifting the frequency spectrum) and [applying an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis.]
However, Lee does not disclose applying an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis.
Li teaches applying an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis (See Li, ¶ [0048] 3) The z domain spatial structure information (as in box G1 to Gn) is obtained by inverse Fourier-transform of the incident angle-resolved independent sub spectra (as in box F1 to Fn) along the x direction respectively and then Fourier-transform along the k direction. Examiner considers the at least one further axis to be the x-axis).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to apply an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis based on the method of Li’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reconstruct the complex-valued spectrum to get the spatial structure information of depth domain as suggested by Li at ¶ [0017].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein converting the spectral signal to a shifted spectral signal comprises performing pixel-wise multiplication of the spectral signal by an exponential term (See Lee, ¶ [0053] a result of short-time Fourier transform on interference intensities in a wave number domain, in which the interference intensities are obtained from a point corresponding to a specific point on a measurement target in interference images. Use of the Fourier transform would involve multiplication; ¶ [0089] When the phase compensation function is θ(k), the phase distortion of an interference signal can be compensated through the following equation. Use of the Fourier transform would involve an exponential term as it is known in the formula to have one as well. The formula below, the phase compensation function, also depicts an exponential term).
Regarding claim 6, in which claim 5 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein the first axis is the z axis, and the exponential term is based on a discrete spectral component and a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along the z axis (See Lee, ¶ 0081] Since there is depth-directional movement, the depth-directional position of the peak of the A-line profile is changed in accordance with depth-directional movement at each point in time where the wavelength of the wavelength-tunable laser is changed. Examiner considers the depth direction, z-axis; ¶ [0089] When the phase compensation function is θ(k), the phase distortion of an interference signal can be compensated through the following equation. Examiner considers the wave number as the spectral component).
Regarding claim 8, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein converting the spatial frequency component of the multidimensional OCT image to a shifted spatial frequency spectrum comprises performing point-wise multiplication of the spatial frequency component of the multidimensional OCT image by an exponential term (See Lee, ¶ [0053] a result of short-time Fourier transform on interference intensities in a wave number domain, in which the interference intensities are obtained from a point corresponding to a specific point on a measurement target in interference images. Use of the Fourier transform would involve multiplication; ¶ [0089] When the phase compensation function is θ(k), the phase distortion of an interference signal can be compensated through the following equation. Use of the Fourier transform would involve an exponential term as it is known in the formula to have one as well. The phase compensation function depicts an exponential term).
Regarding claim 9, in which claim 8 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein the exponential term is based on a spatial frequency of the multidimensional OCT image along each further axis and a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along each further axis (See Lee, ¶ [0089] When the phase compensation function is θ(k), the phase distortion of an interference signal can be compensated through the following equation. Use of the Fourier transform would involve an exponential term as it is known in the formula to have one as well. The formula also depicts an exponential term. Examiner considers the phase distortion as a shift).
Regarding claim 13, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 2-dimensional image (See Lee, ¶ [0051] The illustrated 2D OCT images are OCT cross-sectional images showing x-axis and z-axis) and:
[transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 1-dimensional Fourier Transform in one said further axis; and
applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 1- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the one further axis.]
However, Lee does not disclose [transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 1-dimensional Fourier Transform in one said further axis; and
applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 1- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the one further axis.]
Li teaches transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 1-dimensional Fourier Transform in one said further axis (See Li, ¶ [0048] 3) The z domain spatial structure information (as in box G1 to Gn) is obtained by inverse Fourier-transform of the incident angle-resolved independent subspectra (as in box F1 to Fn) along the x direction respectively and then Fourier-transform along the k direction. Examiner considers the one further axis to be the k-axis); and
applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 1- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the one further axis (See Li, ¶ [0048] 3) The z domain spatial structure information (as in box G1 to Gn) is obtained by inverse Fourier-transform of the incident angle-resolved independent subspectra (as in box F1 to Fn) along the x direction respectively and then Fourier-transform along the k direction. Examiner considers the one further axis to be the x-axis).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to apply an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis based on the method of Li’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reconstruct the complex-valued spectrum to get the spatial structure information of depth domain as suggested by Li at ¶ [0017].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee and Li teach a method for imaging movement or deformation in Fourier- domain optical coherence tomography (OCT) (See Lee, ¶ [0026] FIG. 8 is a drawing showing a short-time A-line profile obtained by performing short-time Fourier transform on the wave number of a short-time wave number domain profile in the full-field OCT system according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) comprising:
performing OCT to obtain a multidimensional OCT image (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals; ¶ [0063] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a plurality of interference images. Fig. 5 shows interference images takes in multidimensions, x-, y-, and k-direction); and
performing the method of claim 1 on the multidimensional OCT image (See Lee and Li as cited above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses an image restoration system for phase-restoring translational shifting of a multidimensional optical coherence tomography (OCT) image (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals; ¶ [0063] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a plurality of interference images. Fig. 5 shows interference images takes in multidimensions, x-, y-, and k-direction), comprising:
memory (See Lee, ¶ [0064], at least one volatile memory device or nonvolatile memory device, or a combination of such memory devices); and
at least one processor (See Lee, ¶ [0058] an image processor 480), the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to (See Lee, ¶ [0065] the image processor 480 may receive interference images directly from the imaging device 460):
obtain, from an image source, a spectral signal corresponding to the multidimensional OCT image (See Lee, Fig. 5, ¶ [0063] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a plurality of interference images. Fig. 5 shows interference images takes in multidimensions, x-, y-, and k-direction);
compute a first shifted, complex-valued image (See Lee, ¶ [0053], “short-time A-line profile” may mean, in an OCT system or a full-field OCT system, a result of short-time Fourier transform on interference intensities in a wave number domain. Examiner considers this to be a complex valued image as Fourier transform outputs a complex value) by converting the spectral signal (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals based on the measured depth-directional movement. Examiner considers the compensation as converting the spectral signal) to a shifted spectral signal (See Lee, ¶ [0053] it is possible to measure the depth-directional movement of a measurement target by observing a peak of a short-time A-line (Axial-line) profile corresponding to a point in time where interference images of the measurement target are captured. Examiner considers the depth-directional movement as a shift) and transforming the shifted spectral signal along a first axis (See Lee, ¶ [0081] Since there is depth-directional movement, the depth-directional position of the peak of the A-line profile is changed in accordance with depth-directional movement at each point in time where the wavelength of the wavelength-tunable laser is changed. Examiner considers the first axis to be in the depth direction, z-axis);
compute a spatial frequency component (See Lee, ¶ [0127] if the measurement target 450 has moved in the depth direction and the horizontal direction, the image processor 480 can perform the process of measuring and compensating for the horizontal movement and then the process of measuring and compensating for the depth-directional movement. Examiner considers the measuring in the depth direction as computing a frequency component) of the multidimensional OCT image by transforming the first shifted, complex-valued image along at least one further axis perpendicular to the first axis (See Lee, ¶ [0051] The illustrated 2D OCT images are OCT cross-sectional images showing x-axis and z-axis (axis in depth direction). Examiner considers the at least one further axis to be the x-axis; ¶ [0127] if the measurement target 450 has moved in the depth direction and the horizontal direction, the image processor 480 can perform the process of measuring and compensating for the horizontal movement and then the process of measuring and compensating for the depth-directional movement); and
produce a phase-restored image by converting the spatial frequency component of the multidimensional OCT image (See Lee, ¶ [0070] FIG. 6 is a drawing showing a process of obtaining a short-time wave number domain profile by applying a sliding wave number domain window to interference images in the full-field OCT system. Examiner considers applying a sliding wave number domain window as converting the spatial frequency component) to a shifted spatial frequency spectrum (See Lee, ¶ [0053] an OCT image where the depth-directional movement has been compensated for can be created by correcting phases of the interference signals based on the measured depth-directional movement. Examiner considers the compensating as shifting the frequency spectrum) and [applying an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis.]
However, Lee does not disclose applying an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis.
Li teaches applying an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis (See Li, ¶ [0048] 3) The z domain spatial structure information (as in box G1 to Gn) is obtained by inverse Fourier-transform of the incident angle-resolved independent subspectra (as in box F1 to Fn) along the x direction respectively and then Fourier-transform along the k direction. Examiner considers the at least one further axis to be the x-axis).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to apply an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis based on the method of Li’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reconstruct the complex-valued spectrum to get the spatial structure information of depth domain as suggested by Li at ¶ [0017].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee and Li teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions (See Lee, ¶ [0065] the image processor 480 may receive interference images directly from the imaging device 460) that, when executed by one or more processors of a computer system (See Lee, ¶ [0058] an image processor 480), cause the computer system to perform the method of claims 1 (See Lee and Li as cited above for claim 1).
Claims 2, 3, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20180344163 A1, hereinafter, “Lee”) in view of Li et al. (US 20180070842 A1, hereinafter, “Li”), further in view of Zavareh et al. (Systems and methods for the spectral calibration of swept source Optical coherence tomography systems, 2019, hereinafter, “Zavareh”), and further in view of An (US 20160040977 A1, hereinafter, “An”).
Regarding claim 2, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee and Li do not teach wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a cropped complex-valued OCT image and obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image, and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal.
Zavareh teaches wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a cropped complex-valued OCT image (See Zavareh, Pg 51, section 2.5.3.1, lines 4-6, The negative frequencies of the resulted signal is then then zeroed out and the newly produced signal is applied an inverse Fourier transformation upon. Examiner considers cropped to mean filtered out) and [obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image, and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a cropped complex-valued OCT image based on the method of Zavareh’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to be less hardware intensive and more efficient in producing a new signal as suggested by Zavareh at Pg. 51, section 2.5.3.1, par. 2, lines 1-4).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Zavareh does not teach obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image, and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal.
An teaches obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image (See An, ¶ [0034] One example of up-sampling is to use a zero-padding approach in the spectral domain of the captured OCT spectral data, and employ Fourier transformation to up-sample the intensity B-scan images), and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal (See An, ¶ [0017] The Fourier transform of the processed interferogram, results in a complex valued OCT signal output).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference for obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal based on the method of An’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to further improve the accuracy of the calculated shifts, thereby providing sub-pixel level accuracy which can lead to improved accuracy motion contrast to be calculated as suggested by An at ¶ [0034].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavareh and An with Lee and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, in which claim 2 is incorporated, Lee and Li do not teach wherein transforming the full range complex- valued OCT image to generate the complex-valued spectral signal comprises applying an inverse Fourier transform to the full range complex-valued OCT image along the axial direction.
An teaches wherein transforming the full range complex- valued OCT image to generate the complex-valued spectral signal comprises applying an inverse Fourier transform to the full range complex-valued OCT image along the axial direction (See An, ¶ [0034] intensity or complex data B-scans could be up-sampled in both x and z prior to the registration step…. One example of up-sampling is to use a zero-padding approach in the spectral domain of the captured OCT spectral data, and employ Fourier transformation to up-sample the intensity B-scan images).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein transforming the full range complex- valued OCT image to generate the complex-valued spectral signal comprises applying an inverse Fourier transform to the full range complex-valued OCT image along the axial direction based on the method of An’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to further improve the accuracy of the calculated shifts, thereby providing sub-pixel level accuracy which can lead to improved accuracy motion contrast to be calculated as suggested by An at ¶ [0034].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine An with Lee, Li, and Zavareh to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, in which claim 16 is incorporated, Lee and Li do not teach wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a cropped complex-valued OCT image and obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image, and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal.
Zavareh teaches wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a cropped complex-valued OCT image (See Zavareh, Pg 51, section 2.5.3.1, lines 4-6, The negative frequencies of the resulted signal is then then zeroed out and the newly produced signal is applied an inverse Fourier transformation upon. Examiner considers cropped to mean filtered out) and [obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image, and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a cropped complex-valued OCT image based on the method of Zavareh’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to be less hardware intensive and more efficient in producing a new signal as suggested by Zavareh at Pg. 51, section 2.5.3.1, par. 2, lines 1-4).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Zavareh does not teach obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image, and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal.
An teaches obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image (See An, ¶ [0034] One example of up-sampling is to use a zero-padding approach in the spectral domain of the captured OCT spectral data, and employ Fourier transformation to up-sample the intensity B-scan images), and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal (See An, ¶ [0017] The Fourier transform of the processed interferogram, results in a complex valued OCT signal output).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference for obtaining the spectral signal comprises zero-padding the cropped complex-valued OCT image to produce a full range complex-valued OCT image and transforming the full range complex-valued OCT image to generate the spectral signal, the spectral signal being a complex-valued spectral signal based on the method of An’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to further improve the accuracy of the calculated shifts, thereby providing sub-pixel level accuracy which can lead to improved accuracy motion contrast to be calculated as suggested by An at ¶ [0034].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavareh and An with Lee and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20180344163 A1, hereinafter, “Lee”) in view of Li et al. (US 20180070842 A1, hereinafter, “Li”) and further in view of Hillman et al. (Common approach for compensation of axial motion artifacts in swept-source OCT and dispersion in Fourier-domain OCT, 2012, hereinafter, “Hillman”).
Regarding claim 7, in which claim 6 is incorporated, Lee and Li do not teach wherein the exponential term is expressed as: exp (2ikn∆z) where kn is the discrete spectral component, ∆z is a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along the z axis and i is an imaginary unit.
Hillman teaches wherein the exponential term is expressed as: exp (2ikn∆z) where kn is the discrete spectral component, ∆z is a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along the z axis and i is an imaginary unit (See Hillman, Pg. 6762, Section 1, line 10-11, an additional path length difference zdisp(k) that is dependent on the wavenumber k. Examiner considers the zdisp as a shift along the z axis; Pg. 4, section 2, lines 12-15, introduce a phase factor exp(−iφ(k)) with a suitable φ(k)=2kzdisp(k). Once φ(k) is known its effect can simply be reverted by multiplying
I
d
i
s
p
D
(k) in Eq. (2) with the complex conjugated phase term [exp(−iφ(k))]*= exp(+iφ(k)) prior to calculating the A-scans by the Fourier transform). Examiner considers the complex equation, including an imaginary unit and a spectral component, such as a phase, to incorporate all relevant variables in the expressed exponential term of applicant).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to wherein the exponential term is expressed as: exp (2ikn∆z) where k~ is the discrete spectral component, ∆z is a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along the z axis and i is an imaginary unit based on the method of Hillman’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to obtain data directly from the OCT spectral data using an algorithm that has been subjected to axial motion or dispersion and correct dispersion of the image as suggested by Hillman at Pg. 6763, indented par., 3, lines 1-5 and pg. 6764, lines 1-2.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hillman with Lee and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Claims 4, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lee et al. (US 20180344163 A1, hereinafter, “Lee”) in view of Li et al. (US 20180070842 A1, hereinafter, “Li”) and further in view of Ksenofontov (Numerical method for axial motion artifact correction in retinal spectral-domain optical coherence tomography." Frontiers of Optoelectronics, 2020, hereinafter, “Ksenofontov”).
Regarding claim 4, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a multidimensional complex-valued OCT image (See Lee, Fig. 5, ¶ [0063] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a plurality of interference images. Fig. 5 shows interference images takes in multidimensions, x- ,y-, and k-direction; ¶ [0053], “short-time A-line profile” may mean, in an OCT system or a full-field OCT system, a result of short-time Fourier transform on interference intensities in a wave number domain. Examiner considers this to be a complex valued image as Fourier transform outputs a complex value) OCT image and obtaining the spectral signal comprises receiving, from the image source, a real-valued spectral signal and, [at the one or more processors, conducting a Hilbert transform on the real-valued spectral signal.]
However, Lee does not disclose obtaining the spectral signal comprises receiving, from the image source, a real-valued spectral signal and, at the one or more processors, conducting a Hilbert transform on the real-valued spectral signal.
Li teaches obtaining the spectral signal comprises receiving, from the image source, a real-valued spectral signal (See Li, ¶ [0038] In FIG. 4: A denotes a real-valued OCT interference spectrum signal) and, [at the one or more processors, conducting a Hilbert transform on the real-valued spectral signal.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to apply an inverse transform in each of the at least one further axis based on the method of Li’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reconstruct the complex-valued spectrum to get the spatial structure information of depth domain as suggested by Li at ¶ [0017].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Li does not teach at the one or more processors, conducting a Hilbert transform on the real-valued spectral signal.
Ksenofontov teaches at the one or more processors, conducting a Hilbert transform on the real-valued spectral signal (See Ksenofontov, Pg. 395, section 3, first indented par., 9-11, a two-dimensional set of complex data is calculated as an analytical signal using the numerical Hilbert transform).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to conducting a Hilbert transform on the real-valued spectral signal based on the method of Ksenofontov’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use the simplest method to obtain complex-valued spectral data as suggested by Ksenofontov at Pg. 395, right col., section 3, lines 24-26.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li and Ksenofontov with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, in which claim 9 is incorporated, Lee and Li do not teach wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 2-dimensional image and the exponential term is expressed as: exp (-iu∆x) where ∆x is a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along a said further axis, being an x axis, u is the spatial frequency of the multidimensional OCT image along the said further axis and i is an imaginary unit.
Ksenofontov teaches wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 2-dimensional image and the exponential term is expressed as: exp (-iu∆x) where ∆x is a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along a said further axis, being an x axis, u is the spatial frequency of the multidimensional OCT image along the said further axis and i is an imaginary unit (See Ksenofontov, Pg. 395, left col., 26-32, A 2D dataset, or a B-scan, is acquired by moving a probe beam along the surface of the object (x-coordinate) and synchronously recording A-scans; Pg. 395, left col., line 7, ω is the optical frequency; Pg. 395, right col., section 3, lines 24-26, the numerical Hilbert transform is used as the simplest method to obtain complex-valued spectral data. Examiner considers the use of the Hilbert transform, which uses an imaginary unit, as the imaginary unit in the exponential term as claimed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 2-dimensional image and the exponential term is expressed as: exp (-iu∆x) where ∆x is a shift of the multidimensional OCT image along a said further axis, being an x axis, u is the spatial frequency of the multidimensional OCT image along the said further axis and i is an imaginary unit based on the method of Ksenofontov’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use the simplest method to obtain complex-valued spectral data as suggested by Ksenofontov at Pg. 395, right col., section 3, lines 24-26.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ksenofontov with Lee and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, in which claim 9 is incorporated, Lee and Li do not teach wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 3-dimensional image and the exponential term is expressed as: exp(-iu∆x) exp(-iv∆y) where Ax and Ay are shifts of the multidimensional OCT image along an x axis and a y axis, respectively, the y axis being perpendicular to the x axis, u and v are the spatial frequencies of the multidimensional OCT image along the x axis and y axis, respectively, and i is an imaginary unit.
Ksenofontov teaches wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 3-dimensional image and the exponential term is expressed as: exp(-iu∆x) exp(-iv∆y) where Ax and Ay are shifts of the multidimensional OCT image along an x axis and a y axis, respectively, the y axis being perpendicular to the x axis, u and v are the spatial frequencies of the multidimensional OCT image along the x axis and y axis, respectively, and i is an imaginary unit (See Ksenofontov, Pg. 395, left col., 26-32, A 2D dataset, or a B-scan, is acquired by moving a probe beam along the surface of the object (x-coordinate) and synchronously recording A-scans; Pg. 395, left col., line 7, ω is the optical frequency; Pg. 396, left col., lines 1-4, Determining whether adjacent A-scans have undergone vertical displacement relative to each other is possible using the total phase difference for each element Fz,x and Fz,xþ1; Pg. 395, right col., section 3, lines 24-26, the numerical Hilbert transform is used as the simplest method to obtain complex-valued spectral data. Examiner considers the use of the Hilbert transform, which uses an imaginary unit, as the imaginary unit in the exponential term as claimed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 3-dimensional image and the exponential term is expressed as: exp(-iu∆x) exp(-iv∆y) where Ax and Ay are shifts of the multidimensional OCT image along an x axis and a y axis, respectively, the y axis being perpendicular to the x axis, u and v are the spatial frequencies of the multidimensional OCT image along the x axis and y axis, respectively, and i is an imaginary unit based on the method of Ksenofontov’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use the simplest method to obtain complex-valued spectral data as suggested by Ksenofontov at Pg. 395, right col., section 3, lines 24-26.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ksenofontov with Lee and Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20180344163 A1, hereinafter, “Lee”) in view of Li et al. (US 20180070842 A1, hereinafter, “Li”) and further in view of Zavareh et al. (Systems and methods for the spectral calibration of swept source Optical coherence tomography systems, 2019, hereinafter, “Zavareh”).
Regarding claim 12, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Li teaches wherein transforming the shifted spectral signal with respect to the first axis comprises applying a 1-dimensional Fourier Transform in a k direction to obtain the first shifted, complex- valued image (See Li, ¶ [0048] 3) The z domain spatial structure information (as in box G1 to Gn) is obtained by inverse Fourier-transform of the incident angle-resolved independent subspectra (as in box F1 to Fn) along the x direction respectively and then Fourier-transform along the k direction) [while removing components of the first shifted, complex-valued image having a negative frequency.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein transforming the shifted spectral signal with respect to the first axis comprises applying a 1-dimensional Fourier Transform in a k direction to obtain the first shifted, complex- valued image based on the method of Li’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reconstruct the complex-valued spectrum to get the spatial structure information of depth domain as suggested by Li at ¶ [0017].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Li does not teach removing components of the first shifted, complex-valued image having a negative frequency.
Zavareh teaches removing components of the first shifted, complex-valued image having a negative frequency (See Zavareh, Pg 51, section 2.5.3.1, lines 4-6, The negative frequencies of the resulted signal is then then zeroed out and the newly produced signal is applied an inverse Fourier transformation upon).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference to removing components of the first shifted, complex-valued image having a negative frequency based on the method of Zavareh’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to be less hardware intensive and more efficient in producing a new signal as suggested by Zavareh at Pg. 51, section 2.5.3.1, par. 2, lines 1-4).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li and Zavareh with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20180344163 A1, hereinafter, “Lee”) in view of Li et al. (US 20180070842 A1, hereinafter, “Li”) and further in view of An (US 20160040977 A1, hereinafter, “An”).
Regarding claim 14, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein the multidimensional OCT image is a 3-dimensional image (See Lee, ¶ [0051] The full-field OCT system can create a 3D (three-dimensional) OCT image) and:
[transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 2-dimensional Fourier Transform in an x axis and a y axis; and applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 2- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the x axis and y axis.]
However, Lee does not disclose transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 2-dimensional Fourier Transform in an x axis and a y axis; and applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 2- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the x axis and y axis.
Li teaches [transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 2-dimensional Fourier Transform in an x axis and a y axis;] and applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 2- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the x axis and y axis (See Li, ¶ [0048] 3) The z domain spatial structure information (as in box G1 to Gn) is obtained by inverse Fourier-transform of the incident angle-resolved independent subspectra (as in box F1 to Fn) along the x direction respectively and then Fourier-transform along the k direction).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein applying an inverse transform in each further axis comprises applying a 2- dimensional inverse Fourier Transform in the x axis and y axis based on the method of Li’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reconstruct the complex-valued spectrum to get the spatial structure information of depth domain as suggested by Li at ¶ [0017].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Li does not teach transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 2-dimensional Fourier Transform in an x axis and a y axis.
An teaches transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 2-dimensional Fourier Transform in an x axis and a y axis (See An, ¶ [0017] A variety of ways to create B-scans are known to those skilled in the art including but not limited to along the horizontal or x-direction, along the vertical or y-direction, along the diagonal of x and y, or in a circular or spiral pattern. The majority of the examples discussed herein refer to B-scans in the x-z dimensions but the invention would apply equally to any cross sectional image; ¶ [0034] employ Fourier transformation to up-sample the intensity B-scan images).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s reference wherein transforming the first shifted, complex valued image along at least one further axis comprises applying a 2-dimensional Fourier Transform in an x axis and a y axis based on the method of An’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to further improve the accuracy of the calculated shifts, thereby providing sub-pixel level accuracy which can lead to improved accuracy motion contrast to be calculated as suggested by An at ¶ [0034].
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Li and An with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Glinec et al. (US 20180085002 A1) discloses a method for generating a 3D image. An optical coherence tomography scanning device takes 2D images at multiple positions, and real time feedback is provided to ensure an efficient and accurate 3D image is generated. This method aims to enhance the speed and quality of 3D reconstruction which is useful in diagnostic support.
Watanabe et al. (Graphics processing unit accelerated intensity-based optical coherence tomography angiography using differential frames with real-time motion correction, 2014) discloses optical coherence tomography angiography with motion corrected by minimizing the sum of pixels. The method takes into account the axial and lateral movement of optical coherence tomography images. The calculations involved calculating the squared difference of two frames on the order of a pixel.
Jensen et al. (All-depth dispersion cancellation in spectral domain optical coherence tomography using numerical intensity correlations, 2018) discloses correcting intensity in an optical coherence tomography image using a spectral domain and imaging the spatial structure. This method uses a single detector to show improvements to axial resolution at all depths. The numerical procedure used also allows for the removal of motion artifacts when combining two images together.
/JASMIN MARCELINO HERNAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676