DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-11, 13-18, and 36-38 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024, 10/28/2025, and 3/25/2026 have been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings were received on 10/15/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MULTIPLEXING RACH FORMATS METHOD PERFORMED BY USER EQUIPMENT, METHOD PERFORMED BY ACCESS NETWORK NODE, USER EQUIPMENT, AND ACCESS NETWORK NODE.
7. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-4, 10, 13-15, 17, and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0314917 A1 to Jeon et al. (hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeon discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from an access network node, random-access configuration information indicating a random-access configuration index corresponding to a plurality of physical random-access (PRACH) preamble formats for use by the UE in a random-access procedure (Jeon: [0309] – corresponds to receiving a RACH configuration received at a user equipment (UE) from a base station comprising a random access preamble (RAP) index linked to a PRACH resource parameters. See also [0367] – the PRACH resource parameters include one or more a PRACH preamble formats, preamble index, “and/or parameters for determining one or more sequences and their shifts in the PRACH preamble sequence set (e.g., set type).”) wherein each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats corresponds to at least one respective random access occasion within a period to which the random-access configuration information is applicable (Jeon: [0368] – “A random access procedure may comprise (e.g., for a two-step RA procedure) a first transmission of one or more first messages (e.g., Msg A) comprising at least one random access preamble transmitted via one or more PRACH occasions and at least one transport block transmitted via one or more PUSCH occasions; and a second transmission of one or more second messages…” See also [0370-0375].), and the each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats corresponds to a respective number of repetition (Jeon: [0373-0374] – corresponds to a periodicity (repetition) PRACH resources of a configuration comprising at least a preamble format.).
Regarding Claim 2, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats corresponds to a respective UE uplink transmission power (Jeon: [0370] – “A wireless device may transmit at least one preamble via at least one random access resource (e.g., at least one PRACH occasion) corresponding to the first downlink reference signal. The at least one preamble may be transmitted using a first PRACH format with a first signal transmission power via the at least one random access resource. The one or more PRACH resources may comprise one or more PRACH occasions.” The wireless device transmits a one preamble corresponding to a PRACH preamble format, suggesting the PRACH preamble has an uplink transmission power.).
Regarding Claim 3, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
selecting one of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats for use by the random-access procedure, based on UE uplink transmission power corresponding to the one of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats (Jeon: [0383-0385], [0412], [0430] – the wireless device/UE may select a PRACH preamble based on a power parameter for transmission of the preamble in the uplink.).
Regarding Claim 4, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the random-access configuration information identifies, for each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats, a respective preamble received target power (Jeon: [0309] – “The RACH configuration 1210 may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least one of following: an available set of PRACH resources for a transmission of a random access preamble (RAP), initial preamble power (e.g., RAP initial received target power), an RSRP threshold for a selection of a SS block and corresponding PRACH resource, a power-ramping factor (e.g., RAP power ramping step), a RAP index, a maximum number of preamble transmissions, preamble group A and group B, a threshold (e.g., message size) to determine the groups of RAPs, a set of one or more RAPs for a system information request and corresponding PRACH resource(s) (e.g., if any), a set of one or more RAPs for a beam failure recovery request and corresponding PRACH resource(s) (e.g., if any), a time window to monitor RAR(s), a time window to monitor response(s) on a beam failure recovery request, and/or a contention resolution timer.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the preamble received target power corresponds to at least one of an offset or a power value (Jeon: [0371] – the preamble received target power is included with “…an offset a lowest PRACH occasion in frequency domain with respect to a first resource block (e.g., msg1-FrequencyStart), a power ramping step for PRACH (e.g., powerRampingStep)…”. See also [0382-0385] for other power values and offset values linked to the random access procedure.).
Regarding Claim 10, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the random-access configuration information indicates association between at least one respective resource in a time domain within the period and each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats (Jeon: [0367], [0374-0375], [0526] – corresponds to a PRACH preamble format that has a time domain resource and an occasion for transmission/reception of the PRACH transmission.).
Regarding Claim 13, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
mapping, for each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats, a synchronization signal and block to a respective random-access configuration index (Jeon: [0372] – “According to the first number/quantity (e.g., if N<1) of the one or more downlink reference signals, the first SS/PBCH block may be mapped to at least one (e.g., 1/N) consecutive valid PRACH occasions. According to the second number/quantity (e.g., R), at least one preamble with consecutive indexes associated with the first SS/PBCH block may start from the first preamble index for the first valid PRACH occasion.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
indicating one of the plurality of the PRACH formats for the UE in using in a random-access procedure, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (Jeon: [0343] – “A base station may send/transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC message for a handover, and/or a PDCCH order for a secondary cell addition) that may comprise a preamble index of an RAP dedicated to a wireless device, for example, to initiate a two-step RA procedure.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the random-access configuration information includes a respective rach-ConfigGeneric information element or a respective rach-ConfigCommon information element, for each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats (Jeon: [0371] – “The one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more random access parameters. A common (or generic) random access configuration message (e.g., RACH-ConfigCommon and/or RACH-ConfigGeneric) may comprise, for example, at least one of the following: a total quantity of random access preambles (e.g., totalNumberOfRA-Preambles), one or more PRACH configuration index (e.g., prach-ConfigurationIndex)…”.).
Regarding Claim 17, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the random-access configuration information indicates association between at least one respective resource in a frequency domain and each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats (Jeon: [0341] – each preamble includes a frequency resource index (frequency domain) and associated PRACH occasion. See also [0345], [0349-0350] describing frequency resources assigned for PRACH resources including preambles (i.e., random access preambles (RAP).).
Regarding Claim 36, Jeon discloses a method performed by an access network node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), random-access configuration information indicating a random-access configuration index corresponding to a plurality of physical random-access (PRACH) preamble formats for use by the UE in a random-access procedure (Jeon: [0309] – corresponds to receiving a RACH configuration received at a user equipment (UE) from a base station comprising a random access preamble (RAP) index linked to a PRACH resource parameters. See also [0367] – the PRACH resource parameters include one or more a PRACH preamble formats, preamble index, “and/or parameters for determining one or more sequences and their shifts in the PRACH preamble sequence set (e.g., set type).”), wherein each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats corresponds to at least one respective random access occasion within a period to which the random-access configuration information is applicable (Jeon: [0368] – “A random access procedure may comprise (e.g., for a two-step RA procedure) a first transmission of one or more first messages (e.g., Msg A) comprising at least one random access preamble transmitted via one or more PRACH occasions and at least one transport block transmitted via one or more PUSCH occasions; and a second transmission of one or more second messages…” See also [0370-0375].), and the each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats corresponds to a respective number of repetition (Jeon: [0373-0374] – corresponds to a periodicity (repetition) PRACH resources of a configuration comprising at least a preamble format.).
Claim 37, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Jeon discloses the apparatus as a user equipment/wireless device comprising a memory (instructions) and processor in at least Figure 3.
Claim 38, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 36, recites similar features as claim 36 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 36. Please see above rejection of claim 36. Jeon discloses the apparatus as a base s
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0015795 A1 to Yao et al. (hereinafter “Yao”).
Regarding Claim 6, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein selecting the one of the plurality of the PRACH formats is performed based on at least a power ramping feature/parameter (Jeon: [0309]), but Jeon does not expressly disclose the PRACH format includes a power class corresponding to the UE or a maximum transmission power supported by the UE.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Yao. Yao is similarly concerned with PRACH enhancements and configurations (Yao: [0002], [0006-0007]). Yao discloses the PRACH format includes a power class corresponding to the UE or a maximum transmission power supported by the UE (Yao: [0009], [0145-0146] – corresponds to PRACH preamble formats may be based on UE maximum transmission power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the preamble format of Jeon in view of the preamble format of Yao to base PRACH preamble formats on a maximum power for the reasons of increasing coverage to support higher throughputs (Yao: [0004-0005]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jeon and Yao discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein Yao discloses [further comprising]:
sending information indicating at least one of the power class corresponding to the UE or the maximum transmission power supported by the UE, wherein the random-access configuration information is based on the at least one of the power class corresponding to the UE or the maximum transmission power supported by the UE (Yao: [0142-0146] – corresponds to receiving a PRACH configuration comprising PRACH formats based on UE maximum transmission power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the preamble format of Jeon in view of the preamble format of Yao to base PRACH preamble formats on a maximum power for the reasons of increasing coverage to support higher throughputs (Yao: [0004-0005]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Jeon and Yao discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein Yao further discloses the random-access configuration information indicates the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats per at least one of the power class or the maximum transmission power (Yao: [0142-0146] – corresponds to receiving a PRACH configuration comprising PRACH formats based on UE maximum transmission power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the preamble format of Jeon in view of the preamble format of Yao to base PRACH preamble formats on a maximum power for the reasons of increasing coverage to support higher throughputs (Yao: [0004-0005]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0295609 A1 to Vajapeyam et al. (hereinafter “Vajapeyam”).
Regarding Claim 16, Jeon discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the random-access configuration information includes a single index indicating an entry of a PRACH configuration table, and the entry of the PRACH configuration table identifies a respective time occasion for each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Vajapeyam. Vajapeyam is similarly concerned with random access procedures (Vajapeyam: [0005]). Vajapeyam discloses a random-access configuration information includes a single index indicating an entry of a PRACH configuration table (Vajapeyam: [0076] – PRACH configuration index is mapped in a table entry; [0079] – the configuration index includes a preamble format for transmission.), and the entry of the PRACH configuration table identifies a respective time occasion for each of the plurality of the PRACH preamble formats (Vajapeyam: [0089] – a PRACH configuration includes at least a time occasion of the PRACH resource.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the PRACH configuration of Jeon in view of the PRACH configuration of Vajapeyam to map a PRACH configuration as an entry in a table for the reasons of reducing disruptions and delays in establishing a communication link, thereby increasing reliability in random access communications (Vajapeyam: [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
17. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 August 25, 2026