DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges Claims 1, 6-14 have been amended and Claims 2 and 4-5 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the Drawing Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections of the Drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the Prior Art rejections have been considered but are moot because the amendment(s) have necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection [see rejection below].
Note: the Applicant argues that there is no articulated reason with rational underpinning to arrive at the claimed inventions of claims 8-14 and there is no hint, motivation or indication in the Prior art to combine the teachings to provide the elements, steps or features of claims 8-14. The Examiner disagrees and reasons that the rejections below provided both reasoning and rationale to the motivation to combine Prior Art teachings. Furthermore, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Additional note: the Applicant argues against the product-by-process treatment of claim 14. However, the Examiner disagrees because of the dependency of claim 14 from claim 1 and the case law of In Re Thopre and thus maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent # 8,607,508 to Foss.
Regarding claim 1, Foss teaches in Figure 2, a modular building (16) [stayed connection (Column 3, Line 46)] characterized in that it comprises a constructive structure [supportive structure (Column 4, Line 43)] composed of reused [taking elements of a wind turbine tower and renaming them] wind turbine segments (18, 20, 22, 24 and 28), the constructive structure (Column 4, Lines 43-67) comprising: a vertical axis [that of the turbine tower]; a set of foundation rings (24) [pillars (Column 3, Line 53)], structurally adapted to the ground [through the lower tower portion 14] which supports the building (16), wherein the set of foundation rings (24) comprises at least one first annular section [ring (Column 3, Line 53)] of at least one wind turbine tower (1), wherein the at least one first annular section [ring] is transverse to the vertical axis; a foundation balance platform (22) [torsion plate (Column 3, Line 48)], mechanically coupled [connected (Column 3, Lines 52-53)] to the set of foundation rings (24); a set of outer support structures (18) [diagonal stays (Column 3, Line 54)] each comprising at least one inner blade section [see cross-section in Figure 4] of at least one wind turbine; a set of upper support structures (20/28) [ring plate (Column 3, Lines 46-47) and end portion (Column 4, Line 26)]] each comprising at least one outer blade section [see cross-section in Figure 5] of at least one wind turbine [as part of a wind turbine tower], wherein each of the set of upper support structures (20/28) is placed parallel in a position superior to the foundation balance platform (22), and guaranteeing a mechanical connection [connecting points (Column 2, Line 39)] to the set of outer support structures (20/28); and a central support structure (12) [pipe shaped tower portion (Column 3, Lines 43-44)], positioned centrally in relation to the foundation balance platform (22), mechanically coupled (Columns 3-4, Lines 64-3) to the foundation balance platform (22) and to the set of upper support structures (20/28); wherein the central support structure (12) comprises at least one second transverse annular section [pipe shaped (Column 3, Line 43)] of at least one wind turbine tower (Column 3, Lines 43-44), wherein the at least one second transverse annular section is transverse to the vertical axis [as seen], allowing a vertical construction and, on the same vertical axis, floors [height elevations] adapted for multiple purposes [upper tower portion, lower tower portion and stayed connection (Column 3, Lines 43-46)].
Regarding claim 3, Foss teaches in Figure 3, the foundation balance platform (22) comprises a rectangular shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,607,508 to Foss in view of US Patent # 9,194,151 to Foss.
Regarding claim 6, Foss teaches a modular building with a mechanical connection between the central support and the set of upper support structures but does not teach a blade connection and bearing support, and a lower expansion joint. However, Foss teaches in Figure 2 of his other Patent, a mechanical connection between a support structure (14) and a set of upper support structures [ring stiffener (Column 3, Line 1)] comprises a blade connection (24) [plate (Column 3, Line 50)] and bearing support (26) [closing plate (Column 3, Line 52)], and a lower expansion joint (29, Fig 4) [cut (Column 3, Line 56)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine both of Foss’s Patents and have a reasonable expectation of success because Foss teaches in the second Patent, the bearing support distributes forces along the circumference of the strut to the plate (Column 3, Lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 7, Foss teaches a modular building with a set of upper support structures but does not teach a plugging panel and an upper expansion joint. However, Foss teaches in Figure 2 of his other Patent, a set of upper support structures [ring stiffener (Column 3, Line 1)] comprises a plugging panel (24) [plate (Column 3, Line 50)] and an upper expansion joint (26) [closing plate (Column 3, Line 52)] mechanically connected [welded (Column 3, Line 51)] to the plugging panel (24) in order to promote reinforcement of the mechanical connection [distribute forces (Column 3, Line 53)] with a support structure (14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine both of Foss’s Patents and have a reasonable expectation of success because Foss teaches in the second Patent, the upper expansion joint distributes forces along the circumference of the strut to the plate (Column 3, Lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 12, Foss teaches in his Patents, a modular building with an expansion joint but does not teach the lower expansion joint comprises cork. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the expansion joint from cork since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is also common knowledge to choose a material that has sufficient strength, durability, flexibility, hardness, etc. for the application and intended use of that material.
Regarding claim 14, These claims are directed to product-by-process claims due to their scope “a method” and their dependency “a modular building according to claim 1”. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966. Therefore, the steps of connecting, adapting, drilling, fixing, placing and installing would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention.
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,607,508 to Foss in view of US Patent # 9,194,151 to Foss in further view of US Patent # 12,247,551 to Demtroder et al.
Regarding claim 8, Foss teaches in his Patents, a modular building but does not teach at least one elevator adapted to an internal structure thereof. However, Demtroder teaches the tower, which is an internal structure of the structure, elevates the nacelle to a height above the ground (Column 4, Lines 51-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Patents of Foss with Demtroder with a reasonable expectation of success because Demtroder teaches elevating the nacelle to operate and optimize the wind turbine (Column 4, Lines 50-51).
Regarding claim 10, Foss teaches in his Patents, a modular building but does not teach at least one inner blade section comprises inner areas adapted to house a fire fighting and safety system. However, Demtroder an inner area of the module adapted to house a fire fighting and safety system [fire suppression (Column 2, Lines 24-35)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Patents of Foss with Demtroder with a reasonable expectation of success because Demtroder teaches the fire suppression system can extinguish fires in the nacelle (Column 2, Lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 11, Foss teaches in his Patents, a modular building but does not teach the inner areas of the at least one blade section comprises conducts, pipes or cabling of different specialties. However, Demtroder an inner area of the module containing hosing and ducts (Column 2, Lines 24-35)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Patents of Foss with Demtroder with a reasonable expectation of success because Demtroder teaches the hosing and ducts can guide fluid flow in the nacelle (Column 2, Lines 31-32).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,607,508 to Foss in view of US Patent # 9,194,151 to Foss in view of US Patent # 10,819,252 to Cullman et al.
Regarding claim 9, Foss teaches in his Patents, a modular building but does not teach a fluid pressurized hydraulic system. However, Cullman teaches a fluid pressure in a hydraulic system (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Patents of Foss with Cullman and have a reasonable expectation of success because Cullman teaches dissipating extra energy as heat (Column 6, Lines 41-43).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,607,508 to Foss in view of US Patent # 9,194,151 to Foss in further view of US Patent Application Publication # 2015/0376857 to Clifton.
Regarding claim 13, Foss teaches in his Patents, a modular building structure but does not teach at least one floor flab. However, Clifton teaches in Figure 2, at least one floor slab (18) adjacently located in a parallel position with respect to a foundation balance platform (10), in a parallel position underlying an upper support structure (42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Patents of Foss with Clifton and have a reasonable expectation of success because Clifton teaches the floor slab creates an uninterrupted floor (Paragraph 0006).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635