DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of 8 September has overcome the claim objections and 35 USC 112 rejections of the previous Office Action. However, regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Krokoszinski, and Abeyasekera 647 do not explicitly disclose “at least one main converter communicates with an additional AC-DC converter, wherein the additional AC-DC converter is connected downstream from the at least one main converter and connected directly to the DC connection node, wherein a wind turbine transformer is connected downstream from the additional AC-DC converter and upstream from a utility grid, and wherein the additional AC-DC converter is configured to convert AC grid power from the utility grid and communicate DC power directly to the DC connection node." However, 245 of Abeyasekera 647 is connected to DC connection node 227 and AC grid 215, upstream of transformer 210. Further, paragraph 0024 of Abeyasekera 647 teaches “the pre-charging circuit 245 [receives] power from the electrical grid 215”. Thus, as shown below, Abeyasekera 647 teaches this amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krokoszinski et al. (“Krokoszinski”; US 2007/0235383), in view of Abeyasekera et al. (“Abeyasekera 647”; US 2018/0112647).
Regarding claim 1: Krokoszinski discloses a wind turbine (82), comprising:
a DC-distribution network (94) connected to a DC connection node to receive DC power (as shown in Fig. 3);
at least one variable drive system (88) connected to the DC- distribution network;
at least one main converter (90) connected to a generator (84) and configured to convert AC power to DC power and communicate directly with the DC connection node;
and wherein the generator (84) is for generating AC generator power from wind impacting at plural rotor blades (inherent to a wind turbine);
wherein the at least one main converter (90, 98) comprises at least one AC-DC converter (90) portion coupled to the generator to receive the AC generator power and configured to provide DC-power directly to the DC connection node (Fig. 3);
wherein the at least one main converter is connected to the grid (paragraph 0026, the variable drive system may be powered by the grid, which inherently means the power must be converted from AC to DC).
Krokoszinski does not explicitly disclose at least one main converter communicates with an additional AC-DC converter, wherein the additional AC-DC converter is connected downstream from the at least one main converter and connected directly to the DC connection node, wherein a wind turbine transformer is connected downstream from the additional AC-DC converter and upstream from a utility grid, and wherein the additional AC-DC converter is configured to convert AC grid power from the utility grid and communicate DC power directly to the DC connection node.
However, Abeyasekera 647 discloses at least one main converter (228, Fig. 2) communicates with an additional AC-DC converter (245, paragraph 0024), wherein the additional AC-DC converter is connected downstream from the at least one main converter (228) and connected directly to the DC connection node (227), wherein a wind turbine transformer (210) is connected downstream from the additional AC-DC converter and upstream from a utility grid (215), and wherein the additional AC-DC converter is configured to convert AC grid power from the utility grid and communicate DC power directly to the DC connection node (paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the DC node to include the additional converter of Abeyasekera 647 connected to the grid, in order to ensure there is enough power at the dc node (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 2: Krokoszinski a DC-link (94, between 90 and 98) connected to the AC-DC converter portion of the main converter (shown in Fig. 3), one DC terminal of the DC-link connected to the DC connection node (as 94 leads to 92); and
at least one DC-AC converter portion (98) connected to the DC-link.
Regarding claim 3: Krokoszinski the variable drive system comprises:
at least one DC-AC converter (92) connected to the DC-distribution network and converting the DC power to AC power having adjustable frequency and/or voltage and/or amount of power; and
a variable drive motor connected to the at least one DC-AC converter (as this is the purpose of a DC to AC converter).
Regarding claim 4: Krokoszinski discloses the at least one DC-AC converter is configured and/or sized regarding power capacity and/or voltage and/or current and/or number of phases and/or frequency of the output AC power to comply with a requirement of the variable drive motor (as they are both 3 phases, as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5: Krokoszinski discloses at least one variable drive system controller, coupled with the at least one DC-AC converter and configured to control the at least one DC-AC converter regarding frequency and/or voltage and/or power of AC output power, wherein the at least one variable drive system controller is configured to down regulate and/or reduce speed and/or reduce power consumption of the variable drive motor at partial load, in order to reduce noise emission (paragraph 0082: there is speed control which inherently when driven at a partial will result in a reduced noise emission).
Regarding claim 10: Krokoszinski discloses the at least one variable drive system comprises at least one of the following: a motor of auxiliary equipment (88); a fan; a motor; a pump; a yaw motor; a dehumidification system; a cooling system motor; and a compressor.
Regarding claim 11: Krokoszinski discloses a method of operating a wind turbine, comprising: receiving, at a DC connection node (24) of DC-distribution network, DC power;
receiving, in at least one variable drive system (88) connected to the DC- distribution network, at least a part of the DC power,
wherein the wind turbine includes:
at least one main converter (90) connected to a generator (84) wherein the at least one main converter is configured to convert AC power to DC power and communicate directly with the DC connection node;
wherein the generator (84) is for generating AC generator power from wind impacting at plural rotor blades (inherent to a wind turbine);
wherein the at least one main converter (90, 98) comprises at least one AC-DC converter (90) portion coupled to the generator to receive the AC generator power and configured to provide DC-power directly to the DC connection node (Fig. 3);
wherein the at least one main converter is connected to the grid (paragraph 0026, the variable drive system may be powered by the grid, which inherently means the power must be converted from AC to DC).
Krokoszinski does not explicitly disclose at least one main converter communicates with an additional AC-DC converter, wherein the additional AC-DC converter is connected downstream from the at least one main converter and connected directly to the DC connection node, wherein a wind turbine transformer is connected downstream from the additional AC-DC converter and upstream from a utility grid, and wherein the additional AC-DC converter is configured to convert AC grid power from the utility grid and communicate DC power directly to the DC connection node.
However, Abeyasekera 647 discloses at least one main converter (228, Fig. 2) communicates with an additional AC-DC converter (245, paragraph 0024), wherein the additional AC-DC converter is connected downstream from the at least one main converter (228) and connected directly to the DC connection node (227), wherein a wind turbine transformer (210) is connected downstream from the additional AC-DC converter and upstream from a utility grid (215), and wherein the additional AC-DC converter is configured to convert AC grid power from the utility grid and communicate DC power directly to the DC connection node (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 12: Krokoszinski operating the at least one variable speed drive during a first time period at a first frequency (inherent);
operating the at least one variable speed drive during a second time period at a second frequency, the second frequency being lower than the first frequency during partial load of the wind turbine (paragraph 0027: the load 88 is operated to match the power produced by the wind turbine, so at a partial load, the second frequency would be lower).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krokoszinski and Abeyasekera 647 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abeyasekera et al. (“Abeyasekera 295”; US 2017/0331295).
Regarding claim 6: Krokoszinski the DC-distribution network is partly or entirely arranged inside and/or at a nacelle and/or hub and/or tower of the wind turbine (in that these are all of the components of the turbine), wherein the DC-distribution network comprises at least one one DC conductor strand providing a positive phase (inherent).
Krokoszinski does not explicitly disclose a negative or neutral phase of the DC-distribution network is provided by at least a part of a casing and/or of a housing and/or of a steel framework of the nacelle and/or a tower of the wind turbine.
However, Abeyasekera 295 discloses a negative or neutral phase of the DC-distribution network is provided by at least a part of a casing and/or of a housing and/or of a steel framework of the nacelle and/or a tower of the wind turbine (in this case neutral as shown in Fig. 6a is grounded, which inherently means it is connected to a grounded part of the wind turbine, paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the neutral phase of the DC distribution network of Krokoszinski to be grounded to the wind turbine, as disclosed by Abeyasekera 295 in order to provide a ground reference.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krokoszinski and Abeyasekera 647 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burra et al. (“Burra”; US 2009/0230689).
Regarding claim 8: Krokoszinski discloses the DC distribution network but does not explicitly disclose a battery or accumulator storage system connected to the DC distribution network.
However, Burra discloses a battery or accumulator storage system (14, Fig. 1) connected to the DC distribution network (24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the DC distribution network or Krokoszinski to include the battery of Burra in order to provide additional energy storage.
Regarding claim 9: Krokoszinski discloses the at least one variable drive system comprises:
a first variable drive system configured to operate at least at a first parameter comprising a first frequency and/or a first voltage and/or a first number of phases and/or a first rating (as this is the purpose of the DC to AC converter 92).
Krokoszinski does not explicitly disclose a second variable drive system configured to operate at least at a second parameter comprising a second frequency and/or a second voltage and/or a second number of phases and/or a second rating, the second parameter is different from the respective first parameter.
However, Burra discloses a second variable drive system (18, two of them shown in Fig. 1) configured to operate at least at a second parameter comprising a second frequency and/or a second voltage and/or a second number of phases and/or a second rating, the second parameter is different from the respective first parameter (via controller 20, as each converter can be controlled independently).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the variable drive system of Krokoszinski to include a second system of Burra in order to power more loads (paragraph 0017).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834