DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 15 October 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 12-20 are system claims that are dependent on 1 (claim 12 is dependent from claim 1 and the remaining 13-20 are dependent on claim 12) where claim 1 is a virtual fluid power plant and claim 12 is a system for evaluating input resources of a virtual power plant of claim 1. Thus claim 12 does not necessarily include the facilities, operation plan creation means, or control means of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Additionally, the claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for controlling, creation means, control means, calculation means, storage means, support means, classification means, conversion means, in claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 10-20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Additionally, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. When considering claims 1-20 as a whole and all claim elements both individually and in combination, these claim(s) 1-20 are directed to the abstract idea of adjusting the balance between the supply and consumption of electrical energy and the supply consumption of the fluid resource model without significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Step 1
Regarding Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (from the MPEP 2106.05(a)), claim(s) (1-10) is/are directed to a virtual power fluid plant, claim(s) (11) is/are a method, and claims(s) (12-20) is/are directed to system and therefore the claims are viewed as falling in statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1
The claim(s) recite(s) mental process and while there are organizing steps it is not viewed to be directly certain methods of organizing human activity and as such the application will be viewed as a mental process for the analysis. Specifically, the independent claims 1 and 11 recite a mental process: as drafted, the claim recites the limitation of comparing at least one of the collected traffic data to a predefined threshold which is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting by a control means, nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for a control means language, the claim encompasses the user manually:
adjusts a balance between a supply and consumption of electrical energy and a supply and consumption of a fluid resource in a predetermined area, said virtual power fluid plant comprising:
a plurality of electrical-related facilities that are installed in the predetermined area and that perform at least one of supplying, utilizing, and storing electrical energy;
a plurality of fluid-related facilities that are installed in the predetermined area and that perform at least one of supplying, processing, and storing a fluid resource;
an operation plan creation means for creating an operation plan for at least one of the electrical-related facilities and at least one of the fluid-related facilities; and
a control means for controlling an operation of the at least one electrical-related facility and the at least one fluid-related facility based on the operation plan created by the operation plan creating means;
The mere nominal recitation of a generic control means does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. It has been established by ongoing guidance that claims that contain a generic control means are still viewed as mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, however this is different for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations (network monitoring, data encryption for communication, and rendering images). Therefore, these limitations are viewed a mental process.
The adjusting the balance between the supply and consumption of electrical energy and the supply consumption of the fluid resource model would clearly be to a mental activity that a company would go through in order to decide how to manage of resources. The specification makes it clear that the claimed invention is directed to the mental activity data gathering and data analysis to determine how to manage resources:
Step 2A Prong 2
Specifically, the determined judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited control means elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
The claim recites the additional element(s): that a control means is used to perform the adjusts a balance between supply and consumption, creating an operational plan, and controlling an operation of the at least one electrical related facility; The control means in the steps is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic control means performing a generic computer function of processing data (generating workflows). This generic control means limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
The Examiner has further determined that the claims as a whole does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application in order to provide an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. It has been determined that based on the disclosure does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. It has not been provided clearly in the disclosure that the alleged improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art, but is instead in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore does not improve the technology. Second, in the instance, where it is not clear that the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must reflect the disclosed improvement (the claims must include components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification).
For further clarification the Examiner points out that the claim(s) 1-20 recite(s) adjusting a balance between supply and demand, creating an operational plan, and controlling an operation which are viewed as an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the use of a computer for adjusting, creating, and controlling which is the abstract idea steps of valuing an idea (using analyzed resource and operational data to adjust the balance between the supply and consumption of electrical energy and the supply consumption of the fluid resource model) in the manner of “apply it”.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea directed to a mental process (i.e. to tracking and status analysis of electronic devices). Using a computer to adjusting, creating, and controlling the data resulting from this kind of mental process merely implements the abstract idea in the manner of “apply it”.
The dependent claims recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide ‘something more’.
The dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies.
Claims 3, 8, 10, 15-17, 19, and 20 recite limitations which further limit the claimed analysis of data.
Claims 2, 12-14, and 18 recites limitations directed to claim language viewed insignificantly extra solution activity.
Claims 4-7, and 9 recites limitations directed to claim language viewed non-functional data labels.
Thus, the problem the claimed invention is directed to answering the question based on gathered and analyzed information about adjusting the balance between the supply and consumption of electrical energy and the supply consumption of the fluid resource model. This is not a technical or technological problem but is rather in the realm of resource management and therefore an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. This is the case because in order for the claims to be viewed as significantly more the claims must incorporate the integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more in order for a machine to add significantly more, it must play a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed, rather than function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly. Whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or a field-of-use, i.e., the extent to which (or how) the machine or apparatus imposes meaningful limits on the claim. Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more. Additionally, another consideration when determining whether a claim recites significantly more is whether the claim effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. "[T]ransformation and reduction of an article ‘to a different state or thing’ is the clue to patentability of a process claim that does not include particular machines. All together the above analysis shows there is not improvement in computer functionality, or improvement to any other technology or technical field. The claim is ineligible.
The dependent claims recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide ‘something more’. Specifically, the dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies of the independent claims.
With respect to the legal concept of prima facie case being a procedural tool of patent examination, which allocates the burdens going forward between the examiner and the applicant. MPEP § 2106.07 discusses the requirements of a prima facie case of ineligibility. In particular, the initial burden was on the Examiner and believed to be properly provided as to explain why the claim(s) are ineligible for patenting because of the above provided rejection which clearly and specifically points out in accordance with properly providing the requirement satisfying the initial burden of proof based on the Guidance from the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the burden now shifts to the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen et al. (EP 2733810 A2) (hereafter Nielsen) in view of Cardenas et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0152835 A1) (hereafter Cardenas).
Referring to Claim 1, Nielsen teaches a virtual power fluid plant, said plant comprising:
A virtual power plant that adjusts a balance between a supply and consumption of electrical energy and a supply and consumption of a fluid resource in a predetermined area, said virtual power fluid plant comprising (see; par. [0017] of Nielsen teaches a hydro facility to use a reservoir of water (i.e. fluid supply) which is consumed to generate electrical energy).
a plurality of electrical-related facilities that are installed in the predetermined area and that perform at least one of supplying, utilizing, and storing electrical energy (see; par. [0013] of Nielsen teaches the production (i.e. supply) and storage of electrical energy, where Figure 1discloses an example of the utilization of the energy in a mapped format).
a plurality of fluid-related facilities that are installed in the predetermined area and that perform at least one of supplying, processing, and storing a fluid resource (see; par. [0017] of Nielsen teaches a hydro facility that uses a reservoir (i.e. supply being stored to be used) where the reservoir is then used to generate the electrical energy (i.e. process)).
an operation plan creation means for creating an operation plan for at least one of the electrical-related facilities and at least one of the fluid-related facilities (see; par. [0015] of Nielsen teaches a plan utilizing multiple facilities to optimally control an energy network).
a control means for controlling an operation of the at least one electrical-related facility and the at least one fluid-related facility based on the operation plan created by the operation plan creating means (see; Abstract, par. [0005], and [0015] of Nielsen teaches a plan that includes control utilization the optimal control plan that optimizes revenue with energy delivery).
Nielsen does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Cardenas teaches a virtual power fluid plant (see; Abstract of Cardenas teaches an electrical generating facility utilizing waste-water treatment materials).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose a virtual power fluid plant.
Cardenas discloses a virtual power fluid plant.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the virtual power fluid plant as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 2, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the virtual power fluid plant above, Nielsen discloses the virtual power fluid plant having the limitations of,
The virtual power fluid plant according to claim 1, further comprising a database that stores operation-related data for the plurality of electrical-related facilities and the plurality of fluid-related facilities, wherein the operation plan creation means creates the operation plan based on the operation-related data stored in the database (see; Abstract of Nielsen an optimal facility control plan, par. [0005], where multiple facilities are part of the plan to manage based on the operation plan), and par. [0017] utilizing hydro).
Referring to Claim 3, see discussion of claim 2 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen discloses a method having the limitations of,
the fluid resource is water (see; par. [0017] of Nielsen teaches utilizing hydro (i.e. fluid resource).
Nielsen does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Cardenas teaches a virtual power fluid plant (see; Abstract of Cardenas teaches an electrical generating facility utilizing waste-water treatment materials), and
the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a purified water production facility that produces purified water, water treatment facilities that treat the purified water supplied from the purified water production facility, and a purified water storage facility that stores the treated purified water supplied from the water treatment facilities, each water treatment facility including purified water feed equipment that can deliver purified water to the outside (see; par. [0040]-[0042] of Cardenas teaches purified water, par. [0041] and is then stored), and
the database includes a purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, a purified water demand of each water treatment facility, an amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and an amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility (see; par. [0101] of Cardenas teaches a long term capacity which implies an understanding of the capacity of fluid needed to meet the electrical capacity of fluid needed to meet the electrical capacity), and
the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including a supply of purified water from the purified water production facility to the water treatment facilities, an interchange of purified water between the water treatment facilities, a storage of purified water in the purified water storage facility, and a supply of purified water from the purified water storage facility to each water treatment facility based on the purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, the purified water demand of each water treatment facility, the amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and the amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility (see; Abstract of Cardenas teaches the providing of wastewater for treatment to facilities, par. [0040] where there is a purified water product generated, par. [0047] and the storage of the purified water in known volumes, par. [0082] which also generates energy during the purification to meet demands for energy which implies an understanding of fluid needs (i.e. amount of feedable purified water)).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose a virtual power fluid plant, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a purified water production facility that produces purified water, water treatment facilities that treat the purified water supplied from the purified water production facility, and a purified water storage facility that stores the treated purified water supplied from the water treatment facilities, each water treatment facility including purified water feed equipment that can deliver purified water to the outside, the database includes a purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, a purified water demand of each water treatment facility, an amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and an amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including a supply of purified water from the purified water production facility to the water treatment facilities, an interchange of purified water between the water treatment facilities, a storage of purified water in the purified water storage facility, and a supply of purified water from the purified water storage facility to each water treatment facility based on the purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, the purified water demand of each water treatment facility, the amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and the amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility.
Cardenas discloses a virtual power fluid plant, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a purified water production facility that produces purified water, water treatment facilities that treat the purified water supplied from the purified water production facility, and a purified water storage facility that stores the treated purified water supplied from the water treatment facilities, each water treatment facility including purified water feed equipment that can deliver purified water to the outside, the database includes a purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, a purified water demand of each water treatment facility, an amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and an amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including a supply of purified water from the purified water production facility to the water treatment facilities, an interchange of purified water between the water treatment facilities, a storage of purified water in the purified water storage facility, and a supply of purified water from the purified water storage facility to each water treatment facility based on the purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, the purified water demand of each water treatment facility, the amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and the amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen a virtual power fluid plant, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a purified water production facility that produces purified water, water treatment facilities that treat the purified water supplied from the purified water production facility, and a purified water storage facility that stores the treated purified water supplied from the water treatment facilities, each water treatment facility including purified water feed equipment that can deliver purified water to the outside, the database includes a purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, a purified water demand of each water treatment facility, an amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and an amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including a supply of purified water from the purified water production facility to the water treatment facilities, an interchange of purified water between the water treatment facilities, a storage of purified water in the purified water storage facility, and a supply of purified water from the purified water storage facility to each water treatment facility based on the purified water production capacity of the purified water production facility, the purified water demand of each water treatment facility, the amount of feedable purified water of the purified water feed equipment, and the amount of storable purified water of the purified water storage facility as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 5, see discussion of claim 2 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the virtual power fluid plant (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches a fluid as an energy resource in a power plant), and
the fluid resource is water (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches the fluid resource used is water), and
the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes water treatment facilities that treat purified water, a sewage and wastewater treatment facility that treats sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores the sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities (see; par. [0042] of Cardenas teaches sewage water is treated during the process of energy production and the process generates purified water, par. [0040] while generating electricity), and
the database includes a sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility (see; par. [0101] of Cardenas teaches sewage and waste water is treated and a long term capability which implies and understanding of capacity of fluid, par. [0047] where there is a storage of purified water, and par. [0045] storage of waste water), and
the operation plan creation means creates a plan to distribute the sewage and wastewater from each water treatment facility to the sewage and wastewater treatment facility and the sewage and wastewater storage facility based on the sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, the sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility (see; par. [0080]-[0083] of Cardenas teaches an example of an operational flow that concurrently water treatment and electrical generation and discloses how different amounts of fluids are needed to produce continuous flow).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the virtual power fluid plant, the fluid resource is water, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes water treatment facilities that treat purified water, a sewage and wastewater treatment facility that treats sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores the sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, the database includes a sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a plan to distribute the sewage and wastewater from each water treatment facility to the sewage and wastewater treatment facility and the sewage and wastewater storage facility based on the sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, the sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility.
Cardenas discloses the virtual power fluid plant, the fluid resource is water, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes water treatment facilities that treat purified water, a sewage and wastewater treatment facility that treats sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores the sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, the database includes a sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a plan to distribute the sewage and wastewater from each water treatment facility to the sewage and wastewater treatment facility and the sewage and wastewater storage facility based on the sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, the sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the virtual power fluid plant, the fluid resource is water, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes water treatment facilities that treat purified water, a sewage and wastewater treatment facility that treats sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores the sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, the database includes a sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a plan to distribute the sewage and wastewater from each water treatment facility to the sewage and wastewater treatment facility and the sewage and wastewater storage facility based on the sewage and wastewater amount from each water treatment facility, the sewage and wastewater treatment capacity of the sewage and wastewater treatment facility, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 7, see discussion of claim 2 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the virtual power fluid plant (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches a fluid as an energy resource in a power plant), and
the fluid resource is water (see; Abstract and par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches the fluid used in the process is water), and
the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a plurality of water treatment facilities and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities (see; Abstract of Cardenas teaches waste water treatment facilities, par. [0045] utilize and store wastewater, par. [0047] as well as store the purified water in the facilities), and
the database includes a required water quality of the water to be supplied to each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater quality of the sewage and wastewater discharged from each water treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility (see; par. [0042] of Cardenas teaches the producing of purified water as an output, and par. [0047] as well as the storage of clean water), and
the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including supplying sewage and wastewater discharged from some of the water treatment facilities to other water treatment facilities, storing the sewage and wastewater in the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and supplying the sewage and wastewater stored in the sewage and wastewater storage facility to the other water treatment facilities based on the required water quality, the sewage and wastewater quality, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility (see; par. [0082] of Cardenas teaches the demand for energy which implies an understanding of the fluid needs to manage the process, par. [0045] which includes the storage for wastewater that is used in the energy generation process to create purified water, par. [0042] which ensures the quality of the water).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the virtual power fluid plant, the fluid resource is water, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a plurality of water treatment facilities and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, the database includes a required water quality of the water to be supplied to each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater quality of the sewage and wastewater discharged from each water treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including supplying sewage and wastewater discharged from some of the water treatment facilities to other water treatment facilities, storing the sewage and wastewater in the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and supplying the sewage and wastewater stored in the sewage and wastewater storage facility to the other water treatment facilities based on the required water quality, the sewage and wastewater quality, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility.
Cardenas discloses the virtual power fluid plant, the fluid resource is water, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a plurality of water treatment facilities and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, the database includes a required water quality of the water to be supplied to each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater quality of the sewage and wastewater discharged from each water treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including supplying sewage and wastewater discharged from some of the water treatment facilities to other water treatment facilities, storing the sewage and wastewater in the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and supplying the sewage and wastewater stored in the sewage and wastewater storage facility to the other water treatment facilities based on the required water quality, the sewage and wastewater quality, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the virtual power fluid plant, the fluid resource is water, the plurality of fluid-related facilities includes a plurality of water treatment facilities and a sewage and wastewater storage facility that stores sewage and wastewater discharged from the water treatment facilities, the database includes a required water quality of the water to be supplied to each water treatment facility, a sewage and wastewater quality of the sewage and wastewater discharged from each water treatment facility, and an amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and the operation plan creation means creates a water operation plan including supplying sewage and wastewater discharged from some of the water treatment facilities to other water treatment facilities, storing the sewage and wastewater in the sewage and wastewater storage facility, and supplying the sewage and wastewater stored in the sewage and wastewater storage facility to the other water treatment facilities based on the required water quality, the sewage and wastewater quality, and the amount of storable sewage and wastewater of the sewage and wastewater storage facility as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 8, see discussion of claim 3 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen further discloses a method having the limitations of,
The predetermined area is divided into a plurality of sub-areas, and the water operation plan is created for each of the sub-areas (see; par. [0044] of Nielsen teaches the utilization of sub-plants and incorporates hydro energy (i.e. water operation)).
Nielsen does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Cardenas teaches a virtual power fluid plant (see; Abstract of Cardenas teaches an electrical generating facility utilizing waste-water treatment materials).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose a virtual power fluid plant.
Cardenas discloses a virtual power fluid plant.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the virtual power fluid plant as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 9, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches a virtual power fluid plant (see; Abstract of Cardenas teaches an electrical generating facility utilizing waste-water treatment materials), and
the plurality of electricity related facilities includes a power plant, an electricity utilization facility, and energy storage equipment (see; Abstract and par. [0092] of Cardenas teaches, the use of a batteries for the transporting of electrical energy for storage and remote utilization, par. [0040] where the electrical energy creation and use is part of the overall process).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose a virtual power fluid plant and the plurality of electricity related facilities includes a power plant, an electricity utilization facility, and energy storage equipment.
Cardenas discloses a virtual power fluid plant and the plurality of electricity related facilities includes a power plant, an electricity utilization facility, and energy storage equipment.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen a virtual power fluid plant and the plurality of electricity related facilities includes a power plant, an electricity utilization facility, and energy storage equipment as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 10, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches a database that stores, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes (see; Figure 2a and par. [0092] of Cardenas teaches a process flow of the provisioning of services utilizing the energy), and
input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the database for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount (see; par. [0092] and par. [0015] of Cardenas teaches determining of how much work material (i.e. resources) to use for the chemical reaction to treat the water, and par. [0040] to generate the energy from the waste water).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose a database that stores, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes, and input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the database for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount.
Cardenas teaches a database that stores, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes, and input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the database for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen a database that stores, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes, and input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the database for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 11, Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches a method for operating a virtual power fluid plant. Claim 11 recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1, Claim 11 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 1.
Referring to Claim 12, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a virtual power plant having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches storage means for storing, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes (see; Figure 2a and par. [0092] of Cardenas teaches a process flow of the provisioning of services utilizing the energy), and
input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the storage means for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount (see; par. [0092] and par. [0015] of Cardenas teaches determining of how much work material (i.e. resources) to use for the chemical reaction to treat the water, and par. [0040] to generate the energy from the waste water).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose storage means for storing, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes, and input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the storage means for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount.
Cardenas teaches storage means for storing, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes, and input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the storage means for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen storage means for storing, for each process in a manufacture of an item or for each process in a provision of a service, an energy usage amount and a fluid resource usage amount for each of the processes, and input resource calculation means for integrating the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts stored in the storage means for each of the processes to calculate a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 13, see discussion of claim 12 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a virtual power plant having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the storage means stores energy usage amounts and fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the input resource calculation means calculates a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount including the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item (see; par. [0042] of Cardenas teaches storage tanks holding sludge that is recycled processing and then discharge (i.e. disposal), par. [0040] while monitoring the electricity use of the process to purify the water electrical current).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the storage means stores energy usage amounts and fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the input resource calculation means calculates a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount including the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item.
Cardenas teaches the storage means stores energy usage amounts and fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the input resource calculation means calculates a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount including the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the storage means stores energy usage amounts and fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the input resource calculation means calculates a total energy usage amount and a total fluid resource usage amount including the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts in each process of operation, recycling, and disposal of the item as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 14, see discussion of claim 13 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a virtual power plant having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches wherein the storage means is a database, the database is connected to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts at each facility are stored online in the database (see; par. [0079] of Cardenas teaches multiple resources during multiple stages are monitored and the different stages communicate with treatment of, par. [0042] storage tanks holding sludge that is recycled processing (i.e. manufacturing) and then discharge (i.e. disposal), par. [0040] while monitoring the electricity use of the process to purify the water electrical current).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the storage means is a database, the database is connected to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts at each facility are stored online in the database.
Cardenas teaches the storage means is a database, the database is connected to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts at each facility are stored online in the database.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen t the storage means is a database, the database is connected to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, and the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts at each facility are stored online in the database as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 15, see discussion of claim 13 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen further discloses a system having the limitations of,
Connected via a communication line to each facility (see; par. [0016] of Nielsen teaches a network controller that communicates between facilities).
Nielsen does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Cardenas teaches the storage means is a database, the database is connected via a communication line to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item (see; par. [0079] of Cardenas teaches multiple resources during multiple stages are monitored and the different stages communicate with treatment of, par. [0042] storage tanks holding sludge that is recycled processing (i.e. manufacturing) and then discharge (i.e. disposal), par. [0040] while monitoring the electricity use of the process to purify the water electrical current), and
the database stores a reference process, a reference energy usage amount, and a reference fluid resource usage amount used in the reference process (see; Figure 3 of Cardenas teaches an example of reference energy, par. [0063] discloses a further example of the amount of water used during and changing of the cathode and anode reference process), and
the input resource calculation means compares the processes with the reference process stored in the database, and stores in the database the reference energy usage amount and reference fluid resource usage amount of the corresponding reference process as the energy usage amount and the fluid resource usage amount in the processes (see; par. [0116] of Cardenas teaches an example of comparing of actual to a theoretical process involved in energy generation during the wastewater treatment).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the storage means is a database, the database is connected via a communication line to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, the database stores a reference process, a reference energy usage amount, and a reference fluid resource usage amount used in the reference process, and the input resource calculation means compares the processes with the reference process stored in the database, and stores in the database the reference energy usage amount and reference fluid resource usage amount of the corresponding reference process as the energy usage amount and the fluid resource usage amount in the processes.
Cardenas teaches the storage means is a database, the database is connected via a communication line to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, the database stores a reference process, a reference energy usage amount, and a reference fluid resource usage amount used in the reference process, and the input resource calculation means compares the processes with the reference process stored in the database, and stores in the database the reference energy usage amount and reference fluid resource usage amount of the corresponding reference process as the energy usage amount and the fluid resource usage amount in the processes.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the storage means is a database, the database is connected via a communication line to each facility related to the processes in the manufacture, operation, recycling, and disposal of the item, the database stores a reference process, a reference energy usage amount, and a reference fluid resource usage amount used in the reference process, and the input resource calculation means compares the processes with the reference process stored in the database, and stores in the database the reference energy usage amount and reference fluid resource usage amount of the corresponding reference process as the energy usage amount and the fluid resource usage amount in the processes as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 16, see discussion of claim 12 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly discloses a system having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches further comprising operation support means for creating a plan that reduces at least one of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches designing a process to optimize electrical generation).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose operation support means for creating a plan that reduces at least one of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts.
Cardenas teaches operation support means for creating a plan that reduces at least one of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen operation support means for creating a plan that reduces at least one of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 17, see discussion of claim 12 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly discloses a system having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches classification means for classifying the energy usage amount into a plurality of energy categories from a viewpoint of greenhouse gas emissions (see; par. [0054] of Cardenas teaches the minimizing of oxidation that creates gas during the generation of energy process to meet environmental conditions and impacts the energy generation based on the impurities, par. [0056] including greenhouse causing gases), and
wherein the storage means stores the energy category identified by the classification
means for each process (see; par. [0055] of Cardenas teaches energy generation is different based on different waste water contaminants as well as impurities (i.e. classification)).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose classification means for classifying the energy usage amount into a plurality of energy categories from a viewpoint of greenhouse gas emissions, and wherein the storage means stores the energy category identified by the classification
means for each process.
Cardenas teaches classification means for classifying the energy usage amount into a plurality of energy categories from a viewpoint of greenhouse gas emissions, and wherein the storage means stores the energy category identified by the classification
means for each process.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen classification means for classifying the energy usage amount into a plurality of energy categories from a viewpoint of greenhouse gas emissions, and wherein the storage means stores the energy category identified by the classification
means for each process as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 18, see discussion of claim 12 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly discloses a system having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the storage means stores energy usage amounts required for producing or treating the fluid resource (see; par. [0082] of Cardenas determining the energy usage amounts and then purifying the wastewater (i.e. fluid resource)).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the storage means stores energy usage amounts required for producing or treating the fluid resource.
Cardenas teaches the storage means stores energy usage amounts required for producing or treating the fluid resource.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the storage means stores energy usage amounts required for producing or treating the fluid resource as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 19, see discussion of claim 12 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly discloses a system having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches conversion means for evaluating the energy usage amounts in each process with a same index (see; par. [0082] of Cardenas teaches an example of the relationship of energy required to treat the wastewater and related percentage of energy generated during the process).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose conversion means for evaluating the energy usage amounts in each process with a same index.
Cardenas teaches conversion means for evaluating the energy usage amounts in each process with a same index.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen conversion means for evaluating the energy usage amounts in each process with a same index as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 20, see discussion of claim 19 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the system above, Nielsen does not explicitly discloses a system having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the input resource calculation means calculates a total resource usage amount by adding up the indexes of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts obtained by the conversion means (see; par. [0055] of Cardenas teaches energy generation is different based on different waste water contaminants as well as impurities (i.e. classification), par. [0082] an example of the relationship of energy required to treat the wastewater (i.e. usage), and level of contaminants and related percentage of energy generated during the process)), and
the database stores the total resource usage amount and an incentive corresponding to the total resource usage amount (see; par. [0058] of Cardenas teaches a difference in concentrations in the water impacts the corresponding energy (i.e. resource usage amount and impact is viewed as the incentive), and
the input resource calculation means selects from the database the incentive according to the total resource usage amount (see; par. [0058] of Cardenas teaches the input wastewater has different amounts of impurities which impacts the overall energy generation and the information is understood to get specific energy amounts (i.e. impact of the different impurity levels)).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the input resource calculation means calculates a total resource usage amount by adding up the indexes of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts obtained by the conversion means, the database stores the total resource usage amount and an incentive corresponding to the total resource usage amount, and the input resource calculation means selects from the database the incentive according to the total resource usage amount.
Cardenas teaches the input resource calculation means calculates a total resource usage amount by adding up the indexes of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts obtained by the conversion means, the database stores the total resource usage amount and an incentive corresponding to the total resource usage amount, and the input resource calculation means selects from the database the incentive according to the total resource usage amount.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the input resource calculation means calculates a total resource usage amount by adding up the indexes of the energy usage amounts and the fluid resource usage amounts obtained by the conversion means, the database stores the total resource usage amount and an incentive corresponding to the total resource usage amount, and the input resource calculation means selects from the database the incentive according to the total resource usage amount as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Claims 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen et al. (EP 2733810 A2) (hereafter Nielsen) in view of Cardenas et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0152835 A1) (hereafter Cardenas) in further view of Marhoefer (U.S. Patent 9,300,141 B2).
Referring to Claim 4, see discussion of claim 3 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the virtual power fluid plant (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches a fluid as an energy resource in a power plant), and
a change over time of a purified water demand at the water treatment facilities (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches as time progresses purified water is needed for the process in accordance with the water treatment), and
the water operation plan includes having the purified water production facility produce purified water and store the produced purified water in the purified water storage facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand, and the purified water demand is low, and supplying the purified water stored in the purified water storage facility to the water treatment facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand (see; par. [0082] of Cardenas teaches an example of making a decision on when to purify waste water, where the demand to generate energy is related to the amount of wastewater that is converted into energy and creating purified water which is then stored to meet demand when needed, and
the purified water demand is high (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches the understanding of the current operational needs including purified water is needed for the generation of electricity).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen fails to disclose the virtual power fluid plant, a change over time of a purified water demand at the water treatment facilities, the water operation plan includes having the purified water production facility produce purified water and store the produced purified water in the purified water storage facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand, and the purified water demand is low, and supplying the purified water stored in the purified water storage facility to the water treatment facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand and the purified water demand is high.
Cardenas discloses the virtual power fluid plant, a change over time of a purified water demand at the water treatment facilities, the water operation plan includes having the purified water production facility produce purified water and store the produced purified water in the purified water storage facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand, and the purified water demand is low, and supplying the purified water stored in the purified water storage facility to the water treatment facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand and the purified water demand is high.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen the virtual power fluid plant, a change over time of a purified water demand at the water treatment facilities, the water operation plan includes having the purified water production facility produce purified water and store the produced purified water in the purified water storage facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand, and the purified water demand is low, and supplying the purified water stored in the purified water storage facility to the water treatment facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand and the purified water demand is high as taught by Cardenas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen and Cardenas teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Nielsen in view of Cardenas does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Marhoefer teaches the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand (see; Abstract of Marhoefer teaches managing the demand situations including managing renewable energy and storage).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Marhoefer teaches incorporating renewal energy, storage, and scalable value-based optimization and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen and Cardenas which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen and Cardenas discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen and Cardenas fails to disclose the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand.
Marhoefer discloses the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen and Cardenas the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand as taught by Maroefer since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen, Cardenas, and Marhoefer teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 6, see discussion of claim 2 above, while Nielsen in view of Cardenas teaches the method above, Nielsen does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of,
Cardenas teaches the virtual power fluid plant (see; par. [0040] of Cardenas teaches a fluid as an energy resource in a power plant), and
the water operation plan includes increasing a ratio of sewage and wastewater to be
distributed to the sewage and wastewater treatment facility when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand, or the sewage and wastewater amount is low, and increasing a ratio of sewage and wastewater to be distributed to the sewage and wastewater storage facility at a time when any one of the electricity cost, the power demand, or the sewage and wastewater amount is high (see; par. [0098] of Cardenas teaches increasing the output, par. [0082] and the ability to adjust the amount of energy is produced).
Nielsen in view of Cardenas does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Marhoefer teaches the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand, and a change over time of a sewage and wastewater amount of the water treatment facilities (see; col. 9, lines (19-36) of Marhoefer teaches the determining of how to manage the supply based on real time demand including during peak power (i.e. accounting for the supply and demand over time including during peak events)).
The Examiner notes that Nielsen teaches similar to the instant application teaches a method of controlling a power network. Specifically, Nielsen discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid) it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Cardenas teaches fuel cell devices for use in water treatment and reclamation process and energy generation and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Marhoefer teaches incorporating renewal energy, storage, and scalable value-based optimization and as it is comparable in certain respects to Nielsen and Cardenas which a method of controlling a power network as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Nielsen and Cardenas discloses the controlling a power network including power generation facilities which generate and storing utilizing multiple generating process including hydro (i.e. fluid). However, Nielsen and Cardenas fails to disclose the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand, and a change over time of a sewage and wastewater amount of the water treatment facilities.
Marhoefer discloses the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand, and a change over time of a sewage and wastewater amount of the water treatment facilities.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Nielsen and Cardenas the database includes at least one of a change over time of an electricity cost, a change over time of an electricity supply and demand, and a change over time of a sewage and wastewater amount of the water treatment facilities as taught by Maroefer since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Nielsen, Cardenas, and Marhoefer teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
HARADA et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0139545 A1) discloses an information processing, apparatus, hydrogen production system, power supply system, operation plan creation method and computer program.
Carralero et al. (U.S. Patent 8,682,495 B2) discloses microgrid control system.
Imes et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0307101 A1) discloses an energy management system and method.
Golden et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0167756 A1) discloses utility console for controlling energy resources.
Miller et al. (U.S. Patent 7,274,975 B2) discloses an optimized energy management system.
Lof et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0087234 A1) discloses a system, method and computer program product for enhancing commercial value of electrical power produced from a renewable energy power production facility.
/S.S.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BETH V BOSWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625