Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim recites the phrase “the other node” which is not defined. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim.
Double patenting
Claims 1-19, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 31-34 of co-pending application 18/857339. Please see the direct claim comparison below.
Co-Pending application 18/857339, claim 9
Instant application claim 1
One or more processors configured to perform operations comprising:
detecting failure of a serving beam pair for a sidelink interface between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE;
in response to detecting the failure, transmitting a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) to the second UE, the BFRQ comprising an indication of at least one candidate beam pair for the sidelink interface between the first UE and the second UE; and
receiving a beam failure recovery response (BFRR) from the second UE, the BFRR comprising an indication of a beam pair selected for the sidelink interface between the first UE and the second UE.
One or more processers configured to perform operations comprising:
determining failure of a first beam pair that serves as a serving beam pair of a sidelink interface with a user equipment (UE);
in response to determining the failure, selecting a new beam pair for the sidelink interface; generating a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) to be sent to the second UE,
the BFRQ comprising an indication of the new beam pair; and
causing a radio frequency (RF) interface to communicate using the new beam pair as the serving beam pair for the sidelink interface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-19, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu (US 20220006688).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu discloses one or more processers configured to perform operations comprising:
determining failure of a first beam pair that serves as a serving beam pair of a sidelink interface with a user equipment (UE) ([0103], if the receive signal strength of the BFD reference signals 802 falls below the threshold a certain number, N, times before the BFD timer expires, UE2 declares beam failure (BF));
in response to determining the failure, selecting a new beam pair for the sidelink interface; generating a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) to be sent to the second UE, the BFRQ comprising an indication of the new beam pair ([0119], transmitting a sidelink (SL) beam failure recovery (BFR) message to a communications node, indicating a new candidate beam); and
causing a radio frequency (RF) interface to communicate using the new beam pair as the serving beam pair for the sidelink interface ([0108][0126], change a beam used to communicate with the second sidelink UE in response to the received BFR message).
Claims 18 and 24 are rejected similarly with claim 1 noting Ryu discloses establishing connection between the UEs before the beam failure recovery procedure (fig. 5, [0106-107]).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, the operations further comprising: receiving, from a base station, a configuration enabling a beam failure recovery mechanism for the sidelink interface ([0108], base station replies to UE2 with a sidelink BFR response, acknowledging reception of the sidelink BFR. Based on the potentially identified new candidate beam, UE1 and UE2 may communicate with the identified new candidate).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein generating the BFRQ to be sent to the UE comprises: causing the BFRQ to be sent to the UE via a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) of the sidelink interface ([0040][0094][0140], each sidelink resource 606 may include a PSSCH; receiving a sidelink (SL) beam failure recovery (BFR) message from a first sidelink user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the BFRQ comprises at least one sidelink beam identifier (ID) ([0140], receiving a sidelink (SL) beam failure recovery (BFR) message from a first sidelink user equipment (UE), indicating a new candidate beam and an identifier (ID) of a second sidelink UE).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 4, wherein the at least one sidelink beam identifier (ID) identifies at least one sidelink transmit beam or sidelink beam pair ([0108], based on the potential identified new candidate beam, UE1 and UE2 may communicate with the identified new candidate or may conduct more extensive beam training to identify a best new beam pair for sidelink communications).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the BFRQ comprises a measurement of the first beam pair ([0103][0106], if the receive signal strength of the BFD reference signals 802 falls below the threshold a certain number, N, times before the BFD timer expires, UE2 declares beam failure (BF) and triggers beam failure recovery; the new beam pair is selected based on the highest RSRP).
Regarding claims 10, 19, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein causing the radio frequency (RF) interface to communicate using the new beam pair as the serving beam pair for the sidelink interface comprises: causing the radio frequency (RF) interface to communicate using the new beam pair as the serving beam pair for the sidelink interface in response to receiving an acknowledgment from the UE for the BFRQ ([0126], the process 1200 may change a beam used to communicate with the second sidelink UE in response to receiving the BFR message).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 10, wherein receiving the acknowledgment from the UE for the BFRQ comprises: receiving the acknowledgment from the UE via a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) of the sidelink interface ([0094-95], the PSFCH can be used for carrying feedback or acknowledgement information).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein determining failure of the first beam pair comprises:
determining a failure event associated with the first beam pair, wherein the failure event is one of;
determining that a first measured metric of the first beam pair is less than a first predetermined threshold ([0103]);
determining that at least N consecutive instances of the first measured metric are below a second predetermined threshold ([0103]); or
determining that at least one instance of the first measured metric during a first duration is below a third predetermined threshold ([0103], receive a below threshold before the BFD timer expires).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 12, wherein the first measured metric is a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or hypothetical block error ratio (BLER) of at least one beam of the first beam pair ([0103], RSRP threshold).
Regarding claim 14, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 12, wherein the first measured metric is measured based on a DMRS of PSCCH or PSSCH or based on a sidelink CSI-RS ([0062][0105], DM-RS, CSI-RS).
Regarding claim 15, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 12, wherein determining the failure event associated with the first beam pair further comprises:
determining that a second measured metric of a candidate beam pair is above a fourth predetermined threshold ([0105]; if a SL SSB or SL CSI-RS on the candidate list has a received signal strength (e.g., RSRP) at or above a threshold (e.g., rsrpThresholdSSB or rsrpThresholdCSI-RS), UE2 selects the reference signal with the signal strength at or above the threshold as a new candidate). or
determining that the second measured metric of the candidate beam pair is at least a predetermined offset above the first measured metric of the first beam pair.
Regarding claim 16, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein selecting the new beam pair for the sidelink interface comprises:
identifying one or more candidate beams based on results of sidelink beam measurements during a beam maintenance procedure ([0106], may select a new potential beam, corresponding to a best SL SSB that UE2 received).
Regarding claim 17, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 16, wherein a validity timer is applied to the sidelink beam measurement results ([0103], before a BFD timer expires).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Zhang (CN 110913419, machine translation version is used).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein generating the BFRQ to be sent to the UE comprises: selecting a transmission beam for sending the BFRQ to the UE ([0040][0119], with beamforming, a transmitting UE beam and a receiving UE beam should be aligned to create a sidelink channel for communications, transmitting a BFR message).
Ryu only implicitly discloses selecting a transmission beam before sending the BFRQ. To further support this feature, Zhang discloses selecting a transmission beam for sending the BFRQ to the UE (Zhang, [0138], the beam direction used to transmit the beam failure information can be the direction of the new beam selected by the receiving terminal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Ryu with the teachings given by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient way to conduct beam failure recovery.
Regarding claim 8, Ryu and Zhang disclose the one or more processors of claim 7, wherein selecting the transmission beam for sending the BFRQ to the UE comprises:
selecting the transmission beam from at least one of: (i) the new beam pair, (ii) the first beam pair, or (iii) an omni-directional beam (Zhang, [0138], the beam direction used to transmit the beam failure information can be the direction of the new beam selected by the receiving terminal).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu and Zhang disclose the one or more processors of claim 7, wherein selecting the transmission beam for sending the BFRQ to the UE comprises:
selecting more than one transmission beam for more than one transmission of the BFRQ from at least one of the new beam pair or the first beam pair (Zhang, [0138][0141], the beam direction used to transmit the beam failure information can be the direction of the new beam selected by the receiving terminal; transmit the beam failure information in different directions using time-division multiplexing (TDM) in a repeated manner).
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474