DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao et al. (US Pub. 2021/0410128).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 6, Liao teaches a terminal comprising: a communication unit configured to perform uplink or downlink communication in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation (“Under carrier aggregation (CA), each UE per serving cell can be configured by the network with several DL BWPs and UL BWPs” in [0021]); and a control unit configured to, when scheduling is performed with respect to a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band, switch bandwidth parts that are set with respect to respective component carriers in the plurality of component carriers, separately or together, or switch a bandwidth part that is set across component carriers in the plurality of component carriers (see “multiple active BWP switching over different component carriers (CCs) having different BWP switching delays” in [0031] and “scheduled active BWP change for a second cell (CC2) in a slot other than the first slot of a set of slots of CC2 that overlaps with a time duration where the UE is not required to receive or transmit for an active BWP change in the first cell (CC1)” in [0037])).
Regarding claim 2, Liao teaches a reception unit configured to receive an indication of bandwidth part switching in downlink (“by dedicated RRC signaling, by DCI scheduling with explicit indication, or by a timer for a UE to switch is active DL BWP to a default DL BWP, e.g., the initial active DL BWP” in [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. in view of Yoshioka et al. (US Pub. 2022/0279543).
Regarding claim 3, Liao teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Liao, however, does not teach the control unit assumes that a bandwidth part switching delay varies for each of the plurality of component carriers. Yoshioka teaches the control unit assumes that a bandwidth part switching delay varies for each of the plurality of component carriers (BWP switching delays vary depending on slot length (see Figure 4 and “μ=0, 1, 2, and 3 correspond to the SCS=15, 30, 60, and 120 kHz, respectively. Since one slot corresponds to 14 symbols, μ=0, 1, 2, and 3 corresponds to the slot length=1 ms, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, and 0.125 ms, respectively” in [0049]) and BWP switching delays vary for each of the CCs if the CC1 and CC2 have different SCSs, i.e., different slot lengths). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liao to have the control unit assumes that a bandwidth part switching delay varies for each of the plurality of component carriers as taught by Yoshioka in order to provide time necessary from a UE/base station to switch communication from a BWP to another BWP [0048].
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka teaches the control unit assumes that a bandwidth part switching delay is common in the unit including the plurality of component carriers (BWP switching delays vary depending on slot length (see Figure 4 and “μ=0, 1, 2, and 3 correspond to the SCS=15, 30, 60, and 120 kHz, respectively. Since one slot corresponds to 14 symbols, μ=0, 1, 2, and 3 corresponds to the slot length=1 ms, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, and 0.125 ms, respectively” in [0049]) and BWP switching delays is common for each of the CCs if the CC1 and CC2 have same SCSs, i.e., same slot lengths).
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414