Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0292332 A1), hereinafter, LI.
Regarding Claim 1, LI teaches,
A method for receiving quality threshold information of signal, being performed by a user equipment (UE) and comprising: -Paragraph [0112] ([0112] recites, “..the doze condition includes: the reference signal quality (or quality of service) of the cell on which the terminal device camps is greater than or equal to the second threshold in the second time period. The second threshold may be configured by a network device (for example, a base station) in a broadcast manner ”)
receiving information indicating a signal quality threshold of at least one broadcast or multicast signal, wherein the broadcast or multicast signal is a signal received by a low-power wake-up signal (LPWUS) receiver of the UE; -Paragraph [0011, 0022, 0096] ([0011] recites, “…after the terminal device enters the idle state or the inactive state, if a reference signal quality of a cell on which the terminal device camps is greater than or equal to a second threshold in a second time period (it indicates that the signal quality of the cell on which the terminal device camps is good, and may reflect that the terminal device is currently very likely to be within the coverage of the wake-up information), the terminal device enters the doze state from the idle state or the inactive state. The second time period is greater than or equal to 0. The second threshold may be configured by a network device (for example, a base station) in a broadcast manner…” [0022] recites, “ The doze state is a state of receiving the wake-up information via a WUR, and the wake-up state is a state of receiving at least one of the following: a paging message, a system message, or a synchronization signal.” [0096] recites, “…The WUR means that when a main communication module of a wireless communication station is in deep sleep, the wireless communication station enables only an ultra-low power-consumption wake-up receiver to listen to a wake-up packet…”)
and determining whether to turn on a primary receiver based on the signal quality threshold. -Paragraph [0099] ([0099] recites, “when the main circuit is in an off state or a deep doze state, a WUR (wake-up receiver/radio) is used to receive a wake-up signal. After detecting the wake-up signal, the WUR triggers wakeup of the main circuit. After the main circuit is woken up, the UE may execute a paging message receiving process in an existing standard, for example, receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal/PBCH block, SSB) for downlink synchronization and automatic gain control (AGC) adjustment, and then receive the paging message on a PO.”)
Regarding Claim 2, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one broadcast or multicast signal comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal corresponding to the LPWUS receiver, or a wake-up signal corresponding to the LPWUS receiver. -Paragraph [0099] ([0099] recites, “in a possible implementation, when the main circuit is in an off state or a deep doze state, a WUR (wake-up receiver/radio) is used to receive a wake-up signal. After detecting the wake-up signal, the WUR triggers wakeup of the main circuit. After the main circuit is woken up, the UE may execute a paging message receiving process in an existing standard, for example, receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal/PBCH block, SSB) for downlink synchronization”)
Regarding Claim 3, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein a quality threshold of the synchronization signal and a quality threshold of the wake-up signal are the same or different. -Paragraph [0160, 0165] ( [0160] recites, “if the terminal device does not receive wake-up information or detects that signal quality of the wake-up information is less than or equal to a first threshold in the first time period since the terminal device enters a doze state, enable the terminal device to enter a wake-up state from the doze state. The doze state is a state of receiving the wake-up information via a wake-up radio WUR, and the wake-up state is a state of receiving at least one of the following information: a paging message, a system message, and a synchronization signal.” [0165] recites, “after the terminal device enters an idle state or an inactive state, if a reference signal quality of a cell on which the terminal device camps is greater than or equal to a second threshold in the second time period, enable the terminal device to enter the doze state from the idle state or the inactive state” As described above, there is no restriction in terms quality threshold of wake-up signal and synchronization signal. They can be same or different)
Regarding Claim 4, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a signal quality corresponding to the signal quality threshold comprises at least one of: reference signal receiving power (RSRP), reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ), signal amplitude, signal power, or signal energy. -Paragraph [0011-0012] ([0012] recites, “Optionally, the quality of the reference signal may be represented by one or more of the following: a reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ).”)
Regarding Claim 5, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the information indicating the signal quality threshold of the at least one broadcast or multicast signal comprises: receiving a system message, wherein the system message comprises the information indicating the signal quality threshold of the at least one broadcast or multicast signal. -Fig. 2; Paragraph [0122] ([0122] recites, “the first time period is n periods for sending the wake-up information, and n is a positive integer. A value of n may be configured by the network device in a broadcast or unicast manner, or may be specified in a protocol. The period for sending the wake-up information may be specified in a protocol, or may be configured by the network device. In other words, in step S102, after the terminal device enters the doze state, if no wake-up information is received in more than n periods for sending the wake-up information or signal quality of the wake-up information measured in the n periods for sending the wake-up information is less than or equal to the first threshold, it indicates that a current location of the terminal device is not within the coverage of the wake-up information, and the terminal device enters the wake-up state from the doze state. The terminal device may receive the paging message, the system message, the synchronization signal, and the like in the wake-up state, so that a probability that the terminal device misses important information (for example, the paging message, the system message, and the synchronization signal) is reduced.)
Regarding Claim 6, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the information indicating the signal quality threshold of the at least one broadcast or multicast signal comprises: receiving, by using the primary receiver in an operating state, the information indicating the signal quality threshold of the at least one broadcast or multicast signal. -Paragraph [0099, 0118-0119] ([0099] recites. “in a possible implementation, when the main circuit is in an off state or a deep doze state, a WUR (wake-up receiver/radio) is used to receive a wake-up signal. After detecting the wake-up signal, the WUR triggers wakeup of the main circuit. After the main circuit is woken up, the UE may execute a paging message receiving process in an existing standard, for example, receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal/PBCH block, SSB) for downlink synchronization and automatic gain control (AGC) adjustment, and then receive the paging message on a PO.” [0118-0119] recites, “S102: If the terminal device does not receive wake-up information or detects that the signal quality of the wake-up information is less than or equal to the first threshold in the first time period since the terminal device enters the doze state, the terminal device enters a wake-up state from the doze state….. If determining that the terminal device is not within the coverage of the wake-up information or cannot maintain working in the WUR-based manner, the terminal device is woken up, that is, enters the idle state/the inactive state, a state of performing measurement, a state of receiving the paging message, or the connected state from the doze state. Specifically, the network device periodically sends the wake-up information. If the terminal device does not receive wake-up information or detects that signal quality (where the signal quality herein may be represented by signal strength) of the wake-up information is less than or equal to the first threshold in the first time period since the terminal device enters the doze state, (a main receiver/a main circuit of) the terminal device may enter the wake-up state from the doze state. The doze state may be a state of receiving the wake-up information via the WUR, and the wake-up state may be a state of receiving at least one of the following: the paging message, a system message, a synchronization signal, downlink data, or the like. For example, the wake-up state may be any one of the idle state, the inactive state, or the connected state.”)
Regarding Claim 7, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring, by using the LPWUS receiver, a signal quality of the at least one broadcast or multicast signal; -Paragraph [0129, 0154] ([0129] recites, “The network device sends configuration information of the wake-up information (that is, the WUR reference signal or the WUR signaling) to the terminal device” [0154] recites, “after entering the doze state, the terminal device may determine, based on a measurement result of the wake-up information (that is, the WUR reference signal or the WUR signaling), whether to enter the wake-up state. “)
wherein determining whether to turn on the primary receiver based on the signal quality threshold comprises: determining whether to wake up the primary receiver based on the signal quality and the signal quality threshold. -Paragraph [0145, 0154] ([0145] recites, “both the wake-up state and the doze state in some embodiments of this application are specific to the main receiver/main circuit of the terminal device. That the terminal device enters the doze state may be understood as that the main receiver/main circuit of the terminal device enters the doze state, and that the terminal device enters the wake-up state from the doze state may be understood as that the main receiver/main circuit of the terminal device enters the wake-up state from the doze state.…” [0154] recites, “ If the terminal device detects that the signal quality of the wake-up information (that is, the WUR reference signal or the WUR signaling) is greater than a fourth threshold, the terminal device may continue to maintain the doze state; otherwise, the terminal device enters the wake-up state. The fourth threshold may be broadcast by the base station, or configured by using dedicated signaling, or specified in a protocol. It should be understood that the fourth threshold may be a threshold for determining that the terminal switches from the doze state to the wake-up state,…”)
Regarding Claim 8, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein determining whether to wake up the primary receiver based on the signal quality and the signal quality threshold comprises: in response to the signal quality meeting a wake-up condition corresponding to the signal quality threshold, waking up the primary receiver. [0119, 0143] ([0119] recites, “…If the terminal device does not receive wake-up information or detects that signal quality (where the signal quality herein may be represented by signal strength) of the wake-up information is less than or equal to the first threshold in the first time period since the terminal device enters the doze state, (a main receiver/a main circuit of) the terminal device may enter the wake-up state from the doze state. The doze state may be a state of receiving the wake-up information via the WUR, and the wake-up state may be a state of receiving at least one of the following: the paging message, a system message, a synchronization signal, downlink data, or the like. For example, the wake-up state may be any one of the idle state, the inactive state, or the connected state.”)
Regarding Claim 9, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 8, wherein the wake-up condition is: the signal quality is less than or equal to the signal quality threshold, -Paragraph [0119] ([0119] recites, “…If the terminal device does not receive wake-up information or detects that signal quality (where the signal quality herein may be represented by signal strength) of the wake-up information is less than or equal to the first threshold in the first time period since the terminal device enters the doze state, (a main receiver/a main circuit of) the terminal device may enter the wake-up state from the doze state…”)
or a difference between the signal quality and the signal quality threshold is less than a preset value. ( As different thresholds can be configured by the network (base station) for comparing against signal quality, it can be easily envisioned to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that one condition can be signal quality be within a preset value of the threshold.)
Regarding Claim 10, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 9.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving information indicating the preset value sent by a network device; or determining the preset value according to a protocol. -Paragraph [0042] ([0042] recites, “…The third threshold may be specified in a protocol, or may be configured by the network device in a broadcast manner or in a unicast manner, or may be a preset value.” All the threshold values and related parameters related to the transition and sent by network device or may be specified in a protocol.)
Regarding Claim 11, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 8, further comprising: sending, through the LPWUS receiver, information indicating a wake-up cause to the primary receiver, wherein the wake-up cause is that the signal quality meets the wake-up condition corresponding to the signal quality threshold. -Paragraph [0096, 0118] ([0096] recites, “The WUR means that when a main communication module of a wireless communication station is in deep sleep, the wireless communication station enables only an ultra-low power-consumption wake-up receiver to listen to a wake-up packet. After receiving the wake-up packet, the wake-up receiver wakes up the communication main module to complete receiving and sending of data and signaling. In other words, the WUR is mainly a communication method in which a terminal receives a wake-up packet by using an ultra-low power-consumption circuit or a zero power-consumption circuit, to wake up a main circuit. “ [0118] recites, “S102: If the terminal device does not receive wake-up information or detects that the signal quality of the wake-up information is less than or equal to the first threshold in the first time period since the terminal device enters the doze state, the terminal device enters a wake-up state from the doze state.”)
Regarding Claim 12, LI teaches,
Claim 12 is essentially same as Claim 1 viewing from network side as opposed to viewing from UE side as in Claim 1.
A method for sending quality threshold information of signal, being performed by a network device and comprising: sending information indicating a signal quality threshold of at least one broadcast or multicast signal to a user equipment (UE), -Paragraph [0112] ([0112] recites, “..the doze condition includes: the reference signal quality (or quality of service) of the cell on which the terminal device camps is greater than or equal to the second threshold in the second time period. The second threshold may be configured by a network device (for example, a base station) in a broadcast manner ”)
wherein the broadcast or multicast signal is a signal received by a low-power wake-up signal (LPWUS) receiver of the UE. -Paragraph [0011, 0022, 0096] ([0011] recites, “…after the terminal device enters the idle state or the inactive state, if a reference signal quality of a cell on which the terminal device camps is greater than or equal to a second threshold in a second time period (it indicates that the signal quality of the cell on which the terminal device camps is good, and may reflect that the terminal device is currently very likely to be within the coverage of the wake-up information), the terminal device enters the doze state from the idle state or the inactive state. The second time period is greater than or equal to 0. The second threshold may be configured by a network device (for example, a base station) in a broadcast manner…” [0022] recites, “ The doze state is a state of receiving the wake-up information via a WUR, and the wake-up state is a state of receiving at least one of the following: a paging message, a system message, or a synchronization signal.” [0096] recites, “…The WUR means that when a main communication module of a wireless communication station is in deep sleep, the wireless communication station enables only an ultra-low power-consumption wake-up receiver to listen to a wake-up packet…”)
Claim 13 is essentially same as Claim 2 except for Claim 2 is dependent claim of claim 1, whereas, Claim 13 is dependent claim of Claim 12. The Applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 2 above which is rejected. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 14 is essentially same as Claim 3 except for Claim 3 is dependent claim of claim 2, whereas, Claim 14 is dependent claim of Claim 13. The Applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 3 above which is rejected. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Claim 15 is essentially same as Claim 4 except for Claim 4 is dependent claim of claim 1, whereas, Claim 15 is dependent claim of Claim 12. The Applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 4 above which is rejected. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim 16 is essentially same as Claim 5 except for Claim 5 is dependent claim of claim 1, whereas, Claim 16 is dependent claim of Claim 12. The Applicant’s attention is drawn towards Claim 5 above which is rejected. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
LI further teaches,
The method of claim 12, wherein the signal quality threshold corresponds to a wake-up condition, and the wake-up condition comprises that a difference between a signal quality and the signal quality threshold is less than a preset value; and the method further comprises: sending information indicating the preset value to the UE. -Paragraph [0042] ( Many different thresholds may be sent from the network side (base station) to compare against signal quality to determine wake-up condition. It is easily envisioned that a preset value may be configured by the network and if the difference between the signal quality and signal quality threshold being less than the preset value may be the wake-up condition. This is a variant of wake-up condition depending on the signal quality and signal quality threshold. [0042] recites, “…If the quality of service of the serving cell of the terminal device is less than the third threshold in the third time period (it indicates that the quality of service of the serving cell is poor in this case, and reflects that the terminal device is currently very likely to be outside the coverage of the wake-up information), the terminal device keeps the wake-up state… The third threshold may be specified in a protocol, or may be configured by the network device in a broadcast manner or in a unicast manner, or may be a preset value.”)
Claim 20 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
LI further teaches,
A user equipment (UE), comprising; a processor; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to -Fig. 8 (1001-1004); Paragraph [0187-0191] (Fig. 8 shows communication device (UE) comprising processor (1001), memory (1002) containing instructions (1004) that run on the processor)
Claim 21 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 12. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 12 above which is rejected. Claim 21 is rejected under the same rational as claim 12.
LI further teaches,
A network device, comprising; a processor; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to-Fig. 8 (1001-1004); Paragraph [0187-0191] (Fig. 8 shows communication device (can be network device) comprising processor (1001), memory (1002) containing instructions (1004) that run on the processor)
Claim 22 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
LI further teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1. -Paragraph [0198] ( [0198] recites, “An embodiment of this application further provides a computer-readable storage medium. The computer-readable storage medium stores program instructions. When the program instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method steps of the terminal device..”)
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475