DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-5 are presented for examination.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/JP2022/018628 submitted on April 22nd, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on (October 15th, 2024), (December 9th, 2025), and (February 10th, 2026) follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., “PREEMPTION INDICATION IN MULTI-MODE, CARRIER AGGREGATION (CA) SYSTEMS”).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2019/0246419 A1) hereinafter “Sun” in view of HOSSEINI et al. (US 2019/0268127 A1) hereinafter “HOSSEINI”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 5,
Sun discloses a terminal [see fig. 3, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-4, a UE “115”] comprising:
a communication unit configured to perform uplink or downlink communication in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation [see fig. 3: Step “305”, pg. 7, ¶64 lines 1-16; pg. 8, ¶66 lines 1-13, in a carrier aggregation configuration, the UE “115” is configured with one or more carriers … for self-scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling indicative of the types of control messages which are monitored on each carrier and which include unicast or group-common control messages carrying preemption information]; and
a reception unit configured to receive a preemption indication for a downlink signal in downlink [see fig. 3: Step “330”, pg. 9, ¶74 lines 1-20, the UE “115” receives the multi-carrier control message with variable-size preemption information from base station “105”].
Although Sun discloses receiving a preemption indication, Sun does not explicitly teach “assuming that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band, the preemption indication for the downlink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers”.
However HOSSEINI discloses performing uplink or downlink communication in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation [see fig. 10: Step “1005”, pg. 8, ¶84 lines 1-5, by receiving a resource assignment scheduling the UE for uplink transmission, the UE is scheduled for a URLLC PUSCH transmission and/or an eMBB PUSCH transmission one or more CCs in one or more symbols];
receiving a preemption indication for a downlink signal in downlink [see fig. 10: Step “1010”, pg. 8, ¶85 lines 1-5, the UE receives an indication to preempt uplink transmission on a portion of the assigned resources to preempt transmission in one or more symbols (e.g., within a slot or slots) and on one or more CCs (e.g., at least one CC)]; and
assuming that [see fig. 10: Step “1015”, pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5; ¶87 lines 1-12, the UE determines], in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band [see fig. 10: Step “1015”, pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5; ¶87 lines 1-12, whether to transmit on the remaining assigned resources], the preemption indication for the downlink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers [see fig. 10: Step “1015”, pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5; ¶87 lines 1-12, for example, the UE determines whether to transmit or drop the scheduled uplink transmission(s) on other CCs and/or in subsequent symbols and/or slots than the preempted transmission … based on whether phase continuity is maintained between the CCs after the preemption].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “assuming that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band, the preemption indication for the downlink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers” to better support mobile broadband Internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) [see HOSSEINI, pg. 1, ¶5 lines 1-15].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Sun and HOSSEINI discloses the terminal according to claim 1.
Sun further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to determine a frequency resource area to be canceled for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers [see fig. 3: Step “335”, pg. 9, ¶74 lines 1-20, if it is determined that preemption information is available for a scheduled carrier, the UE “115” may compare its scheduled resources from block with the preemption information from the multi-carrier control message (e.g., the variable size preemption information “415”) corresponding to each scheduled carrier].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Sun and HOSSEINI discloses the terminal according to claim 1.
Sun further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to determine a time resource area to be canceled for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers [see fig. 3: Step “340”, pg. 9, ¶75 lines 1-10, the UE “115” attempts to decode a data transmission on its scheduled carrier(s) based on a result of comparing its scheduled resources with preempted resources as previously indicated].
Regarding Claim 4,
Sun discloses a base station [see fig. 3, pg. 7, ¶65 lines 1-4, a base station “105”] comprising:
a communication unit configured to perform communication with a terminal in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation [see fig. 3: Step “320”, pg. 7, ¶64 lines 1-16; pg. 8, ¶68 lines 1-9, in a carrier aggregation configuration, based on the carriers for which preemption information is indicated as available, the base station “105” forms a variable-size preemption information payload]; and
a transmission unit configured to transmit a preemption indication for a downlink signal to the terminal [see fig. 3: Step “325”, pg. 8, ¶68 lines 1-9, using the implicit or explicit carrier index values, the base station “105” sends one or more control messages to the UE “115” which include the indication of availability for the plurality of carriers and the variable-size preemption information].
Although Sun discloses receiving a preemption indication, Sun does not explicitly teach “assuming that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band, the preemption indication for the downlink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers”.
However HOSSEINI discloses perform communication with a terminal in a frequency band aggregated by carrier aggregation [see fig. 10: Step “1005”, pg. 8, ¶84 lines 1-5, by receiving a resource assignment scheduling the UE for uplink transmission, the UE is scheduled for a URLLC PUSCH transmission and/or an eMBB PUSCH transmission one or more CCs in one or more symbols];
transmit a preemption indication for a downlink signal to the terminal [see fig. 10: Step “1010”, pg. 8, ¶85 lines 1-5, the UE receives an indication to preempt uplink transmission on a portion of the assigned resources to preempt transmission in one or more symbols (e.g., within a slot or slots) and on one or more CCs (e.g., at least one CC)]; and
assuming that [see fig. 10: Step “1015”, pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5; ¶87 lines 1-12, the UE determines], in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band [see fig. 10: Step “1015”, pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5; ¶87 lines 1-12, whether to transmit on the remaining assigned resources], the preemption indication for the downlink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers [see fig. 10: Step “1015”, pg. 8, ¶86 lines 1-5; ¶87 lines 1-12, for example, the UE determines whether to transmit or drop the scheduled uplink transmission(s) on other CCs and/or in subsequent symbols and/or slots than the preempted transmission … based on whether phase continuity is maintained between the CCs after the preemption].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “assuming that, in a case where scheduling is performed in a unit including a plurality of component carriers in the aggregated frequency band, the preemption indication for the downlink signal is transmitted for each of the plurality of component carriers or for the unit including the plurality of component carriers” to better support mobile broadband Internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) [see HOSSEINI, pg. 1, ¶5 lines 1-15].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: CHOI et al. (US 2022/0312469 A1); see fig. 13, pgs. 13-14, ¶168-¶177.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469