The preliminary amendment filed 1/16/26 has been entered.
Claims 7-11 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statements filed to date have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the 3GPP document entitled “Enhancements on Multi-beam Operation” by Lenovo, Motorola Mobility, R1-2109103, (“Lenovo”), in view of Yuan et al., US 2025/0071778, (“Yuan”).
Regarding claim 1, Lenovo teaches “A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a configuration of uplink (UL)-transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applied to UL separately from downlink (DL), for a first bandwidth part (BWP) of a first component carrier (CC) in a specific band (section 2.1, page 5, the paragraph with the heading “QCL types for unified TCI” (i.e., the paragraph after Proposal 4), “To support joint DL/UL TCI, separate DL/UL TCI, and only UL-only TCI, it is necessary to introduce new QCL type definitions … A separate DL/UL TCI state contains two reference signals”; see section 1, page 1, which discloses a UE and a receiver is inherent/implicit in the UE; the limitation “for a first bandwidth part (BWP) of a first component carrier (CC) in a specific band” is implicit/inherent in the disclosure above (it appears that this limitation may read on the “reference BWP/CC” disclosed in the paragraph with the heading “Common TCI state across CCs” on page 4) – however, see below for an explicit teaching; note also, that “both CCs are in the same band” is disclosed on page 4 in the paragraph with the heading “Common TCI state across CCs”); and
a processor that, when the configuration is absent for a second BWP of a second CC in the specific band, applies, to the second BWP, the UL-TCI state for the first BWP” (a processor is inherent in the UE disclosed in Lenovo; section 2.1, page 4, in the paragraph with the heading “Common TCI state across CCs” (i.e., the paragraph before Proposal 1), “When the TCI state pool is absent from a BWP/CC, the TCI state pool defined in another BWP/CC can be used as a reference … When a TCI state is used in another BWP in another CC, the QCL-TypeD can be reused when both CCs are in the same band. This gives the possibility for sharing TCI state pools across CCs in the same band”; see also, the paragraph following Proposal 2, page 4).
While Lenovo implicitly teaches the limitation “for a first bandwidth part (BWP) of a first component carrier (CC) in a specific band” of claim 1, Yan teaches this limitation explicitly, see paragraph no. 0027, “In some cases, a UE may be configured with separate DL/UL TCI states. The number of configured TCI states a UE can support is typically a UE capability including the following candidate values per bandwidth part (BWP) per component carrier (CC). For example, depending on UE capability, a UE may support 64 or 128 DL TCI states and 32 or 64 UL TCI states”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lenovo by enabling the UE to receive an UL TCI state for a BWP/CC in a specific band as taught by Yuan to facilitate the implementation of a unified TCI framework for different BWPs and CCs in a network.
Regarding independent claims 9, 10, and 11, these independent claims are corresponding terminal method, base station, and system claims of the apparatus (i.e., terminal) claim 7 and recite similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 7 applies with equal force to these independent claims and as further amplified below to highlight the minor differences between the claims, if any.
Regarding independent claim 10, see Lenovo, page 11 and the paragraph before Proposal 18 for a disclosure of a gNB. The gNB inherently includes a transmitter and a processor.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo and Yuan as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhou et al., US 2023/0121938, (“Zhou”).
Lenovo does not teach but Zhou teaches “wherein when transmitting specific capability information, the processor applies, to the second BWP, the UL-TCI state for the first BWP; and
the specific capability information is capability information applied in common irrespective of the first BWP and the second BWP” (see paragraph no. 0404, “the capability message includes an indication of whether the UE supports a first unified TCI state pool for each bandwidth part or each component carrier, or supports a second unified TCI state pool that is configured on one bandwidth part or one component carrier and that is shared by multiple bandwidth parts or multiple component carriers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lenovo and Yuan by incorporating the teachings of Zhou to inform the network of the capabilities of the terminal, thereby facilitating the communications between the network and the terminal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the abstracts of Yuan et al., US 2024/0196387, and Liu et al., US 2025/0105977.
/WON TAE C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414